User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 131
  2. Negative: 64 out of 131

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    This game is not terrible!! It's just not fun. As someone who best Ninja Gaiden 2 on master ninja difficulty (xbox) I enjoyed the punishing difficulty. This game is a dumbed down version. Those who thought the previous games erred too hard, are going to love this. One sword, one nimpo. I started the game in hard and I've yet to have one problem. All the gore is gone. You walk to one ares,This game is not terrible!! It's just not fun. As someone who best Ninja Gaiden 2 on master ninja difficulty (xbox) I enjoyed the punishing difficulty. This game is a dumbed down version. Those who thought the previous games erred too hard, are going to love this. One sword, one nimpo. I started the game in hard and I've yet to have one problem. All the gore is gone. You walk to one ares, press the x button, kill everyone and move to next area. Same thing over and over. Theres some stealth in the game, which is really cool. But there aren't enough moves. Fighting got boring during my first fight. Ultimate attacks are lame. They're just one hit one kill sword slashes. All in all, this new guy ruined this game. He removed everything that was fun. Like I said...its not terrible. Just not fun..wait until the price goes down. I forgot, online is ok......death match and team death match. Same thing...mash x. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    Usually I write more about the games, but in this case no: I'm very disappointed ... the game is too generic, have lost almost all of what is a Ninja Gaiden game... the graphics are regular ones, the enemies have are all the same look, and no decapitations or cutting limbs off, now we have only blood spurts...why they take the later off the game? Because they were "violent and no oneUsually I write more about the games, but in this case no: I'm very disappointed ... the game is too generic, have lost almost all of what is a Ninja Gaiden game... the graphics are regular ones, the enemies have are all the same look, and no decapitations or cutting limbs off, now we have only blood spurts...why they take the later off the game? Because they were "violent and no one wanted to see anymore" (as the producer said)? And they left blood gushing?! Come on...Ryu in the game actually uses the Katana and some throwing knives, nothing of Shrukiens so far ... And when you fill your special bar, you can drop a nimpo, which is a fire dragon special, that attacks all on the screen. Innovative isn't it? The stages are linear, the action is generic (boring), NG II was much better... the Hack and Slash in the game is dotted with climbing sequences (RT, LT, RT, LT, RT ...) and nonsense QTE segments, just to watch some killing animations. The sound, is another one of my disappointments, there are parts that is raining and you do not hear anything. The Multiplayer mods I have not tested and I'm not planning to, a Online Pass for this game is a waste of money ... and the fact that an Multiplayer Mode is totally unnecessary - this is disappointing. Ok, is an regular to good action game, but something with the name "Ninja Gaiden" should be like this game... I really do not know why the producers are doing this to great games, it seem that they want to bury classic franchises like Resident Evil (another deception) and Ninja Gaiden. My score (this isn't a Ninja Gaiden to me, NGII and Ninja Blade are way better that this game): 5, 0 / 10,0 . Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    Wow, I think "Bad Critics-Good Game" But no, Ninja Gaiden 3 is really terrible, have much mistakes, the only good in this new title of Ryu Hayabusa are the graphics, controls and cover, but the biggest mistake is the change of difficulty, is very easy, I don't think that the title is bad, is a regular title, with much problems, but with some good things. Tecmo Koei destroy this game.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    Well I was waiting on this release for a while and as soon as I got home I put it in my 380 and was so eager to jump in. After playing it I'm realizing that I'm out 60 dollars on a game that I should have rented. I've played Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 and Black on the regular xbox and 360. NG3 is not reminiscent of its past accomplishments. Ninja Gaiden is about fluid combat, buttonWell I was waiting on this release for a while and as soon as I got home I put it in my 380 and was so eager to jump in. After playing it I'm realizing that I'm out 60 dollars on a game that I should have rented. I've played Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 and Black on the regular xbox and 360. NG3 is not reminiscent of its past accomplishments. Ninja Gaiden is about fluid combat, button response, great targeting, speed, and the ability to dodge/evade/interrupt an attack with block. NG3 screws all that up. Responsiveness is laughable. Combinations are obsolete and serve no purpose since bashing X is all you really need to do. The targeting is aggravating it will emphasize attacking an enemy that is already neutralized instead of an enemy that you want to attack. I don't know how many times the guy I've wanted to target is replaced by some guy limping around, the attack shifts even though you're pressing to the left to attack who you want instead it shifts to the right and attacks the limping fool. Countering is worthless since it's attack isn't profound and only becomes a burden by exposing yourself. You used to be able to block and interrupt your attack so you could avoid an incoming attack from another enemy then shadow step so you could re-position yourself to attack again. You can't do that anymore instead you're stuck to a grapple or just getting hit. The combat's immersive experience is what is wrong with this game. Quick time events are just filler. I don't care about the story. Horrible, horrible, just horrible planning and development. Casual gamers and new fans might like this game but as for the fans from past games will be severely disappointed. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    The action is cool but that's just about it. Basically take your normal Ninja Gaiden and dumb it down. Strip off all of the customization and inventory, different weapons and just about everything else that made Ninja Gaiden great and slap in more combo driven cinematics. It's not unplayable but it will have the true NG fan complaining the entire way through (no vigoorian flail!? WTF!?).The action is cool but that's just about it. Basically take your normal Ninja Gaiden and dumb it down. Strip off all of the customization and inventory, different weapons and just about everything else that made Ninja Gaiden great and slap in more combo driven cinematics. It's not unplayable but it will have the true NG fan complaining the entire way through (no vigoorian flail!? WTF!?). First time NG players will like this one but the faithful true NG fan will be and should be disappointed. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    Note to everyone that reads this, I've played Ninja Gaiden Black,2, Sigma and Sigma 2. Nothing or no where near like the old ones and everyone who thinks this is better clearly never beat any of the games or fully understood them. This is dumbed down polished piece of trash. Was a huge fan of the series and this game made me lose all respect for it. I had to make an account just to say notNote to everyone that reads this, I've played Ninja Gaiden Black,2, Sigma and Sigma 2. Nothing or no where near like the old ones and everyone who thinks this is better clearly never beat any of the games or fully understood them. This is dumbed down polished piece of trash. Was a huge fan of the series and this game made me lose all respect for it. I had to make an account just to say not a whole lot. Dull and repetitive combat. No use of even looking up the move list when most of it is just spamming square or X depending which system. One ninpo. Story is ok. Ryu is soft. The unmasking and "sword to bone" gimmick gets old. It seems like you obliterate technique enemies in every single fight and the dumb idea of not having items and depending on wash, rinse and repeat gimmick of getting ninpo to heal and kills enemies gets really old. Most of the game is fighting almost never ending humanoids stuck in rooms full of them seems like more of a chore than playing a game. Glad I rented this instead of buying it Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    2
    As a successor to Ninja Gaiden 1 & 2 this is a tragedy. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase. Note: I started playing the story after the claw and scythe were made available, but while they definitely do add to the game it's simply not enough. This is not a Ninja Gaiden sequel. This is Call of Duty: Ninja Gaiden. The game plays like this. Walk forward, respond to quicktime eventAs a successor to Ninja Gaiden 1 & 2 this is a tragedy. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase. Note: I started playing the story after the claw and scythe were made available, but while they definitely do add to the game it's simply not enough. This is not a Ninja Gaiden sequel. This is Call of Duty: Ninja Gaiden. The game plays like this. Walk forward, respond to quicktime event (QTE), walk forward, mash the X button to defeat wave of enemies, climb wall, mash X some more, jump down, mash X even more,defeat boss, watch uninteresting cutscene, repeat ad nauseum. At no point did I feel like I was truly in control of Ryu. The combat has been extremely dumbed down. It's almost impossible to pull away from a group and target a single enemy since the game pretty much decides that for you. Seriously, all you have to do is hammer X repeatedly for 8 hours with a few slides thrown in here and there- there's absolutely no challenge. On the higher difficulties I found myself dying constantly, but only because of my inability to triage thanks to the games autotarget taking nearly all of the control out of my hands. I have no idea how many times I would go out of my way to rush the guy with the rocket launcher only to have Ryu spin on his heels and the attack the dude chasing directly behind me as soon as I made an attack input simply because the game decreed it so.The skilled and tactical approach to each encounter from the previous games has been entirely erased. Slam on the X button, if you get surrounded slide out of the huddle, then slam X even more. When your arm glows red hit Y. You just beat the game. There's no need to jump off of walls for more powerful strikes, no need to memorize combos, no need to know what weapons work best in what scenarios - just beat the living hell out of the X button. There are WAY too many QTEs and they seriously break the game's flow, and even a few hours in the game constantly reminds you to press LT to block/X for light attack/Y for heavy. If you turn these off in the menus it also turns off the QTE prompts leading to you having to guess whenever one pops up (every 2-3min). Kunai climbing is annoying, rope climbing is entirely pointless, I could go for days. On top of all of this the framerate is horrible, the camera is way too close making it worse than it ever was, some parts of the game are extremely underlit and it took forever to get the brightness settings correct, the game is so easy the only way you'll really die is from enemies with cheap and unblockable throw attacks, there isn't much variety to the enemies, etc etc. It's obvious this game was simplified and streamlined to attract the casual crowd which was a failed attempt unless you're looking for a completely mindless action game, and a ton of emphasis was placed on actually telling a story. Unfortunately that doesn't bode well either as this one, like the previous two, is nonsensical and forgettable. This game sucks and doesn't deserve to bear the Ninja Gaiden name. What little fun to be had here is marred by extremely shallow combat, technical shortcomings, an asinine attempt at a story, and complete lack of legitimate challenge. The first 2 NGs were deep, challenging games that I initially sucked at only because I wasn't good enough... yet. As the games went on they seemed to get easier, but the truth was that I was just getting better. NG3 lays down and spreads its legs for you as soon as you put the disk in the tray without making you earn it. Just keep pressing X. I want my money back. Expand
  8. May 1, 2012
    2
    I don't know HOW people are giving this passing scores. This game is terrible as a Ninja Gaiden. And YES, I did play through to the end, on hard no less. In comparison to the other 2, it falls flat on it's face. It's designed to take a hard-core, combo-based, intense, intelligent battle system and mainstream it for the more casual crowd. There is no need to learn the combos at all, theI don't know HOW people are giving this passing scores. This game is terrible as a Ninja Gaiden. And YES, I did play through to the end, on hard no less. In comparison to the other 2, it falls flat on it's face. It's designed to take a hard-core, combo-based, intense, intelligent battle system and mainstream it for the more casual crowd. There is no need to learn the combos at all, the action is all based around cheaply exploiting big multi-kill moves, the story is terrible, any RPG element felt in the other 2 (upgrades and items and stuff) is completely gone....I could go on all day. Point is, terrible game. NG 1 or 2, pre-owned, will end up being more valuable than this bargain-bin game. Don't waste your money. Expand
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    This game blew me away with its ability to come on strong and make me think "Wow! This game is going to be awesome!' However, about half way through you realize you have learned all the moves, seen all the character types, and have experienced everything the game has to offer. You basically do the exact same thing for 6 hours! Absolutely one of the most repetitive games I have ever played!
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    Team Ninja thinks this game may be an improvement by making it TOO streamlined. However, Ninja Gaiden 3 is sadly the most disappointing Ninja Gaiden game I have ever played. Gameplay is shallow and is not as superior as that of its predecessor, and its difficulty is UNBELIEVABLY simple and less challenging. This can't be the final Ninja Gaiden game; Team Ninja needs to make Ninja Gaiden 4Team Ninja thinks this game may be an improvement by making it TOO streamlined. However, Ninja Gaiden 3 is sadly the most disappointing Ninja Gaiden game I have ever played. Gameplay is shallow and is not as superior as that of its predecessor, and its difficulty is UNBELIEVABLY simple and less challenging. This can't be the final Ninja Gaiden game; Team Ninja needs to make Ninja Gaiden 4 as an improved sequel. Expand
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    the difference with this game and Mass Effect 3 is that: people are angry at ME3 because of it's ending, and they can't deny it was fun and intriguing from the beginning to the last 30 minutes of the game, THIS game on the other side... it's just not fun from beginning to end, and the camera glitches a lot. The only thing in common with this and Ninja Gaiden 2 is the main character
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    All out disappointing game. Words canot discribe how bad this NG 3 is. This was my favourite game and waited months for this one. To bad I had to buy it on the first day. it came out. My advise to all the the real NG fans out there don't wast your money.
  13. May 20, 2012
    0
    I feel bad for the Ninja Gaiden series now that Itagaki left. I had a little bit of faith this game would be good, but I was wrong. Ninja Gaiden 3 is by far the worse Ninja Gaiden video game ever. In Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2, I absolutely loved the combat, weapons, and the frustratingly awesome and addictive difficulty. It made me feel like I accomplished something when I managed to getI feel bad for the Ninja Gaiden series now that Itagaki left. I had a little bit of faith this game would be good, but I was wrong. Ninja Gaiden 3 is by far the worse Ninja Gaiden video game ever. In Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2, I absolutely loved the combat, weapons, and the frustratingly awesome and addictive difficulty. It made me feel like I accomplished something when I managed to get through the tough, and sometimes cheap battles of both games. They were tough and made me what to rage quit but something about how Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 played made me want to continue. However, Ninja Gaiden 3 ditches everything that made Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 so great. Before you start making assumptions I'm a Ninja Gaiden fanboy and don't want anything to change, let me explain. This new guy promised Ninja Gaiden fans that NInja Gaiden 3 would be the best action game ever (which could never really happen but it translated to me that this game would at least be awesome) I was mad about the removal of dismemberment at first but then I began thinking I was being a little unreasonable. Then he stated that NG3 would retain the difficulty of the previous two while having something for newcomers. When the game released, I was going in thinking, well since there is Hero difficulty I'm assuming Normal is tough. I was wrong. Hero mode might as well be a movie for 10 hours that you don't do anything but watch. Normal is easy. NG 1 and 2 Normal might as well be called hard. I was playing NG3 like how a NG game should be played. Waiting for your enemy to attack, dodge, look for an opening and trying to survive. However, the trying to survive part was missing. The Steel on Bone none sense feels pointless. All it is is giving you either motion sickness or a close up view of what Ryu is doing. It really has no purpose but to make the game look flashy. After a while, I began to realize enemies take forever to attack. So I held the controller with one hand, mashing on the x button while on my iPod was in the other searching the internet. Guess what? I didn't get hit once. When I paid attention to the screen, enemies were literally lining up for Ryu to kill them. No vicious counters, no grabs, they ran up to Ryu and stood there waiting for him to kill them. I was bored within a few seconds of a battle simply because of how easy it was. Then the battles are all wave based. Once you clear out one group of enemies, ten more spawn from nowhere, then another ten. And the harder difficulties uses the wave combat even more. Face ten soldiers then another ten with rocket launchers, then three mages, then more mages with soldiers, and so forth. They attack just as much as on normal but do three times the damage. Gee, all of this sure sounds like Ninja Gaiden alright. (Yeah right) Also, the story is great....in how terrible it is. It tries to emphasize how Ryu is a coldblooded murder but a ninja who actually cares about who he murders....so why is he going through all this places to kill everyone? Not only that the story overall doesn't make sense. Stuff just happens to happen. Even if they wanted to use this story and made it make sense, it wouldn't work for an action game considering action games involve KILLING THINGS. If your looking for a good action game, get NG2 instead. Its miles better and really cheap since its four years old now. NG3 is just a terribly boring action game that tries too look cool to cover up how shallow everything is. This Hayashi guy is doing nothing but making a weak attempt to imitate the greatness that Itagaki created for the Ninja Gaiden series. Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Let me first say this..... This game is not a bad game.....IT'S JUST NOT A NINJA GAIDEN GAME!!! When it was announced that NG3 would have been rebooted from scratch .As a fan i knew this could only mean one thing....either make or break. I don't particularly think that NG3 is a bad game, It just stripped out everything that made the previous NG games enjoyable and replaced it with poorLet me first say this..... This game is not a bad game.....IT'S JUST NOT A NINJA GAIDEN GAME!!! When it was announced that NG3 would have been rebooted from scratch .As a fan i knew this could only mean one thing....either make or break. I don't particularly think that NG3 is a bad game, It just stripped out everything that made the previous NG games enjoyable and replaced it with poor choices. Yes the combat is fast / but it took away all the weapons (yes... one weapon throughout the whole game) Yes it's easy / but NG is suppose to be challenging. Yes it's bloody Aha! / but it took away limb decapitation (d'oh). What you're left with is a generic hack n slash game which allows you to play with Ryu Hayabusa.
    It's fun but they really drop the ball with this. I am praying that they release weapon dlc's for this.
    Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Worst NG game of the 3. Feel really ripped off. To bad they screwed up my favorite action game. Story wise its a really bad story. 1 & 2 didnt have a really good story but they made it up by killer gameplay. This time they `focus` a lot on the story but its horrible.

    Game has been simplified. If you enjoyed the first 2 games, stay away from this one. If youre a casual gamer that wants
    Worst NG game of the 3. Feel really ripped off. To bad they screwed up my favorite action game. Story wise its a really bad story. 1 & 2 didnt have a really good story but they made it up by killer gameplay. This time they `focus` a lot on the story but its horrible.

    Game has been simplified. If you enjoyed the first 2 games, stay away from this one.
    If youre a casual gamer that wants to finish a game by only pressing one button, than maybe youll enjoy the game.

    I at least feel really ripped off.
    Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Along with the rest here, I too am disappointed how this game turned out. Team Ninja, please... get a clue! Don't strip something that works and replace it with something that doesn't work... If you want to follow the western style game development, take a cue from Cliffy B and the Gears of War franchise, Jade Raymond and the Assassin's Creed series, the Uncharted series, Metal GearAlong with the rest here, I too am disappointed how this game turned out. Team Ninja, please... get a clue! Don't strip something that works and replace it with something that doesn't work... If you want to follow the western style game development, take a cue from Cliffy B and the Gears of War franchise, Jade Raymond and the Assassin's Creed series, the Uncharted series, Metal Gear series, Rocksteady's Batman games and of course, from your old mentor and the original Team Ninja which brought back the Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 for the Xbox 360... All these games stayed true to what works and improved upon what worked and sprinkled in new game mechanics... not tear it down and discard the things which made these games fun to play with in the first place. I did like the Sigma games a little bit, but I didn't appreciate how the Sigma series ruined the flow of the series by alternating characters in the story mode and eliminating the dismemberment, the gore, and the number of enemies you fight on screen. Tecmo/KOEI: Take this as a lesson. Don't alienate the fans and expect to appeal to newer audience. Ninja Gaiden is a great franchise. Still, I won't rate it as low as the others... I will give Yosuke Hayashi and his crew some credit for improved visuals, great level design and the attempt for trying something new... but the mediocre score of "5" is deserving for reasons I had mentioned above. But do please remember the trademarks of what made the Ninja Gaiden series great: Fast-fluid-non-stop action, level progression, enemy and level variation, blood and dismemberment, brutal, relentless, weapon variation... Just bring Itagaki back for God's sake, Tecmo! Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2012
    3
    I'm so disgusted by this pseudo-Ninja Gaiden game. What a letdown! The developers ruined almost every aspect that I love from NG2. Big fail, Team Ninja!
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    As a Ninja gaiden fan this is a major disappointment. I am so angry and sad they killed this game. Everything what made NG and NG2 good games is removed, and what they have added is dull, like stupid kunai climbs (30 or more), QTE and a dull stupid non ninja story. I was really bored when playing this game. I was glad when I finished it. I will never pop it in my console again.
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    This game would be a light, inoffensive Ninja Gaiden clone, if only it didn't have the name on it. As it stands, it adds nothing to the core experience and takes away so much, even having the gall to hold some of it at arms length in the form of DLC, that it can only be viewed as an enormous step backwards for the franchise. People new to the series should go find a copy of the originalThis game would be a light, inoffensive Ninja Gaiden clone, if only it didn't have the name on it. As it stands, it adds nothing to the core experience and takes away so much, even having the gall to hold some of it at arms length in the form of DLC, that it can only be viewed as an enormous step backwards for the franchise. People new to the series should go find a copy of the original and play that to see what a real action game is. Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2012
    3
    When it comes to NG series this is the WORST one...not to mention the ugliest one strangely enough. It's not a bad game given that a gamer never played the previous titles but to a series follower it has EPIC FAIL written all over it. It's a complete bore to the end...apart from few boss fights the game feels like a chore. The sense of any adventure is completely gone...you move from A toWhen it comes to NG series this is the WORST one...not to mention the ugliest one strangely enough. It's not a bad game given that a gamer never played the previous titles but to a series follower it has EPIC FAIL written all over it. It's a complete bore to the end...apart from few boss fights the game feels like a chore. The sense of any adventure is completely gone...you move from A to B....kill the SAME bad guys over and over again till a boss shows up. Not to mention you now have ONE sword(re-skinned 3 times in the game) and magic/ninpo move....it's like ninja gaiden series got neutered or something.

    And ps3 was the lead platform...the game sucks in that too but on 360 it has added washed out gfx and vsync galore. The production value is extremely low when compared to previous titles. I just don't know how the hell Tecmo allowed such bastardization of the series which was regarded as the king of action games.

    This game is a rent at it's best and probably no will care about it in month's time.
    Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    THE GAME IS HORRENDOUS, the screen tear found in the xbox version is HORRENDOUS, the gameplay is like dinasty warriors, enemies attack with no grace and skill, all charging at you at once like DW, both versions looks and PLAY like crap, if you like to play with Ryu Hayabusa, from prevoius NG tittles, you wont see him in NG3 fighting with grace and acrobatic style, using button comnibationsTHE GAME IS HORRENDOUS, the screen tear found in the xbox version is HORRENDOUS, the gameplay is like dinasty warriors, enemies attack with no grace and skill, all charging at you at once like DW, both versions looks and PLAY like crap, if you like to play with Ryu Hayabusa, from prevoius NG tittles, you wont see him in NG3 fighting with grace and acrobatic style, using button comnibations to enjoy the huge combo list each weapon used to haveâ Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    As a long time Ninja Gaiden fan this game is a let down. I pre ordered both PS3 and Xbox 360 versions months ago, it shows how much i love this franchise. I own all other version of ninja gaiden on Xbox, Xbox 360, and PS3 and played the hell out of them. The controls are unresponsive and feel detached from the action on screen compared to previous NG games. I hate the zoom in that theAs a long time Ninja Gaiden fan this game is a let down. I pre ordered both PS3 and Xbox 360 versions months ago, it shows how much i love this franchise. I own all other version of ninja gaiden on Xbox, Xbox 360, and PS3 and played the hell out of them. The controls are unresponsive and feel detached from the action on screen compared to previous NG games. I hate the zoom in that the camera does when a "Steel on Bone" Technique randomly triggers it's disorienting also slows down the momentum. The finisher move are way too long to execute and trigger randomly, they can be 4-5 seconds long. There's no more Health bar in BOSS fights, and they are now loaded whit QTE. Dismemberments are gone, it would have been awesome to have dismemberment after a finisher move and/or a Steel on bone. I also encountered many slowdowns when there's lot of action on the screen. The only good thing about NG3 that I can think of are the Graphics, they are very good compared to previous NG. I hope that these issue can be fixed in the Wii U version or maybe in a Ninja Gaiden 3 Sigma release if that ever happened. 20th March 2012 is a very sad day for a Ninja Gaiden fan. Marc-Etienne Fournier Quebec, Canada Expand
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    This is by far the worst ninja gaiden but its not terrible. It's fun if you give it time for the game to start to pick up. The steel on bone moves are stupid and a big step back from the obliteration techniques from ng2. The bosses are decent but frusterating, mostly fighting robots. The story is retarded. The antagonist is the worst enemy ive ever seen. You only get one weapon which uThis is by far the worst ninja gaiden but its not terrible. It's fun if you give it time for the game to start to pick up. The steel on bone moves are stupid and a big step back from the obliteration techniques from ng2. The bosses are decent but frusterating, mostly fighting robots. The story is retarded. The antagonist is the worst enemy ive ever seen. You only get one weapon which u cant power up. Over all its a different kind of ninja gaiden that wont appeal to everybody but i got used to the steps back and found a bit enjoyment with it Expand
  24. May 11, 2012
    2
    I have now played through this twice with an open mind to see if I've missed something. I don't believe that I have. This game is extremely repetitive and without any of the leveling up of weapons, health bar or ninpo, lacks any sort of payoff. The control is sloppy and the enemies, when difficult (which is very rare) are only difficult due to what feels like AI cheapness. In the previousI have now played through this twice with an open mind to see if I've missed something. I don't believe that I have. This game is extremely repetitive and without any of the leveling up of weapons, health bar or ninpo, lacks any sort of payoff. The control is sloppy and the enemies, when difficult (which is very rare) are only difficult due to what feels like AI cheapness. In the previous games, when you died, you at least felt like it was fair. I didn't block in time. I should have dodged away etc. In this, I felt as though I kept cursing the design, rather than the enemies or their tactics. In my opinions, Ninja Gaiden Sigma was the best iteration of the original. It had all the content of Black with better graphics and tons of extras. They cut out nothing. In Sigma 2, you were given an extra sword and a few throw away levels but so much was cut out (including the blood). If this progression is to be expected from the new Team Ninja, Ninja Gaiden 4 will be an empty box with no game and you will have to purchase every level and pay with points whenever you want to save. This is a failure. Expand
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    So awful! I don't know how or why this happened, Tecmo really screwed up beyond belief on this one, which comes as a major disappointment to me considering the fact that I have always been a fan of the Dead or Alive and Ninja Gaiden fan.

    No joke, stay with the old Ninja Gaiden, Amazingly even the original is a better looking game if you get the PS3 version. If you've already played
    So awful! I don't know how or why this happened, Tecmo really screwed up beyond belief on this one, which comes as a major disappointment to me considering the fact that I have always been a fan of the Dead or Alive and Ninja Gaiden fan.

    No joke, stay with the old Ninja Gaiden, Amazingly even the original is a better looking game if you get the PS3 version. If you've already played through that, get Ninja Gaiden 2. If you have played through that, then tough luck, as Ninja Gaiden 3 is a broken mess of a game. I can't get over how bad this thing is, I thought for sure there's no way it could disappoint considering how much I enjoyed the original 2, but sure enough they found a way to screw everything up. Avoid by all cost unless you want to be disappointed.
    Expand
  26. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    why are you guys giving this game such a bad score????? because I honestly loved the game, i loved the story, the fighting, and the online. The only thing I can say that was stupid about the game was that they took off upgrading the weapon, when the enemy grab you I wish you can kick them off, and buying potion and that the only thing that was neg about the game but everything else I lovedwhy are you guys giving this game such a bad score????? because I honestly loved the game, i loved the story, the fighting, and the online. The only thing I can say that was stupid about the game was that they took off upgrading the weapon, when the enemy grab you I wish you can kick them off, and buying potion and that the only thing that was neg about the game but everything else I loved the game. Expand
  27. Mar 27, 2012
    7
    I understand why many people may feel cheated by the core changes Team Ninja made to the Game but there are some pretty solid aspects of the game to add to the fun. It all depends on what you're looking for in a game, sure story ain't that great but it never was, NG was always about the bloody, fast paced action you expect from a game with Ninja in it's name. What they've taken away byI understand why many people may feel cheated by the core changes Team Ninja made to the Game but there are some pretty solid aspects of the game to add to the fun. It all depends on what you're looking for in a game, sure story ain't that great but it never was, NG was always about the bloody, fast paced action you expect from a game with Ninja in it's name. What they've taken away by removing the upgrades and weapon variety they more than make up with endless slaughter and a surprisingly fun multiplayer aspect of the game. Bottom line is, the hardcore NG player may find it lacking but for all the fans of hardcore slaughter is a great choice. Expand
  28. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This game has been reviewed so badly in comparison to what the game really is. It's a fast, fluid action game that isn't that bad at all. It doesn't deserve a 10, but it sure as hell doesn't deserve a user score of a 3.9. People are saying the game has been simplified, well try the game on Hard. I've started it on Hard and it's not that easy. Imagine that if Hard isn't easy, there will beThis game has been reviewed so badly in comparison to what the game really is. It's a fast, fluid action game that isn't that bad at all. It doesn't deserve a 10, but it sure as hell doesn't deserve a user score of a 3.9. People are saying the game has been simplified, well try the game on Hard. I've started it on Hard and it's not that easy. Imagine that if Hard isn't easy, there will be Master Ninja and Ultimate Ninja later on. This game will challenge you whatsoever. Also the problem people are talking about is the lack of weapons. Yes you have one weapon to use. (That doesn't include the bow and maybe other, yet unknown weapons for me) But later on there will be FREE DLC for the game which contains extra maps and extra weapons. In April there will be DLC for the Scythe and the Claws. So that's not that bad, just a bummer they didn't put it on the game in the first place. Also about the Health Regeneration. People are saying that it's too easy because your health will be constantly regenerated or something. Well, the health system is the same system that has been used in Ninja Gaiden 2. Instead of getting a red bar within your HP bar, you'll simply lose a certain chunk of your HP bar. So your HP bar will decrease. This makes it a lot harder. Yes, after your fight is finished your health will regenerate up for as long as your HP bar is at that moment. This also happened in Ninja Gaiden 2. The only way to increase your HP bar again is to either use Ninpo or save the game at certain save points. Ninpo doesn't fully increase your HP bar, but only increases it for a small part. Ninpo doesn't come in easy either. You have to kill a certain amount of enemies to get your Ninpo bar to fill up. Now about the Quick Time Events (QTE's). Yes, there are QTE's. Is it a bad thing? Maybe. In the beginning you'll be confronted with a few QTE's in the cinematics. Later on, you won't have them as much anymore. Even better, you can turn them off if you want. Also, you won't be confronted much by QTE's while your fighting. Actually almost none of the time. Something you have to press an extra button, but in the heat of the battle you'll probably won't even notice it. So all in all, the game really isn't as bad as a lot of people portrayed it. Maybe they started the game on Easy or Normal, or surely a lot of people didn't even play the game but just aren't happy with the changes that have been made. So play the game first, then judge it, and you'll come to notice it isn't a bad game. There have been better Ninja Gaidens, that's for sure. But it's not worth a 3.9! Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    The good(+): massive bloody ninja action, very good graphics. The bad (-): No character/equipment upgrades. Awkward and confusing story. After a while gameplay feels VERY repetitive. Unapealing enemy bosses. Random bugs and glitches from time to time. In my opinion this game despite its major flaws it delivers very good non sense action. Perhaps as a Ninja Gaiden game this game feelsThe good(+): massive bloody ninja action, very good graphics. The bad (-): No character/equipment upgrades. Awkward and confusing story. After a while gameplay feels VERY repetitive. Unapealing enemy bosses. Random bugs and glitches from time to time. In my opinion this game despite its major flaws it delivers very good non sense action. Perhaps as a Ninja Gaiden game this game feels very poor, but for those who like me enjoy ripping apart hundreds of fiends with lots of blood over and over this might satisfy your needs. I feel those who gave a 0 or a 3 were looking for something that doesn't exist. Moreover I would only give a 0 or a 3 (IGN) score to something like a half finished game, with very horrible graphics and really bad controls. NG3 doesn't suffer form any of these flaws. I really hated FFXIII-2 but still I gave it a 6 because I could see some effort on trying to make something work. Really, how many people are involved on making a videogame (MANY!). On these days making a "good" game isn't easy at all and the hardest part is to please everyone. Scoring zero NG3 is just being rude and unfair with other people's work. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    The negative reviews are unfounded.This for one is an action game and it sticks to that oh well you dont switch weapons its telling a story about the sword. So you dont upgrade weapons or go looking for potions id like to re-iterate this is an ACTION game not an RPG.The difficulty is toned down well then dont play it on normal or hero start out on hard and later on master ninja or whateverThe negative reviews are unfounded.This for one is an action game and it sticks to that oh well you dont switch weapons its telling a story about the sword. So you dont upgrade weapons or go looking for potions id like to re-iterate this is an ACTION game not an RPG.The difficulty is toned down well then dont play it on normal or hero start out on hard and later on master ninja or whatever the hardest difficulty is. I also played and beat the original nes ng games,ng black on its hardest difficulty, but this is an excellent action game that should not be overlooked because of the aformentioned differences. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    50
    It's not a bad action game by definition, but it lacks everything that made the series endearing, making it an overall unmemorable outing for fans that fell in love with the white-knuckle action and hair-pulling difficulty found in previous Ninja Gaiden titles.
  2. May 29, 2012
    62
    Every – really every – fan of Ninja Gaiden was probably expecting a different game than this Ninja Gaiden 3.
  3. 50
    Ninja Gaiden 3 discards all the elements that made the previous titles popular among players, and the result is a worse and mutilated game.