Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare has players blast zombies, plants, and new characters with inventive weapons across a mine-blowing PvZ world.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The real appeal of the game is in its presentation. The music is light and bouncy, the visuals are bright and colourful, and there's plenty of humour in the way units animate. I can't describe in enough detail just how happy it makes me to finally have a full-featured shooter game that is bright and pleasant; though I have no particular problem with serious and grim shooters, it's nice to have an option for when I'm in the mood for something happier.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    80
    Garden Warfare is a humorous FPS with funny characters and odd weapons. There's not much TD-stuff left, though. [Apr 2014]
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    70
    Garden Warfare is an entertaining online games with inviting playability and unique design for a game in the genre. The tempo in both combat and how fast to unlock new material is very addictive. After a while you start it unfortunately feels a bit tedious, much because there are too few game modes and maps. As a whole, it is a game I can recommend though, especially considering that it is not sold at full price.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    60
    Targets the casual crowd and targets it rather well - but don't expect anything beyond that. [Issue #240]
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    60
    The bigger problem is that the framerate is godawful, which seems like a networking issue, since it’s much more pronounced during games with more players. I suspect I’m being dropped into servers with terrible pings. I’ve even joined game where I literally can’t move because the warping is so bad. Here’s me, connected to EA servers.
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    50
    Popcap’s first attempt to transform Plants vs Zombies franchise into a shooter is quite mediocre, as it lacks many basic and fundamental aspects someone would seek in a multiplayer only shooter.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    First off all, i cannot belive this game only got 6.7 user score, as i am writing this review. I downloaded the full game, and well.. I playedFirst off all, i cannot belive this game only got 6.7 user score, as i am writing this review. I downloaded the full game, and well.. I played it for 8 hours straight, and thats rarely the case with me. Excellent amount of details in both the plants and zombies, great maps, fantastic graphics, and most importantly- Wow at the amount of stuff you unlock in the game! Its just crazy. Every plant and zombie you use have each own level plus a main progession level. To level a plant or zombie, you have to do specific challeges for that plant or zombie. There are also alot of accesories to unlock for the plants and zombies, like new glasses, weapons, new hats, and alot more. All in all, just get this game already- its Amazing, it really deserves a 10 of 10! Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Plants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare was excellent on Xbox One and is still excellent on Xbox 360. Most people played the One version and ignoredPlants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare was excellent on Xbox One and is still excellent on Xbox 360. Most people played the One version and ignored the 360 version. But this game is not a bland Call of Duty slapped on a PvZ theme. It's worth the 30 bucks If you want something family friendly and are not buying Titanfall. PvZ Garden Warfare is full on action. It has no solo missions, everything is multiplayer. Most people were disappointed that you need Xbox Live Gold to play the game but of course if you read the box it said ONLINE ONLY. Apart from that its a fun and colourful game with awesome graphics. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    A fantastic shooter that breaks the bloody and brown barriers set forth by modern gritty shooters. A metascore of only 69 is ridiculous. IA fantastic shooter that breaks the bloody and brown barriers set forth by modern gritty shooters. A metascore of only 69 is ridiculous. I never judge a game by the scores on here, too many people give a 1 rating for silly reasons like online play only or an xbox gold membership required... i don't know about the rest of you but in 2014 my consoles are online ready, it's not 2003 anymore. The game is not for casuals, i'm not saying casuals can't find it fun and entertaining but people judging the game based on it's colorful art style clearly haven't played for longer than 10 minutes, there is plenty of room to customize, level up and dominate just as much and ever more than any battlefield game on the market! Trust me. Expand
  4. May 4, 2014
    8
    If you could ever envision what a Plants vs Zombies 3D shooter would look like, it's pretty much this. And that's a good thing, because it's aIf you could ever envision what a Plants vs Zombies 3D shooter would look like, it's pretty much this. And that's a good thing, because it's a really good shooter. The charm, personality and likeability factor of PvZ is there, but even underneath, you have all the makings of a solid shooter/tower defence hybrid here. The characters are well-rendered, they have different playstyles and abilities to mix up gameplay, and are pretty well balanced according to how you want to play. The accessories, and the sticker packs will keep people coming back for more, even if the pure game itself isn't particularly big.

    A good game by yourself, a truly great game if you have some friends too.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    It's colorful. it's silly, and it's fun. There are a few different multiplayer modes. There is class-based combat, (think battlefield).It's colorful. it's silly, and it's fun. There are a few different multiplayer modes. There is class-based combat, (think battlefield). There's a healer, an engineer, a soldier, and a close range. The controls are buttery smooth, the map variation is nice, and the community seems good enough.

    There's also a horde-esque mode. Think gears of war horde mixed with PvZ tower defense. This is the only split screen mode, but we got a kick out of it.

    Don't go into this game expecting a game of the year, but if you're itching to play something on your next gen console, PvZ:GW is a very pleasant surprise, and a genuinely good time.
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    It's fun, what with all the bright colours and quirky combat, though it lacks a certain depth when it comes to game modes. There could be someIt's fun, what with all the bright colours and quirky combat, though it lacks a certain depth when it comes to game modes. There could be some more unique ones, and while Garden Ops is enjoyable, I prefer survival where it involves keeping myself alive, rather than defending the life of something like a garden or base. It would add a little more excitement for me. Maybe some single elimination modes could have been added, and come on, Xbox 360 doesn't have split screen co-op, let alone, none of them have custom private matches, for messing around with friends. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    1
    this had the potential to be a great game but changing the whole genre of the game,is trying to hard.And on top of that xbox live needed.Notthis had the potential to be a great game but changing the whole genre of the game,is trying to hard.And on top of that xbox live needed.Not what i expected from popcap Expand

See all 34 User Reviews