Outland Xbox 360

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2011
    10
    Outland is a beautiful game. As a single player adventure it borrows elements from so many games, yet it feels like a very satisfying and new experience. The controls are spot on, but there's one complaint and its quite simple, it needs offline co-op to be a true masterpiece. For the price Outland is just a steal. I highly recommend that this game should be put in the top of anyones list.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Paying homage to vintage games such as flashback and metroid, outland delivers oldshool gameplay with new graphics and style. While the game will not blow your mind, its fine tuned gameplay and original gameplay twist will have you spark a grin. I never want to ruin game stories for anyone so I won't go there but I can say that the story is neat as well. For only $10, the game is wellPaying homage to vintage games such as flashback and metroid, outland delivers oldshool gameplay with new graphics and style. While the game will not blow your mind, its fine tuned gameplay and original gameplay twist will have you spark a grin. I never want to ruin game stories for anyone so I won't go there but I can say that the story is neat as well. For only $10, the game is well worth it for anyone that wishes to timetravel back to the good ole genesis days in a modern fassion. The game is also a pretty good lenth. Bottom line is that outland rocks socks. Oh yeah, so does the music. Follow me on twitter @thetruthbites for live behind the scene tweets, picture, and videos from E3 2011. Have v.I.p access and I wanna share the love. Expand
  3. May 7, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played games before that offer some of the playstyle but none match the quality of this piece of art. This game can be difficult at times as there is a light and dark mechanic you must switch between as the different colors of bullet hell rains onto you. You10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played games before that offer some of the playstyle but none match the quality of this piece of art. This game can be difficult at times as there is a light and dark mechanic you must switch between as the different colors of bullet hell rains onto you. You must be quick and you must be precise, if you can't, then go play pacman. Expand
  4. May 4, 2011
    9
    Other than the incredibly bad checkpoints (or lack thereof) during boss fights, Outland is excellent. The visual design and animations are fantastic, the combat is smooth and stays fun with all the new powers you get and the color switching mechanic makes Outland feel unique and clever as far as 2D platformers go. Definitely buy. It's only $10. Just prepare for some incredibly frustratingOther than the incredibly bad checkpoints (or lack thereof) during boss fights, Outland is excellent. The visual design and animations are fantastic, the combat is smooth and stays fun with all the new powers you get and the color switching mechanic makes Outland feel unique and clever as far as 2D platformers go. Definitely buy. It's only $10. Just prepare for some incredibly frustrating boss fights towards the end. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Fluid motion with responsive control, smooth transitions between maps, and a wonderful visual feel make Outland a winner. The overall darkness of the environment..coupled with an Order-Chaos theme serve to further bolster this opinion. It's true that Outland borrows many elements from older titles, but the same can be said of most games (pragmatically more efficient to borrow a good ideaFluid motion with responsive control, smooth transitions between maps, and a wonderful visual feel make Outland a winner. The overall darkness of the environment..coupled with an Order-Chaos theme serve to further bolster this opinion. It's true that Outland borrows many elements from older titles, but the same can be said of most games (pragmatically more efficient to borrow a good idea than to invent all new ones), and this title has lost nothing as a result. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Outland may borrow from a great many games but it still manages to feel innovative and refreshing. The platforming is great, the levels were magnificently designed, the puzzles are fun. The game has charm and is visually very impressive. Any fan of 2D platformers should pick this up.
  7. May 1, 2011
    10
    Once again the critics prove to be pretentious morons who fail to realize what fun is. This game is pure gaming goodness. Its clever, has plenty of charm, excellent level design, an insane amount of collectables, and an excellent idea of what fun is. COOP opens up additional gameplay mechanics...brilliant!
  8. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    A nice play on the Ikaruga mechanic in a platformer with good controls and interesting level design. The boss battles are absolutely a blast and feel much more rewarding than the rest of the game itself. The main gripe I have with the game is it seems like every three screens there is a checkpoint. A lot of the time I was tempted to simply ignore bullet patterns altogether and just rush toA nice play on the Ikaruga mechanic in a platformer with good controls and interesting level design. The boss battles are absolutely a blast and feel much more rewarding than the rest of the game itself. The main gripe I have with the game is it seems like every three screens there is a checkpoint. A lot of the time I was tempted to simply ignore bullet patterns altogether and just rush to the next checkpoint. If you are expecting a challenge on the level of the even moderately hard bullet hell shmup, than this is probably not the game for you. If you want a more than solid platformer with an interesting new mechanic throw in than I would recommend giving this game a shot. Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    I currently have to look for something to complain about since this game is purely epic, nearly flawless. Outland brings some nice 2-D platforming and some great combat and blends them with the using of dark and light similar to Ikaruga. The art style is just beautiful and the price is pretty low and the sound and music are beautiful too. When you are looking for an amazing arcade game atI currently have to look for something to complain about since this game is purely epic, nearly flawless. Outland brings some nice 2-D platforming and some great combat and blends them with the using of dark and light similar to Ikaruga. The art style is just beautiful and the price is pretty low and the sound and music are beautiful too. When you are looking for an amazing arcade game at a cheap price this is completely worth it and should be played by everyone. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    91
    One of the best downloadable titles of 2011 offers beautiful visuals and atmospheric andventuring, reminiscent of classics such as Super Metroid and Ikaruga. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    90
    With its smooth controls and challenging game world Outland comes in as a cool to play concept game that is going to be considered a simplistic throwback classic that intermingles with the gaming worlds of today.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Metroidvania. Ikaruga. Shadow of the Colossus. All the influences are there, but don't mistake it for those. Outland is a game all its own. It doesn't oversell.