Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The real appeal of the game is in its presentation. The music is light and bouncy, the visuals are bright and colourful, and there's plenty of humour in the way units animate. I can't describe in enough detail just how happy it makes me to finally have a full-featured shooter game that is bright and pleasant; though I have no particular problem with serious and grim shooters, it's nice to have an option for when I'm in the mood for something happier.
  2. May 11, 2014
    80
    Garden Warfare is a humorous FPS with funny characters and odd weapons. There's not much TD-stuff left, though. [Apr 2014]
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    70
    Garden Warfare is an entertaining online games with inviting playability and unique design for a game in the genre. The tempo in both combat and how fast to unlock new material is very addictive. After a while you start it unfortunately feels a bit tedious, much because there are too few game modes and maps. As a whole, it is a game I can recommend though, especially considering that it is not sold at full price.
  4. 60
    Targets the casual crowd and targets it rather well - but don't expect anything beyond that. [Issue #240]
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    60
    The bigger problem is that the framerate is godawful, which seems like a networking issue, since it’s much more pronounced during games with more players. I suspect I’m being dropped into servers with terrible pings. I’ve even joined game where I literally can’t move because the warping is so bad. Here’s me, connected to EA servers.
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    50
    Popcap’s first attempt to transform Plants vs Zombies franchise into a shooter is quite mediocre, as it lacks many basic and fundamental aspects someone would seek in a multiplayer only shooter.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    It's colorful. it's silly, and it's fun. There are a few different multiplayer modes. There is class-based combat, (think battlefield). There's a healer, an engineer, a soldier, and a close range. The controls are buttery smooth, the map variation is nice, and the community seems good enough.

    There's also a horde-esque mode. Think gears of war horde mixed with PvZ tower defense. This is the only split screen mode, but we got a kick out of it.

    Don't go into this game expecting a game of the year, but if you're itching to play something on your next gen console, PvZ:GW is a very pleasant surprise, and a genuinely good time.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    First of all, I'm only reviewing the Xbox 360 version because I don't have a One yet. From what I've seen, this game looks really good for a 360 game. Everything from the lighting to the character models themselves definitely look good. There are some muddy textures here and there, particularly the pavement textures. And the Anisotropic Filtering is at a bear minimum which means far textures look blurry and pixel like. Presumably It's hovering around the Bilinear mark. So far I've played this game for a good 10 hours and while I have had fun and been blown away from the amount of unlockables there are, there just isn't a lot here. The shooting mechanics, while good, don't really give the game a unique feeling. There isn't many modes here except for the main 3 as well. Overall, it is a very fun game and you will find yourself having a lot of fun with this, and at $30 (Xbox 360 version is $10 cheeper by the way with no noticeable differences other than graphics) this game is good for the value. A solid 8/10. Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    First off all, i cannot belive this game only got 6.7 user score, as i am writing this review. I downloaded the full game, and well.. I played it for 8 hours straight, and thats rarely the case with me. Excellent amount of details in both the plants and zombies, great maps, fantastic graphics, and most importantly- Wow at the amount of stuff you unlock in the game! Its just crazy. Every plant and zombie you use have each own level plus a main progession level. To level a plant or zombie, you have to do specific challeges for that plant or zombie. There are also alot of accesories to unlock for the plants and zombies, like new glasses, weapons, new hats, and alot more. All in all, just get this game already- its Amazing, it really deserves a 10 of 10! Full Review »