Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4 Arena uses hand-drawn, high definition 2D anime-style fighters and colorful, over-the-top special effects to bring to life a roster of fighters from Persona 3 and Persona 4.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    Thus, Persona 4 Arena is a standout game; it marries theme and mechanics closely, and through its apparent simplicity allows a total novice to enjoy it all while layering on levels of strategy for advanced play based on positioning and timing rather than specific dexterity at inputting attacks.
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    It really sneaks up on you and delivers an ultimate fighting experience, and not from the usual source that you'd expect. Everything clicks to some degree, and the number of modes, along with online functionality, will really teach you a thing or two about fighting games.
  3. May 7, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Arena is one of the best fighting games in this generation. Great, original and depth combat mechanics, good offline modes and solid netcode for another hit by Atlus and Arc System Works. And gorgeous visuals.
  4. May 10, 2013
    82
    The fighting mechanics work well, collision detection is right on the money, online duels are as accurate as offline battles. The narrative though suffers from incoherent styles and a tendency to be drawn out.
  5. May 24, 2013
    80
    Although P4 Arena's target audience are fans of the Shin Megami Tensei Persona franchise, Arc Systems Works did a great job that is capable of attracting new people.
  6. May 9, 2013
    80
    It’s all well-presented, looks nice and most importantly, is a lot of fun to play. It’s a proficient interpretation of Persona’s world with Arc System’s beat em up smarts.
  7. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    Persona 4 Arena is the latest fighter from developer Arc System Works and matches their high standard of quality while also being accessible for newcomers.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Easy for beginners and a lot of depth for fighting game aficionados. Persona 4 Arena is basically two games in one. The Story mode is a lengthy digital novel for each character with 8 or so 1 round matches breaking them up while arcade mode is what most people would assume a normal fighting game would be. I'd say it's a must buy for any Persona 4 fan since it's not only a great chance to catch up with the Investigation Team but it seems to be filling in and setting up for the next Persona game. Collapse
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Good game loved it to bits it's so fun and exciting every minute loved the arcade and the story mode and I loved Labryes and they brought back old characters can't wait till the new one comes out Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    9
    A fantastic 2-D fighter that's perfect for newcomers to the genre. The relatively low entry level belies rewarding combat and an incredibly balanced roster of characters. The game itself oozes style and features the trademark narrative strengths of previous entries of the Megami Tensei series in a surprisingly engaging story mode. Diverse fighting styles and online play give the game plenty of replay value. Arguably the most satisfying game of its kind for me since Third Strike. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    A very cool fighter that Persona 4 fans would appreciate playing and being able to control the characters they love in an intense fighting game. Me personally i prefer the RPG Persona 4 to the fighting game Persona 4. But anyone who enjoyed Persona 4 should give this game a try. The controls are as equally as satisfying of a fighting game as Street Fighter or Blaz Blue. Only flaws is that it didn't have as many characters as you would want. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Persona fans, don't let the fact that this is a fighter scare you away. I was hesitant at first to buy this but any Persona fan will love this, mainly because of the lengthy story mode here that basically completes the Persona 4 storyline. I'm not a fighting game fan by any means but the fact that this game adds more to one of the best series in gaming right now made this a fairly easy purchase in the end for me. Up front, this is not a simple fighter. It's easily one of the more complex fighters out there, which is not surprising since it's from the makers of Blazblue and Guilty Gear. Fortunately, you won't have to worry about ultra cheap computer A.I. in the story mode as even with the characters you might not be able to initially grasp, the battles there are pretty easy. However, if you want to delve deeper into the gameplay here, you'll find a refreshingly hardcore system here with plenty of different reversals, counters, and every type of air attack/defence you can think of, which makes it a good purchase for fighting game fans out there, especially fans of Blazblue, like I said earlier. It's not perfect by any means, mainly for the fact that if you want to get even halfway decent at the game, you'll need to put in many hours in training mode to learn the many different aspects of the game. But, for those fans of the Persona series who may feel like you won't get enough out of this game because it's a fighter, you'll be plenty pleased by lengthy story mode, which will span upwards of 20-30 hours when all is said and done. So it was an easy buy for me and I don't particularly like fighting games but love the Persona series. If your a person who likes fighting games and likes the Persona series, then this game will consume you for days and weeks to come. This will easily tide me over till Persona 4: Golden comes out later this year with updated everything and it's nice to see some, not all, of the characters from Persona 3 get some love here too, even if they kinda ruined some of the characters and how I thought they would develop after all these years. But buy it if you like either fighting games or the Persona series and, if you like both, then buy a few copies to share with friends. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    This has truly been a great year for fighters, but in my mind Persona 4 Arena stands out as one of the best. It controls silky smooth, effortlessly integrates the Persona feel into a bunch of great fighting mechanics, which in itself is something of an achievement. Great story, great characters, great fighter. My only real complaint was the online lag I occassionally had to suffer through. I just wish that this game had more of a fanbase. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    I was weary about this game before playing it, but it did not disappoint.
    The combat is solid, and fairly well balanced. The only thing that
    got me was how incredibly long some of the story mode intros were. Some characters took like 15 minutes to get through their intros to the actual fighting. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews