Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    100
    Zen’s table lovingly captures the movie’s production design, a combination of timeless imagination and 80s sci-fi aesthetic. Of course the sound effects are there, snippet of familiar dialogue, and characters, usually without any of the silly dolls.
  2. 95
    As a fan of both pinball and Star Wars these tables are amazing, top notch, and a joy to play and I am eagerly looking forward to future Star Wars tables being released from Zen Studios.
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    95
    What really brings these to life is the attention to detail. Zen worked closely with Lucasfilm to capture all the essence of the Star Wars universe. Whenever new dialogue was needed, the studio created it for Zen. This was a collaborative effort that heightens the experience. The layout of each table is recognizable, and the care packed in will bring a smile to Star Wars fans young and old.
  4. Feb 26, 2013
    95
    Zen Studios has created the most interesting and content-rich tables yet, with their obvious love of the source material piercing through each of the fantastically crafted tables.
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    91
    The three tables included in this DLC are among the most interesting and awe inspiring ones so far. Fans of the Star Wars saga will have a hard time trying to reach a high score and taking in all the details and references from the movies and the animated series.
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    91
    Even with Boba’s table being lackluster, the other two tables make Star Wars Pinball worthy of a purchase for certain and remains a must buy not only for pinball fans, but Star Wars fans alike. With the promise of more tables to come in the not too distant future, it’s a welcome surprise to have Star Wars enter in the realm of the Zen Pinball universe and I for one couldn’t be happier.
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    89
    Did you miss the part where this is Star Wars Pinball? If you like both of those things, and you have a device capable of playing video games, you really have no excuse not to pick this up.
  8. May 20, 2013
    85
    Three tables, all with different aspects of gameplay and a variety of characters from the Star Wars universe, will delight the army of Star Wars fans. But as always, regardless of the subject matter, the real supernova star of any FX 2 pinball game is the stellar ball physics and authentic pinball sounds.
  9. 85
    All three tables look gorgeous, and all the familiar dialogue clips and sounds are a treat, too. Star Wars Pinball never up-ends the formula quite as much as Avengers Chronicles’ selectable balls and upside-down table did, but silverball and sci-fi buffs will adore it nonetheless.
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    Ultimately, it's hard to go wrong with Zen's Star Wars Pinball. Though the included tables don't quite surpass Data East's classic, they are all solid pinball experiences and among the best tables that Zen has produced — even if the Star Wars license wasn't attached.
  11. Mar 1, 2013
    85
    In the meantime, Star Wars Pinball provides players three more entertaining tables well worth a spot in their ever-growing collections.
  12. Feb 26, 2013
    85
    Zen Studios has released a new set of tables sure to please the Star Wars Fan in all of us!
  13. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Three boards, each with it's own Star Wars related theme. The Episode V: Empire Strikes Back became a clear favorite with a lot of hidden content. Sure there is room for improvement here and there but this is about as good as a Star Wars pinball could ever be.
  14. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Star Wars Pinball offers three of the best digital pinball tables I have ever tested. Great sense of detail, good sound effects and a clear love for the source material.
  15. 80
    Star Wars and pinball fans are equally well served here, with what are arguably better tables than the actual real machines.
  16. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    There's a lot of care put into detail here, with both fans of Star Wars and pinball games in mind. Highly recommended if you're a fan of the genre, and a must-have if you love the Pinball FX series.
  17. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Some minor sound issues notwithstanding, this is yet another great batch of pinball tables that make you feel like you’re standing in a bar—or, in this case, Chalmun’s Cantina—playing the real thing.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    As a huge pinball and Star Wars fan I have been looking forward to the release ever since I heard about it weeks ago. Finally I can say whole-heartedly after playing it all morning that I love these tables. A lot of care was taken to give it those subtle touches that pinball tables have always had- from the electric display at the top showing scenes from the movie to the name input being modeled after the carbonite slab display... it is all there. I was geeking out for hours at the love that they have shown the SW franchise as well as great pinball action. It is unfortunate that they couldn't use Harrison's voice from the movies, but the actor still hits it pretty close. My Fav is the Episode V table, closely followed by Boba Fett, and then the Clone Wars. The constant brightness of the lightsabers on the last one I found slightly distracting at times.

    Finally, I feel that the Pinball Hall of Fame collections have a slightly more true "Feel" to the real thing since those are REAL tables. However, as far as designing new beautiful tables that I WISH were real... this is the best you can do. These three tables are worth every penny.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    These are the first FX's tables I've wished were real. They're simply well put together fun tables that play well and make great use of the licence. It's unfortunate they couldn't use real sync voice quotes, but that's the only real criticism, the GFX, music and SFX are all top notch. Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    As soon as news first struck the gaming feed section of my Lumia phone it was as if I had died and gone to a hybrid heaven of Starwars and pinball. Out of the three stunning tables created by Zen my natural Starwars instincts drew me of course to the Empire Strikes back and as soon as the Lightsaber's pull back spring shot my first ball into the abyss of droids and wampa's I was hooked. For some reason the original voices of the characters lines have been re-done by voice actors, albeit very professionally but to the fellow die hard it's noticeable. All In this is a very fast paced table with a lot of interesting concepts not seen from any other table Zen has to offer.

    Next on my hit list was the Fett table, and as soon as the game loaded it was distinguishable by it's very long and narrow horse's head shape. Zen have gone for The Return Of The Jedi look and have the sound effects from the film to support the Fetts own table with a lot of emphasis on the Sarlacc pit. As previously mentioned the table is incredibly long which means that some parts look squashed and in certain areas it's hard to see whats happened to your valued ball, None the less it's still a fun table and when the Fett utilizes his grappling hook to save the ball from being lost it screams awesome. The third and final table was left till last due to the Clone Wars not being very high on my radar in recent years, so off the bat this table was not high on my priority list. The table opens up to a very wide and beautifully created area, with an escape pod being deployed upon pull back of your ball, A mini Anakin can be seen responding to where the ball is run and the sound effects are full of Star Wars charm, my one complaint would be the odd Yoda phrase that is spewed out every ten seconds which didn't really seem to make much sense and was not in line with the Yoda we all listened to in the Empire Strikes Back. To sum up all three tables have a lot of what made us all fall for the franchise in the first place Some tables will be liked better than others and this is why for 800 MS points and a bit of supple pinball finger flicking you should just go for it and wonder what's just happened to the last three hours of your life.
    Full Review »