User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 65
  2. Negative: 9 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    This is hands down, the best movie based game ever made. The controls and mechanics are easy to learn and to master, the graphics are top-notch and just look really good and the sound is amazing, the gameplay in both parts of the game are solid and fun. However the game itself is not very long and you play as Kong only a handful of times. But in short this is a great game that is really worth playing. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Length of the game aside, King Kong is one of the most engaging games that I have ever played. If you want to feel desolate and scared, as if you actually are in the game, than play this game. I bought it about a month ago for about 10 bucks. The HUDless screen really adds to the atmosphere. It is probably one of my favorite games that I have, and I have a good 30 including a few call of duties, all the halos, both assassins creeds, bioshock, and the elder scrolls and none even come close to how much i enjoyed this game. It is a launch title, and it is still better than most of the current titles. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    One positive, it was colossal in terms of the realistic environment, equivalent to a jungle. The control mechanics were too vague in use, too simple, too annoyingly strange especially when I can come up with better games of 2006 that had a better AI function (Lost Planet: Extreme Conditions which also I don't really like much). But yeah, enemies are quite chaotic and often you get glitches and cheap deaths. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Peter Jackson's King Kong: The Official Game of the Movie is a 5-6 hour campaign based off the movie but at the same time completely different from the movie story-wise. The graphics look good for being 7 years old but won't blow you away. You can also play the game with old visuals from that time period. The game play consists of playing as Jack or Kong and they are both great but Kong will seem more fun. The game even gets intense as you are playing as Jack and get rammed by a raptor from behind and frantically try to run to cover. The only problem with the game is the end sequence in New York is very short and pretty bland. Another thing is the campaign is short and is not worth the retail price of $60 but overtime it has gone down to around $10-$15 which i would say is worth it. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    2
    This game is actually just bad. Played it in '08 and did not understand how it got an 80 metacritic, even for it's time. I bought it to get easy 1000/1000 but I simply couldn't. It was such a terrible experience I haven't put it in my 360 since.
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Ok if your picking this up in 2012 or beyond its probably only for Gamerscore. If not your crazy or a super hardcore King Kong fan. In fact I wouldn't even recommend it to the latter. Theirs nothing really to explain, other than the game hasn't aged well. I'm not just talking about graphics, the gameplay is just clunky and will frustrate the hell out of you as you plow the campaign for the easy 1000GS. The reason i give it a four, is because I don't want it to effect the user average score too much, as the game looked like it would be quite good fun 7 years ago. Personally I think it would suit a 2/10 as I found the King Kong sequences a little enjoyable. Emphasis on little. Expand
  7. Rem
    Apr 22, 2013
    8
    In the early years of xbox, movie licensed games were still a bore, till this game came along. The very essence of survival in this game was astounding and I truly loved it. The lack of a HUD made it more tense as you carefully consider your supplies and ammo. The story follows much of the film, but it doesn't look as bad as other movie licensed games. What it gets wrong is the length. The game is pretty short and I cruised through it in about 6 hours. The King Kong sections however, are fun and truly make you feel powerful. This is a game rarely seen as it shows promise that movie licensed games have a few gems. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    To be honest I stay away from movie games because well...they suck. However this game changed my mind (for only this game). The story follows the movie and you get to play as Jack and King Kong. The game follows the movie but it is a little expanded for more gameplay. For being a game made in 2006, it has incredible graphics. The gameplay is pretty fun and can make you frustrated when you realize you really have to conserve your ammo (as Jack). Also, I liked the audio for Kong and the dinosaurs in the game and when they scream, you may or may not shake a little. Anyway, if you can find the game go check it out for yourself. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Playing through Kong is one of the freshest gaming experiences we've had all year. [Holiday 2005, p.34]
  2. 85
    It's a great example of a movie tie-in that is easy to play, it's a successful combination of a first-person adventure and a third-person beat-'em-up, and at times it even feels like a dungeon crawler. But at its core, it's an extremely good (and extremely simple) survival horror game.
  3. It won't take you long to blow through King Kong, but its sometimes thrilling, often tense, and always entertaining adventure is absolutely worth checking out.