User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 56
  2. Negative: 15 out of 56
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SentSeven
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    My final recommendation: if you like Kill Bill and The Evil Dead, gratuitous amounts of **** and *** or if you're an otaku, then this is probably the game for you. If you're a feminist, prefer games that take themselves seriously, or can't stand to play anything with dated graphics, then you should probably stay away from this game.
  2. D2ARK
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    This game is plain, mindless, sexy, bloody fun! I had my eye on this game since it was announced to have an Xbox 360 release. I, unlike apparently most of the reviewers in America, knew what to expect from this game - blood, T&A, and a cheesy storyline. What I did not expect, however, was how much fun I would really have with it! I've been playing it for a few days now, more than This game is plain, mindless, sexy, bloody fun! I had my eye on this game since it was announced to have an Xbox 360 release. I, unlike apparently most of the reviewers in America, knew what to expect from this game - blood, T&A, and a cheesy storyline. What I did not expect, however, was how much fun I would really have with it! I've been playing it for a few days now, more than Street Fighter 4 to be honest, and I got SF4 the day it was shipped! As you play this game, you can level up the characters and eventually increase the moves you pull off in combos.... There is an added plus that if timed right, combo moves can turn into Cool Combo moves which, if strung together, do more damage AND open up custom animations, such as Saki sheathing her sword and punching THROUGH zombies, or Reiko's Continuous Super B**ch Slap - which is funny as hell to watch because she has one hand on her hip, the other one using her shotgun to just walk through a crowd of zombies while slapping them left and right. The controls are tight and responsive, on par with (or better than) anything coming out of a top-rated developer, and the admittedly repetitive gameplay of sword slashes, kicks, guns, and airborne attacks is fun nonetheless. The number of modes help to increase replay value: to allow you to run through already-cleared areas in Free Play or just fight through hordes of zombies in Survival, or coming up with specific costumes and looks you want the girls to have, this game is no slacker on stuff to do. Level up the girls, and get extra items, and have a blast doing it! Overall, if you want to watch cute / sexy females with attitude (in various modes of dress) cutting hapless zombies into bloody ribbons, and don't care about saving the world or having ultra-realistic graphics (looks good enough to me), then this is a game that will be quite enjoyable for the price tag. Just leave your political correctness / femi-nazi attitude at the door. Expand
  3. aconti
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Mindless fun, turn off brain and play just as games are meant to be, dont expect a materpiece and its enjoyable plus breast physics.
  4. MikeMan
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. If you're looking for a polished, A grade title, then look elsewhere. But if you're after some fun hack and slash, then this game certainly delivers. The controls are fluid and extremely well implemented. The animations are very well made and do I need to say much more about the models? They're fantastic! I'm not sure what more people want from This game is fantastic. If you're looking for a polished, A grade title, then look elsewhere. But if you're after some fun hack and slash, then this game certainly delivers. The controls are fluid and extremely well implemented. The animations are very well made and do I need to say much more about the models? They're fantastic! I'm not sure what more people want from this game. It's got babes in bikinis. It's got zombies. That's about everything a game needs to include to be fun. Chuck in some swords and you've got yourself a cheezy 10/10 title. Will this become a cult classic like The Evil Dead? Only time will tell. But until then this game is certainly worth getting from the bargain bin! Expand
  5. AnonyMoose
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Is this game going to give the likes of Onishuma, Resident Evil, Shinobi, Dead Rising, Ninja Gaiden, et al a run for its money? No. But it's not meant to. This game succeeds perfectly at what it'sd designed to do: Be a mindless hack-and-slash action game. If someone is expecting a masterpiece, they will be disappointed. If someone is looking for light-hearted (albeit gory and Is this game going to give the likes of Onishuma, Resident Evil, Shinobi, Dead Rising, Ninja Gaiden, et al a run for its money? No. But it's not meant to. This game succeeds perfectly at what it'sd designed to do: Be a mindless hack-and-slash action game. If someone is expecting a masterpiece, they will be disappointed. If someone is looking for light-hearted (albeit gory and immature) fun, then this is the perfect game. 10/10 for doing what it's supposed to right; 4/10 if actually compared to other like games. Expand
  6. SharonA
    Feb 24, 2009
    8
    I think that most of the reviews posted neither had the patience to play through more than one level, could not handle the 'Devil May Cry' combat difficulty or just swore it off as soon as they saw the plethora of fan service on the box. If you keep the fan service and lack of substantial in mind from the beginning, then you will see that this is no walk in the park. The AI is I think that most of the reviews posted neither had the patience to play through more than one level, could not handle the 'Devil May Cry' combat difficulty or just swore it off as soon as they saw the plethora of fan service on the box. If you keep the fan service and lack of substantial in mind from the beginning, then you will see that this is no walk in the park. The AI is extremely intelligent, boss fights are a bit insane and you really need to use the tutorials to train yourself in all the moves because they don't fall in your lap. One thing to note; the game is long. Like 10 hours in with two people and it's still not complete. Pick this one up if you really need a DMC fix, try it out and ignore the major reviewers; though not worth 60 bucks, if you find used or rent it, you'll be satisfied with it. Expand
  7. PatrickS
    Mar 12, 2009
    8
    Let's face facts here: when a game releases at a budget price, you have to lower your expectations a bit. It's one of those simple, flawed games with a charm that some people are going to love, and some are going to hate. Plus, it has a zombie killer whale.
  8. MikeR
    Feb 18, 2009
    8
    It's far better than what the critics are saying, the game plays very well and keeps you coming back for more. And it plays even better the more you level up.

    Sadly, the publisher didn't do itself any favors by giving a horrible presentation with on screen text, and by leaving out a lot of tricks and tips from the horrible manual.
  9. ZinD
    Feb 23, 2009
    8
    All the "professionals" and "critics" are giving this game terrible scores, and yet all of the people who actually played it are giving it good scores. Honestly, I think they're just afraid to give a game with a lot of fanservice a good rating. The story is good enough to keep you interested, the senseless sex and violence is both satisfying and funny, and the gameplay is simple and All the "professionals" and "critics" are giving this game terrible scores, and yet all of the people who actually played it are giving it good scores. Honestly, I think they're just afraid to give a game with a lot of fanservice a good rating. The story is good enough to keep you interested, the senseless sex and violence is both satisfying and funny, and the gameplay is simple and yet very easy to control and very fun. The owner of my local game store described it well: "A very fun, terrible game." I, personally, see where he's going. It's not, nor was meant to be, this year's #1 of all time, but it's still extremely fun to play, for more than the visuals. You aren't perverts for liking a game with boobs in it, guys. The Witcher is worse. I give it an 8/10, because it delivers what the people want without trying to go over the top. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 39
  2. Negative: 30 out of 39
  1. 20
    Leaving you with a bad taste in your mouth and an unwashable feeling of downright sleaziness, Onechanbara can be simulated by checking into a shady motel.
  2. So what reason is there to play Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad? There is none, so suppress any morbid interest you may harbor and spend your money elsewhere, because neither acrobatic temptresses nor legions of the lurching undead can make this game worth playing.
  3. It’s clear that there was a lot more programming manpower put into jiggly girl parts and gouts of blood than in the rest of the game design.