User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 102
  2. Negative: 10 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to be a military combat simulator, but actually it's some kind of military tedious walking simulator, which is cool too, if you're into that sort of thing. I believe the game designers wanted to create a game with a realistic interpretation of what it would be like if a war was fought between a bunch of complete idiots, and in that manner, they excel. InI thought this game was supposed to be a military combat simulator, but actually it's some kind of military tedious walking simulator, which is cool too, if you're into that sort of thing. I believe the game designers wanted to create a game with a realistic interpretation of what it would be like if a war was fought between a bunch of complete idiots, and in that manner, they excel. In real life, if you're one guy in command of three other guys who have serious brain damage, you're probably going to lose, right? That's exactly what happens in this game! So real. Expand
  2. FPSMaster
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    Too many years have gone by since there was a decent military game on a console. These Vegas and GRAW games are atrocities when it comes to realism. Other than the original Ghost Recon and Island Thunder, nothing other than Flashpoint Elite on Xbox in 2005 have been any good when it comes to outdoor military realism. That's why this game seemed it would fill that void, but it Too many years have gone by since there was a decent military game on a console. These Vegas and GRAW games are atrocities when it comes to realism. Other than the original Ghost Recon and Island Thunder, nothing other than Flashpoint Elite on Xbox in 2005 have been any good when it comes to outdoor military realism. That's why this game seemed it would fill that void, but it doesn't. Too many features have been left out that any military game should have, too many things were lied about by the developers right up until release and the game is broken in just about every way. The only saving grace is the draw distance really. This game is this generation's version of Close Combat: First to Fight from Xbox in 2005. Hopefully you don't remember that game, because if you do, then playing this game will be like saying hello to an ex that you hate. Some are saying to wait until it's fixed, but after all that Codemasters lied about and said would be in the game to begin with I woudln't trust them to fix anything. If you've already bought it, they have your money and seeing how they're ignoring their fan's complaints on their website you'll be lucky if you even get an f.u. Expand
  3. JohnM
    Oct 22, 2009
    5
    I have almost finished this game, but only because I was fooled in to buing it. I would avoid this game until it's either free or very low priced. Name is obviously a quick cash out and overall I'm not relaxed nor do I enjoy playing this game. I'm a huge fan of Arma 2 and OFP, this just doesn't deliver. A lot of bugs, ridiculous time limits which have nothing to do I have almost finished this game, but only because I was fooled in to buing it. I would avoid this game until it's either free or very low priced. Name is obviously a quick cash out and overall I'm not relaxed nor do I enjoy playing this game. I'm a huge fan of Arma 2 and OFP, this just doesn't deliver. A lot of bugs, ridiculous time limits which have nothing to do with actual events in game -- they are just coded in the game and if you run out of time mission is failed no matter what happens. It has it's moments, but very rarely. Overall it's a huge disappointment and very frustrating one. Expand
  4. clintn
    Oct 26, 2009
    5
    this game could have been so good but as it stands it just a broken mess with so many bugs and such a massive gap between wot we were told we were getting and wots in the box that i can only recommend it as a week long renter.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    I had really high hopes for this military "SIM" but from the muddy extremely outdated graphics to the bloody god awful A.I. to the very limited, stiff and mediocre gameplay I am truly disappointed. It still takes a fair amount of patience and skill, but in the end, for this jaded gamer, its flaws far outweigh the good stuff and its just not good enough to get excited about . Better luckI had really high hopes for this military "SIM" but from the muddy extremely outdated graphics to the bloody god awful A.I. to the very limited, stiff and mediocre gameplay I am truly disappointed. It still takes a fair amount of patience and skill, but in the end, for this jaded gamer, its flaws far outweigh the good stuff and its just not good enough to get excited about . Better luck on the next installment of O.F. Codemasters, you've got your work cut out for you. Expand
  6. SteveK
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    A game like this, where you rely heavily on orders given to your AI squad, it is of SOME importance that the AI is capable. Based on the PR surrounding the game I didn't really have any worries and took for granted that things would work out alright. Since you've already seen the score I've given the game, you can safely assume that I was grossly misled. The AI is FUBAR to A game like this, where you rely heavily on orders given to your AI squad, it is of SOME importance that the AI is capable. Based on the PR surrounding the game I didn't really have any worries and took for granted that things would work out alright. Since you've already seen the score I've given the game, you can safely assume that I was grossly misled. The AI is FUBAR to a degree that is astounding, especially considering the game is promoted as being a "genre-defining military conflict simulator". The reality of the AI clashes wildly with outlandish claims like that. Expand
  7. JayL.
    Oct 22, 2009
    5
    It's really sad to say, but there's only half a game here. A lot of promises were made by the developers that were not followed through on. - The campaign is short/very weak, with a fair share of bugs glitches. - The multiplayer is broken, with constant lag, 2 maps for each game mode (one Annihilation map is practically unplayable because of lag). - There are a lot of fine It's really sad to say, but there's only half a game here. A lot of promises were made by the developers that were not followed through on. - The campaign is short/very weak, with a fair share of bugs glitches. - The multiplayer is broken, with constant lag, 2 maps for each game mode (one Annihilation map is practically unplayable because of lag). - There are a lot of fine details missing that shortchange the experience. - Co-Op is fantastic, though lag issues exist there as well. It's realism and difficulty (especially on the Hardcore setting) are wonderful, as well as the intensity of a really good firefight. On the rare occasions I can get a multiplayer session to work without lag, I have had an absolute blast. I guess the main tragedy of this game is that it was a hair's breadth away from being a great game (probably the best of this console generation), but in the end, the final product feels unfinished, cheap, and broken. Hopefully some patching and DLC alleviate the problems, but I can't honestly recommend the game in its current state. Expand
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Ok game. The missions are simply not as fun as the co-op missions in GRAW and GRAW 2. Some sections are just ridiculous, and are annoying enough that the replay value is simply not there. Sometimes fun, but mostly disappointing.
  9. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    As a huge fan of the originals on PC, this was one of the most disappointing sequels I've played (since the dark, sad days of awful sequels like Unreal 2 and Deus Ex Invisible War). They've stripped out everything that made the originals great. You won't participate in frequent large combined arms engagements, you won't find yourself behind the controls of tanks or helicopters (unlessAs a huge fan of the originals on PC, this was one of the most disappointing sequels I've played (since the dark, sad days of awful sequels like Unreal 2 and Deus Ex Invisible War). They've stripped out everything that made the originals great. You won't participate in frequent large combined arms engagements, you won't find yourself behind the controls of tanks or helicopters (unless you play multiplayer), and you won't have much control over how you approach each mission. This game has a lot more in common with the old Delta Force titles than the grand scale of OFP, Resistance, and the spiritual successors of ARMA and ARMA2. Nearly every mission involves climbing a hill, killing whatever stands on top of it, then getting to an extraction point. Also, no mission editor for consoles. That was half the fun right there. Negatives aside, it isn't all bad. The combat controls are a lot better than the original, it's easier to get your squad-mates to help out, buildings play a larger role (unless your squad mates have to enter them), and the pyrotechnics are a lot more realistic. These positives just don't cut it in the long run. Taken on its own, it's a mediocre realistic shooter, a bit of a Ghost Recon 1 meets Delta Force hybrid with boring missions. Placed alongside its predecessors, it is one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. If you have a pc, stick to ARMA. This is Operation Flashpoint in name only. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. More than anything, it's a game that, even after completion, we want to keep returning to again and again, adding different ingredients to the freeform formula and seeing what kind of explosions we can create. We can guarantee you won't have played an FPS quite like this on Xbox 360, but now that one's arrived, you certainly should. [Nov 2009, p.84]
  2. 81
    At its best, it's nerve-janglingly tense as you plot and then implement the next firefight – where decisions you make have very serious consequences. But be warned, it's not a game that gently welcomes those more used to running-and-gunning, and even for the hardcore, there are serious problems with awkward command menus for your squad and bland missions at the top of the list of minus points.
  3. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.