Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Combat System - Each character has a variety of moves that players can utilize to combat enemies in the air, on the ground, at a distance, when surrounded or even to evade attacks. Players can change weapon attacks: for example, switching between one katana for precision work, or useKiller Combat System - Each character has a variety of moves that players can utilize to combat enemies in the air, on the ground, at a distance, when surrounded or even to evade attacks. Players can change weapon attacks: for example, switching between one katana for precision work, or use two katanas to take out large crowds of enemies. Adrenaline Filled Rage Mode - Unleash the hidden power inside of Aya and Saki, as players go into rage mode when covered in too much blood to gain more power and more agility to destroy enemies faster. But if soaked in blood for too long, the added adrenaline will deplete the player’s health. Co-op Play - Invite a friend to join in the fight with Co-Op mode to rid the city of zombie infestation. Multiple Gameplay Modes - Zombie slayers will experience the main storyline through multiple stages with danger lurking around every corner in Story mode; replay favorite levels in Free Play mode; kill as many zombies as possible before their health runs out in Survival mode, embark on more than 40 harrowing quests in Quest mode and more. Dress-Up Mode - Unlock and acquire a variety of items to use in Dress-up mode to style out the sisters with sexy clothing, flashy accessories, hot hairstyles and more. After selecting an outfit combination, players can name the combinations, save them, then use the outfits in-game. Drive-and-Slash - Play as Aya and with the wind in your hair, dismember zombies at slow or full-speed while riding a tricked-out motorcycle in select levels. [D3Publiser of America] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 39
  2. Negative: 30 out of 39
  1. 75
    So yeah, it's stupid. It's brutally stupid, to be honest. But "Underpants Deadguy Cutters: Ultimate Tittykill" has enough game to keep you going for a few days, and it sells for twenty bucks less than usual. Honestly, I don't know why big breasted women wading through gallons of blood took so long to get to America.
  2. Game Informer
    60
    It's hard to know which is more laughable: Onechanbara's story of sisters who absorb zombie blood through their skin or the fact that this game is so shallow. [Apr 2009, p.81]
  3. We have no doubt this went gangbusters in Japan, but for those with slightly more discerning tastes, blood and bikinis are simply not enough, regardless of how impressive the jiggle physics are.
  4. Zombies, women and blood: a cocktail which hasn't come off as it should have in this poor action game.
  5. For me, Onechanbara represents one of the biggest disappointments I've felt in a game—it looks silly, action packed, and a little fun. Instead, it's just repetitive drivel with a bit of cheesecake.
  6. Just save your money and play something that is actually worth your time.
  7. 10
    I really can't recommend this game for anyone other than those that just enjoy torturing themselves.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. AnonyMoose
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Is this game going to give the likes of Onishuma, Resident Evil, Shinobi, Dead Rising, Ninja Gaiden, et al a run for its money? No. But Is this game going to give the likes of Onishuma, Resident Evil, Shinobi, Dead Rising, Ninja Gaiden, et al a run for its money? No. But it's not meant to. This game succeeds perfectly at what it'sd designed to do: Be a mindless hack-and-slash action game. If someone is expecting a masterpiece, they will be disappointed. If someone is looking for light-hearted (albeit gory and immature) fun, then this is the perfect game. 10/10 for doing what it's supposed to right; 4/10 if actually compared to other like games. Expand
  2. SentSeven
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    My final recommendation: if you like Kill Bill and The Evil Dead, gratuitous amounts of **** and *** or if you're an otaku, then this isMy final recommendation: if you like Kill Bill and The Evil Dead, gratuitous amounts of **** and *** or if you're an otaku, then this is probably the game for you. If you're a feminist, prefer games that take themselves seriously, or can't stand to play anything with dated graphics, then you should probably stay away from this game. Expand
  3. D2ARK
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    This game is plain, mindless, sexy, bloody fun! I had my eye on this game since it was announced to have an Xbox 360 release. I, unlike This game is plain, mindless, sexy, bloody fun! I had my eye on this game since it was announced to have an Xbox 360 release. I, unlike apparently most of the reviewers in America, knew what to expect from this game - blood, T&A, and a cheesy storyline. What I did not expect, however, was how much fun I would really have with it! I've been playing it for a few days now, more than Street Fighter 4 to be honest, and I got SF4 the day it was shipped! As you play this game, you can level up the characters and eventually increase the moves you pull off in combos.... There is an added plus that if timed right, combo moves can turn into Cool Combo moves which, if strung together, do more damage AND open up custom animations, such as Saki sheathing her sword and punching THROUGH zombies, or Reiko's Continuous Super B**ch Slap - which is funny as hell to watch because she has one hand on her hip, the other one using her shotgun to just walk through a crowd of zombies while slapping them left and right. The controls are tight and responsive, on par with (or better than) anything coming out of a top-rated developer, and the admittedly repetitive gameplay of sword slashes, kicks, guns, and airborne attacks is fun nonetheless. The number of modes help to increase replay value: to allow you to run through already-cleared areas in Free Play or just fight through hordes of zombies in Survival, or coming up with specific costumes and looks you want the girls to have, this game is no slacker on stuff to do. Level up the girls, and get extra items, and have a blast doing it! Overall, if you want to watch cute / sexy females with attitude (in various modes of dress) cutting hapless zombies into bloody ribbons, and don't care about saving the world or having ultra-realistic graphics (looks good enough to me), then this is a game that will be quite enjoyable for the price tag. Just leave your political correctness / femi-nazi attitude at the door. Expand
  4. gmaster
    Feb 17, 2009
    7
    Ok, so its like a $20 hooker of a game. A cheap thrill at best, but watching a chick in a bikini weild a samurai sword and spill thousands ofOk, so its like a $20 hooker of a game. A cheap thrill at best, but watching a chick in a bikini weild a samurai sword and spill thousands of gallons of zombie blood holds some value. The game is morally bankrupt but it still beats watching reality TV. Collapse
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game is just mindless fun. Check your brain at the door and mash those buttons while oogling some barely clad ladies chopping hordes ofThis game is just mindless fun. Check your brain at the door and mash those buttons while oogling some barely clad ladies chopping hordes of zombies to pieces. There no real story, there's little mission structure, camera is a headache. Yet, I still found this game fun somehow. If ever I want to play a game that'll turn my brain off, then this is it. The perfect game to play if you're completely wasted. Overall: Mindless fun and that's all it's trying to be. If you can get it for an ultra low price, or a cheap rental, then give it a go, just don't expect too much from it. Expand
  6. RickT
    May 9, 2009
    2
    I fail to understand how anyone could rate this game a 10. Camera angle is rarely right to see anything thats currently kicking the crap out I fail to understand how anyone could rate this game a 10. Camera angle is rarely right to see anything thats currently kicking the crap out of you, and the poorly subtitled, and translated game makes me wish Bestbuy didn't purposely have a blackzone for cell coverage over their store to prevent me from googling the reviews before buying it. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2015
    0
    I played it for 2 minutes. Then I slammed it down and swore. What was I supposed to do, you ask? I don't really know the answer to thatI played it for 2 minutes. Then I slammed it down and swore. What was I supposed to do, you ask? I don't really know the answer to that question, you'll need to ask someone who played it for longer than an hour, and good luck with that! Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.