Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The solitary Ninja, Ryu Hayabusa, must find a way to lift the deadly curse on his right arm before it destroys him... NINJA GAIDEN 3 has been reworked to bring to Wii U the truly intense, high-speed challenge and action NINJA GAIDEN fans demand. With more weapon and Ninpo types, a new character progression system, a redesigned battle system and the return of dismemberment, NINJA GAIDEN 3: Razor's Edge improves upon the original NINJA GAIDEN 3 in every way and offers Wii U exclusive features and functionalities. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 82
    The game could have benefited in taking just a bit more from the structure of older games in the series.
  2. 80
    Besides delivering the roots-respecting experience seasoned demon-slayers demanded, it’s brimming with enough replayability (via Chapter and Tests of Valor challenges, competitive Clan Battles, co-op Ninja Trials, and all of Ninja Gaiden 3’s DLC) to keep players butchering away long after the blood’s dried in the main campaign.
  3. May 6, 2013
    78
    Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is a decent action game, but not quite at the level of recent DmC: Devil May Cry and Metal Gear Rising Revengance.
  4. 70
    Team Ninja has done everything to please fans short of making a brand new game, but despite its successes this too often feels like an awkward compromise.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    This is a weird mixture of good and bad. [Issue#97, p.75]
  6. May 1, 2013
    65
    A marginally better game than its predecessor, Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge is worthy of a rental but the development team are going to have to return to the drawing board if they hope to return the series to its former glory.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    60
    Razor’s Edge delivers more content and more gore compared to the original, but nonetheless the fearless Ryu Hayabusa is still miles away from his former self.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Thank you Team Ninja finally you gave us fans a proper sequel! Dismemberment is back tons of weapons new characters and a difficulty that will make you toss your controller to the floor more then once!
    This is the game they should have released last year! And this is the game all fans of this series should pick up. Ryu is back baby and he`s looking sharper then ever!
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    If you were smart enough not to buy the first version of NG3 and you're a fan of NG, this is definetly the way to go, they changed the almost random and way excessive QTEs for the dismemberment and oblitaration from NG2, and though the combat isn't as refined as the old NG games, it's up with the best H&H games from our times, it's, unlike the first version, fun and challenging, and the amounts of content (weapons, characters, levels, diffuculties) make it worthy of it's title. People are still mad at NG3 because the first version was just awfull, but Razor's Edge is definetly the way to go if you want a grat H&H experience. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    O jogo melhorou 90% sobre a primeira versão. dificuldade digna de ninja gaiden são as melhores adições; o único contra o enredo. continua sem pé nem cabeça, apesar de que só a historia do 1º jogo foi a mais aceitável. NG3RE o suspiro de vida para quem achava que a serie havia morrido Collapse
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Team Ninja dosen't make any new progress because to bussy about the title. why can't the first NG3 release only for Xbox 360 and WiiU? And the NGΣ3 on PS3 instead of Razor's Edge. It's not f**king genius at all! Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slightly more polished turd. That's what describe my feeling about this game. I bought both vanilla version of xbox and ps3 last year and was disgusted by it. I did the same thing for RE. They improved over the vanilla version but the unresponsive controls are still there, the disorienting zooming in camera, bad pacing bad level design too.
    After playing metal gear rising this game feels just weak. In MGSR I can actually feel in control of the action, if I died it was because i did nt responded fast enough on the controls or did a wrong move.
    In NG3RE if I die it's because an off screen enemy doing a cheap grab move. Or the main character did'nt not respond to my control input.
    The game is just not fun not challenging, it feels random and cheap.

    The ninja gaiden franchise was ruined by the new Team Ninja management.
    I own ninja gaiden xbox, ninja gaiden black xbox, ninja gaiden 2 xbox 360. Those titles will always be in my video game collection. Ninja Gaiden 3 RE does not deserve it's place in it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    This game is better than Ninja Gaiden 3, and that's not saying much. They added back the ultimate attacks, obliteration attacks and there are plenty of weapons to choose from. With that being said, the gameplay is still dull. This new Team Ninja doesn't have a clue as to what made previous Ninja Gaidens fun, yet challenging. This game throws you in a room and sends wave after waves of enemies all while enemies are in the back shooting rockets at you. Enemies won't attack you, they run behind you and spam grabs. This is the same thing that happened in the first one and it hasn't changed. Most of the bosses only damage you with throws. All in all, it is better than the first, but still, this game isn't fun. Wait until the price goes down, if you must have it. Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    I'm happy that Team Ninja at least TRIED to make it better, but to be honest, it doesn't justify another purchase or playthrough, even at a discounted price.

    I really can't see what is so different other than a couple of new levels and some generally cheap difficulty.
    And before you say "You're just bad at the game", I have beaten Black, 2 and original three all on Master Ninja (ultimate ninja for 3 with dlc). More importantly I've beaten this game on all difficulties and yes, it's got some pretty cheap design.

    To me, this is actually less enjoyable than the vanilla version. Why? Because while 3 was dumbed down, incredibly boring and easy, this is the same game, with more weapons and ninpo that aren't very useful. The major difference here though,is that it's still very boring, but it's so incredibly frustrating for wrong reasons.

    The actual combat itself is the same, sure there are new weapons and ninpo but that's really it. From my experience, all they did was change the enemies so that the do way more damage and block most of your attacks unless you do something very specific to break their block. Same thing for the Reagent of the Mask. Just like in 3, he's really annoying.

    If you like Ninja Gaiden for it's actual challenge, don't buy this.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews