• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the sequel to the 2008 Japanese hit Otomedius Gorgeous, Otomedius Excellent boasts a significant visual and gameplay update since its predecessor," said Shinji Hirano, President of Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc. "Accompanied by brilliant graphics and an excellent soundtrack, Otomedius Excellent will engage fans with the Gradius franchise on a whole new level. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    67
    If you're looking for a crazy-action shooter to throw you back to the most hardcore of skill levels and reaction times, I would definitely recommend the recent Deathsmiles and the infamous (and downloadable) Ikaruga over this, but Otomedius Excellent is up there.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    58
    The game itself offers several technical improvements over its predecessor, but the overall package just feels like it's just... not... quite there. Breasts can only solve so many problems.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    55
    Outdated and overpriced. It's got two things going for it: cute anime girls (if that's your thing) and an addictive upgrade system. Were this a downloadable game asking a third of the entrance fee, I would say it warrants a look for shooter fans, but with so little flash or innovation, I have a hard time recommending it.
  4. 50
    It's frustrating, it makes no sense, and it just makes everyone involved want to play something else. [Aug 2011, p.76]
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    38
    There are online and offline multiplayer options, but extra players really only add an additional voice to help point out flaws and frustrations. It also gets incredibly chaotic. Suddenly half the bullets on screen belong to a cooperative partner and it becomes difficult to distinguish properly between enemy and friendly fire.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    30
    I admit that I'm new to using a Xbox 360 controller, but damn if these ladies aren't as slippery and wet as a walrus' throat.
  7. Jan 17, 2012
    20
    Otomedius Excellent shouldn't be worth anyone's time. Beyond the overall badness of the gameplay, the whole thing just feels incredibly cynical.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I think that this game need a best score, because is a really funny title, yes have some problems, but all the games have problems, is a great title with awesome characters, and a great story. Otomedius Excellent is in definitive a jewel. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    I adore Parodius, and otomedius is just like that, a funny shoot'em up like we haven't seen since the Play Station One days! i don't like one of the last stages, but overall Otomedius Excellent is still an... excellent game and one of the best of this genre, along with Deathsmiles! I am grateful they brought it to the USA, and I hope more games like this one can be released here in the future. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    otomedius is a worthy successor to gradius's shmup greatness, and with konami's igarashi at the helm it couldn't have been anything less. it's fast-paced, colorful, entertaining, has nice bullet patterns to learn and a lot of different characters to use. as a gamer i prefer old school shmups such as this to danmaku ones, and anyone who agrees will love otomedius excellent as well, regardless of the fact that professional reviewers will probably kill it for not being an aaa first person shooter... Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    Otemedius is a good old school arcade game with nice...uh...chests. Its just not as great as I would expect from the Gradius series.
    While it
    has some minor technical issues that critics have pointed out, the game itself is still solid and rewarding.
    My biggest issue is that I would have liked some more content considering the cost of the game.
    Collapse