Orcs Must Die! Xbox 360

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    70
    Rewarding and frustrating in equal measure, but rarely boring, it's a memorable dose of mass slaughter.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    65
    The mechanics of Orcs Must Die! are totally solid, the visual style is nice, and the hyper-fast-paced play is a real strength, but the game almost feels incomplete. Without much variation in the gameplay and little in the way of details, characterization and extras, the end result is too lean to be as tasty as it should be.
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Orcs Must Die! is nice blend of strategic Tower Defense and venting hack'n slash, as odd as it may sound. Aside from a few shortcomings, its production's spot on and Robot Entertainment even managed to stick a nice story on top of it. But the main issue overshadowing the fame is the lack of challenge in the campaign. A little patch with a harder difficulty mode would be nice. And add a coop mode while you're at it, please.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Orcs Must Die is fun but in a limited, begrudgingly acknowledged sense. It's lacking a spark: something compelling to make you play beyond the first five minutes, or even through the first five minutes.
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    60
    Robot Entertainment successfully combines tower defence mechanics with some action, but the repetition of the levels and the long waves of enemies make it rather tiring.
  6. 70
    It's a game that entertains, and important elements like the controls and simple menus deliver the goods. Yet we doubt that we'll remember it when rounding up the many great XBLA releases this year in a few months.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I'm only about halfway through the campaign, but this is some of the most plain old fun I've had playing Xbox in a long while. The number ofI'm only about halfway through the campaign, but this is some of the most plain old fun I've had playing Xbox in a long while. The number of games I play has been greatly reduced due to time constraints, so for me to not only play a game, but RE-play parts of it, that's very unusual (I don't even do that with Angry Birds to get more stars). With OMD, I've found myself going back to play levels again to get all 5 skulls, and finding it to not be a chore to do it.
    The control is very tight, the traps and weapons are fun to use, and the music/sound is great. Some of the things the Orcs say are really amusing.
    The bottom line is that the game is a lot of fun, and you can play it in small pockets of time if you don't have a full evening to sit down and get into something. I haven't had this much fun on my Xbox in a good while.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    Made an account just to comment on THIS GAME. And what a game it is... This is, bar none, the most fun I've had playing a game since DungeonMade an account just to comment on THIS GAME. And what a game it is... This is, bar none, the most fun I've had playing a game since Dungeon Keeper 2. Why do I compare it with an old school RTS? Because, while not as funny, its gameplay mechanics and atmosphere sure send me back into the good old time of gaming, when it was actually FUN to play a game, and not some tedious, overhyped garbage most developers throw at a gamer these days. Robot ent., you've just entered into my "Devs to watch" list. A pat on the back, a GG and hats off to you guys for this amazing killfest! Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    It's a really fun game, with very high re playability. The only problem is that I can never seem to get five skulls on anything other than theIt's a really fun game, with very high re playability. The only problem is that I can never seem to get five skulls on anything other than the first 5 levels. Still you should get it, I probably just suck at it. Full Review »