Ninja Gaiden II Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 289

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. wiggles
    Jun 15, 2008
    3
    Pluses: good graphics cool weapons and finishers. negatives: horrible camera frustrating bosses and enemy groups later on. the beginning is good but the rest is just frustrating mess that will make you want to put your fist trough your TV. any game thats this ridiculously frustrating is not fun. I played 6 hours worth and I'm so sick and tired of this piece of crap that I don't Pluses: good graphics cool weapons and finishers. negatives: horrible camera frustrating bosses and enemy groups later on. the beginning is good but the rest is just frustrating mess that will make you want to put your fist trough your TV. any game thats this ridiculously frustrating is not fun. I played 6 hours worth and I'm so sick and tired of this piece of crap that I don't think I'll ever play it again. I doubt I've ever had so much fun at the beginning and hated the game so soon after. only real hardcore fans of the series should get this. Expand
  2. PabloT
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Ninja Gaiden is a master piece of action game, but, the problems of last NG continues like cam and a bad story, just that for my rating 9, cuz another things has add to new game like bloooood yaa, limbs etc etc about corpses and weapons variety! This is Ninja Gaiden, thank u Itagaki-San!
  3. filippog.
    May 29, 2008
    0
    Camera problem, frame rate issue, story awful, impossible to finish worst game ever.
  4. Cav
    Jul 20, 2008
    0
    This game is terrible. Rubbish camera angles, repetitive and boring storyline. And it's frustratingly difficult. Sold it after second chapter.
  5. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    THE BEST ACTION GAME ON XBOX 360!!
    60+ houers and still playing!
    Blood,Fast Action,Many Wepons,Massive Combos,Story is **** but its not story you want from that kind of games.
    PURE FUN:)
  6. RonS
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Seriously, you Gaystation fanboys can stop rating this game so low just because you're jealous. It's pretty weak.
  7. HansG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Just like SIgma, nothing new. Graphics look dull. Don't buy it, buy sigma.
  8. JimA
    Jul 27, 2008
    4
    I have no problem with games that are hard because the enemies are challenging. This game definitely fits that mold. What makes this game bad is that while you're fighting the already difficult enemies, you're fighting the miserable camera and chugging framerate as well. I can't count how many times I've died in this game because enemies hit me that I didn't even I have no problem with games that are hard because the enemies are challenging. This game definitely fits that mold. What makes this game bad is that while you're fighting the already difficult enemies, you're fighting the miserable camera and chugging framerate as well. I can't count how many times I've died in this game because enemies hit me that I didn't even know had spawned in, since my camera got stuck facing a wall while I was killing one guy and it takes five seconds to turn around. Even LB, which is supposed to snap the camera to the direction you're facing, only works about 10% of the time. Also, cutscene spawn protection is a problem too. Anytime you spawn in from a cutscene, expect to be hit at least four times before you realise the scene is over. Its pretty, its fast-paced (unless it chugs because there are more than three enemies on the screen, which is often), but the gameplay is simply broken because of crappy camera. I know thats a trite negative about action games, but this is one of the worst, and it deserves to be called out on it. Expand
  9. MikeW.
    Aug 2, 2008
    6
    Don
  10. DavidO.
    Sep 23, 2008
    6
    This game is a complete piece of trash! Everything from production to creation sucks! People who rate this game above 7 are getting paid to rate it high! First of all, NGB I have completed it in Master Ninja, I started this game on Warrior Path. The gameplay was fine, but too easy for me. ENOUGH! Even reviewing this game is a waste! I'll just get to the bad points!!! *Graphics sucks! This game is a complete piece of trash! Everything from production to creation sucks! People who rate this game above 7 are getting paid to rate it high! First of all, NGB I have completed it in Master Ninja, I started this game on Warrior Path. The gameplay was fine, but too easy for me. ENOUGH! Even reviewing this game is a waste! I'll just get to the bad points!!! *Graphics sucks! *Gameplay is farked! *Enemies are so cheap, you see ninjas throwing explosives tards ALL OVER THE SCREEN! *SO MUCH ENEMIES ON SCREEN AT ONCE IT CAUSES THE GAME TO SLOW DOWN!!! *You have enemies that can gang bang you to death, but when you fight a boss, you can EASILY triumph over a weak boss! Basically boss battles are easier than enemies! *Puzzles are farking annoying has hell! The puzzles are way worst than NGB! *Controls are farked too! They are so unresponsive! Worst is when you try to dash when you are in a block mode, you have to tap the direction pad multiple times just to make Ryu dash! *Game has no storyline! *You download additional content such as costumes, updates/patch or mission mode and they will completely mess up your game save which leaves the game unplayable! Many people still can get pass Chapter 10 because of this. *Costumes look like crap! where is Fiend Ryu!??? *Leaderboard is a piece of crap...when browsing through the list, it will crash on you! *Achievement list sucks asz! There are so many that can be said...I advise people not to buy this piece of shiz! The game is not challenging or hard...it's just frustrating! If you want a challenging game, go play Ninja Gaiden, Black or Sigma! It's like Team Ninja did this on purpose! Expand
  11. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    As a hardcore player of ninja gaiden 1 i gotta say this has some really good improvements,in graphics,new weapons,new moves enemies etc..

    Only thing i didn't like is that some of the places are really small to fight while there are 6 enemies around you and a camera that avoids you from seeing them or the player,but this rarely happens so overall i think it's a great game.
  12. Apr 19, 2011
    5
    If you liked the first one, you should enjoy it as well. Graphics are good and overall experience with the game was fun. They hosed Xbox 360 user again, just like they did with the first one. Should have expected it; not going to bother buying the third iteration of this game new, since they will probably do the same thing again. May be a rental or buy used. Not going to bother supportingIf you liked the first one, you should enjoy it as well. Graphics are good and overall experience with the game was fun. They hosed Xbox 360 user again, just like they did with the first one. Should have expected it; not going to bother buying the third iteration of this game new, since they will probably do the same thing again. May be a rental or buy used. Not going to bother supporting Tecmo any more until they stop this crap. Expand
  13. Frank
    May 30, 2008
    1
    Ca rame en masse.. c'est affolant.. les graphismes sont loin d'être aussi beau que ce qu'on avait pu voir en screen sur le net (vive photoshop) pas de mode online pour que les joueurs jouent ensemble afin de relancer la durée de vie du jeu, bref déçu et dégouté a 100% de ce jeu.
  14. GeorgeK.
    Sep 2, 2008
    9
    Despite its enraging difficulty. ninja gaiden 2 is an incredible eye-candy. I've dissed quite a few games before but i can't do this with ninja gaiden. Incredible graphics, unbelievable AI and interesting storyline. IF the cameras didn't suck SO much I'd give it a perfect 10. Now I'll stay with a 9 and i'll name it my favourite 360 game till now.
  15. It'sanokgame
    Sep 5, 2008
    7
    Honestly, NGII is a great game but the camera angles wanted to make me throw my controller. I can't count how many times i've died due to the camera. Other than the camera the game is good but it's slightly easier than NGB or NGS which kinda made me mad since im a fan of the games. Ryu charges way too fast to even make it challenging but noting somehow the enemies have Honestly, NGII is a great game but the camera angles wanted to make me throw my controller. I can't count how many times i've died due to the camera. Other than the camera the game is good but it's slightly easier than NGB or NGS which kinda made me mad since im a fan of the games. Ryu charges way too fast to even make it challenging but noting somehow the enemies have gotten dumber which was a let down. The nippo has been added too much into the game as in ways of accessing it. It's still cool but i still like black and sigma better. I also hate the way the game lags, it seriously pisses me off and the loading times are also a down fall. Also to me the game feel less responsive to button commands compared to black or sigma. Expand
  16. TimC.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Probably the best action game to date. Hard as nails and rewardingly stressful. This title is all I play.
  17. ThomasL.
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    Very fun game! I wouldn't rate it 10 because this game has big camera issues, complicated levels of difficulty, and inconsistent framerate. Environments of Ninja Gaiden II are not pretty, but it's still a great game. Very gory, awesome animation, and great new weapons.
  18. MarcH.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    This game is going to be awesome and thin coming from team ninja always is, the only people that hate ninja gaiden games are the ones that suck at them Itagaki is right games now adays hand themselves to the player and anything that doesnt people instantly write off as bad tomonobo Itagaki is the man
  19. Brian
    Jun 5, 2008
    7
    A punishing game which replaces the intelligent AI of its predecessor with cheap, auto targeting enemies that withstand merciless onslaughts until your thumbs are sore. Not only this, but the polish is missing. Technical issues such as frame rate slow downs and frequent load times add to the frustration as players battle the horde of fiends as well as the vicious camera.
  20. BDub
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    Seriously underrated game. I don't think i've ever been more at odds with reviews before. There are professional reviewers giving this game a 6? Anyways to any fans of previous NG's, Devil May Cry, or just awesome hack and slash this is a must have. This is definitely the most fun i've had playing a game of the genre, and i'm a senior gamer. Movie and video game Seriously underrated game. I don't think i've ever been more at odds with reviews before. There are professional reviewers giving this game a 6? Anyways to any fans of previous NG's, Devil May Cry, or just awesome hack and slash this is a must have. This is definitely the most fun i've had playing a game of the genre, and i'm a senior gamer. Movie and video game reviewers have gotten rediculous over just the last 5 years. Why can't movies and games that are just fun be well rated anymore? It seems that every movie has to be oscar material and every video game has to be ground breaking or be able to have an endless supply of content in able to receive a decent review. I guess the only weak spots i can think of for this game is plot and difficulty. But honestly i've had just a difficult time on some of the campaign boards of COD4. And this is not a plot driven game, it is an action driven game with a plot that is there just to give some kind of flow to the game for one setting to another. I think it was with Bioshock that i realized that there is a huge divide between what i like and what reviewers like. I don't play video games for deep stories, i play them for action and fun. I watch movies for stories or read books. If i can get both, great (COD4). But in my opinion it should be only the level of fun that gives a game its score. The fact that this game scored so much lower than DMC4 is laughable and almost conspiracy like. I liked DMC4 too, but not as much. Expand
  21. AaronB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This is the mother of all ninja games. After playing through it 2 1/2 times in a week (original on Warrior, halfway on Mentor which is very hard, and then finishing a quick run through on Warrior New+ game) I'm totally hooked on this game and will continue to play it for some time. The graphics are superb, the weapons are fantastic and the enemies are numerous. The camera is largely This is the mother of all ninja games. After playing through it 2 1/2 times in a week (original on Warrior, halfway on Mentor which is very hard, and then finishing a quick run through on Warrior New+ game) I'm totally hooked on this game and will continue to play it for some time. The graphics are superb, the weapons are fantastic and the enemies are numerous. The camera is largely the same as in NG1/NG:B, which is to say troubled but not a serious problem. In my many play throughs of NG1 I never had a problem with it after the first game, and I don't currently with NG2. At first you will not be sure if its an upgrade from NG1 because its so different, honestly I questioned it at first as well, but after really getting to know the game well it is most definitely a large upgrade. I love it, this is one of the best games I've ever played and is currently the absolute peak of action gaming, nothing comes close. Expand
  22. RandomG.
    May 26, 2008
    2
    Very poor game when compared with number 1. Major framerate issues and the camera constantly gets stuck at the wrong times.
  23. WesleyX
    Jun 1, 2008
    3
    Although the game looks pretty spectacular it is actually very very boring to play. Just running a pre set course with little to no option of exploration, facing the same enemies over and over again and the fighting is not much more then simple button bashing. Nice visual effects though.
  24. JasonP
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    If you have a problem with the camera in this game, Return it...you don't know how to play. Awesome Action, Awesome Gore, the most challenging boss battles ever! Well since NG1!
  25. TommasoT.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    The God of the action games; it's a perfect game by gameplay and artistic game and level design, and after all they are the most important things for an action videogame. Killer application, for me it's the best game (only for) on Xbox360.
  26. StevenG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    True gamers only!
  27. LeonardW.
    Jun 26, 2008
    0
    Yet another crap 360 exclusive. I laugh at people who try to pretend this is good. 1UP called it, and they were being generous.
  28. BenD.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Don't know why this game has a low meta :( its a great platformer better than devel maycry and maybe even that gods of war even tho its only gaming mechanic seems to be the fighting thats what it should be and the blood is BLOODY brilliant! :-) play the demo!
  29. DanA.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    Giving this game anything under an 8 (Which represents being above average, yet not amazing) is ridiculous. 1up comes in with a 67? That's moronic. Games like 50 Cent Bulletproof are 67 material. Ninja Gaiden II is a smooth, fluid, sweet action game with good platforming elements. It's not as well done as the first (which is a 10), but it's certainly not some standard game Giving this game anything under an 8 (Which represents being above average, yet not amazing) is ridiculous. 1up comes in with a 67? That's moronic. Games like 50 Cent Bulletproof are 67 material. Ninja Gaiden II is a smooth, fluid, sweet action game with good platforming elements. It's not as well done as the first (which is a 10), but it's certainly not some standard game worthy of anything below an 8. Expand
  30. JT
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Ok, first thing about the camera that every single review is killing NG2 about -- did any of you people play the first NG??? The camera is EXACTLY the same. I mean exactly. Surely it is a bit quirky as always, but it works. And sure enemies try to attack you as you walk around corners before you really see them, but after the first time if you just expect it you can always avoid those Ok, first thing about the camera that every single review is killing NG2 about -- did any of you people play the first NG??? The camera is EXACTLY the same. I mean exactly. Surely it is a bit quirky as always, but it works. And sure enemies try to attack you as you walk around corners before you really see them, but after the first time if you just expect it you can always avoid those sneak attacks. Everything looks better from the gore to the ultimate techniques to the ninpo to the enemies. The new weapons are all fun to use (I never used anything besides the sword in NG1). The bow is way better. The new stuff like the falcons talons and the ability to run on top of water is awesome. The obliteration techniques are cool-looking and really useful. Nothing seems cheap to me after the first three chapters. Now, the first time I fought Alma in NG1 and didn't even hit her once for the first two or three tries, that was cheap. This game is awesome. If you loved NG1, you will love this game too. If you're new to NG, just play the entire game once. I hated NG1 the first time because it was so difficult, but before the game was even finished I was saying it was one of my favorite games ever. Expand
  31. JamesF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Wow and I thought the first one was hard. This entry into they series wont revolutionise anything but it is a faster paced game. The weapons and moves little lone the enemies make it insane. That aside the difficulty and akward camera means this game isnt for every one but if you liked the first one you will most likely enjoy Ryu continuing adventure.
  32. RobertC.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    This game is pure carnage! If you're a fan of fast,furious and bloody battles then this is a must play. Not to mention the enormous boss battles. I've played through chapter 8 and for me the game is actually improving over time. The story is pretty straight forwar so far. Some disillusioned poor saps are trying to resurect a beast called the "ARCH FEIND" so they can i guess This game is pure carnage! If you're a fan of fast,furious and bloody battles then this is a must play. Not to mention the enormous boss battles. I've played through chapter 8 and for me the game is actually improving over time. The story is pretty straight forwar so far. Some disillusioned poor saps are trying to resurect a beast called the "ARCH FEIND" so they can i guess share in world domination. So all you do is chase these said foes arround to try and stop the resurection from taking place.Verry simple but effective.I kinda like the simple story telling here,it gives way to the more important brutal action that takes place at a blistering mind numbing pace.Action fans check this out and begin obliterating at once. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  33. IanC.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    The much anticipated sequel for the ninja gaiden franchise didn't dissapiont it's fans: the hardcore gamers. The game is just simply brutally beautiful. the game's combat mechanics raised the bar on todays action games. Ryu Hayabusa has never moved so fluid as he did in this sequel. For Ninja Gaiden, you can never complain about it's diffuclty for that is one reason The much anticipated sequel for the ninja gaiden franchise didn't dissapiont it's fans: the hardcore gamers. The game is just simply brutally beautiful. the game's combat mechanics raised the bar on todays action games. Ryu Hayabusa has never moved so fluid as he did in this sequel. For Ninja Gaiden, you can never complain about it's diffuclty for that is one reason why hardcore gamers like I love this game so much. The camera will honestly be difficult for casual gamers and begginers but Gaiden fans have mastered the use of the pesky camera. If you've played the first ninja gaiden on xbox, mastering the camera will be easy for you on this one. The graphics? not that good nor bad either it's for me just a few notches better than it's previous xbox predecesors. But the point is, why look around while you have these monsters waiting for you to kill (or for them to kill you). The graphics for me is just fine. Ninja Gaiden 2 may have a few flaws on it but no one can deny that it's the best action game around today. The difficult bosses, the smooth action, the blood and gore, and the whole experience had kept me smiling through out the day. A warm thanks to you Itagaki-san! Expand
  34. DidierL.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    GOD-awesome game. I would have given it a ten but the level design (small walkways and awkward platforms) and the freakin' terrible camera it's just too much. I mean the game is hard, of course but it is the camera that gets me more damage than my actual skills. I just wished the camera was better and the player was given a larger area to fight. Other than that, I love this GOD-awesome game. I would have given it a ten but the level design (small walkways and awkward platforms) and the freakin' terrible camera it's just too much. I mean the game is hard, of course but it is the camera that gets me more damage than my actual skills. I just wished the camera was better and the player was given a larger area to fight. Other than that, I love this game. Oh, yeah, the story makes no freakin' sense!! Expand
  35. Shaun
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Game is sex, hands down. While the camera needs a bit of work and the framerate jacks up from time to time, all in all this game is what all action games should strive to be. It made me forget about GTA IV and probably will for a long while from now. A great last act from Itakgi.
  36. TrevorC.
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    This is exactly the game I wanted - lack of a 10 is due to the camera not being improved, but it never once killed me and is being pretty exaggerated by people.
  37. Kyuud.
    Jun 7, 2008
    7
    Please listen ninja gaiden fans, this game is a total disappointment!!! countless camera issues, tons of enemies attack you once from all ranges, terrible lock-on system, and many other issues ... Its predecessor was simply million times better! the game aint worthy of the title ninja gaiden. but well, if you want to play it just for fun, you might like It for the super fast action it Please listen ninja gaiden fans, this game is a total disappointment!!! countless camera issues, tons of enemies attack you once from all ranges, terrible lock-on system, and many other issues ... Its predecessor was simply million times better! the game aint worthy of the title ninja gaiden. but well, if you want to play it just for fun, you might like It for the super fast action it delivers, Its great graphics , many weapon loaded with so many kinds of moves, combos and stuff. anyways in total I give it a 7. Expand
  38. MarkW.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    My only grievances lie in the graphics--which could easily have been accomplished on the original Xbox. The play mechanics are much improved, a more fluid and balanced feel, and despite a sense of redundancy I never feel bored while making mincemeat out of my unworthy adversaries. A fine and worthy addition to the ongoing "Ninja Gaiden" legacy.
  39. VivekM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game! If people like mashing people with maces and scythes or what have you, this game will keep you busy for a while. The camera was a bit hard to control, hence the -1, but other than that...Unbelievable.
  40. MatthewN.
    Jun 9, 2008
    6
    Read up Ninja Gaiden fans. If you're a true believer and truly enjoyed Ninja Gaiden and Gaiden Black, this game is not for you. The levels are straightforward and uninspiring, the camera has been downgraded, and the difficulty is widly imbalanced. I'm good at NG. I beat Black on Hard. So when I say that I understand the combat system, counters, cancellations, etc... you can Read up Ninja Gaiden fans. If you're a true believer and truly enjoyed Ninja Gaiden and Gaiden Black, this game is not for you. The levels are straightforward and uninspiring, the camera has been downgraded, and the difficulty is widly imbalanced. I'm good at NG. I beat Black on Hard. So when I say that I understand the combat system, counters, cancellations, etc... you can believe me... and when I say that even at my level of skill, it behooved me more often than not to ignore my abilities and just hammer the "Y" button repeatedly during 3/4 of the boss fights in NG2, you should be scared. The balanced gameplay and tactical boss fights are gone in favor of gore, fast-paced style, and "obliterations". Ryu is 1/2 the ninja badass he was in the first outing; don't let all the flying limbs fool you. Admittedly, the over the top violence is very cool... for an hour. But please, don't be tempted like I was... just play Black again until this game comes down to about $30. Might be worth it for the non-boss combat at that price... Jesus it hurts to say this. Maybe now that Itagaki has some time on his hands, he'll make a better action game. Expand
  41. AbdulM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    An awesome sequel to an awesome game. Everything you would need from a hack and slash.
  42. CGilliam
    Aug 6, 2008
    5
    I'm sorry, but the myth that this game will please NGB fans the most is ridiculous. I just played Ninja Gaiden Black on Very Hard mode for awhile and then switched to NGII on path of the mentor... the combat on here is SO much easier! Yes, the enemies are far more numerous than in NGB but my god they're pathetic and simple. A UT often tears apart several enemies, leaving for I'm sorry, but the myth that this game will please NGB fans the most is ridiculous. I just played Ninja Gaiden Black on Very Hard mode for awhile and then switched to NGII on path of the mentor... the combat on here is SO much easier! Yes, the enemies are far more numerous than in NGB but my god they're pathetic and simple. A UT often tears apart several enemies, leaving for ridiculously easy UT chaining. Izuna drop still takes you out of range of most enemies, meaning battles are simply more repetitious with less challenging opponents. Combos with the scythe are ludicrously powerful and ridiculous, simply leading any halfway intelligent button masher to victory at times through dumb luck. As if all this weren't easy enough, ninpo is so plentiful that you can ninpo your way out of anything if they get the upper hand, even if you play for score. Most of the bosses are pathetically easy on any difficulty if you know how to deal with them correctly. For being so highly praised, I find the combat in this one ridiculous. On a final note, although the combat will be terribly easy for NGB pros, a huge disparity is revealed when a new player attempts the game. Anyone who has not played before will likely be quickly overwhelmed by the swarm of seemingly unstoppable enemies, particularly if they do not grasp the game's powerful defensive system. In NGB on the other hand... Enemies were fewer in number but far more complex and intelligent. In spite of this, the stage was set so that with every new challenge met a player could eventually learn how to overcome his foes and become a truly great player. No enemy in NGII can match berserksers, shadow fiends, incendiary ninjas, or even those damn cat things, yet at the same time there is ample opportunity to learn how to fight these foes. These were great and challenging foes to fight and it took skill to defeat them rather than spam and ridiculously long souped up combos. NGII's setup on the other hand provides little opportunity for a player to actually learn from encounters with their enemies or develop a sense of how to protect yourself against them. I have pounded my way through half of the game in one sitting on path of the mentor, yet I don't really know any of my enemies' moves (aside from certain throws.) Isn't something wrong with that picture? Furthermore, NGB's bosses were far more difficult. Ishtaros, Doku, Alma, and even Murai for god's sake are more challenging bosses than any found in NGII. As if all this wasn't enough, we talk about the camera... as a decent NGB player, I typically have little trouble with the camera, but the one in NGII has this nasty habit of times where it likes to position itself inside of some random building staring at a wall!!! And when I press R.... it doesn't move cause it's stuck!!!! This leads to death obviously. This should not happen... EVER. Indeed, while playing as Ryu you get very little chance to anything truly ninja-like. Sure, you climb some things, but so what!!! Where's the assassinations, puzzle solving, and sneaking around? NGB was far better at dealing out short yet satisfying puzzles. I was also a much bigger fan of roaming around in one large free world in NGB than this... level by level crap. Were there at least something new to show for all of this garbage, I might like this game better. Overall, I feel that all they did is add some flashy combos, throw in a ton of seemingly overwhelming enemies to scare the newbs, then add some blood and severed limbs... Then they pushed this title out as fast as they could. This is how you take a great genre and destroy it. ...On a final note, I understand this is the first game of the series to be published by a different company? Maybe this had something to do with why the game was so obviously rushed. No doubt, NGII COULD'VE been far better... there is clearly a reason that it wasn't. Expand
  43. PhilG
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    Ninja Gaiden 2 can be a punishingly hard wake up call for gamers pampered by some modern games which have become really too easy. But if you work at it and be patient, you'll discover one of the greatest action experiences this console generation and Microsoft's answer to God of War. Those looking for story are clearly thinking of some other game and should look elsewhere. If Ninja Gaiden 2 can be a punishingly hard wake up call for gamers pampered by some modern games which have become really too easy. But if you work at it and be patient, you'll discover one of the greatest action experiences this console generation and Microsoft's answer to God of War. Those looking for story are clearly thinking of some other game and should look elsewhere. If you aren't here for ninja action and brutal violence, you've got the wrong mindset going in. Please note any scores below maybe a 7 are just from people too noobish to handle any game harder than the Sims though I will admit it doesn't have so much a difficulty curve as a difficulty level which it stays at beyond the first level. Expand
  44. jman
    May 26, 2008
    6
    Nothing new at all. Overhyped by Itagaki. Terrible camera and framerates. Ninja Gaiden Sigma was better overall on PS3. IGN : Ninja Gaiden Sigma scored 9.3 with 1080p and a consistent smooth 60fps.
  45. hayab
    May 26, 2008
    2
    The first NG was infinitly superior.
  46. DingleberryJones
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Stays true to the original. BADASS.
  47. DannyT.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Managed to spend some time with this game when my roommate got a copy. Although the difficulty is right up there with the best of em, the style, fun, and badassness is undeniable. A must get for the Xbox 360.
  48. RavenX301
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    In a world where the Mario has a 97% average as well as GTA 4, it is nice to see that even a game so highly over looked is so amazing. The story sucks, the VO is childish and the graphics really haven't been much of a jump from its original gaze on the Xbox, but I simply love this game. It's greatest strength is that it never tries to be something it is not. All you do is go In a world where the Mario has a 97% average as well as GTA 4, it is nice to see that even a game so highly over looked is so amazing. The story sucks, the VO is childish and the graphics really haven't been much of a jump from its original gaze on the Xbox, but I simply love this game. It's greatest strength is that it never tries to be something it is not. All you do is go from level to level killing great looking enemy's with a pretty good AI. That's all it was suppose to be and it does it in spades. I have never died from a camera issue, and even though I can see why the camera is looked down upon, I don't understand how people can blame it for getting them killed. I've beaten it on each difficulty level, but have never had a issue that 'destroyed me' during combat....only doing simply platforming. It is a shame however, that the developer is a complete jacka$$ and even goes as far as stating that he is the soul creative mind be hide the game, even though its strengths are purely technical from a fighting stand point. Still, now that he has resigned from Temco and even though he claims this is the final NG, I wouldn't be surprised to see a new one in the not to distant future. Expand
  49. JohnK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    If I could select 9.5 i would have, but there is enough to keep me from giving it a 10. Camera angle really isn't a big issue like the critics say it is. You'll notice it here and there but if that's what kills you then you have other issues to sort out. Framerate dropped only once for me, but turning off the xbox and trying again fixed it for me. The graphics are good, but If I could select 9.5 i would have, but there is enough to keep me from giving it a 10. Camera angle really isn't a big issue like the critics say it is. You'll notice it here and there but if that's what kills you then you have other issues to sort out. Framerate dropped only once for me, but turning off the xbox and trying again fixed it for me. The graphics are good, but not gears of war good. What is more impressive is the movement and AI. Every fight feels like you're fighting a live opponent. No battle is repetitive and even with no storyline or multiplayer I have still found enough variety in the game to give it a strong replay value. Did I mention that it is filled with the most brutal carnage you'll ever see? Critics docked it for difficulty???? Try playing COD 4 on veteran. That'll frustrate you. I never found myself replaying the same section over and over again like i do in other games although I am not new to Ninja Gaiden, so maybe it's harder if you didn't play the first one. I thought they improved from the first game by taking out a lot of the backtracking and making it a little more linear and letting you focus on the killing. Also if you do end up going the wrong way, enemies don't keep respawning like the first one so you won't find yourself lost and dying. If you're like me, then after a few hours of gaming your ADD kicks in and you go do something else. This is the first game I played on the 360 that kept me playing all day. This is the most fun I have had with a video game in a long time. Summary-- Amazing AI, constant variation in weapons and enemies, action (not story) driven game, highly responsive gameplay, just plain fun. Minor camera issues and rare framerate issues keep it from getting a 10 in my book. Expand
  50. smash
    Jun 14, 2008
    5
    *yawn* some of these guys are saying "like the original" when in fact, its not like the original. the arcade game, or the nes games is what i mean by original, and even the xbox game didnt serve that series right in my opinion. but as for being like the "original" (xbox version), then yes it is, and thats the problem. When I played devil may cry 4, it felt like more than just a fancier *yawn* some of these guys are saying "like the original" when in fact, its not like the original. the arcade game, or the nes games is what i mean by original, and even the xbox game didnt serve that series right in my opinion. but as for being like the "original" (xbox version), then yes it is, and thats the problem. When I played devil may cry 4, it felt like more than just a fancier devil may cry 3. I'm hoping god of war 3 isn't just a ps3 version of the first 2. when i saw vids of this game being super gory, i instantly knew that was going to be the focus, and not the gameplay. all they did was take the same exact formula from the first game and add falling limbs and buckets of blood. I'm not 14 anymore, that doesn't impress me. Expand
  51. TommyF.
    Jun 15, 2008
    9
    I prefer the original better than this game. This sequel has an inconsistent framerate and an awkward camera (it's too difficult!!), but this game is pretty fun. I give this a 9, not a 10.
  52. [Anonymous]
    Jun 17, 2008
    6
    One of the most impressive aspects of ninja gaiden for the original xbox beyond the gameplay was the gorgeous cut scenes which completely took advantage of the system's capabilities. This is not the case with the 360 sequel. Control of the camera is good until your reach a boss and it mysteriously becomes disabled. The game is terribly unbalanced. Many bosses make more than one One of the most impressive aspects of ninja gaiden for the original xbox beyond the gameplay was the gorgeous cut scenes which completely took advantage of the system's capabilities. This is not the case with the 360 sequel. Control of the camera is good until your reach a boss and it mysteriously becomes disabled. The game is terribly unbalanced. Many bosses make more than one appearance, and are always easier to kill than a horde of normal enemies you encounter along the way. Unless you want to fork over the cash for a couple new weapons, just revisit the original and sigma or black. And those have the great perks of unlocking the original nintendo trilogy and arcade version while nothing is offered for II. If anything, it's a rental. Expand
  53. RodrigoR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    8
    pros: fantastic graphics and animation, unbelievable battle sequences, ninja video where you can save you best battles and post online, leaderboards cons: camera is the worst I've seen, bad music, no online versus mode, difficult as hell.
  54. PippoR.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Spectacular game even if some frustating parts.... Surely 2 point better than Dante's Devil May Cry 4.... 10 NG2 8 DMC4.
  55. LachlanD.
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    This game has captured me the same way as the first game. the problem is you have to play the first to be able to pick up the 2nd without destroying your tv in frustration. For those who have never played and are intruiged by the gore. get ready to really have to work for it. it is still a satisfying experience to beat fights/bosses that take multiple deaths and this is one form of This game has captured me the same way as the first game. the problem is you have to play the first to be able to pick up the 2nd without destroying your tv in frustration. For those who have never played and are intruiged by the gore. get ready to really have to work for it. it is still a satisfying experience to beat fights/bosses that take multiple deaths and this is one form of torture that is enjoyable. it has me hooked but there is just enough there to disuade casual players or people with no knowledge of the play style. Expand
  56. RobC
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more different enemies and has more techniques and weapons to choose from. Of course the story and levels are different. It also is very challenging at the higher difficulties, in which something is constantly being shot at you and breaking up your combos. You Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more different enemies and has more techniques and weapons to choose from. Of course the story and levels are different. It also is very challenging at the higher difficulties, in which something is constantly being shot at you and breaking up your combos. You can also chop off the enemies arms and legs spraying blood everywhere. Nothing is more satisfying than observing all of the limbs and blood sprayed over the walls and the floor. The only explanation I can think of for the low scores from critics is the similarity to the original. You owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  57. ibeetle
    Jun 4, 2008
    1
    There are just so many problems. Control, graphics (mainly screen tearing) the list just goes on.
  58. RudolfM.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Don't trust the critics, this is a much better game than anything that has came out in this genre since is precursor. I doesn't reach up to Ninja Gaiden 1 standard nor revolutionize the genre but its still the most action packed game this year so far.
  59. NielsB.
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    While it doesn't feel like the gem ninja gaiden black was, the game is still the most sadistic fun you can get from a hack and slash title. The storytelling is quite weak, but its still beter than the "over the top campy" cutscenes of DMC4
  60. JacquesN.
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    I really dont know where some people get the idea of this game being lame or boring. This game has a lot of interaction and makes you want to keep on playing even though the game is not forgiving. it is a serious challenge and hard to play but a lot of fun. great story and the camera is the only let down down how ever you get use to pressing the right trigger to reset the camera. problem I really dont know where some people get the idea of this game being lame or boring. This game has a lot of interaction and makes you want to keep on playing even though the game is not forgiving. it is a serious challenge and hard to play but a lot of fun. great story and the camera is the only let down down how ever you get use to pressing the right trigger to reset the camera. problem solved. This is a really addictive game and can not be put down until finished.Not even because you want to finish it again with new weapons and new difficulty. Expand
  61. Andrewanon
    Feb 13, 2009
    7
    If you were a huge fan of Ninja Gaiden Black I would advise you pick this one up on the cheap.
    The game has an amazing first act of fighting, bloodshed and skilled combat, but in act 2 the game quickly devolves into intense frustration as endless waves of cheap-and-cheerful bug-style enemies, off-screen rocket launchers and machine guns, and bosses that cross into the wrong side of the
    If you were a huge fan of Ninja Gaiden Black I would advise you pick this one up on the cheap.
    The game has an amazing first act of fighting, bloodshed and skilled combat, but in act 2 the game quickly devolves into intense frustration as endless waves of cheap-and-cheerful bug-style enemies, off-screen rocket launchers and machine guns, and bosses that cross into the wrong side of the challenging/frustrating divide are thrown at you.
    Expand
  62. SuleimanM.
    Feb 23, 2009
    7
    Ninja Gaiden II is a solid title, but one cannot over look the mediocre framerate that the game offers for much of the game, and with that said, it seriously hampers the enjoyment of the game. Aside from that, and if you can some how over look that issue, as well as some camera screw ups, then Ninja Gaiden II is worth a look.
  63. Vlad
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    I say ten because although the game was glitchy and and the camera sucked the action was good, it beats any mario game by a long shot. I felt the graphics were good and the AI seemed intelligent enough to keep the fight interesting. Anyone who rated the game as a zero probably just couldn't get past level one because they are use to playing easy games like Halo or GTA. Or perhapsI say ten because although the game was glitchy and and the camera sucked the action was good, it beats any mario game by a long shot. I felt the graphics were good and the AI seemed intelligent enough to keep the fight interesting. Anyone who rated the game as a zero probably just couldn't get past level one because they are use to playing easy games like Halo or GTA. Or perhaps they expect too much out of a game. The only game I have ever played that was exactly the way I had expected it to be was Ocarina of Time. Expand
  64. AnonymousMC
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    There are few action games this generation superior to NG2. Even if you're new to the franchise, the game doesn't have chapters of backstory for you to understand what's going on - you are not playing this game for the story, it's just an excuse for you to kill monsters.

    Combat is fast and responsive, and unlike oh so many other games, the removal of enemy limbs does
    There are few action games this generation superior to NG2. Even if you're new to the franchise, the game doesn't have chapters of backstory for you to understand what's going on - you are not playing this game for the story, it's just an excuse for you to kill monsters.

    Combat is fast and responsive, and unlike oh so many other games, the removal of enemy limbs does not feel like a gimmick, and genuinely adds to the gameplay. On a whole the gameplay is tight, difficulty is not a problem. From the outset, you can select "Path of the Warrior", which offers you an easy route through the game, whilst the harder difficulty settings ramp up to extreme levels of difficulty, it is nothing that can't be beat by patience.

    The graphics, whilst not amazing, are pleasing for the most part, and the level design is brilliant, spanning from the heights of Neo-Tokyo to the depths of the Underworld, not to mention the lush rainforests of South America, a beautiful city that may or may not be inspired by Venice and much more. Every level has a distinct style to it, and there is very little backtracking.

    Audio is decent, the voice acting is generally strong (if a little cheesy at times) and the music is good, ranging from gentle ambient tunes to heavy rock'n'roll style medleys.
    Most of the complaints raised stem from people who simply lack the motivation to learn the game. If you are expecting a walk in the park, this isn't the game for you. If you're a real gamer who likes a challenge, then pick it up.
    Expand
  65. DanielV.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Unlike most people I enjoy hard and challenging games not 10hrs easy fest that everyone loves paying 60$ for lol therefore NG2 gets a 10 from me for trying and challenging and entertaining gameplay.
  66. LeifR.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    Awesome! very minor slowdown issues. the graphical display of colorful essence absorbing limb/head removal is intoxicating and as addictive as anything I've ever played. who cares about an epic story after a 150 hit combo leaves you in a pool of bloody body parts? not this guy.
  67. FabricioWanderley
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Wonderful game with literally hundreds of differences attacking moves e various special techniques. Extremely fast paced and as difficult as it should be.
  68. OReynolds
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    Ninja Gaiden 2 is perfect if you're stuck in the house on a Sunday afternoon with nothing better to do. Just put this game on and you can easily have fun for an hour, or maybe longer. It's the perfect hack 'n' slash game, featuring gallons of blood just waiting to be spilled by the blade of your sword. You play as Ryu Hayabusa, who's task it is to... erm... OK, so Ninja Gaiden 2 is perfect if you're stuck in the house on a Sunday afternoon with nothing better to do. Just put this game on and you can easily have fun for an hour, or maybe longer. It's the perfect hack 'n' slash game, featuring gallons of blood just waiting to be spilled by the blade of your sword. You play as Ryu Hayabusa, who's task it is to... erm... OK, so the story is complete crap, and after completing the game, I still have no idea what it was about. Thankfully however, you can skip cutscenes and dive straight into the action. It's not all good though. A very poor camera system which hindered the first game is back with a vengeance, and it's possibly even worse this time. On more than one occasion you'll find your view blocked from the camera, which basically has a mind of it's own. Then again, it's understandably very difficult to keep up with the fast pase of the combat, and would possibly have benefited from being further away from Ryu, giving an overall better view of the proceedings. Anyone who's played the first Ninja Gaiden game knows what to expect from this one when it comes to difficulty, but for newcomers, it's a pure slap in the face. Even on the easiest setting, you'll find yourself staring in disbelief at the screen as the words "Game Over" are splattered on the screen countless times, especially on boss fights. It's absolutely relentless. Thankfully, there is a great deal of skill needed, and the main reason you'll keep dying is that you simply aren't good enough yet. You'll get better, and this makes for an extremely satisfying game. Overall it's definitely not without it's flaws, but NInja Gaiden 2 is a fantastic game with gorgeous (mostly) graphics, smooth gameplay and huge replayability due to the higher difficulty settings. If you're a serious gamer looking for a challenge, definitely check this one out. Expand
  69. JohnF.
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    Some major problems with this game. The camera is every bit as bad as critics say it is, maybe even worse. It's the worst camera I've seen in years. The challenge often isn't fair and gets worse and worse as the game goes along. You'll be blindsided on a consistent basis by enemies who are outside of the camera. You'll be hit with fireballs, missiles, and whatever Some major problems with this game. The camera is every bit as bad as critics say it is, maybe even worse. It's the worst camera I've seen in years. The challenge often isn't fair and gets worse and worse as the game goes along. You'll be blindsided on a consistent basis by enemies who are outside of the camera. You'll be hit with fireballs, missiles, and whatever from enemies that are all the way across the screen while you are trying to fight hordes of enemies at melee range. You'll be hit and thrown to the ground by unblockable, unseeable attacks by one enemy while in combat with another enemy. Not to mention many of the enemies are extremely annoying as many of them explode when they die. You'll encounter some of the worst boss fights you'll ever see, with almost all of them sharing the same boring strategy and some of them including adds of those same missile-throwing exploding trash mobs. The game is not fun more often than not and doesn't compare in quality to its smooth, more polished predecessor. The game has a lot of cool combat qualities and fast action, so if you are looking for a challenge and don't mind being constantly bombarded with cheap shots, give this one a try. The higher difficulties in this game are about as hard as a video game gets, and only the very best and most patient will be able to complete the Master Ninja difficulty, so it is good for those looking to put their abilities to the test. But if you are the type that is easily annoyed and likes a fair fight, you might want to stay away. Expand
  70. TonyM.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing the downfall I could find is some camera issues.
  71. BrianB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    0
    Crap camera, crap weapons, crap level design, crap characters, crap story, crap performance... seems the only thing good about this game is that I never have to play it again after wisely getting rid of it. Back to DMC4!
  72. CarlosA.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    Not ten because of the camera because you have enemies behind you and you cannot see them.
  73. BradW.
    Jul 27, 2008
    8
    Fun game, full of fast action and lots of thrills. Unfortunately, the camera leaves you attacking unseen enemies and the story is pratically non-existant. Flaws aside though, it is a fun action game. If you want a challenge, put this game on the higher difficulty. It is hard as hell.
  74. Trevor
    Sep 26, 2008
    7
    Ninja Gaiden 2 is more or less a rushed out game for the Xbox360. instead of being a successor to number 1, this title is a downfall. The game had a bad storyline centering on fiends taking over the world and how Ryu must battle all the way to the warlord to claim peace. It was a disappointment but more or less it was the gameplay that kept it somewhat fresh. Having a faster framerate Ninja Gaiden 2 is more or less a rushed out game for the Xbox360. instead of being a successor to number 1, this title is a downfall. The game had a bad storyline centering on fiends taking over the world and how Ryu must battle all the way to the warlord to claim peace. It was a disappointment but more or less it was the gameplay that kept it somewhat fresh. Having a faster framerate meant that combat could be much quicker. That alone was a good thing about the game, being able to hack your apponents to pieces is not only a new addition but also a graphic one. The fatalities were a new addition and also pretty gruesome as well. The wait was somewhat worth it but since it felt rushed, just left me a bit disappointed in the end.Rent it but don't be tempted to buy it. Expand
  75. JohnnyY
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    People who bash the game remain anonymous because they cant stand putting their name next to a lie. This is a great game, it starts out tough and there's a small learning curve but this game is one hell of a ride. The graphics are good. story and gameplay are gripping. if "anonymous" died that many times without attacking or defending, he's mad because he's no good. blockPeople who bash the game remain anonymous because they cant stand putting their name next to a lie. This is a great game, it starts out tough and there's a small learning curve but this game is one hell of a ride. The graphics are good. story and gameplay are gripping. if "anonymous" died that many times without attacking or defending, he's mad because he's no good. block is left trigger....just putting that out there for morons who pop the disc in expecting it to be as easy as halo. if you want some fun and a little bit of a challenge too, get this game Expand
  76. DME
    Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Very nice graphics and a near-flawless combat system make this one of the best fighting games for the 360. Unfortunately, there is a lot of repetition and a stubborn camera. Also, the game is not for casual players. You have to be a devoted and competitive player to get the best experience out of NG2... And don't you dare play on the easy difficulty.
  77. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the best ninja game ;) Expand
  78. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    I found the game okay, apart from the fact that Team Ninja had the stupid urge to make it even on the Easy difficulty insanely difficult, the bosses, the characters were really grotesque and well designed, adding to the game's realism. But the main part was that despite the game's consistent choice of combos is what made me give an average overall review for this game. And because of theI found the game okay, apart from the fact that Team Ninja had the stupid urge to make it even on the Easy difficulty insanely difficult, the bosses, the characters were really grotesque and well designed, adding to the game's realism. But the main part was that despite the game's consistent choice of combos is what made me give an average overall review for this game. And because of the insane difficulty on all difficulties and cheap death frequency, this resulted in me raging for hours and days to finish this game,and the first time I've struggled so much in a game. Frame and the game camera were VERY problematic! Expand
  79. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    " Japan is dead " that's what many western videogame companies and designers may say , and let's be clear , Japan made many of the best known videogames out there but of course , they have lost a little of that glamour that made them stand in top for a long time . So for anyone skeptical of Ninja Gaiden II no need to worry , because the game plays fantastic and it really leaves you with a" Japan is dead " that's what many western videogame companies and designers may say , and let's be clear , Japan made many of the best known videogames out there but of course , they have lost a little of that glamour that made them stand in top for a long time . So for anyone skeptical of Ninja Gaiden II no need to worry , because the game plays fantastic and it really leaves you with a lot of pleasure killing, slicing and dismembering enemy's with a tone of dread that will make The Joker cry by how exaggerated Ninja Gaiden is . There's also a variety of weapons making every murder pleasant and jaw-dropping . Expand
  80. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    Upon its release in 2004 the first in the revamped Ninja Gaiden series quickly established itself as the best action game of its generation. This follow up may not be a huge leap forward but it certainly refines the graphics, gameplay and controls for a new audience to appreciate.

    As the last of his clan Ryu Hayabusa must defeat the Black Spider Ninja Clan and all manner of supernatural
    Upon its release in 2004 the first in the revamped Ninja Gaiden series quickly established itself as the best action game of its generation. This follow up may not be a huge leap forward but it certainly refines the graphics, gameplay and controls for a new audience to appreciate.

    As the last of his clan Ryu Hayabusa must defeat the Black Spider Ninja Clan and all manner of supernatural fiends in order to prevent the resurrection of the archfiend. To be honest the story actually makes little sense but that is not really the point of the Ninja Gaiden series. Few games, if any, can match the sheer excitement of its combat as weapons clash and limbs are severed. A better learning curve this time around makes it easier to pick up the complexities of its controls and putting together combos will soon become second nature. Despite this the game remains a challenge even on the easiest difficulty setting. Unless you are a gaming pro you will certainly perish a number of times and patience is a must if you are to complete the game.

    The only minor niggle in an otherwise faultless game is the camera which doesn't always provide the player with the best angle to see oncoming attacks by default. The camera can be manipulated by the player but doing so in the heat of battle takes a little practice. This rarely detracts from the player’s enjoyment of the game however in what is one of the best action game available on any console.
    Expand
  81. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Its follows the first Ninja Gaiden. Many combos, brutal, fast paced and rewarding.
  82. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A very solid action game, high difficulty makes it very rewarding to beat bosses and the base gameplay of fighting minions is incredibly fin, graphics are great game has a couple technical hiccups like the camera and such that hurt the experience, but not to the point where I would not recommend picking this game up.
  83. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    I would have given this game a straight up 7 or 8 because purely the graphics and game play is very well set out, the executions are gory (What we all love) and all unique, the customization can be somewhat bland after multiple play through's, and the story can be cheesy, but still manages to capture a good action hack n slash. what brings this down to a 6, is that this game is not for theI would have given this game a straight up 7 or 8 because purely the graphics and game play is very well set out, the executions are gory (What we all love) and all unique, the customization can be somewhat bland after multiple play through's, and the story can be cheesy, but still manages to capture a good action hack n slash. what brings this down to a 6, is that this game is not for the easily enraged, or rage prone gamers, in fact, you have to be totally prepared for this nightmare of a game in terms of difficulty, and when i say difficult, you'll probably never play a more rage infuriating game on the market, i played this (accidentally) on normal difficulty which is one step up from easy, and could not prevail through the first pack of mobs, even with instructions on screen. Be warned, and be prepared. Expand
  84. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    another hack n slash masterpiece first the graphics of this game are just amazing one of the best the game play is flexible and never fell repetitive a true masterpiece
  85. May 30, 2013
    9
    This is a great action game for the Xbox 360 and definitely sticks out of the crowd. With all sorts of weaponry and skills, killing ninjas and demons has never been as fun as it has in Ninja Gaiden. Plenty of gore and challenge for this game and I've spent hours on it. Only problem: the camera. Other than that, it's fantastic. I wouldn't miss up on this gem.
  86. Oct 6, 2014
    5
    Ninja Gaiden 2 is a hack and slash type game. You go around with your weapons and cut up the bad guys. It's not a bad concept, but this is greatly held back by bad camera angles, and awkward controls. The controls are relatively simple, but it lacks a certain amount of accuracy. I also found it too repetitive and lacking in consistency in terms of difficulty. You go from one fairly easyNinja Gaiden 2 is a hack and slash type game. You go around with your weapons and cut up the bad guys. It's not a bad concept, but this is greatly held back by bad camera angles, and awkward controls. The controls are relatively simple, but it lacks a certain amount of accuracy. I also found it too repetitive and lacking in consistency in terms of difficulty. You go from one fairly easy area to something just balls out hard. The game is kind of dumb too. It doesn't take a lot of brains to play, just all out button mashing, the success of which seems to come out at random.

    I'm really disappointed here, since I am a fan of the Ninja Gaiden series on the NES and Ninja Gaiden on the Xbox. But this version of ninja games just seems lacklusters. It's kind of odd writing about this game when it's so old, but it just so happens that I picked out a copy to try.
    Expand
  87. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    This game is a fantastic experience to play through. The game-play is quick, visceral and bloody, introducing a new feature called an "Obliteration Technique", allowing for brilliant finishing moves. Combat is fast, and the different weapons and the ability to level them up adds so many layers and variety to fighting. Graphics are still good, even when made in 2008, and there is moreThis game is a fantastic experience to play through. The game-play is quick, visceral and bloody, introducing a new feature called an "Obliteration Technique", allowing for brilliant finishing moves. Combat is fast, and the different weapons and the ability to level them up adds so many layers and variety to fighting. Graphics are still good, even when made in 2008, and there is more lip-syncing here then some games coming out nowadays. Great enemies and simply awesome boss fights, varying environments, from South American forests to Venetian canals. There really aren't many problems with this game, apart from the rather non-existent storyline and the slightly annoying camera. But the core game is so good you'll forgive all it's mistakes. A must-have for all action lovers. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. For the die-hards who take their games like they take their women – angry, violent, unforgiving, underdeveloped and occasionally gratifying – Ninja Gaiden 2 is a fine follow-up, especially with its punishing achievements and four difficulty settings (Very Hard, Insane, Chuck Norris, Double Chuck Norris). For everyone else Ninja Gaiden 2 is an exercise in futility that’s just not as polished, balanced or enjoyable as its predecessor.
  2. The point here is despite all its flaws, Ninja Gaiden 2 was still able to deliver some excitement and thrills and every now and then it exhibits some of the pure kung-fu insanity that placed its predecessor on the mantle of genre-defining action titles.
  3. Fans of the original will probably love it, newcomers will probably divided, but either way it's a faithful sequel to one of the Xbox's favourite sons.