Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    87
    The younger brother of Persona 4 is fast and furious when it needs to be, but understands to calm down in order to tell a story. And the story itself is surprisingly good. [Aug 2013]
  2. 80
    Vibrant and vivacious violence. [June 2013, p.91]
  3. May 24, 2013
    80
    Although P4 Arena's target audience are fans of the Shin Megami Tensei Persona franchise, Arc Systems Works did a great job that is capable of attracting new people.
  4. May 22, 2013
    80
    If you're any good at all at fighters, give it a go. [Issue#98, p.78]
  5. May 13, 2013
    100
    Thus, Persona 4 Arena is a standout game; it marries theme and mechanics closely, and through its apparent simplicity allows a total novice to enjoy it all while layering on levels of strategy for advanced play based on positioning and timing rather than specific dexterity at inputting attacks.
  6. May 10, 2013
    82
    The fighting mechanics work well, collision detection is right on the money, online duels are as accurate as offline battles. The narrative though suffers from incoherent styles and a tendency to be drawn out.
  7. May 9, 2013
    74
    Enthusiastic beat-'em-up good for newbs, but with confused design principles. [June 2013, p.73]
  8. May 9, 2013
    80
    It’s all well-presented, looks nice and most importantly, is a lot of fun to play. It’s a proficient interpretation of Persona’s world with Arc System’s beat em up smarts.
  9. May 7, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Arena is one of the best fighting games in this generation. Great, original and depth combat mechanics, good offline modes and solid netcode for another hit by Atlus and Arc System Works. And gorgeous visuals.
  10. May 3, 2013
    80
    A very well executed translation of the Persona world in the versus fighting genre. Arc System Works delivers a rich and beautiful game, all the while staying as true as possible to Atlus' franchise.
  11. May 3, 2013
    90
    In fighting game terms, I'd have to describe it as the midnight carnival meets the midnight channel for some midnight bliss. It's also proof that sometimes, just sometimes, good things come to those who...
  12. Apr 27, 2013
    85
    Persona 4: Arena is the result of an especially improbable, but successful marriage. Developer Arc Systems bring us one of the deepest and at the same time most accessible 2D-figheter ever. Atlus on the other hand, worked on the presentation with enough love and care to give Persona 4 a worthy successor. Do know that you're getting into though. Whoever wants to play a fighting game a few hours a week, will merely crush the tip of the iceberg.
  13. Aug 30, 2012
    80
    With such stark differences between RPGs and fighting games, the marriage of the two genres in Persona 4 Arena shouldn't work as comfortably as it does.
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    95
    The game is very complex yet so accessible. It's hard to explain without going into a two hour detail of it, but I can see how fans of both Persona and fighting games can pick this game up, learn at their own pace, and still have a blast with it in the end.
  15. 85
    Even if you don't care about the Persona mythos, there's a very solid competitive fighter here. Both local and online multiplayer are incredibly solid (the latter thanks to an update released two days after the game), with only the minor annoyance of no quick-rematch option. As it stands, anyone seeking a fresh, stylish take on traditional 2D fighting should enter this Arena.
  16. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    I am in love with this engine, true, and I probably spent as much time finding combos in Training Mode as I did finishing Story Mode, but it was Story Mode that got me honestly choked up.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    It really sneaks up on you and delivers an ultimate fighting experience, and not from the usual source that you'd expect. Everything clicks to some degree, and the number of modes, along with online functionality, will really teach you a thing or two about fighting games.
  18. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    Persona 4 Arena is the latest fighter from developer Arc System Works and matches their high standard of quality while also being accessible for newcomers.
  19. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    And that's the real hook, the strange alchemy that transforms a deep, rewarding RPG into an equally deep and rewarding fighting game.
  20. Aug 7, 2012
    85
    This game hits a lot of the notes that catch the attention of casual and hardcore fighting game fans, even if it won't necessarily bring them together.
  21. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    If you honestly care about the universe and its characters, you'll probably take what you can get in whatever format you can get your hands on, but at times this story feels like it'd be better suited for a short manga series than a video game.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Persona fans, don't let the fact that this is a fighter scare you away. I was hesitant at first to buy this but any Persona fan will love this, mainly because of the lengthy story mode here that basically completes the Persona 4 storyline. I'm not a fighting game fan by any means but the fact that this game adds more to one of the best series in gaming right now made this a fairly easy purchase in the end for me. Up front, this is not a simple fighter. It's easily one of the more complex fighters out there, which is not surprising since it's from the makers of Blazblue and Guilty Gear. Fortunately, you won't have to worry about ultra cheap computer A.I. in the story mode as even with the characters you might not be able to initially grasp, the battles there are pretty easy. However, if you want to delve deeper into the gameplay here, you'll find a refreshingly hardcore system here with plenty of different reversals, counters, and every type of air attack/defence you can think of, which makes it a good purchase for fighting game fans out there, especially fans of Blazblue, like I said earlier. It's not perfect by any means, mainly for the fact that if you want to get even halfway decent at the game, you'll need to put in many hours in training mode to learn the many different aspects of the game. But, for those fans of the Persona series who may feel like you won't get enough out of this game because it's a fighter, you'll be plenty pleased by lengthy story mode, which will span upwards of 20-30 hours when all is said and done. So it was an easy buy for me and I don't particularly like fighting games but love the Persona series. If your a person who likes fighting games and likes the Persona series, then this game will consume you for days and weeks to come. This will easily tide me over till Persona 4: Golden comes out later this year with updated everything and it's nice to see some, not all, of the characters from Persona 3 get some love here too, even if they kinda ruined some of the characters and how I thought they would develop after all these years. But buy it if you like either fighting games or the Persona series and, if you like both, then buy a few copies to share with friends. Full Review »
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Persona 4 Arena is an amazing 2D fighting game. The graphics are superb, the sound and music is the best I've heard since Street Fighter 3: 3rd Strike, and the gameplay is super solid...

    Check out my full video review for all the details - http://youtu.be/bTLGhbk5KQE
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Easy for beginners and a lot of depth for fighting game aficionados. Persona 4 Arena is basically two games in one. The Story mode is a lengthy digital novel for each character with 8 or so 1 round matches breaking them up while arcade mode is what most people would assume a normal fighting game would be. I'd say it's a must buy for any Persona 4 fan since it's not only a great chance to catch up with the Investigation Team but it seems to be filling in and setting up for the next Persona game. Full Review »