User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyV
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I can forgive some of the lame cartoon characters that serve as the guides in this game - they become so arbitrary in comparison to the whole package. And what a package Peggle is. The pachinko-on-drugs concept is simple. The execution is fantastic. It was a ton of fun on the iPod, and on a powerhouse like the XBox 360, the bells and whistles make this game even better. PopCap has become I can forgive some of the lame cartoon characters that serve as the guides in this game - they become so arbitrary in comparison to the whole package. And what a package Peggle is. The pachinko-on-drugs concept is simple. The execution is fantastic. It was a ton of fun on the iPod, and on a powerhouse like the XBox 360, the bells and whistles make this game even better. PopCap has become masters at making what videogames should be - fun, addictive, and dare I say it - classic. Expand
  2. JeremyN
    May 4, 2009
    8
    Peggle is down-right addictive. There are a few good games worth your purchase on xbox live and this is certainly one of them. The first time I downloaded this game I started playing and...opps its 4 in the morning! I thought that the appeal would not last long but it does. After pulling you in, you will eventually call it quits and need a peggle detox (unless you like dreaming in Peggle is down-right addictive. There are a few good games worth your purchase on xbox live and this is certainly one of them. The first time I downloaded this game I started playing and...opps its 4 in the morning! I thought that the appeal would not last long but it does. After pulling you in, you will eventually call it quits and need a peggle detox (unless you like dreaming in Peggle). But sooner or later you'll once again hear the call to test your luck against others who have risen to the challege. Ain't no party like a peggle party! Expand
  3. Jake
    Mar 23, 2009
    7
    Like most great puzzle games, Peggl is based on a simple mechanic. This time around it's Plinko. The graphics and humorous touches go above and beyond your standard live arcade puzzler, and I spent about 4 hours playing through it the first night I got it. I don't see myself playing it for much more than 3 days or so. I decided to play the challenge mode where you play against Like most great puzzle games, Peggl is based on a simple mechanic. This time around it's Plinko. The graphics and humorous touches go above and beyond your standard live arcade puzzler, and I spent about 4 hours playing through it the first night I got it. I don't see myself playing it for much more than 3 days or so. I decided to play the challenge mode where you play against normal level opponents. I can honestly say this was the worst mistake of my life. They make insane bank shots that will infuriate you and make you want to throw your controller. Expand
  4. Michael
    Jul 28, 2009
    9
    Although i would never let my mates see me on a game called 'peggle' i have to since it has been the best £8 I've spent in months. It is devilishly simple but similarly addictive in the way that you will go on at 1pm and get off at 5pm expecting it to be 3pm! The 'guides' and menu layout are slightly over childish but apart from that, the childish nature of Although i would never let my mates see me on a game called 'peggle' i have to since it has been the best £8 I've spent in months. It is devilishly simple but similarly addictive in the way that you will go on at 1pm and get off at 5pm expecting it to be 3pm! The 'guides' and menu layout are slightly over childish but apart from that, the childish nature of the game unnoticeable whilst your playing. WARNING do not get this game if you have important exams! It will be responsible for you working in Macdonalds when your older. Expand
  5. FredJ.
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    The premise is quite simple and the game is great fun, if only for a short while. Few will find this title capable of holding their attention in the long run as this game is taylored made for short sessions and casual players. Though for $10, this isn't a bad distraction.
  6. TobyO
    Mar 23, 2009
    8
    Much better than it has a right to be. I don't like Bust a Groove or similar seemingly strategy-void puzzlers, but Peggle is impossible not to like. The physics, sound design, and writing -- things usually all but ignored in this genre -- excel to a point that you're hooked on the ball-dropping action.
  7. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    what are you reviewers thinking?This game is great, it is,but it is not groundbreaking or as much of a hit as Tetris was back in the day.For the reviewer (oxm) that says they dream about it like Halo matches ,ect..your way off base.I did dream of Tetris back in the day because that was a game you could not put down on the game boy-period.That was a 10 and will always be in my book.Thiswhat are you reviewers thinking?This game is great, it is,but it is not groundbreaking or as much of a hit as Tetris was back in the day.For the reviewer (oxm) that says they dream about it like Halo matches ,ect..your way off base.I did dream of Tetris back in the day because that was a game you could not put down on the game boy-period.That was a 10 and will always be in my book.This game is really fun and you can be stuck to your T.V'.s for a long while but to me the game play in 2010 is not all that and the most this game deserves is an 8. Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    Peggle is a game that on Xbox 360 is good, but maybe a little too short. The gameplay is basically Pachinko with special powers. The goal is to destroy some red pegs in the field, and it's incredibly addictive. The game has a cheery atmosphere, but is basically the same game as the PC version with online mode. The graphics are ok, and the soundtrack is ok too, but even then the music whenPeggle is a game that on Xbox 360 is good, but maybe a little too short. The gameplay is basically Pachinko with special powers. The goal is to destroy some red pegs in the field, and it's incredibly addictive. The game has a cheery atmosphere, but is basically the same game as the PC version with online mode. The graphics are ok, and the soundtrack is ok too, but even then the music when you win is almost humorously epic. Adding almost nothing new in comparison to other PopCap's games, I think you should get the game on the Plants vs Zombies DVD collection that includes this game, Zuma and PvZ, unless you already have some of this games. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    Its fun at first but it gets boring fast. This game has been collecting dust in my collection for awhile now. It was fun, played it for atleast 10+ hours. I guess I got my money worth, but it got boring fast.
  10. Rem
    Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Peggle is a masterpiece without question. It perfectly blends the hardcore with the casual into an addicting experience. I give few games perfect 10s, but Peggle most certainly deserves it. Peggle is simply oozing with personality. The colorful and expressionist art style really blends with the characters who accompany you. Not to mention the music that beautifully walks the line withPeggle is a masterpiece without question. It perfectly blends the hardcore with the casual into an addicting experience. I give few games perfect 10s, but Peggle most certainly deserves it. Peggle is simply oozing with personality. The colorful and expressionist art style really blends with the characters who accompany you. Not to mention the music that beautifully walks the line with beauty and humor. Of course we play Peggle for its simple but masterful gameplay. Simply shooting balls into pegs has never been this fun. It remains strategic while adding a healthy dose of an arcade feel. And when you nab that slo mo sequence and hit the last peg along with a flourish exit, this game exceeds more than the sum of its parts. Peggle comes with a ton of replay value as well. With this package all tied together into a game that is polished and outstanding, I'll be more than happy to keep playing time and time again. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The game is incredibly colorful with a great mix of animation and sound to satisfy players of all ages—it’s not dumbed down for kids and it’s not loaded up with sophisticated gameplay concepts that only adults can take in. Most of all, though, it’s the combination of simple gameplay, challenging action and cartoon-like graphics that makes it highly appealing.
  2. 90
    Peggle is pure happiness distilled into a low-cost digital download.
  3. Simply put, this is a once-in-a-generation puzzler, much like Tetris. It’s Xbox Live Arcade’s finest offering, and it can be both mindless and high-level strategic fun. Don’t miss it. Find an internet connection and create an Xbox Live Silver account if you have to; it’s that sublime.