Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Outland puts players in the middle of a world of balance and chaos where their efforts allow them to bridge the ancient divide, or doom the world to destruction. Each player’s adventure will take them between light and darkness and force them to adapt to an ever-changing world. This light versus dark core gameplay is inspired by the arcade classic Ikaruga. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. May 10, 2011
    100
    It's a visually striking game, combined with a beautiful soundtrack and challenging platforming and the pacing of the new abilities and moments between boss fights is pretty well executed.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    91
    You could easily fill an entire review with the grocery list of games from which Outland cribs its gameplay elements -- Ubisoft's own marketing specifically calls out Ikaruga and Prince of Persia as "inspirations," for heaven's sake. But doing so seems unnecessarily reductive to me, because Outland manages to take those "inspirations" and create something that feels like genuine innovation.
  3. May 27, 2011
    90
    Outland has a lot to offer: A great combination of gameplay styles influenced by other games, astounding controls, and a simple and effective aesthetic. In short it has everything a game needs to be great.
  4. May 5, 2011
    86
    A great game, plenty of funny puzzles and platforming. Visually stunning and with some enjoyable boss battles, Outland sometimes lacks in rhythm and narrative depth.
  5. May 3, 2011
    83
    There's no mistaking Outland for its marvelous presentation or its curious conglomeration of elements, which quite possibly amount to the freshest take on action platformers in a good long while. At 800 Microsoft Points, it's a journey well worth taking.
  6. May 10, 2011
    80
    Pretty, dense, nerve-challenging, immersive, innovative... Outland is easily one of the gems of April 2011. Combining with talent several influences (Limbo, Castlevania, Ikaruga), it goes back to the rules of 2D platformers, with an added twist. It's an enticing tribal journey, with a soul, at a small price.
  7. May 23, 2011
    60
    As it stands, it's a fairly empty, unfocused experience that will find a number of fans regardless thanks to the power of the truly killer visuals.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. May 12, 2011
    10
    Outland is a beautiful game. As a single player adventure it borrows elements from so many games, yet it feels like a very satisfying and new experience. The controls are spot on, but there's one complaint and its quite simple, it needs offline co-op to be a true masterpiece. For the price Outland is just a steal. I highly recommend that this game should be put in the top of anyones list. Collapse
  2. May 7, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played games before that offer some of the playstyle but none match the quality of this piece of art. This game can be difficult at times as there is a light and dark mechanic you must switch between as the different colors of bullet hell rains onto you. You must be quick and you must be precise, if you can't, then go play pacman. Expand
  3. May 4, 2011
    9
    Other than the incredibly bad checkpoints (or lack thereof) during boss fights, Outland is excellent. The visual design and animations are fantastic, the combat is smooth and stays fun with all the new powers you get and the color switching mechanic makes Outland feel unique and clever as far as 2D platformers go. Definitely buy. It's only $10. Just prepare for some incredibly frustrating boss fights towards the end. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    A nice play on the Ikaruga mechanic in a platformer with good controls and interesting level design. The boss battles are absolutely a blast and feel much more rewarding than the rest of the game itself. The main gripe I have with the game is it seems like every three screens there is a checkpoint. A lot of the time I was tempted to simply ignore bullet patterns altogether and just rush to the next checkpoint. If you are expecting a challenge on the level of the even moderately hard bullet hell shmup, than this is probably not the game for you. If you want a more than solid platformer with an interesting new mechanic throw in than I would recommend giving this game a shot. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    Let me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into this game. But then the gameplay is just kind of... meh. The whole dark/light color mechanic is interesting, though I have seen it used in other games. The developers made some good puzzles using this mechanic, however combat against enemies is either extremely easy or annoying and frustrating. Often times they try to mix the light/dark platform puzzles and with combat and the result is a hectic mess. I also found the boss fights more to be tests of patience than any sort of challenge involving the skills you learn in each level. The final boss is particularly frustrating. For me, it all kind of boils down to one big problem, the game just isn't that fun. I have chipped away at this game over the months since it came out because I would play, lose interest and then think, "Oh yeah, that Outland game was pretty cool," only to play again and be reminded of why I still have not finished this game. It's still worth checking out for the art direction alone, and hey, maybe you may find something in Outland that I could not. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Outland, developed by Housemarque and published by Ubisoft, is billed as a return to the "metroidvania" style of game, which would presuppose a number of things but most importantly a discovery of new abilities which unlock new areas in old levels. At it's most basic, Outland does provide such gameplay, though it's not entirely satisfying, and mashes it with the lauded Ikagura-style color-switching along with fighting-game mechanics. On the whole, said gameplay is certainly enjoyable for what it is, providing some difficult platforming (specifically with color-switching), occasional new abilities which open up new areas in passed levels, and perhaps most successfully some thrilling boss battles. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    1
    This is a boring seen it all before game. The graphics is simplistic and dark and soon becomes very samey just like the gameplay. It all feels pretty soulless with some drab music. Avoid this game ! Expand

See all 17 User Reviews