User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 75
  2. Negative: 9 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sam
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Easily the year's best game, and it might be my new favorite game of all time. The Kong sequences are riveting, the first person controls are amazing, and the graphics made my jaw drop. It's not just an action game, it's got some horror refferences as well. Imagine, if you will, an enormous Tyranosaurus that could eat you with one mere snap, and you have to get its Easily the year's best game, and it might be my new favorite game of all time. The Kong sequences are riveting, the first person controls are amazing, and the graphics made my jaw drop. It's not just an action game, it's got some horror refferences as well. Imagine, if you will, an enormous Tyranosaurus that could eat you with one mere snap, and you have to get its attention so your buddies can open a door to escape. You have to stand clear in its sight for a little bit. If you run one second to early, your friends will be killed and you have no chance of escape. One second to late, and you see the inside view of a dinosaur's jaws. The dinosaurs are also very intelligent when you're in battle with them as Kong. When you're battling 2, they're going to take advantage of that. While you're trying to get one of them's jaws off your neck, the other is going to walk over to Ann, or attack you. While you're about to disconnect one of their jaws, the other will attack you to stop. It's challenging to the extreme and a classic for the ages. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    This is hands down, the best movie based game ever made. The controls and mechanics are easy to learn and to master, the graphics are top-notch and just look really good and the sound is amazing, the gameplay in both parts of the game are solid and fun. However the game itself is not very long and you play as Kong only a handful of times. But in short this is a great game that is reallyThis is hands down, the best movie based game ever made. The controls and mechanics are easy to learn and to master, the graphics are top-notch and just look really good and the sound is amazing, the gameplay in both parts of the game are solid and fun. However the game itself is not very long and you play as Kong only a handful of times. But in short this is a great game that is really worth playing. Expand
  3. GJ
    Feb 6, 2006
    9
    You have to raelize that the game eperience is hands down awsome. On the 360 the graphics, gamplay, and sound are amazing. Some people might think it wasn't worth the $60, but you get easy gamerpoints and one great adventure.
  4. DanielR.
    Dec 8, 2005
    8
    King Kong is an excellent game that kept me on the edge of the seat all the wayt through, despite it's shortness. Graphics, while looking like an impressive Xbox game aren't quite Xbox360 level. The evitoment and character are still very vivd and varying and the voice action is some of the best i've heard. Defintley not worth buying due to the lack of replay value, but a King Kong is an excellent game that kept me on the edge of the seat all the wayt through, despite it's shortness. Graphics, while looking like an impressive Xbox game aren't quite Xbox360 level. The evitoment and character are still very vivd and varying and the voice action is some of the best i've heard. Defintley not worth buying due to the lack of replay value, but a MUST rental for that weekend you don't have anything to do. Plus I played through once and recieved all 1000 acheivment pionts so it's a great way to get your gamer score up. I defintely suggest you check this one out. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Length of the game aside, King Kong is one of the most engaging games that I have ever played. If you want to feel desolate and scared, as if you actually are in the game, than play this game. I bought it about a month ago for about 10 bucks. The HUDless screen really adds to the atmosphere. It is probably one of my favorite games that I have, and I have a good 30 including a few callLength of the game aside, King Kong is one of the most engaging games that I have ever played. If you want to feel desolate and scared, as if you actually are in the game, than play this game. I bought it about a month ago for about 10 bucks. The HUDless screen really adds to the atmosphere. It is probably one of my favorite games that I have, and I have a good 30 including a few call of duties, all the halos, both assassins creeds, bioshock, and the elder scrolls and none even come close to how much i enjoyed this game. It is a launch title, and it is still better than most of the current titles. Expand
  6. JackD.
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    Its a really great game that gives you a great experience the first time you play it. But once you beat it in 5 hours you gonna think it wasn't worth $60.
  7. JeffA.
    Jan 11, 2006
    8
    The gameplay and graphics are excellent. A must have game for Kong fans. As for a "reviewer" giving this game a score of "0", complete rubbish. You either don't even own an Xbox 360 and want one or you can't comprehend that these are first generation games using approx. 40% of the 360's capabilities. If the PC version does really look better then it's running on a $400 The gameplay and graphics are excellent. A must have game for Kong fans. As for a "reviewer" giving this game a score of "0", complete rubbish. You either don't even own an Xbox 360 and want one or you can't comprehend that these are first generation games using approx. 40% of the 360's capabilities. If the PC version does really look better then it's running on a $400 video card. have fun playing PC games and upgrading every six months. Expand
  8. Couch
    Dec 10, 2005
    8
    Fantasic game. Best game based on a movie I've played in years. Sorry though I can't reccoment that you buy this game. It's much too short. Rent it though you'll be glad you did.
  9. SteveR
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    Great video game. The graphics are incredible. The game play keeps you on the edge of your seat.
  10. J.Aronovitch
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    This game is an epic adventure. There is no HUD to distract from the cenematic beauty of Peter Jackson's King Kong. Your screen flashes red when your health is in danger and your character cleverly calls out how much ammo he has left. This may be a multi-platform game but it is also the best looking Xbox 360 game. The game is considered short by some but it's one wild ride. This game is an epic adventure. There is no HUD to distract from the cenematic beauty of Peter Jackson's King Kong. Your screen flashes red when your health is in danger and your character cleverly calls out how much ammo he has left. This may be a multi-platform game but it is also the best looking Xbox 360 game. The game is considered short by some but it's one wild ride. Definately one of the best first person adventures on any console. As a bonus you get to play as Kong which only adds to this already thrilling game. Expand
  11. Falak.D
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    I was waiting for this game to come out since the movie and i finally got and let me tell you that this game is one of the best games for 360!
  12. KyleL.
    Feb 13, 2006
    8
    I never have liked adeventure games much, but this reallly got my attention and i liked it a lot. The graphics are extremely impressive and the game-play is unlike anything i have ever seen. Very cool game. Very realistic...
  13. FernandoG.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    I've never seen such good graphics in my entire life. And the fact that you get to play as man or ape, the gameplay is awesome... it's really the best game of the year, no joke.
  14. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Peter Jackson's King Kong: The Official Game of the Movie is a 5-6 hour campaign based off the movie but at the same time completely different from the movie story-wise. The graphics look good for being 7 years old but won't blow you away. You can also play the game with old visuals from that time period. The game play consists of playing as Jack or Kong and they are both great but Kong will seem more fun. The game even gets intense as you are playing as Jack and get rammed by a raptor from behind and frantically try to run to cover. The only problem with the game is the end sequence in New York is very short and pretty bland. Another thing is the campaign is short and is not worth the retail price of $60 but overtime it has gone down to around $10-$15 which i would say is worth it. Expand
  15. Rem
    Apr 22, 2013
    8
    In the early years of xbox, movie licensed games were still a bore, till this game came along. The very essence of survival in this game was astounding and I truly loved it. The lack of a HUD made it more tense as you carefully consider your supplies and ammo. The story follows much of the film, but it doesn't look as bad as other movie licensed games. What it gets wrong is the length. TheIn the early years of xbox, movie licensed games were still a bore, till this game came along. The very essence of survival in this game was astounding and I truly loved it. The lack of a HUD made it more tense as you carefully consider your supplies and ammo. The story follows much of the film, but it doesn't look as bad as other movie licensed games. What it gets wrong is the length. The game is pretty short and I cruised through it in about 6 hours. The King Kong sections however, are fun and truly make you feel powerful. This is a game rarely seen as it shows promise that movie licensed games have a few gems. Expand
  16. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    To be honest I stay away from movie games because well...they suck. However this game changed my mind (for only this game). The story follows the movie and you get to play as Jack and King Kong. The game follows the movie but it is a little expanded for more gameplay. For being a game made in 2006, it has incredible graphics. The gameplay is pretty fun and can make you frustrated when youTo be honest I stay away from movie games because well...they suck. However this game changed my mind (for only this game). The story follows the movie and you get to play as Jack and King Kong. The game follows the movie but it is a little expanded for more gameplay. For being a game made in 2006, it has incredible graphics. The gameplay is pretty fun and can make you frustrated when you realize you really have to conserve your ammo (as Jack). Also, I liked the audio for Kong and the dinosaurs in the game and when they scream, you may or may not shake a little. Anyway, if you can find the game go check it out for yourself. Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2015
    8
    Highly underrated!

    PROS>> Great story, levels are designed well, lots of in game variety with the creatures that are out to get you. Voices are great. A memorable unique adventure, good gaming experience. and has Jack Black in it, with his own voice. CONS>> Some things start getting repetitive, visuals aren't amazing. The journey is great but is still linear.. Like a corridor shooter
    Highly underrated!

    PROS>> Great story, levels are designed well, lots of in game variety with the creatures that are out to get you. Voices are great. A memorable unique adventure, good gaming experience.
    and has Jack Black in it, with his own voice.
    CONS>> Some things start getting repetitive, visuals aren't amazing. The journey is great but is still linear.. Like a corridor shooter but with 100% more originality and imaginative.

    Overall a strong 7, weak 8.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Playing through Kong is one of the freshest gaming experiences we've had all year. [Holiday 2005, p.34]
  2. 85
    It's a great example of a movie tie-in that is easy to play, it's a successful combination of a first-person adventure and a third-person beat-'em-up, and at times it even feels like a dungeon crawler. But at its core, it's an extremely good (and extremely simple) survival horror game.
  3. It won't take you long to blow through King Kong, but its sometimes thrilling, often tense, and always entertaining adventure is absolutely worth checking out.