User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 102
  2. Negative: 10 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. wills
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is very refreshing to play compared to all the arcadey shooters that are out there. If you love war games but want something more realistic, get this game!
  2. paoloAlto
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    I cannot understand what all those unfavourable rating are all about. This is far better than any of the COD series, yes realistic, yes hard... surely that should not be counted against it. The AI is good... what more can I say other than as brucie says...... good game good game!!
  3. SimonB
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Tactical, patience, planning, realistic, Silence for the storm when you walk across a field and knowing that hell can break lose any second. Its like a box of chocelates, u never know what u gonna get' like Forrest would say. And with lose i mean; Hell-lose..bullits will fly around ur ears, impact on the rocks where u and ur men hide behind, enemy choppers closin in at the same time Tactical, patience, planning, realistic, Silence for the storm when you walk across a field and knowing that hell can break lose any second. Its like a box of chocelates, u never know what u gonna get' like Forrest would say. And with lose i mean; Hell-lose..bullits will fly around ur ears, impact on the rocks where u and ur men hide behind, enemy choppers closin in at the same time while u try 2 figure out where the hell the gunfire is comin from. you need 2 react on your instincts and really think.. not do and think, but the other way around. mayB the most difficult thing, STAYING calm when ur under fire and believe me thats difficult when the enemiy is pinning u down with gunfire, wjile they planning an attack on you. One example: I needed 2 blow up a truck and i could do that the rambo way or 1001 otehr ways. I decided 2 let my men enter a building close 2 the truck, surounded by enenmies. I gave them the order: fire when the shoot full metla jackets at my ass. The were set on the second floor at the windows and saw the teamleader ( me) croucing like with my chin on the ground like i was one with the grass what was around me. (Before i did this, i observed the situation completly with my binoculars. Every little inch.) I got closer and closer 2 the truck , knwoin that one or 2 enemies where bhind that truck, i needed 2 be silence as a leave blwoin in the wind. Sweat dripped from my handpalms, 5 feet 3 feet 1 feet..i was almost under the truk and could see the shoelaces of the enemy. Quickly got out my c4...placed it..got yup and Ran the Hell back with the detonator in my hand..back 2 the building where my team was waitin for my orders. I pushed the button on the detonator i heard i big explosion behind me, at the the same time i gave the orders 2 my team for full pin-down fire on the enemy. While i was running , a door of the truck flew by , and bullits impacted around me. These kind of situation u get in no oother game the OPFP: DR ..Believe me.. If u Think before u act, like u do in real life. Plan things out, observe what step 1,2,3,4,5,and 6 are gonna be and with every step an A. B, C plan what could happen if step 1-A fails, u need 2 act in one sec 2 go 2 plan 1-B. At first u will have a hard time, and die alot..believe me..u will. But after u got the plan all figured out, the controls in the top of ur fingers, THEN u feel like cpt. winters from band of brothers and every decission u make will end up in hell or a heavenly feelin of clearing a village. Expand
  4. PhillipL
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    This is the game I've been waiting for, a tactical shooter that makes you think before you shoot. Other games have dumbed down the bullet physics and approach tactics (predetermined lines of attack) to be more acceptable to casual gamers, this game does not. Sniping and long range kills takes skill to pull off, not a bullet that travels in a straight line for infinity. There are some This is the game I've been waiting for, a tactical shooter that makes you think before you shoot. Other games have dumbed down the bullet physics and approach tactics (predetermined lines of attack) to be more acceptable to casual gamers, this game does not. Sniping and long range kills takes skill to pull off, not a bullet that travels in a straight line for infinity. There are some minor gripes about the game but nothing that made me regret my purchase. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This game much like the new medal of honor is not for call of duty snobs. I love this game so much especially the challenge that presents itself and storywise it's pretty realistic
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to be a military combat simulator, but actually it's some kind of military tedious walking simulator, which is cool too, if you're into that sort of thing. I believe the game designers wanted to create a game with a realistic interpretation of what it would be like if a war was fought between a bunch of complete idiots, and in that manner, they excel. InI thought this game was supposed to be a military combat simulator, but actually it's some kind of military tedious walking simulator, which is cool too, if you're into that sort of thing. I believe the game designers wanted to create a game with a realistic interpretation of what it would be like if a war was fought between a bunch of complete idiots, and in that manner, they excel. In real life, if you're one guy in command of three other guys who have serious brain damage, you're probably going to lose, right? That's exactly what happens in this game! So real. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Playing this game with other people is the key to having fun with it. I love playing this game more than any other when I have a full squad, who can play together, as opposed to other games in the FPS genre. This game really shouldn't be considered part of that genre since the gameplay is so different. While I view the COD series as Jerry Bruckheimer's version of war, I would view thisPlaying this game with other people is the key to having fun with it. I love playing this game more than any other when I have a full squad, who can play together, as opposed to other games in the FPS genre. This game really shouldn't be considered part of that genre since the gameplay is so different. While I view the COD series as Jerry Bruckheimer's version of war, I would view this one as way more realistic. My favorite memory of this game was when a buddy of mine and I were playing it. We were sprinting over open ground toward cover while being shot at by the enemy. We made it to the grove of trees when all of the sudden, an RPG round hit a tree right beside him. The resulting explosion dismembered his body completely, and knocked me to the ground bleeding out. It was one of the most intense gameplay moments I have ever experienced. Operation Flashpoint games will deliver this every time you play.

    Pros: Graphics, sounds of weapons, replay value, realism
    Cons: No mission editor for console versions, no fixed wing aircraft, cheesy voiceovers
    Expand
  8. ArwenG
    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    A picky "professionals only" experience where youre expected to act like you really would if you were there even though youve been denied the ability you would have if you were. Its obviously been designed for the ruthlessly strict world of the PC sim where fun is puzzlingly considered "unprofessional" and "likely to get you killed". Why on earth theyd port it to a platform designed for A picky "professionals only" experience where youre expected to act like you really would if you were there even though youve been denied the ability you would have if you were. Its obviously been designed for the ruthlessly strict world of the PC sim where fun is puzzlingly considered "unprofessional" and "likely to get you killed". Why on earth theyd port it to a platform designed for entertainment is as batty as crafting the dirtiest joke known to mankind and airing it during dinner with the pope! Completely out of pace and overly ignorant of purpose. Save yourself some money and just go sign up for basic training where you can have burly, sneering jugheads telling you "youre doing it wrong" from dawn till dusk while suffering every soul shattering minute the games supporters seem to fetishise! Go forth and get shot! Expand
  9. FPSMaster
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    Too many years have gone by since there was a decent military game on a console. These Vegas and GRAW games are atrocities when it comes to realism. Other than the original Ghost Recon and Island Thunder, nothing other than Flashpoint Elite on Xbox in 2005 have been any good when it comes to outdoor military realism. That's why this game seemed it would fill that void, but it Too many years have gone by since there was a decent military game on a console. These Vegas and GRAW games are atrocities when it comes to realism. Other than the original Ghost Recon and Island Thunder, nothing other than Flashpoint Elite on Xbox in 2005 have been any good when it comes to outdoor military realism. That's why this game seemed it would fill that void, but it doesn't. Too many features have been left out that any military game should have, too many things were lied about by the developers right up until release and the game is broken in just about every way. The only saving grace is the draw distance really. This game is this generation's version of Close Combat: First to Fight from Xbox in 2005. Hopefully you don't remember that game, because if you do, then playing this game will be like saying hello to an ex that you hate. Some are saying to wait until it's fixed, but after all that Codemasters lied about and said would be in the game to begin with I woudln't trust them to fix anything. If you've already bought it, they have your money and seeing how they're ignoring their fan's complaints on their website you'll be lucky if you even get an f.u. Expand
  10. MorenoVex
    Oct 11, 2009
    2
    1) game Bot spot enemy like if the game was without vegetation, your bot see enemies and enemies see u in this way. 2) online game is ruined by BOT that u cannot disable. so even if u are inside vegetation and very far, enemy bots see u as u take e look to them to and soon fire to u I really hope thay will make a patch to enable vegetation use for stealh approach to enemies, and a patch 1) game Bot spot enemy like if the game was without vegetation, your bot see enemies and enemies see u in this way. 2) online game is ruined by BOT that u cannot disable. so even if u are inside vegetation and very far, enemy bots see u as u take e look to them to and soon fire to u I really hope thay will make a patch to enable vegetation use for stealh approach to enemies, and a patch to disable bots in multiplayer. Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I've been playing computer games since I had a Spectrum 48k back in 1981. I can honestly say that this game is in my `top' ten of worst games ever, yes it's that bad.
    It's got more bugs than a crab victims pants, it's sloooow, inaccurate, confusing.
    Thankfully I bought it pre-owned for only seven quid, if I'd paid seven pence for it, then I would maybe not be that bothered. Terrible
    I've been playing computer games since I had a Spectrum 48k back in 1981. I can honestly say that this game is in my `top' ten of worst games ever, yes it's that bad.
    It's got more bugs than a crab victims pants, it's sloooow, inaccurate, confusing.
    Thankfully I bought it pre-owned for only seven quid, if I'd paid seven pence for it, then I would maybe not be that bothered.

    Terrible game from the usually genius Codemasters.
    Expand
  12. RustyBullet
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    This game offers something new and exciting for all gamers. It is totally immersive in gameplay and the MP offers even more to the overall game. CoD has offered and continues to offer great franchises, but if your looking for something different and deeper, Code Masters has delivered that package.
  13. TimoM
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    A great game that is a must for all who love military games. Has a couple of minor flaws and feels a bit unpolished, but offers an unparalled feeling of "being there". The only correct way to play this is the hardcore mode!
  14. RyanK
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    This game is fantastic. It offer a true military simulator the the Xbox 360. The gameplay is very tactical and actually requires you to plan out you're attack and not just run and gun. The game really shines with 4 player co-op. The only thing that let it down in my eyes are some minor glitches (which should hopefully be fixed in a title update) and the the qaulity of textures. This game is fantastic. It offer a true military simulator the the Xbox 360. The gameplay is very tactical and actually requires you to plan out you're attack and not just run and gun. The game really shines with 4 player co-op. The only thing that let it down in my eyes are some minor glitches (which should hopefully be fixed in a title update) and the the qaulity of textures. Overall an excellent addidtion to anyones games collection. Expand
  15. AnttiP
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    It's a FPS for the hardcore, not for everyone. On hardest difficulity it's pretty darn hard, but the feeling after completing a mission is unmatched. Online co-op works well, versus multiplayer feels a bit disappointing. Maybe it will get better after they fix the bugs, lag and connection problems. Single player has also bugs, probably a patch will soon fix most of them.
  16. MasterD
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    This is just as good as the original Ghost Recon games - immersive and a game where patience and tactics win over brute force frontal assault. It will take you time to finish missions, but it will be time well spent.
  17. DougH.
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Having bought and finished the game, I have to say that the game was every bit of what I expected it to be. Perhaps those who complain about the enemy spotting them through vegetation should remember the old adage "just because you can't see him doesn't mean he can't see you." True this game is less a game and more of a simulation. Bullets don't fly in straight lines, Having bought and finished the game, I have to say that the game was every bit of what I expected it to be. Perhaps those who complain about the enemy spotting them through vegetation should remember the old adage "just because you can't see him doesn't mean he can't see you." True this game is less a game and more of a simulation. Bullets don't fly in straight lines, they arc. One shot CAN kill. You can't always see who's shooting at you and this adds to the paranoia of real war. The only qualms I have with this game are that it is too short, any shooting war with China is likely to last longer than just a few days, and the story is only told through the eyes of a Marine SpecOps trooper, and Marine infantry. What about adding levels involving gunship crews, armored platoons, and fighter pilots? The days of simulations just being a PC thing are over. Expect more to show up on consoles. Expand
  18. ZacharyH.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    I just got this game today and all i can say is that its freakin awsome. Ive been playin it with a friend and its really realistic and fun. if your a fan of ultra realism and love cool modern weapons and taking your time and pickin of enemys then you will love this game. Nothing like cod 4 and if you play cod4 on hardcore and your looking for something even more close to the real thing I just got this game today and all i can say is that its freakin awsome. Ive been playin it with a friend and its really realistic and fun. if your a fan of ultra realism and love cool modern weapons and taking your time and pickin of enemys then you will love this game. Nothing like cod 4 and if you play cod4 on hardcore and your looking for something even more close to the real thing plz pick it up. you will not regret it. Expand
  19. mobius
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Calling all Call Of Duty Fans, do you feel that the intense fighting and great multiplayer matches of COD are not enough, do you want more, if the answer is yes, then Operation Flashpoint (OFP) isn
  20. AnonymousMC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    How in holy heck does Halo ODST get an 84 metacritic score and this game only a 77. I realize its early and metacritic goes on averages but come on. This game is everything I have ever wanted in a first person shooter. Go buy this game and help support codemasters. They are truly the best on the best when it comes to realistic shooters.
  21. DynamicEcho
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    A brilliant game, but sadly with some flaws. The odd glitch here and there in the singleplayer doesn't really detract from the experience, but the currently broken multiplayer component does - the lobby system is somewhat antiquated and server lists often suffer from glitches, and once you have managed to enter a game, the lag is simply intolerable. That said, when it works, the A brilliant game, but sadly with some flaws. The odd glitch here and there in the singleplayer doesn't really detract from the experience, but the currently broken multiplayer component does - the lobby system is somewhat antiquated and server lists often suffer from glitches, and once you have managed to enter a game, the lag is simply intolerable. That said, when it works, the multiplayer is perfectly fine, if a little limited in terms of maps and modes. However, I can see all of these problems being addressable post-launch, as Gears of War 2 had to. Despite these flaws, and the lack of the PC version's mission editor, when you are on the ground playing the game this latest Flashpoint ranks with any other game I have played. Expand
  22. MarkW
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    This game is just amazing. I completed it today and I keep going back for more. This is not a game for COD fanboys as this is not a run and gun arcade shooter. This is a real Sim. It takes alot of patience and tactics to complete this game.
  23. TravisH
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    I must say being a cod fan this game is such an amazing change in pace, it quite frankly blew me away. The realism is second to none as you plan assaults, hold airstrips, and pick enemies off all the while accounting for the bullet drop because you are 500 meters away. Equipping any type of rocket launcher sees you take it off your back, set it on the ground, assemble it and then shoulder I must say being a cod fan this game is such an amazing change in pace, it quite frankly blew me away. The realism is second to none as you plan assaults, hold airstrips, and pick enemies off all the while accounting for the bullet drop because you are 500 meters away. Equipping any type of rocket launcher sees you take it off your back, set it on the ground, assemble it and then shoulder it. The hit detection is amazing and the long range combat is the most satisfying and realistic I have ever played. If all you want is stupid enemies running out so you can gun them down from 5 feet away, then don't play this game. If you are looking for a shockingly realistic, intensely fun war simulation look no further than OF:Dragon Rising. Expand
  24. ilfi
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Nice wargame. I love realism and at least partial freedom to execute the orders given. Disappearing OPFOR is of poor design as well AI team members. They should be marines not fighting crash test dummies? You'll get some losses because your team members act like fools at times. I also missed slightly the ability to adjust sights. Co-op is a bless. Overall quite a realistic war game Nice wargame. I love realism and at least partial freedom to execute the orders given. Disappearing OPFOR is of poor design as well AI team members. They should be marines not fighting crash test dummies? You'll get some losses because your team members act like fools at times. I also missed slightly the ability to adjust sights. Co-op is a bless. Overall quite a realistic war game and I love it over Tom Clancy titles. Expand
  25. WarGamer
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Fantastic but only if you an experienced war gamer,ignore any low ratings as this will be due to gamer being inept. If you think this is possibly you then don't buy.
  26. JohnM
    Oct 22, 2009
    5
    I have almost finished this game, but only because I was fooled in to buing it. I would avoid this game until it's either free or very low priced. Name is obviously a quick cash out and overall I'm not relaxed nor do I enjoy playing this game. I'm a huge fan of Arma 2 and OFP, this just doesn't deliver. A lot of bugs, ridiculous time limits which have nothing to do I have almost finished this game, but only because I was fooled in to buing it. I would avoid this game until it's either free or very low priced. Name is obviously a quick cash out and overall I'm not relaxed nor do I enjoy playing this game. I'm a huge fan of Arma 2 and OFP, this just doesn't deliver. A lot of bugs, ridiculous time limits which have nothing to do with actual events in game -- they are just coded in the game and if you run out of time mission is failed no matter what happens. It has it's moments, but very rarely. Overall it's a huge disappointment and very frustrating one. Expand
  27. clintn
    Oct 26, 2009
    5
    this game could have been so good but as it stands it just a broken mess with so many bugs and such a massive gap between wot we were told we were getting and wots in the box that i can only recommend it as a week long renter.
  28. SuckaFish
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Play it on hardcore and it's JUST like the original, no checkpoints, no hud, just all realistic. Took me 3 hours to finish the 2nd mission, it was a real challenge, flanking through heavy enemy defenses. And I'm telling you, when you have invested 1 hour into an attempt and you are at the final step that you've never seen running as fast as you can knowing that one bullet Play it on hardcore and it's JUST like the original, no checkpoints, no hud, just all realistic. Took me 3 hours to finish the 2nd mission, it was a real challenge, flanking through heavy enemy defenses. And I'm telling you, when you have invested 1 hour into an attempt and you are at the final step that you've never seen running as fast as you can knowing that one bullet can make you do it all over again, it's intense, fun and super-rewarding when you finally finish a mission....!!! Forget Multiplayer, it's just not that type of game Expand
  29. ScottA
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    For 6 years I have been waiting for this and am a bit disappointed. Let me repeat, I am a huge OFP fan! However, vehicle driving characteristics are still poor as in the first, interiors are sparse and hard to navigate through, glitches pop up where enemies killed still appear to be standing in front of you, way points need to be hit spot on or you can watch as your extraction helicopter For 6 years I have been waiting for this and am a bit disappointed. Let me repeat, I am a huge OFP fan! However, vehicle driving characteristics are still poor as in the first, interiors are sparse and hard to navigate through, glitches pop up where enemies killed still appear to be standing in front of you, way points need to be hit spot on or you can watch as your extraction helicopter is shot out of the sky, AI is inconsistent and issuing detailed orders is extremely difficult. Having said this I wish 8.25 was an option as the concept of military SIM is alive and well within all these faults and you get some good experiences in game play that you wish could have been more consistent. In the original OFP multi-player was where the game tended to shine and I don't doubt this will be the same for OFP2 when I get a chance to do so. Expand
  30. mackymac
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    I am a PC gamer, however, I have OFPDR for th XBOX 360, and so far I am enjoying it. I dont like the reddish hue everything seems to have, but as far as the interface and command system, I like that they kept it complex. The original OFP on PC is still one of the all time greatest games ever made, and I still have that running on my PC after many add ons, patches etc., since 2002!!! I am a PC gamer, however, I have OFPDR for th XBOX 360, and so far I am enjoying it. I dont like the reddish hue everything seems to have, but as far as the interface and command system, I like that they kept it complex. The original OFP on PC is still one of the all time greatest games ever made, and I still have that running on my PC after many add ons, patches etc., since 2002!!! Anyway, I think it's great, beacause I've long been fed up with the linear shoot em ups that everyone keeps cranking out. Expand
  31. GnashleyE
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    As others have rightly pointed out, this game suffers from a bevy of bugs. I have only encountered one during the campaign myself, when a squad that was meant to lead a diversionary attack against a fuel depot never showed up, but I have seen enough reports to know that there must be at least some fire to all the smoke wafting around. Multiplayer is, at this point, a mostly broken affair As others have rightly pointed out, this game suffers from a bevy of bugs. I have only encountered one during the campaign myself, when a squad that was meant to lead a diversionary attack against a fuel depot never showed up, but I have seen enough reports to know that there must be at least some fire to all the smoke wafting around. Multiplayer is, at this point, a mostly broken affair due to connectivity issues, but fixes are coming down the pipe very soon -- or so we have been told. Although such issues are never really acceptable, I find myself more than willing to cut OFP:DR some slack because of the ambitious game design, fidelity to real-world military equipment and tactics, and the fundamentally enjoyable combat. Those who have not played the original OFP, and/or any of the games belonging to the Arma series, may struggle with this title as it really makes no concessions to novices, or even skilled players of more arcadey FPS-fare. Its not that the game is especially difficult, if you know what you're doing, but the more deliberate and tactical approach that you must adopt in order to have any chance of success may be unfamiliar to many players, and may not be something that they persist with the game long enough to pick up. If you can recite the FM 7-8 backwards, and have good battlefield judgement, there are plenty of moments where you can really cut loose and perform daring and devastating attacks on the enemy, but going in half-cocked will only get you killed. I believe this is why much of the "professional" game media has levelled a great deal of criticism at the game; they are soft as butter, and don't like being called upon to think in what they regard as just another military FPS. That is not to say that flaws don't exist in the game, but they have been grossly exaggerated for the most part, and still others have been invented out of whole cloth. My advice: make up your own mind. Expand
  32. AnonymousMC
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    I had really high hopes for this military "SIM" but from the muddy extremely outdated graphics to the bloody god awful A.I. to the very limited, stiff and mediocre gameplay I am truly disappointed. It still takes a fair amount of patience and skill, but in the end, for this jaded gamer, its flaws far outweigh the good stuff and its just not good enough to get excited about . Better luckI had really high hopes for this military "SIM" but from the muddy extremely outdated graphics to the bloody god awful A.I. to the very limited, stiff and mediocre gameplay I am truly disappointed. It still takes a fair amount of patience and skill, but in the end, for this jaded gamer, its flaws far outweigh the good stuff and its just not good enough to get excited about . Better luck on the next installment of O.F. Codemasters, you've got your work cut out for you. Expand
  33. SteveK
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    A game like this, where you rely heavily on orders given to your AI squad, it is of SOME importance that the AI is capable. Based on the PR surrounding the game I didn't really have any worries and took for granted that things would work out alright. Since you've already seen the score I've given the game, you can safely assume that I was grossly misled. The AI is FUBAR to A game like this, where you rely heavily on orders given to your AI squad, it is of SOME importance that the AI is capable. Based on the PR surrounding the game I didn't really have any worries and took for granted that things would work out alright. Since you've already seen the score I've given the game, you can safely assume that I was grossly misled. The AI is FUBAR to a degree that is astounding, especially considering the game is promoted as being a "genre-defining military conflict simulator". The reality of the AI clashes wildly with outlandish claims like that. Expand
  34. JayL.
    Oct 22, 2009
    5
    It's really sad to say, but there's only half a game here. A lot of promises were made by the developers that were not followed through on. - The campaign is short/very weak, with a fair share of bugs glitches. - The multiplayer is broken, with constant lag, 2 maps for each game mode (one Annihilation map is practically unplayable because of lag). - There are a lot of fine It's really sad to say, but there's only half a game here. A lot of promises were made by the developers that were not followed through on. - The campaign is short/very weak, with a fair share of bugs glitches. - The multiplayer is broken, with constant lag, 2 maps for each game mode (one Annihilation map is practically unplayable because of lag). - There are a lot of fine details missing that shortchange the experience. - Co-Op is fantastic, though lag issues exist there as well. It's realism and difficulty (especially on the Hardcore setting) are wonderful, as well as the intensity of a really good firefight. On the rare occasions I can get a multiplayer session to work without lag, I have had an absolute blast. I guess the main tragedy of this game is that it was a hair's breadth away from being a great game (probably the best of this console generation), but in the end, the final product feels unfinished, cheap, and broken. Hopefully some patching and DLC alleviate the problems, but I can't honestly recommend the game in its current state. Expand
  35. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Ok game. The missions are simply not as fun as the co-op missions in GRAW and GRAW 2. Some sections are just ridiculous, and are annoying enough that the replay value is simply not there. Sometimes fun, but mostly disappointing.
  36. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    As a huge fan of the originals on PC, this was one of the most disappointing sequels I've played (since the dark, sad days of awful sequels like Unreal 2 and Deus Ex Invisible War). They've stripped out everything that made the originals great. You won't participate in frequent large combined arms engagements, you won't find yourself behind the controls of tanks or helicopters (unlessAs a huge fan of the originals on PC, this was one of the most disappointing sequels I've played (since the dark, sad days of awful sequels like Unreal 2 and Deus Ex Invisible War). They've stripped out everything that made the originals great. You won't participate in frequent large combined arms engagements, you won't find yourself behind the controls of tanks or helicopters (unless you play multiplayer), and you won't have much control over how you approach each mission. This game has a lot more in common with the old Delta Force titles than the grand scale of OFP, Resistance, and the spiritual successors of ARMA and ARMA2. Nearly every mission involves climbing a hill, killing whatever stands on top of it, then getting to an extraction point. Also, no mission editor for consoles. That was half the fun right there. Negatives aside, it isn't all bad. The combat controls are a lot better than the original, it's easier to get your squad-mates to help out, buildings play a larger role (unless your squad mates have to enter them), and the pyrotechnics are a lot more realistic. These positives just don't cut it in the long run. Taken on its own, it's a mediocre realistic shooter, a bit of a Ghost Recon 1 meets Delta Force hybrid with boring missions. Placed alongside its predecessors, it is one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. If you have a pc, stick to ARMA. This is Operation Flashpoint in name only. Expand
  37. May 11, 2011
    9
    This game is probably not for the kind of person who is obsessed with playing Multiplayer Call of Duty.This is a serious,realistic & as a result slower paced affair.But this is the much better game for it! In a world crammed with 'cut & paste in ya face' 1st person shooters,this is a breath of fresh air.. As i've said,its very realistic,with one or 2 hits being able to kill you.But thisThis game is probably not for the kind of person who is obsessed with playing Multiplayer Call of Duty.This is a serious,realistic & as a result slower paced affair.But this is the much better game for it! In a world crammed with 'cut & paste in ya face' 1st person shooters,this is a breath of fresh air.. As i've said,its very realistic,with one or 2 hits being able to kill you.But this makes for a great experience,as you HAVE to use cover,& plan how you approach objectives or an enemy force,& by that i mean approach from a hill line,where you have a better view & height advantage,or have better cover,say from a treeline.Some fights you may end up avoiding completely,by a slight detour,as you would in real life(why would you get into an uneccassary firefight,endangering your squads lives,& the mission).The entire campaign can be played in online or system link Co-Op,& works very well.Players & Cpu team mates can heal each other if you dont get killed outright,so its not TOO unforgiving.(regarding the CPU,other reviews may have mentioned poor AI & other glitches in the game,but at the time of writing this,everythings been fixed,& runs very well,so dont worry about that).People that enjoy playing the Co-Op missions in GRAW 1&2 would enjoy this alot too,as it all plays fairly similar,& are both realism focused.Theres a couple of critisisms i have with the game,which is why i didnt give it a perfect score,which is it would've been nice to have to option to play the campaign split-screen Co-Op too,The graphics are not top of the range,but taking into account the size of the play area(its basically free roam),thats forgivable,& vehicles are very underused in the campaign(you get to use a helicopter once,in my experience),& dont handle particulally well.But as i say,minor points(apart from lack of splitscreen),& doesnt detract from the game.It all works,& is perfectly functionable.Highly recommend this game. Expand
  38. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    No matter what people say this is the best realistic strategy FPS shooter to come out in a while for Xbox. First off it can be buggy, but after a few updates it feels fresher and better then before.

    Story Taking place in a fictional country filled with an army of insurgents, you play as a Marine of whatever choosing you like. You battle your way to help the country stabilize by
    No matter what people say this is the best realistic strategy FPS shooter to come out in a while for Xbox. First off it can be buggy, but after a few updates it feels fresher and better then before.

    Story Taking place in a fictional country filled with an army of insurgents, you play as a Marine of whatever choosing you like. You battle your way to help the country stabilize by forcing them out. But worldly events lead the Chinese to be involved and make them hungry for revenge against the insurgents. You get caught in the middle of a mission against insurgents by overwhelming Chinese forces. The Marines see they are trying to force their military in seizing the country and must stop them.

    Gameplay Gameplay is pretty straight forward: Kill the enemy before they do. One bullet on the hardest difficulty can kill you if it hits in the right place. It can be pretty frustrating when a mission goes wrong and your teammates die or if your hit and need medical attention. Enemies can be difficult and pretty good shots so take tons of cover and use suppressive fire to flank them. Pretty simple, but harder to execute appropriate.

    Graphics Not the best, and the environment is boring sometimes. But it can get the job done.

    Controls It's easy to master to keep up with the squad commands easily. And it's pretty laid out.

    Overall The combat and story are very good, but graphics can make the immersion feel a bit boring.
    Expand
  39. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    The game is very beautiful, the only negative aspect i can say is an A.I. a bit "slow" in short range combats.
    The game itself is very neat, good graphic and quite realistic.
    good game
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. More than anything, it's a game that, even after completion, we want to keep returning to again and again, adding different ingredients to the freeform formula and seeing what kind of explosions we can create. We can guarantee you won't have played an FPS quite like this on Xbox 360, but now that one's arrived, you certainly should. [Nov 2009, p.84]
  2. 81
    At its best, it's nerve-janglingly tense as you plot and then implement the next firefight – where decisions you make have very serious consequences. But be warned, it's not a game that gently welcomes those more used to running-and-gunning, and even for the hardcore, there are serious problems with awkward command menus for your squad and bland missions at the top of the list of minus points.
  3. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.