Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ninja Gaiden 3 aims to take players on a journey with their hero Hayabusa once more, but this time they’ll see more from their protagonist than they ever imagined. For the first time, we’ll get a look at the world through Hayabusa’s eyes, and find out what drives him to fight, and kill. AtNinja Gaiden 3 aims to take players on a journey with their hero Hayabusa once more, but this time they’ll see more from their protagonist than they ever imagined. For the first time, we’ll get a look at the world through Hayabusa’s eyes, and find out what drives him to fight, and kill. At the center of the conflict this time around is a masked man whose motivations and goals are unclear. Through mysterious powers, he changes Hayabusa – and the lines between hero and villain, good and evil, are blurred forever. Featuring a new story, new gameplay and new modes, Ninja Gaiden 3 marks a new direction in this fan-favorite franchise. Team NINJA will change the way fans think about ninja and Ryu Hayabusa himself. Players will learn what it feels like to “cut someone down” through their experiences in the game. The game will also feature online multiplayer, both co-op and competitive, that will add a completely new experience to Ninja Gaiden. The shadowy world of ninja has never been presented this way, and Ninja Gaiden will never be the same! Pick up the Dragon Sword once more, sharpen its blade and hone your skills. An adventure unlike any other awaits you. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    85
    Ninja Gaiden 3 is a brave departure for the infamous action series – and it's focus on sword fighting and spectacular quicktime sequences could disappoint diehard fans.
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    79
    Even though Ninja Gaiden 3 is still a relatively good game, with all the setbacks such as the high amount of QuickTime events, marginal design layout, and more, nothing pains me more than to say that Ninja Gaiden 3 is not the best game in the series. It's a shame too because like many of us, we have come to expect amazing work from the people of Tecmo and Team Ninja, but we can hope that this new team learns from this and grows the series back into greatness.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    66
    There were several moments that induced frustration-whether due to the wonky controls, throw-happy enemies, or artificial limits on Ryu's ability usage-that were clearly just poor design choices.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    Ninja Gaiden 3 is not a complete train wreck, but it does suffer from a multitude of problems. The action can be fast-paced and engaging at times, but many design decisions significantly bring down the experience. Dumbed-down A.I., a limited arsenal, the series' notoriously difficult camera, no inventory/currency system, and an incoherent story combine to make this the most disappointing title in the series.
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    57
    A disappointing sequel for Ryu's saga, stripped of all the features that made the previous chapters stand out in the action games crowd.
  6. 50
    Ninja Gaiden 3 discards all the elements that made the previous titles popular among players, and the result is a worse and mutilated game.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    16
    This face-off is two things enemy encounters in previous Ninja Gaiden games have never been: pedestrian and predictable.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 56
  2. Negative: 25 out of 56
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    why are you guys giving this game such a bad score????? because I honestly loved the game, i loved the story, the fighting, and the online.why are you guys giving this game such a bad score????? because I honestly loved the game, i loved the story, the fighting, and the online. The only thing I can say that was stupid about the game was that they took off upgrading the weapon, when the enemy grab you I wish you can kick them off, and buying potion and that the only thing that was neg about the game but everything else I loved the game. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    As a huge ninja gaiden I too was disappointed at the degree to which the game is different. It ALMOST does not feel like Ninja Gaiden, but atAs a huge ninja gaiden I too was disappointed at the degree to which the game is different. It ALMOST does not feel like Ninja Gaiden, but at the end of the day I feel like I am playing Ninja Gaiden. The only change that really bothers me is the removal of all the weapons, especially the lunar staff. Once you get over the changes, you are left with a very solid action game, better than most. Tight, lightning quick action, tons of blood, lots of Ryu wrecking fools. You really need to ignore most of the user reviews on the website as they are obviously submitted by heartbroken hardcore Ninja Gaiden fans, as is the review by IGN. OBJECTIVELY, the game is solid. Go into the game expecting big changes, play the game on hard mode since the default is too easy, I promise a game that will quench your bloodthirst. Also remember that no one is better at listening fan feedback a republishing an improved game than team Ninja. Expect a Sigma or Black or whatever edition to be released in the future which incorporates fan feedback. Heck, they already have the Claws and the Scythe on the way in a DLC. The game is an 8.5, not a masterpiece, but very good. Anyone giving this game a 0 or a 1 clearly needs a therapist to discuss their relationship with Ninja Gaiden and work out their lengthy emotional issues. The IGN review is puzzling as well. IGN is usually right on target with their reviews, but this 3 and the language included in the review is blatantly biased and rather unprofessional. I wish too the game played just like Ninja Gaiden 2, but I got over that in ten minutes and proceeded to spill the blood of thousands of foes. Pretty fun. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    NG2 was the best one imo and NG3 does indeed falls short from it. NG2 was perfect, but it is very difficult to continue to develop a "perfectNG2 was the best one imo and NG3 does indeed falls short from it. NG2 was perfect, but it is very difficult to continue to develop a "perfect game" everytime. It will NEVER happen. Oh dont forget the challenge of trying new stuff without pissing off retarded fan boys. still the game offers many appeal for hardcore gamers and for the first time it opens up for a larger casual audience. Try it for yourself, give this game to a casual player and ask him after 30 min - 1hour gameplay. Collapse
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    The action is cool but that's just about it. Basically take your normal Ninja Gaiden and dumb it down. Strip off all of the customization andThe action is cool but that's just about it. Basically take your normal Ninja Gaiden and dumb it down. Strip off all of the customization and inventory, different weapons and just about everything else that made Ninja Gaiden great and slap in more combo driven cinematics. It's not unplayable but it will have the true NG fan complaining the entire way through (no vigoorian flail!? WTF!?). First time NG players will like this one but the faithful true NG fan will be and should be disappointed. Expand
  5. May 21, 2015
    4
    I picked up NG3 expecting to have a similar frustrating experience at my own failure to do something (i.e. not being "ninja" enough) as I didI picked up NG3 expecting to have a similar frustrating experience at my own failure to do something (i.e. not being "ninja" enough) as I did back in Ninja Gaiden 2 (still haven't finished it on Path of the Acolyte because the game is *that friggin' hard*...and because of not being ninja enough). Here, the entire experience is, as everyone has said, incredibly dumbed down. What happened to chopping off limbs and heads? What happened to the level of ultra violence that was present in past games that the series was known for? What happened to the tight responsiveness of fluid combat present in Ninja Gaiden 2? All these questions can be summed up with one answer: they've all been cut out.

    In Ninja Gaiden 2, I've rarely had to yell my lungs out at the screen in frustration due to getting killed by the same attack I keep failing to dodge "that one time." Here in Ninja Gaiden 3, I've been repeatedly yelling again and again and again at getting hit by a myriad of attacks without being able to effectively dodge them. Case in point: boss battles. One of the worst offenders in this game are the barrages of homing missiles. These attacks in particular fake the difficulty by giving you a slew of exploding projectiles that are nigh impossible to escape from without a scratch. On top of that, the variety has been cut out, both in weapons and ninpo.

    After all that's been said and done, Ninja Gaiden 3 is supposed to be fun; it clearly isn't. It's a humongous disappointment. Play it if you want, but my advice is to simply skip it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    2
    As a successor to Ninja Gaiden 1 & 2 this is a tragedy. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase. Note: I started playing the storyAs a successor to Ninja Gaiden 1 & 2 this is a tragedy. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase. Note: I started playing the story after the claw and scythe were made available, but while they definitely do add to the game it's simply not enough. This is not a Ninja Gaiden sequel. This is Call of Duty: Ninja Gaiden. The game plays like this. Walk forward, respond to quicktime event (QTE), walk forward, mash the X button to defeat wave of enemies, climb wall, mash X some more, jump down, mash X even more,defeat boss, watch uninteresting cutscene, repeat ad nauseum. At no point did I feel like I was truly in control of Ryu. The combat has been extremely dumbed down. It's almost impossible to pull away from a group and target a single enemy since the game pretty much decides that for you. Seriously, all you have to do is hammer X repeatedly for 8 hours with a few slides thrown in here and there- there's absolutely no challenge. On the higher difficulties I found myself dying constantly, but only because of my inability to triage thanks to the games autotarget taking nearly all of the control out of my hands. I have no idea how many times I would go out of my way to rush the guy with the rocket launcher only to have Ryu spin on his heels and the attack the dude chasing directly behind me as soon as I made an attack input simply because the game decreed it so.The skilled and tactical approach to each encounter from the previous games has been entirely erased. Slam on the X button, if you get surrounded slide out of the huddle, then slam X even more. When your arm glows red hit Y. You just beat the game. There's no need to jump off of walls for more powerful strikes, no need to memorize combos, no need to know what weapons work best in what scenarios - just beat the living hell out of the X button. There are WAY too many QTEs and they seriously break the game's flow, and even a few hours in the game constantly reminds you to press LT to block/X for light attack/Y for heavy. If you turn these off in the menus it also turns off the QTE prompts leading to you having to guess whenever one pops up (every 2-3min). Kunai climbing is annoying, rope climbing is entirely pointless, I could go for days. On top of all of this the framerate is horrible, the camera is way too close making it worse than it ever was, some parts of the game are extremely underlit and it took forever to get the brightness settings correct, the game is so easy the only way you'll really die is from enemies with cheap and unblockable throw attacks, there isn't much variety to the enemies, etc etc. It's obvious this game was simplified and streamlined to attract the casual crowd which was a failed attempt unless you're looking for a completely mindless action game, and a ton of emphasis was placed on actually telling a story. Unfortunately that doesn't bode well either as this one, like the previous two, is nonsensical and forgettable. This game sucks and doesn't deserve to bear the Ninja Gaiden name. What little fun to be had here is marred by extremely shallow combat, technical shortcomings, an asinine attempt at a story, and complete lack of legitimate challenge. The first 2 NGs were deep, challenging games that I initially sucked at only because I wasn't good enough... yet. As the games went on they seemed to get easier, but the truth was that I was just getting better. NG3 lays down and spreads its legs for you as soon as you put the disk in the tray without making you earn it. Just keep pressing X. I want my money back. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    0
    The only feeling i have is disgust, bring back Itagaki and make him make a proper game like Ninja Gaiden game next time or consider this series dead!

See all 56 User Reviews