• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits a gang and expands his empire by taking territory from other gangsters. Eventually he establishes his own crime syndicate and becomes the de facto ruler of Atlantic City. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 12 out of 18
  1. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    The game falls short on too many points to really earn a top score, but Omerta: City of Gangsters is by no means a bad game. Building your criminal empire is entertaining, but not as exciting as you might expect.
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    60
    While Omerta has a great gangster style with the black and white photos and jazz music, the gameplay itself feels more like work than playing a videogame. The animations in the fighting scenes are stiff, and the only thing that changes when your influence on Atlantic City grows are the emblems above the houses. All missions start up slow, and especially in the first few hours you are constantly waiting for your henchmen to finish their task.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Has far too many rough edges and faults to come close to Firaxis' brilliance. [Issue#95, p.82]
  4. 40
    The occasional turn-based tactical shootout could’ve injected some much-needed verve, but the arbitrarily frugal placement of cover points too often forces your thugs to stand out in the open, and questionable line-of-sight will make you curse the inability to save in the middle of an engagement.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, Omerta: City of Gangsters isn't worth playing. The concept is solid, as is the decision to split the game into two distinct game types, but the execution of both game types is subpar.
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    40
    I tested the Xbox 360 version of Omerta, which controlled fine. The 360 versions of Tropico both had decent performance, and the same is true here. As well as working smoothly on a technical level, the actual control scheme is well-thought out. It’s clear that Omerta began life with both platforms in mind instead of console being tacked on as an after-thought.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    20
    In recap, Omerta is a poor attempt at making a turn based mafia game and this is truly a shame, it looked like it could have been so much more. The idea is quite novel, Omerta though was poorly executed and has left the door open for someone else to come along, use the same idea, refine it and produce a much better product.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This game had a highly appealing storyline that inspired me in my life. I'm so glad I can share my review here as it's truly a masterpiece of a game, thank you to the developers for making it. The graphics and game play may be a bit but its still the best game I've ever played. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Bom jogo, talvez muito criticado por ter a aparência e jogabilidade de um jogo de estratégia do público de PCs.

    Boa interface, complicado
    como na vida real! hehe

    Prós:
    - Bom enredo;
    - Boa profundidade no universo;
    - Fiel na retratação da época;
    - Port de um gênero do PC para consoles;
    - Sistema de combate com boas opções de ações;
    - Muitas opções de 'Perks'.

    Contras:

    - Complexo demais no início;
    - Pouca customização de personagens e cenários;
    - Sistema de combate muito simples (longe de ser um XCOM).
    Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    So close and yet so so far, game is way to short due to bad mechanics, I finished a sandbox game on hard in less than 35 minutes on my very first sandbox game. It left me wanting a lot more content that just wasn't there, a few drive-bys and you win so disappointing. Huge potential but missing way to much to work. I could see myself loving this game if it wasn't so dumbed down and had a few more mechanics to make it challenging or interesting. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2013
    2
    I'm going to review the PC version a short while after this, but damn it. This is one of the worst PC ports I have seen. I'm tired so let me put this short, if you have a Xbox 360 DO NOT BUY THIS!!!"
    'Nuff said
    Collapse
  5. May 3, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible! I cannot even really describe to you how bad it is because there are no real gameplay mechanics or features worth mentioning. It is just simply put, a really crappy strategy game attempt.
    I really, really wanted to like this game because the whole 1920's theme heavily appealed to me, and in all brutal honesty the story and characters were the games strongest point, but the game was too unbearable to even enjoy that.
    For 40 bucks this game is downright unacceptable quality. It is games like this that make me so reluctant to give some more eclectic games a chance. And also, the DLC content is also terrible and horribly overpriced. 5 bucks for LITERALLY a 5 minute flipping mission.
    Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    How boring and repetitive, Kalypso! The economy management sucks and the battles are uninspired. After 15 minutes I just quit to never come back. Kalypso, your Tropico series is so addictive, funny and well done I'm sure you can do a lot better than this. Expand

See all 7 User Reviews