User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    3
    The dialogue and characters are a very nice fan service to four very distinct sets of fans, but the fact that I can't skip any of the dialogue that I've heard a hundred times is incredibly frustrating. Sure, the dialogue can actually give me a chuckle every so often, but it really is rather annoying after the fifth or sixth time hearing the same joke. And let me tell you. This game's difficulty is RELENTLESS. I've played about 10 tournaments, and have only won one. I always knock everyone out, but lose to some absolutely ridiculous hand on the last character. It starts out as a great, promising game, but after an hour or two of gameplay, this game is just the embodiment of aggravation and stupidity. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    This game is not hard to review at all, Its poker and for that reason alone its a ok game in my book; however, that does not mean I will go easy on this game at all. Valve is awesome; they are known for the Half-Life, Portal, and Left 4 Dead series. I just don't understand why they are still doing this, though. Team Fortress 2 is a good FPS and is really fun. I suck at shooters, which means I don't play that many other then the occasionally Halo 4 and maybe COD 4 if I'm really bored. So when i see people playing poker for hats and cool looking glasses its really silly. I bought this game because I like poker. I know for a fact that TF2 fans bought this so they can look like Brock Samson; a dirty little trick that Valve pulls every time because they know that people who want to look like a tool on TF2 will spend five bucks on a poker game to get in-game items. Maybe its just me, but that seems a bad reason to make a game. I get that they want to have more people playing TF2 but it isn't something that can compete on the same tier as CoD or Halo. I don't know... Maybe it really is just me, but this game should have been just poker and not poker with TF2 Items. For the record though, I like this game. I just don't play TF2, and therefore I don't care about any of the neat little items Glados puts on the table. I just want to play poker. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2013
    6
    The first Poker Night game is pretty fun, but it is one of those games that didn't need a sequel. However, this isn't really a bad thing. Poker Night 2 was also really fun and I found the characters to often times be more enjoyable in this one than I did with the first one. I'm not fully sure why Brock and Ash Williams are in this game, but they aren't that bad of characters. However, it is really annoying that they didn't get Bruce Campbell to do the voice of Ash. It seems as though I enjoyed the game, so why did I give it a 6? The xbox port is bad. It freezes, there's glitches and bugs. It's like telltale had Bethesda release the game for them. If you want to have a good experience with Poker Night 2, play it on PC. Collapse
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Not bad, not really good, but not bad...I pick this game just for GLaDOS, but in the end all the other characters are really funny too................
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    I suppose you can't expect too much from a Poker game designed for a games console, but this in all isn't the best nor the worst. The thing that let it down for me was not having the option for multiplayer; although saying that it would probably be impossible to find an online game anyway as nobody really plays these games online. I'm a lover of poker which is why I bought it, but there are probably others I'd go to before this. Not a woeful game, but certainly not brilliant. Paid more than I wanted to for it but it isn't a bad way to waste a bit of time and can be fun the majority of the time. Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    5
    All this wasted potential on a great game WITH NO ONLINE GAMES. WTF WERE THEY THINKING? The game can't be played by yourself forever. The AI have great dialogue but are too predictable. I need to play with real people or I might go crazy talking to Claptrap.
  7. May 12, 2013
    9
    8 Its pretty a decent game to play, its glitchy. Its a fun game you can unlock stuff.
  8. May 3, 2013
    1
    Poker Night 2 must be the worst poker iteration I've ever come across, at a screen or table...
    the mini game poker in Red Dead Redemption is addictive and likely to cause seizures of excitement compared to this,
    just some old characters from different Xbox titles (I won't bother with the names, it really doesn't matter...)
    who yammer on with no skip functionality, and though I only
    played two hands before I took upon myself to warn you not to even try this, it doesn't seem to be any real poker "engine" either...

    it's no poker game, it's an old-man stand-up fart-joke game! 800 points....Zynga Poker is probably better....stay away!
    Expand
  9. May 3, 2013
    7
    7 is still good, never forget that. Very fun game but in my opinion a multiplayer mode would have been a no brainer but for some reason wasn't added. A lack of modes also hurts, but really not too bad. A few bonuses would include the unlockable cards, chips, and tables and the character dialogue. The unlockables are great fun especially getting different decks but character dialogue will blow you away. Characters interact pretty much how you'd expect and each one's personality differs so greatly from the others that it's, well, what you'd imagine playing poker with Brock, Claptrap, Ash Williams, and Sam would be like. Great game, and I would definately reccomend. Expand
  10. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Admittedly, not having multiplayer kills replayability past a certain point, but do you know what has multiplayer? Every single other poker game out there. If that's the jones you need, there are a thousand ways to go get it. Not every game has Poker Night 2's personality, and as Jules Winfield would tell you, personality goes a long way.

    In lieu of multiplayer, what you have are five
    great characters and deep amounts of barks and conversations between various combinations of them. Despite what the reviewers said, dialogue repetition is not that big a problem. There are only so many ways to say "check" and all in." What amazes me is that I've played this game for about thirty hours now, and as recently as last night, I saw some one-liners and conversations that I hadn't yet.

    The call for multiplayer is misplaced. It's not that kind of party. My only suggestion for future games would be the option to get up and walk around...explore the room, play some of those arcade machines seen in "Poker Night 1", etc. etc. "Poker Night 2" is a "through the looking glass" game where your most ridiculous gaming fantasies get dragged into reality and forced to play cards. I don't even like poker, but I love this game.
    Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    The first Poker Night game is pretty fun, but it is one of those games that didn't need a sequel. However, this isn't really a bad thing. Poker Night 2 was also really fun and I found the characters to often times be more enjoyable in this one than I did with the first one. I'm not fully sure why Brock and Ash Williams are in this game, but they aren't that bad of characters. However, it is really annoying that they didn't get Bruce Campbell to do the voice of Ash. It seems as though I enjoyed the game, so why did I give it a 6? The xbox port is bad. It freezes, there's glitches and bugs. It's like telltale had Bethesda release the game for them. If you want to have a good experience with Poker Night 2, play it on PC. Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. 80
    About as good as non-human poker gets. [July 2013, p.79]
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    75
    The inner-character jibes and japes are tops but after a few games the unskippable hi-jinks go from funny to frustrating as repetition kicks in. [Aug 2013, p.67]
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    65
    Poker Night 2 offers some fun characters, extra’s and especially dialogues, but those start to repeat quickly and the lack of modes prevents you from coming back.