Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Poker Night 2 is the sequel to Poker Night where you play poker with a bunch of "weirdos" officially licensed, triple 'A' characters such as Claptrap, Brock Samson, Ash Williams, and Sam.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    84
    Very few games are stuffed with this much personality. If you like humorous video games at all (and especially if you like Borderlands and Portal), you really need to play this. It actually makes you feel like you’re sitting in a room and hanging out with some of gaming’s favorite stars, and that’s an opportunity you shouldn’t pass up unless you simply hate video games.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    75
    The inner-character jibes and japes are tops but after a few games the unskippable hi-jinks go from funny to frustrating as repetition kicks in. [Aug 2013, p.67]
  3. May 14, 2013
    72
    Familiarity with the game's characters is what breeds enjoyment of the game, otherwise you're probably looking at contempt.
  4. May 15, 2013
    68
    As weird as it gets, Telltale returns to the card-based games to bring this unexpected sequel. It offers loads of fun and loads of unlockables, but not having multiplayer modes –and not being localized if you don't speak English– does limit the experience.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    65
    Poker Night 2 offers some fun characters, extra’s and especially dialogues, but those start to repeat quickly and the lack of modes prevents you from coming back.
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    65
    Poker Night 2 is a fun game to gamers who enjoy the odd round of poker but unfortunately the title is a one-trick pony. You'll get some great laughs out of the game but this will wear thin as you progress through round after round. Thankfully it's quite affordably priced at 800 Microsoft Points and hopefully Telltale Games will continue releasing additional characters and hopefully the inclusion of multiplayer.
  7. May 16, 2013
    49
    Telltale Games is fresh off the success of The Walking Dead, an episodic game fueled by dynamic character arcs and the sensation of meaningful choices. Poker Night 2 has neither of these, as its repetitive character dialogue and technical miscalculations prevent either from stealing the pot. When the chips are thrown and the hands are dealt, it's best to sit this one out.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Not bad, not really good, but not bad...I pick this game just for GLaDOS, but in the end all the other characters are really funny too................
  2. May 12, 2013
    9
    8 Its pretty a decent game to play, its glitchy. Its a fun game you can unlock stuff.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Admittedly, not having multiplayer kills replayability past a certain point, but do you know what has multiplayer? Every single other poker game out there. If that's the jones you need, there are a thousand ways to go get it. Not every game has Poker Night 2's personality, and as Jules Winfield would tell you, personality goes a long way.

    In lieu of multiplayer, what you have are five great characters and deep amounts of barks and conversations between various combinations of them. Despite what the reviewers said, dialogue repetition is not that big a problem. There are only so many ways to say "check" and all in." What amazes me is that I've played this game for about thirty hours now, and as recently as last night, I saw some one-liners and conversations that I hadn't yet.

    The call for multiplayer is misplaced. It's not that kind of party. My only suggestion for future games would be the option to get up and walk around...explore the room, play some of those arcade machines seen in "Poker Night 1", etc. etc. "Poker Night 2" is a "through the looking glass" game where your most ridiculous gaming fantasies get dragged into reality and forced to play cards. I don't even like poker, but I love this game.
    Collapse
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    6
    The first Poker Night game is pretty fun, but it is one of those games that didn't need a sequel. However, this isn't really a bad thing. Poker Night 2 was also really fun and I found the characters to often times be more enjoyable in this one than I did with the first one. I'm not fully sure why Brock and Ash Williams are in this game, but they aren't that bad of characters. However, it is really annoying that they didn't get Bruce Campbell to do the voice of Ash. It seems as though I enjoyed the game, so why did I give it a 6? The xbox port is bad. It freezes, there's glitches and bugs. It's like telltale had Bethesda release the game for them. If you want to have a good experience with Poker Night 2, play it on PC. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    I suppose you can't expect too much from a Poker game designed for a games console, but this in all isn't the best nor the worst. The thing that let it down for me was not having the option for multiplayer; although saying that it would probably be impossible to find an online game anyway as nobody really plays these games online. I'm a lover of poker which is why I bought it, but there are probably others I'd go to before this. Not a woeful game, but certainly not brilliant. Paid more than I wanted to for it but it isn't a bad way to waste a bit of time and can be fun the majority of the time. Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    5
    All this wasted potential on a great game WITH NO ONLINE GAMES. WTF WERE THEY THINKING? The game can't be played by yourself forever. The AI have great dialogue but are too predictable. I need to play with real people or I might go crazy talking to Claptrap. Expand
  7. May 3, 2013
    1
    Poker Night 2 must be the worst poker iteration I've ever come across, at a screen or table...
    the mini game poker in Red Dead Redemption is
    addictive and likely to cause seizures of excitement compared to this,
    just some old characters from different Xbox titles (I won't bother with the names, it really doesn't matter...)
    who yammer on with no skip functionality, and though I only played two hands before I took upon myself to warn you not to even try this, it doesn't seem to be any real poker "engine" either...

    it's no poker game, it's an old-man stand-up fart-joke game! 800 points....Zynga Poker is probably better....stay away!
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews