• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 282

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PabloT
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Ninja Gaiden is a master piece of action game, but, the problems of last NG continues like cam and a bad story, just that for my rating 9, cuz another things has add to new game like bloooood yaa, limbs etc etc about corpses and weapons variety! This is Ninja Gaiden, thank u Itagaki-San!
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    THE BEST ACTION GAME ON XBOX 360!!
    60+ houers and still playing!
    Blood,Fast Action,Many Wepons,Massive Combos,Story is **** but its not story you want from that kind of games.
    PURE FUN:)
  3. RonS
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Seriously, you Gaystation fanboys can stop rating this game so low just because you're jealous. It's pretty weak.
  4. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    As a hardcore player of ninja gaiden 1 i gotta say this has some really good improvements,in graphics,new weapons,new moves enemies etc..

    Only thing i didn't like is that some of the places are really small to fight while there are 6 enemies around you and a camera that avoids you from seeing them or the player,but this rarely happens so overall i think it's a great game.
  5. GeorgeK.
    Sep 2, 2008
    9
    Despite its enraging difficulty. ninja gaiden 2 is an incredible eye-candy. I've dissed quite a few games before but i can't do this with ninja gaiden. Incredible graphics, unbelievable AI and interesting storyline. IF the cameras didn't suck SO much I'd give it a perfect 10. Now I'll stay with a 9 and i'll name it my favourite 360 game till now.
  6. TimC.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Probably the best action game to date. Hard as nails and rewardingly stressful. This title is all I play.
  7. MarcH.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    This game is going to be awesome and thin coming from team ninja always is, the only people that hate ninja gaiden games are the ones that suck at them Itagaki is right games now adays hand themselves to the player and anything that doesnt people instantly write off as bad tomonobo Itagaki is the man
  8. BDub
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    Seriously underrated game. I don't think i've ever been more at odds with reviews before. There are professional reviewers giving this game a 6? Anyways to any fans of previous NG's, Devil May Cry, or just awesome hack and slash this is a must have. This is definitely the most fun i've had playing a game of the genre, and i'm a senior gamer. Movie and video game Seriously underrated game. I don't think i've ever been more at odds with reviews before. There are professional reviewers giving this game a 6? Anyways to any fans of previous NG's, Devil May Cry, or just awesome hack and slash this is a must have. This is definitely the most fun i've had playing a game of the genre, and i'm a senior gamer. Movie and video game reviewers have gotten rediculous over just the last 5 years. Why can't movies and games that are just fun be well rated anymore? It seems that every movie has to be oscar material and every video game has to be ground breaking or be able to have an endless supply of content in able to receive a decent review. I guess the only weak spots i can think of for this game is plot and difficulty. But honestly i've had just a difficult time on some of the campaign boards of COD4. And this is not a plot driven game, it is an action driven game with a plot that is there just to give some kind of flow to the game for one setting to another. I think it was with Bioshock that i realized that there is a huge divide between what i like and what reviewers like. I don't play video games for deep stories, i play them for action and fun. I watch movies for stories or read books. If i can get both, great (COD4). But in my opinion it should be only the level of fun that gives a game its score. The fact that this game scored so much lower than DMC4 is laughable and almost conspiracy like. I liked DMC4 too, but not as much. Expand
  9. AaronB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This is the mother of all ninja games. After playing through it 2 1/2 times in a week (original on Warrior, halfway on Mentor which is very hard, and then finishing a quick run through on Warrior New+ game) I'm totally hooked on this game and will continue to play it for some time. The graphics are superb, the weapons are fantastic and the enemies are numerous. The camera is largely This is the mother of all ninja games. After playing through it 2 1/2 times in a week (original on Warrior, halfway on Mentor which is very hard, and then finishing a quick run through on Warrior New+ game) I'm totally hooked on this game and will continue to play it for some time. The graphics are superb, the weapons are fantastic and the enemies are numerous. The camera is largely the same as in NG1/NG:B, which is to say troubled but not a serious problem. In my many play throughs of NG1 I never had a problem with it after the first game, and I don't currently with NG2. At first you will not be sure if its an upgrade from NG1 because its so different, honestly I questioned it at first as well, but after really getting to know the game well it is most definitely a large upgrade. I love it, this is one of the best games I've ever played and is currently the absolute peak of action gaming, nothing comes close. Expand
  10. JasonP
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    If you have a problem with the camera in this game, Return it...you don't know how to play. Awesome Action, Awesome Gore, the most challenging boss battles ever! Well since NG1!
  11. TommasoT.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    The God of the action games; it's a perfect game by gameplay and artistic game and level design, and after all they are the most important things for an action videogame. Killer application, for me it's the best game (only for) on Xbox360.
  12. StevenG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    True gamers only!
  13. BenD.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Don't know why this game has a low meta :( its a great platformer better than devel maycry and maybe even that gods of war even tho its only gaming mechanic seems to be the fighting thats what it should be and the blood is BLOODY brilliant! :-) play the demo!
  14. JT
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Ok, first thing about the camera that every single review is killing NG2 about -- did any of you people play the first NG??? The camera is EXACTLY the same. I mean exactly. Surely it is a bit quirky as always, but it works. And sure enemies try to attack you as you walk around corners before you really see them, but after the first time if you just expect it you can always avoid those Ok, first thing about the camera that every single review is killing NG2 about -- did any of you people play the first NG??? The camera is EXACTLY the same. I mean exactly. Surely it is a bit quirky as always, but it works. And sure enemies try to attack you as you walk around corners before you really see them, but after the first time if you just expect it you can always avoid those sneak attacks. Everything looks better from the gore to the ultimate techniques to the ninpo to the enemies. The new weapons are all fun to use (I never used anything besides the sword in NG1). The bow is way better. The new stuff like the falcons talons and the ability to run on top of water is awesome. The obliteration techniques are cool-looking and really useful. Nothing seems cheap to me after the first three chapters. Now, the first time I fought Alma in NG1 and didn't even hit her once for the first two or three tries, that was cheap. This game is awesome. If you loved NG1, you will love this game too. If you're new to NG, just play the entire game once. I hated NG1 the first time because it was so difficult, but before the game was even finished I was saying it was one of my favorite games ever. Expand
  15. JamesF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Wow and I thought the first one was hard. This entry into they series wont revolutionise anything but it is a faster paced game. The weapons and moves little lone the enemies make it insane. That aside the difficulty and akward camera means this game isnt for every one but if you liked the first one you will most likely enjoy Ryu continuing adventure.
  16. RobertC.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    This game is pure carnage! If you're a fan of fast,furious and bloody battles then this is a must play. Not to mention the enormous boss battles. I've played through chapter 8 and for me the game is actually improving over time. The story is pretty straight forwar so far. Some disillusioned poor saps are trying to resurect a beast called the "ARCH FEIND" so they can i guess This game is pure carnage! If you're a fan of fast,furious and bloody battles then this is a must play. Not to mention the enormous boss battles. I've played through chapter 8 and for me the game is actually improving over time. The story is pretty straight forwar so far. Some disillusioned poor saps are trying to resurect a beast called the "ARCH FEIND" so they can i guess share in world domination. So all you do is chase these said foes arround to try and stop the resurection from taking place.Verry simple but effective.I kinda like the simple story telling here,it gives way to the more important brutal action that takes place at a blistering mind numbing pace.Action fans check this out and begin obliterating at once. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  17. IanC.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    The much anticipated sequel for the ninja gaiden franchise didn't dissapiont it's fans: the hardcore gamers. The game is just simply brutally beautiful. the game's combat mechanics raised the bar on todays action games. Ryu Hayabusa has never moved so fluid as he did in this sequel. For Ninja Gaiden, you can never complain about it's diffuclty for that is one reason The much anticipated sequel for the ninja gaiden franchise didn't dissapiont it's fans: the hardcore gamers. The game is just simply brutally beautiful. the game's combat mechanics raised the bar on todays action games. Ryu Hayabusa has never moved so fluid as he did in this sequel. For Ninja Gaiden, you can never complain about it's diffuclty for that is one reason why hardcore gamers like I love this game so much. The camera will honestly be difficult for casual gamers and begginers but Gaiden fans have mastered the use of the pesky camera. If you've played the first ninja gaiden on xbox, mastering the camera will be easy for you on this one. The graphics? not that good nor bad either it's for me just a few notches better than it's previous xbox predecesors. But the point is, why look around while you have these monsters waiting for you to kill (or for them to kill you). The graphics for me is just fine. Ninja Gaiden 2 may have a few flaws on it but no one can deny that it's the best action game around today. The difficult bosses, the smooth action, the blood and gore, and the whole experience had kept me smiling through out the day. A warm thanks to you Itagaki-san! Expand
  18. DidierL.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    GOD-awesome game. I would have given it a ten but the level design (small walkways and awkward platforms) and the freakin' terrible camera it's just too much. I mean the game is hard, of course but it is the camera that gets me more damage than my actual skills. I just wished the camera was better and the player was given a larger area to fight. Other than that, I love this GOD-awesome game. I would have given it a ten but the level design (small walkways and awkward platforms) and the freakin' terrible camera it's just too much. I mean the game is hard, of course but it is the camera that gets me more damage than my actual skills. I just wished the camera was better and the player was given a larger area to fight. Other than that, I love this game. Oh, yeah, the story makes no freakin' sense!! Expand
  19. Shaun
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Game is sex, hands down. While the camera needs a bit of work and the framerate jacks up from time to time, all in all this game is what all action games should strive to be. It made me forget about GTA IV and probably will for a long while from now. A great last act from Itakgi.
  20. TrevorC.
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    This is exactly the game I wanted - lack of a 10 is due to the camera not being improved, but it never once killed me and is being pretty exaggerated by people.
  21. MarkW.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    My only grievances lie in the graphics--which could easily have been accomplished on the original Xbox. The play mechanics are much improved, a more fluid and balanced feel, and despite a sense of redundancy I never feel bored while making mincemeat out of my unworthy adversaries. A fine and worthy addition to the ongoing "Ninja Gaiden" legacy.
  22. VivekM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game! If people like mashing people with maces and scythes or what have you, this game will keep you busy for a while. The camera was a bit hard to control, hence the -1, but other than that...Unbelievable.
  23. AbdulM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    An awesome sequel to an awesome game. Everything you would need from a hack and slash.
  24. PhilG
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    Ninja Gaiden 2 can be a punishingly hard wake up call for gamers pampered by some modern games which have become really too easy. But if you work at it and be patient, you'll discover one of the greatest action experiences this console generation and Microsoft's answer to God of War. Those looking for story are clearly thinking of some other game and should look elsewhere. If Ninja Gaiden 2 can be a punishingly hard wake up call for gamers pampered by some modern games which have become really too easy. But if you work at it and be patient, you'll discover one of the greatest action experiences this console generation and Microsoft's answer to God of War. Those looking for story are clearly thinking of some other game and should look elsewhere. If you aren't here for ninja action and brutal violence, you've got the wrong mindset going in. Please note any scores below maybe a 7 are just from people too noobish to handle any game harder than the Sims though I will admit it doesn't have so much a difficulty curve as a difficulty level which it stays at beyond the first level. Expand
  25. DingleberryJones
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Stays true to the original. BADASS.
  26. DannyT.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Managed to spend some time with this game when my roommate got a copy. Although the difficulty is right up there with the best of em, the style, fun, and badassness is undeniable. A must get for the Xbox 360.
  27. RavenX301
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    In a world where the Mario has a 97% average as well as GTA 4, it is nice to see that even a game so highly over looked is so amazing. The story sucks, the VO is childish and the graphics really haven't been much of a jump from its original gaze on the Xbox, but I simply love this game. It's greatest strength is that it never tries to be something it is not. All you do is go In a world where the Mario has a 97% average as well as GTA 4, it is nice to see that even a game so highly over looked is so amazing. The story sucks, the VO is childish and the graphics really haven't been much of a jump from its original gaze on the Xbox, but I simply love this game. It's greatest strength is that it never tries to be something it is not. All you do is go from level to level killing great looking enemy's with a pretty good AI. That's all it was suppose to be and it does it in spades. I have never died from a camera issue, and even though I can see why the camera is looked down upon, I don't understand how people can blame it for getting them killed. I've beaten it on each difficulty level, but have never had a issue that 'destroyed me' during combat....only doing simply platforming. It is a shame however, that the developer is a complete jacka$$ and even goes as far as stating that he is the soul creative mind be hide the game, even though its strengths are purely technical from a fighting stand point. Still, now that he has resigned from Temco and even though he claims this is the final NG, I wouldn't be surprised to see a new one in the not to distant future. Expand
  28. JohnK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    If I could select 9.5 i would have, but there is enough to keep me from giving it a 10. Camera angle really isn't a big issue like the critics say it is. You'll notice it here and there but if that's what kills you then you have other issues to sort out. Framerate dropped only once for me, but turning off the xbox and trying again fixed it for me. The graphics are good, but If I could select 9.5 i would have, but there is enough to keep me from giving it a 10. Camera angle really isn't a big issue like the critics say it is. You'll notice it here and there but if that's what kills you then you have other issues to sort out. Framerate dropped only once for me, but turning off the xbox and trying again fixed it for me. The graphics are good, but not gears of war good. What is more impressive is the movement and AI. Every fight feels like you're fighting a live opponent. No battle is repetitive and even with no storyline or multiplayer I have still found enough variety in the game to give it a strong replay value. Did I mention that it is filled with the most brutal carnage you'll ever see? Critics docked it for difficulty???? Try playing COD 4 on veteran. That'll frustrate you. I never found myself replaying the same section over and over again like i do in other games although I am not new to Ninja Gaiden, so maybe it's harder if you didn't play the first one. I thought they improved from the first game by taking out a lot of the backtracking and making it a little more linear and letting you focus on the killing. Also if you do end up going the wrong way, enemies don't keep respawning like the first one so you won't find yourself lost and dying. If you're like me, then after a few hours of gaming your ADD kicks in and you go do something else. This is the first game I played on the 360 that kept me playing all day. This is the most fun I have had with a video game in a long time. Summary-- Amazing AI, constant variation in weapons and enemies, action (not story) driven game, highly responsive gameplay, just plain fun. Minor camera issues and rare framerate issues keep it from getting a 10 in my book. Expand
  29. TommyF.
    Jun 15, 2008
    9
    I prefer the original better than this game. This sequel has an inconsistent framerate and an awkward camera (it's too difficult!!), but this game is pretty fun. I give this a 9, not a 10.
  30. PippoR.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Spectacular game even if some frustating parts.... Surely 2 point better than Dante's Devil May Cry 4.... 10 NG2 8 DMC4.
  31. LachlanD.
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    This game has captured me the same way as the first game. the problem is you have to play the first to be able to pick up the 2nd without destroying your tv in frustration. For those who have never played and are intruiged by the gore. get ready to really have to work for it. it is still a satisfying experience to beat fights/bosses that take multiple deaths and this is one form of This game has captured me the same way as the first game. the problem is you have to play the first to be able to pick up the 2nd without destroying your tv in frustration. For those who have never played and are intruiged by the gore. get ready to really have to work for it. it is still a satisfying experience to beat fights/bosses that take multiple deaths and this is one form of torture that is enjoyable. it has me hooked but there is just enough there to disuade casual players or people with no knowledge of the play style. Expand
  32. RobC
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more different enemies and has more techniques and weapons to choose from. Of course the story and levels are different. It also is very challenging at the higher difficulties, in which something is constantly being shot at you and breaking up your combos. You Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more different enemies and has more techniques and weapons to choose from. Of course the story and levels are different. It also is very challenging at the higher difficulties, in which something is constantly being shot at you and breaking up your combos. You can also chop off the enemies arms and legs spraying blood everywhere. Nothing is more satisfying than observing all of the limbs and blood sprayed over the walls and the floor. The only explanation I can think of for the low scores from critics is the similarity to the original. You owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  33. RudolfM.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Don't trust the critics, this is a much better game than anything that has came out in this genre since is precursor. I doesn't reach up to Ninja Gaiden 1 standard nor revolutionize the genre but its still the most action packed game this year so far.
  34. Vlad
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    I say ten because although the game was glitchy and and the camera sucked the action was good, it beats any mario game by a long shot. I felt the graphics were good and the AI seemed intelligent enough to keep the fight interesting. Anyone who rated the game as a zero probably just couldn't get past level one because they are use to playing easy games like Halo or GTA. Or perhapsI say ten because although the game was glitchy and and the camera sucked the action was good, it beats any mario game by a long shot. I felt the graphics were good and the AI seemed intelligent enough to keep the fight interesting. Anyone who rated the game as a zero probably just couldn't get past level one because they are use to playing easy games like Halo or GTA. Or perhaps they expect too much out of a game. The only game I have ever played that was exactly the way I had expected it to be was Ocarina of Time. Expand
  35. AnonymousMC
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    There are few action games this generation superior to NG2. Even if you're new to the franchise, the game doesn't have chapters of backstory for you to understand what's going on - you are not playing this game for the story, it's just an excuse for you to kill monsters.

    Combat is fast and responsive, and unlike oh so many other games, the removal of enemy limbs does
    There are few action games this generation superior to NG2. Even if you're new to the franchise, the game doesn't have chapters of backstory for you to understand what's going on - you are not playing this game for the story, it's just an excuse for you to kill monsters.

    Combat is fast and responsive, and unlike oh so many other games, the removal of enemy limbs does not feel like a gimmick, and genuinely adds to the gameplay. On a whole the gameplay is tight, difficulty is not a problem. From the outset, you can select "Path of the Warrior", which offers you an easy route through the game, whilst the harder difficulty settings ramp up to extreme levels of difficulty, it is nothing that can't be beat by patience.

    The graphics, whilst not amazing, are pleasing for the most part, and the level design is brilliant, spanning from the heights of Neo-Tokyo to the depths of the Underworld, not to mention the lush rainforests of South America, a beautiful city that may or may not be inspired by Venice and much more. Every level has a distinct style to it, and there is very little backtracking.

    Audio is decent, the voice acting is generally strong (if a little cheesy at times) and the music is good, ranging from gentle ambient tunes to heavy rock'n'roll style medleys.
    Most of the complaints raised stem from people who simply lack the motivation to learn the game. If you are expecting a walk in the park, this isn't the game for you. If you're a real gamer who likes a challenge, then pick it up.
    Expand
  36. DanielV.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Unlike most people I enjoy hard and challenging games not 10hrs easy fest that everyone loves paying 60$ for lol therefore NG2 gets a 10 from me for trying and challenging and entertaining gameplay.
  37. LeifR.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    Awesome! very minor slowdown issues. the graphical display of colorful essence absorbing limb/head removal is intoxicating and as addictive as anything I've ever played. who cares about an epic story after a 150 hit combo leaves you in a pool of bloody body parts? not this guy.
  38. FabricioWanderley
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Wonderful game with literally hundreds of differences attacking moves e various special techniques. Extremely fast paced and as difficult as it should be.
  39. TonyM.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing the downfall I could find is some camera issues.
  40. CarlosA.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    Not ten because of the camera because you have enemies behind you and you cannot see them.
  41. JohnnyY
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    People who bash the game remain anonymous because they cant stand putting their name next to a lie. This is a great game, it starts out tough and there's a small learning curve but this game is one hell of a ride. The graphics are good. story and gameplay are gripping. if "anonymous" died that many times without attacking or defending, he's mad because he's no good. blockPeople who bash the game remain anonymous because they cant stand putting their name next to a lie. This is a great game, it starts out tough and there's a small learning curve but this game is one hell of a ride. The graphics are good. story and gameplay are gripping. if "anonymous" died that many times without attacking or defending, he's mad because he's no good. block is left trigger....just putting that out there for morons who pop the disc in expecting it to be as easy as halo. if you want some fun and a little bit of a challenge too, get this game Expand
  42. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the best ninja game ;) Expand
  43. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    another hack n slash masterpiece first the graphics of this game are just amazing one of the best the game play is flexible and never fell repetitive a true masterpiece
  44. May 30, 2013
    9
    This is a great action game for the Xbox 360 and definitely sticks out of the crowd. With all sorts of weaponry and skills, killing ninjas and demons has never been as fun as it has in Ninja Gaiden. Plenty of gore and challenge for this game and I've spent hours on it. Only problem: the camera. Other than that, it's fantastic. I wouldn't miss up on this gem.
  45. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    This game is a fantastic experience to play through. The game-play is quick, visceral and bloody, introducing a new feature called an "Obliteration Technique", allowing for brilliant finishing moves. Combat is fast, and the different weapons and the ability to level them up adds so many layers and variety to fighting. Graphics are still good, even when made in 2008, and there is moreThis game is a fantastic experience to play through. The game-play is quick, visceral and bloody, introducing a new feature called an "Obliteration Technique", allowing for brilliant finishing moves. Combat is fast, and the different weapons and the ability to level them up adds so many layers and variety to fighting. Graphics are still good, even when made in 2008, and there is more lip-syncing here then some games coming out nowadays. Great enemies and simply awesome boss fights, varying environments, from South American forests to Venetian canals. There really aren't many problems with this game, apart from the rather non-existent storyline and the slightly annoying camera. But the core game is so good you'll forgive all it's mistakes. A must-have for all action lovers. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. For the die-hards who take their games like they take their women – angry, violent, unforgiving, underdeveloped and occasionally gratifying – Ninja Gaiden 2 is a fine follow-up, especially with its punishing achievements and four difficulty settings (Very Hard, Insane, Chuck Norris, Double Chuck Norris). For everyone else Ninja Gaiden 2 is an exercise in futility that’s just not as polished, balanced or enjoyable as its predecessor.
  2. The point here is despite all its flaws, Ninja Gaiden 2 was still able to deliver some excitement and thrills and every now and then it exhibits some of the pure kung-fu insanity that placed its predecessor on the mantle of genre-defining action titles.
  3. Fans of the original will probably love it, newcomers will probably divided, but either way it's a faithful sequel to one of the Xbox's favourite sons.