Outland Xbox 360

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Outland was unexpected. As a platform, it's entertaining. It's beautiful. But it's also limited by a very familiar pattern. As far as platforming goes, that's not necessarily a problem so long as it progresses to fruition. By this, I mean the story must offer something to fill in the gap between the simplistic shift between red and blue. While there is an arc and purpose, it's little moreOutland was unexpected. As a platform, it's entertaining. It's beautiful. But it's also limited by a very familiar pattern. As far as platforming goes, that's not necessarily a problem so long as it progresses to fruition. By this, I mean the story must offer something to fill in the gap between the simplistic shift between red and blue. While there is an arc and purpose, it's little more than the archetypal fight monsters = saving the world. There's innovation, but it's limited to artistry rather than playability and story. While fun and stylish, Outland peaked my interest in traditional platformer without reinventing the wheel. It's more like they put shiny new spinners on that old wheel we're all used to. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    This is a clever Twist on the Bullet Hell Style game with some platforming and puzzles thrown in. Instead of flying a Ship through Bullets of different color and changing your Shields to match so the Bullets don't hurt, you are a person, who can change colors so you won't be hurt by the "bullets". For a XBLA game, it is a gorgeous game with the difficulty ramping up very quickly. TheThis is a clever Twist on the Bullet Hell Style game with some platforming and puzzles thrown in. Instead of flying a Ship through Bullets of different color and changing your Shields to match so the Bullets don't hurt, you are a person, who can change colors so you won't be hurt by the "bullets". For a XBLA game, it is a gorgeous game with the difficulty ramping up very quickly. The only real downfall is the fact that there is no super easy mode, so you can kick back and enjoy the ride instead of focusing on the difficulty. So if you find puzzle games that get difficult quick, then this game might not be for you.

    If you love puzzle, platforming, bullet hell, with a twist of gorgeous art thrown in, then this game is for you!
    Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    5
    it looks pretty and the ideas regarding gameplay are intriguing but is simply broken in my opinion. i don't get how people can enjoy playing a jump'n'shoot type of game where you can't even clearly see where spikes/pits/etc. are. the silhouette graphics look pretty but why the hell they didn't make some parts brighter, so that you can actually see spikes, breakable walls, etc. is beyondit looks pretty and the ideas regarding gameplay are intriguing but is simply broken in my opinion. i don't get how people can enjoy playing a jump'n'shoot type of game where you can't even clearly see where spikes/pits/etc. are. the silhouette graphics look pretty but why the hell they didn't make some parts brighter, so that you can actually see spikes, breakable walls, etc. is beyond me. increasing gamma setting to maximum doesn't help either, apparently those silhouettes simply are all completely black.
    definitely try this one first and see whether you want to put up with this.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    i love platformers, those like super metroid, shadow complex etc. this is a good platformer but gets a tad frustrating with all the changing colours and some frustrating enemies. sometimes you need to navigate through platforms keeping with the colours and with so much stuff thrown at you here and there its hard to see whats going on. and for some other reason it didnt keep my attention soi love platformers, those like super metroid, shadow complex etc. this is a good platformer but gets a tad frustrating with all the changing colours and some frustrating enemies. sometimes you need to navigate through platforms keeping with the colours and with so much stuff thrown at you here and there its hard to see whats going on. and for some other reason it didnt keep my attention so i do confess i didnt finish it. the enemies werent all that interesting to fight either. an acquired taste then this one is. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    Let me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into this game. But then the gameplay is just kind of... meh. The whole dark/light color mechanic is interesting, though I have seen it used in other games. The developers made some good puzzles using this mechanic, however combat against enemies is eitherLet me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into this game. But then the gameplay is just kind of... meh. The whole dark/light color mechanic is interesting, though I have seen it used in other games. The developers made some good puzzles using this mechanic, however combat against enemies is either extremely easy or annoying and frustrating. Often times they try to mix the light/dark platform puzzles and with combat and the result is a hectic mess. I also found the boss fights more to be tests of patience than any sort of challenge involving the skills you learn in each level. The final boss is particularly frustrating. For me, it all kind of boils down to one big problem, the game just isn't that fun. I have chipped away at this game over the months since it came out because I would play, lose interest and then think, "Oh yeah, that Outland game was pretty cool," only to play again and be reminded of why I still have not finished this game. It's still worth checking out for the art direction alone, and hey, maybe you may find something in Outland that I could not. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Outland, developed by Housemarque and published by Ubisoft, is billed as a return to the "metroidvania" style of game, which would presuppose a number of things but most importantly a discovery of new abilities which unlock new areas in old levels. At it's most basic, Outland does provide such gameplay, though it's not entirely satisfying, and mashes it with the lauded Ikagura-styleOutland, developed by Housemarque and published by Ubisoft, is billed as a return to the "metroidvania" style of game, which would presuppose a number of things but most importantly a discovery of new abilities which unlock new areas in old levels. At it's most basic, Outland does provide such gameplay, though it's not entirely satisfying, and mashes it with the lauded Ikagura-style color-switching along with fighting-game mechanics. On the whole, said gameplay is certainly enjoyable for what it is, providing some difficult platforming (specifically with color-switching), occasional new abilities which open up new areas in passed levels, and perhaps most successfully some thrilling boss battles. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    91
    One of the best downloadable titles of 2011 offers beautiful visuals and atmospheric andventuring, reminiscent of classics such as Super Metroid and Ikaruga. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    90
    With its smooth controls and challenging game world Outland comes in as a cool to play concept game that is going to be considered a simplistic throwback classic that intermingles with the gaming worlds of today.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Metroidvania. Ikaruga. Shadow of the Colossus. All the influences are there, but don't mistake it for those. Outland is a game all its own. It doesn't oversell.