Outland Xbox 360

Outland Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Outland puts players in the middle of a world of balance and chaos where their efforts allow them to bridge the ancient divide, or doom the world to destruction. Each player’s adventure will take them between light and darkness and force them to adapt to an ever-changing world. This lightOutland puts players in the middle of a world of balance and chaos where their efforts allow them to bridge the ancient divide, or doom the world to destruction. Each player’s adventure will take them between light and darkness and force them to adapt to an ever-changing world. This light versus dark core gameplay is inspired by the arcade classic Ikaruga. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Outland Debut Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. May 10, 2011
    100
    It's a visually striking game, combined with a beautiful soundtrack and challenging platforming and the pacing of the new abilities and moments between boss fights is pretty well executed.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    91
    You could easily fill an entire review with the grocery list of games from which Outland cribs its gameplay elements -- Ubisoft's own marketing specifically calls out Ikaruga and Prince of Persia as "inspirations," for heaven's sake. But doing so seems unnecessarily reductive to me, because Outland manages to take those "inspirations" and create something that feels like genuine innovation.
  3. May 27, 2011
    90
    Outland has a lot to offer: A great combination of gameplay styles influenced by other games, astounding controls, and a simple and effective aesthetic. In short it has everything a game needs to be great.
  4. May 5, 2011
    86
    A great game, plenty of funny puzzles and platforming. Visually stunning and with some enjoyable boss battles, Outland sometimes lacks in rhythm and narrative depth.
  5. May 3, 2011
    83
    There's no mistaking Outland for its marvelous presentation or its curious conglomeration of elements, which quite possibly amount to the freshest take on action platformers in a good long while. At 800 Microsoft Points, it's a journey well worth taking.
  6. May 10, 2011
    80
    Pretty, dense, nerve-challenging, immersive, innovative... Outland is easily one of the gems of April 2011. Combining with talent several influences (Limbo, Castlevania, Ikaruga), it goes back to the rules of 2D platformers, with an added twist. It's an enticing tribal journey, with a soul, at a small price.
  7. May 23, 2011
    60
    As it stands, it's a fairly empty, unfocused experience that will find a number of fans regardless thanks to the power of the truly killer visuals.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. May 12, 2011
    10
    Outland is a beautiful game. As a single player adventure it borrows elements from so many games, yet it feels like a very satisfying and newOutland is a beautiful game. As a single player adventure it borrows elements from so many games, yet it feels like a very satisfying and new experience. The controls are spot on, but there's one complaint and its quite simple, it needs offline co-op to be a true masterpiece. For the price Outland is just a steal. I highly recommend that this game should be put in the top of anyones list. Expand
  2. May 7, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played games before that offer some of the playstyle but none match the quality of this piece of art. This game can be difficult at times as there is a light and dark mechanic you must switch between as the different colors of bullet hell rains onto you. You must be quick and you must be precise, if you can't, then go play pacman. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Fluid motion with responsive control, smooth transitions between maps, and a wonderful visual feel make Outland a winner. The overall darknessFluid motion with responsive control, smooth transitions between maps, and a wonderful visual feel make Outland a winner. The overall darkness of the environment..coupled with an Order-Chaos theme serve to further bolster this opinion. It's true that Outland borrows many elements from older titles, but the same can be said of most games (pragmatically more efficient to borrow a good idea than to invent all new ones), and this title has lost nothing as a result. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    Let me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into thisLet me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into this game. But then the gameplay is just kind of... meh. The whole dark/light color mechanic is interesting, though I have seen it used in other games. The developers made some good puzzles using this mechanic, however combat against enemies is either extremely easy or annoying and frustrating. Often times they try to mix the light/dark platform puzzles and with combat and the result is a hectic mess. I also found the boss fights more to be tests of patience than any sort of challenge involving the skills you learn in each level. The final boss is particularly frustrating. For me, it all kind of boils down to one big problem, the game just isn't that fun. I have chipped away at this game over the months since it came out because I would play, lose interest and then think, "Oh yeah, that Outland game was pretty cool," only to play again and be reminded of why I still have not finished this game. It's still worth checking out for the art direction alone, and hey, maybe you may find something in Outland that I could not. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Outland was unexpected. As a platform, it's entertaining. It's beautiful. But it's also limited by a very familiar pattern. As far asOutland was unexpected. As a platform, it's entertaining. It's beautiful. But it's also limited by a very familiar pattern. As far as platforming goes, that's not necessarily a problem so long as it progresses to fruition. By this, I mean the story must offer something to fill in the gap between the simplistic shift between red and blue. While there is an arc and purpose, it's little more than the archetypal fight monsters = saving the world. There's innovation, but it's limited to artistry rather than playability and story. While fun and stylish, Outland peaked my interest in traditional platformer without reinventing the wheel. It's more like they put shiny new spinners on that old wheel we're all used to. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    i love platformers, those like super metroid, shadow complex etc. this is a good platformer but gets a tad frustrating with all the changingi love platformers, those like super metroid, shadow complex etc. this is a good platformer but gets a tad frustrating with all the changing colours and some frustrating enemies. sometimes you need to navigate through platforms keeping with the colours and with so much stuff thrown at you here and there its hard to see whats going on. and for some other reason it didnt keep my attention so i do confess i didnt finish it. the enemies werent all that interesting to fight either. an acquired taste then this one is. Collapse
  7. Dec 27, 2016
    0
    C'est une habitude récurrente chez Ubisoft que d'éditer quelques étrons indés, histoire de faire "bien" dans leur ludographie et de ramenerC'est une habitude récurrente chez Ubisoft que d'éditer quelques étrons indés, histoire de faire "bien" dans leur ludographie et de ramener vers eux les très habituels haineux des gros produits triple A de la firme à l'insu de l'ignorance de ces joueurs très égarés.

    Ainsi ce Outland en est la preuve la plus flagrante -parmi tant d'autres- lui et sa 2D 256 couleurs et ses phases obsessionnelles de plate-formes complètement nazes, lesquelles feraient presque mourir de honte Nintendaube et ses marioles moustachus.

    Le "produit" est ici sous-traité par quelques débilos qui feraient mieux de faire cuistots chez Macgerbal que de nous affliger de leur hommage à quelque vieille merde des années 80.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers