User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 910 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 910

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Immediately I have to state the flaws of the Xbox 360 version of Portal 2. It lacks few multi player capabilities like cross compatibility which is featured on the PS3 and PC versions, the graphics aren't nearly as good it's PC counterpart or PS3 one at that. But despite these flaws the game prospers by including more than bearably multi player and a story more robust than any ever in the Puzzle genre. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Incredibly funny and smart game, really doesn't deserve to be punished for Valve's bad handling of the ARG. The story, while different from Portal 1, is simply one of the best of the current games. Must buy.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Funny as hell, pissing off people with optional DLC, great cinematic gameplay, cool and challenging puzzles, coop is fun, great ending, the song was good, loads of easter eggs.

    Great job Valve, most fun I've had in a video game in a looooooooong time.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Although the game is rather short, it is just amazing. The plot is immersive enough that once you sit and start play, you don't want to stop. The graphics are fine - even though the Source Engine is quite old right now, it's still amazing what it can do in regard of physics and graphics. 10/10.
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    As stated by others, the game is too short (4 hours), too easy and the graphics are dated. Not worth the full price. Fanboys are already skewing the score as you can see by the reviews. Even people who admit the game is too short and the graphics are dated still rate it 10/10, proving they are trying to inflate the score. Why give a perfect score if there are obviously flaws which you yourself have stated? Valve employees and hired agents are also inflating the score as they use the same phrases Valve uses in advertising the game. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has it all. A worthy sequel to the original. The single player focus on story, the co-op on funny. The best part is the outstanding challenge. Early puzzles are easy, and most can done quite quickly. But later on in the game, puzzles get so intense. The liquid that makes things bounce and slick are a great bonus. It exceeded my expectations in every way.
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is going to be a big candidate for game of the year so do not be stupid you kids it is not funny to give score 0 it is not funny becouse it is not your thing so stop it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Another masterpiece from Valve. Portal 2 improves everything on the original, with better characters, better history and a long and quite varied campaign. I can't think in anything wrong but the graphics, that are a little outdated with the Source Engine. The game of the year so far.
  10. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The game play is smooth and the humor is amazing. I was smiling throughout the whole play-through.
    Highly recommend this to anyone. I have yet to try the co-op feature, I bet it will be amazing considering all the hype Valve has been putting on it.
  11. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    none of the negatives actually played it, the campaign is upwards of 8 hours and is entertaining and enjoyable to boot, the physics work perfectly and the comedy is unmistakably valve. This is actually probably their best game. Source has aged well and the voice acting is spectacular. Everything in this game is excellent and should be enjoyed. Just wish Microsoft had allowed valve to use their cross compatibility with steam. That is my only complaint. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Funny, brilliant, exciting, nostalgic and yet still fresh; this game is full of win! Single player is challenging yet fun and able to make you let out a laugh every so often, the graphics are great on PC and the level design really makes you think just what went on, and for how long. Co-op? Same as single player but twice as fun, more laughs and lots of necessary team-work. I will highly recommend this game to all my buddies - I can't get enough of it; stayed up all night. Expand
  13. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    After playing the Xbox 360 version from start to finish I can honestly say that Valve have done a great job. The graphics of the Xbox 360 looked sharp, the sound was incredible and the game played very well using the 360 gamepad. The game itself was a really good experience. It entertained me for about 12 hours and that's with being stuck on a few parts for a bit longer than I would have wanted. In the end I always ended up finding the solution to the puzzle. You feel really smart when you do sometimes.

    So what could have been done to improve this amazing game? Well the Anti-alaising could have been increased a bit more but that's almost always the case on our current consoles. There could also have been less loading times. It doesn't get that annoying unless you die a lot though.

    Good version of a great game.
    Expand
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that.
    Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  15. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Graphics were awesome, especially lightning. It has an awesome story that will definitely make you laugh and the upgraded gameplay from Portal 1 is just the icing on the cake.
  16. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Great game! Played it and loved it on PC... People giveing it low marks are evil internet trolls who havent even played the game. Amazing voice acting!
  17. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game is superior to the original Portal. That's a rare thing. Writing, design, and gameplay are all top-notch. I could whine about day 1 dlc if I was superdramatic and spoiled, but I am not. This game is fantastic.
  18. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of the year, has game of the year written all over it. Both the single and co-op, each easily reaching over 6 hours of game play, single player a bit more. Part of playing portal is to beat the game in a fast run through and the run through is full of Aperture lore and a genius story. Another plus side of this game is that it makes your cognitive learning improve through amazing problem solving puzzles with no violence and still maintains a level of excitement and fun through out the game. Highly suggest for gamers who loved portal 1 and people who love puzzle games. Expand
  19. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you liked the first I have no doubt that you'll like this one too. Expect about 8 to 12 hours of gameplay. The yahoo down there who said 4.5 hours must think this is the page for the original. This isn't a game you play for top-notch graphics, so if your opinion of a game is based solely on that you'll undoubtedly come away disappointed. It's funny and just challenging enough to be well worth your money. Expand
  20. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    A great continuation of the portal story. It's sad to see users such as "Valvesucks" needlessly bring down the user score when they obviously haven't tried the game.
  21. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a relatively short single player excursion, though I can't figure a way they could have extended it without ruining the fantastic story. I think the possibility of DLC for this game as Valve is famous for added content will make it a long lived adventure much like Team Fortress is. The coop has some amazing features which take it to the next level such as picture in picture and a fantastic waypoint system which makes it much easier to work with friends to complete missions. If you're not a people person, and can't stand short stories (even with great replayability) then this game might not be for you. The ways in which Valve continues to push the Source engine is amazing. Graphics are surprisingly good on an aging engine. Simply compare Counter Strike: Source running at full with Portal 2 running at full and the difference is apparent.

    On the whole a wonderful experience I will probably never forget.
    Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the trolls. The single player is 8 hours long for a skilled portal veteran. There are several new gameplay elements, most of which take effect around hour 2 or 3. The first few levels are the same or similar to Portal 1 but serve to ease you back into the gameplay and tour the broken down facility. All the characters are incredibly voiced and even have a bit of development during the course of the story. This is not a console port, the game is beautiful with NO bugs, glitches, or broken sections (well not broken from a gameplay stance). The DLC is just skins to amuse yourself in co-op and dont really add to the game or take away from it. YOU WILL NOT miss anything if you avoid the DLC. Best game of the year and the decade. At least untill Half Life 3 comes out. Expand
  23. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is nearly a perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Some people say the campaign is too short. I disagree. If you don't rush through it like some maniac you get plenty of campaign. Plus there is the co-op campaign which ads even more. Oh and the story is fantastic.
    How are the puzzles? I found the puzzles to be great. Portal 2 adds a lot of new content to make the puzzles
    more interesting. And of course many people are like "omg it was way to easy i finished it in like 4 hours". Yeah let them brag how smart they are (or not), fact is that the puzzles are interesting, challenging and varied.
    All together Portal 2 is a must buy and a Game of the Year candidate.
    Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to all the naysayers giving this game a bad review. Pretty much all the reviews have no idea what is going on in the game, or even the price value for it. Portal 2 is VALVe's best game to date, including an amazing single player story and engaging Co-op test chambers for you and your friends. I personally can beat Portal 1 in less then 2 hours, and Portal 2 took me more then 7. With so much to see and so much going on you just cant help but "stop and smell the test chambers." The campaign starts fast and never loses momentum as it catapults you into and out of the bowels of Aperture Labs. The finale to Portal 2 is beyond anything I expected and really sets the game apart from VALVe's more serious Half-Life franchise. Co-op doesn't have a story exactly, but you can spend hours solving test chambers with friends and family while "accidentally" sending them into pits of goo and spikes. The game is a great addition to the Portal franchise and the only problem I find is the problem on XBOX with not having system cross compatibility, it still is a great game, and you need to play this. Expand
  25. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game completely blows its predecessor out of the water. It brings brand new elements, while keeping the classic game flow that we have all fallen in love with. The multiplayer is top class, leading to a great replay value. If you haven't already, go buy it now. There is a reason it has toped the metacritic charts in all the categories.
  26. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Amazing just like the first one, The fact that you actually have to use your brain alittle to advance through the story makes it a much better game then a run and gun game like CoD. Brilliant!
  27. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Follow me on twitter@thetruthbites for liveE3 2011 v.I.p tweets.Portal 2 is absolutely fantastic. Co-op is great and the single player adds new welcome elements. Although the game does not seem as difficult as the first, it still provides enough challenge to keep your mind working overtime. The story and humor is also something worth mentioning. Don't want to ruin the game for anyone so I won't go in any story details, but let me just say that it rocks. This is a must for anyone that enjoyed the first, loves puzzle games, like using their brain, wants a new kind of co-op game ( also contains splitscreen mode ), of for anyone that just plain likes having fun. Expand
  28. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I'll state this up front: Portal 2 is a paragon of game design. Everything about this game shows how Valve mastered the data they collected of their audience over the years through Steam and their other games. Portal 2 is filled with great gameplay, satisfying puzzles and some of the best writing you've ever seen in a video game. The character performances are spot on. It's a must buy for every gamer, young and old.

    A lot of people seem to be concerned about the added store for the co-op bots, which I think is unfounded. All of the items are purely cosmetic and is hardly content they cut out of the game just to put a price tag on it. It can be easily ignored. The reason it's in the game is because it has apparently been a success in Team Fortress 2, so I don't mind Valve earning an extra buck to fund their next projects.

    Valve will probably be releasing more free DLC for this game in the future, just like they did with Left4Dead and Team Fortress 2 (a game that's been receiving more than 10 huge free content updates since 2004!). Since the Source SDK is likely to get an update too, the community will get the tools to create maps and puzzles themselves.
    Expand
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed the first Portal then you will love this. It is full of the same charm as the first game and at moments is absolutely hilarious. There is more variety to the puzzles, but they still have that Portal feel to them. Graphically it is a fairly nice looking game and there is certainly much more variety in the graphics than the first game. Overall, everything has a bit more polish to it and the controls even feel a little smoother than the original. If the first Portal wasn't your thing then there's not a whole lot here to change your mind. But as I said, if you enjoyed the first game I don't know how you couldn't absolutely love Portal 2. Expand
  30. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's a sequel--what do you really expect?). The brilliance of Portal 1's storytelling came as a surprise to people just expecting an experimental puzzle game; Portal 2, then can only lose points by not having even greater writing/humour/etc. Regardless, Portal 2 improves on the original with a longer and more challenging single-player mode, a co-op mode, several new mechanics, and more Portal humor. It's a great sequel to a great game. If the price seems steep to console users, just wait a while and pick it up later--it's worth your time. Expand
  31. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign. Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen to them, they are mad about an ARG and DLC that have nothing to do with the actual game), no, the game is not 3 hours long. No, there is no game-enhancing DLC to get upset about, the DLC, which is PC only in the first place, is purely aesthetic and no one who isn't interested has any reason to buy it. Finally, the ARG that took place before this game was release not only resulted in a midnight release on Steam (as opposed to the planned 7am release), it also got everyone who got all of the "potatoes" in the ARG Valve's *entire library of games for free*. There is no reason to dislike this game, and many of the reviews are simply venting frustrations not at all related to the game's quality. It's better in every way than one than the original Portal, save one, originality. And let's face it, that magic has passed, we can't get that moment in time back, so we should enjoy an amazing game for what it is, the best possible sequel to Portal, and the best game of the year so far. Expand
  32. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I don't know the reasoning behind the people who hate this game. "Theres an in game DLC store!" You cry. No one is making you buy from it. "It's too short!" You scream. It's still one of the most amazing experiences in gaming. Maybe it's just more boycotters. (sigh)
  33. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best puzzles games ever created. Story unfolds much as a movie might, with a plot more complex and entertaining than many movies I've seen. Ignore the complaints and low scores about the high price. The game itself is a quality product and I am more satisfied with what I paid here than most games I spent the same price on. One of kind, not to be missed.
  34. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Far longer than the first one, (10 long chapters!!) a lot of surprises, lot of news. This time the game always switch between rooms and maintenance. Glados was really funny. 10/10
  35. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I can't believe that this game has gotten any bad reviews. It is incredibly fun, smart, and hilarious. It is plenty challenging and if you include the co-op mode, which is equally as fantastic as solo, then the length is nothing to complain about. Do not believe a bad review. This will go down as one of the best games of the year without a doubt.
  36. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a game that renews my faith in the gaming industry, and only further proves how brilliant a publisher Valve is. It's a game that not only progresses its own completely unique style of play, but does it in such amazing narrative style that it simply puts other games' stories to absolute shame. The Portal franchise has the cleverest, funniest, most engaging storyline of any game I've played, and even with its trademark silent protagonist, it doesn't matter because the other characters are so wonderfully designed and acted. I haven't even played co-op yet and I think it's amazing. And anyone who **** about the pricing has forgotten that it has absolutely nothing to do with a game and its gameplay. At all. Expand
  37. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    nice story,brilliant writing an hilarious steve merchant as "wheatley" and really good lvl design..for me maybe a little bit too easy and too short but despite of that its one of the best games ive played so far..9.0
  38. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantly written, produced and constructed. The dialogue in this game is second to none while the story has you reliving your journey from the first and succeeds on all levels. If you're on the ropes, buy this game! Expand
  39. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I've only scratched the surface of this game, but I already feel as though I've gotten my money's worth ten times over. The only reason I'm not rating this a 9 instead of a perfect 10 is purely because I haven't finished it yet, and because it doesn't come wrapped in bacon and/or dipped in chocolate. Otherwise all indications point to this being a true masterpiece and certainly one of the top games of 2011 if not all time. Expand
  40. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I was surprised by how good the reviews were for Portal 2. And then I played it. Superior to it's predecessor, it actually encourages co-op play with friends. As of April 20th, it is the best game of 2011.
  41. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    people who are whining about the game taking 4+4 hours to beat..this is **** **** time i've beaten it in around 12 hours (the campaign i mean ) , started a second playthrough while knowing all the puzzles solutions and I didn't even come close to 4 hours . Its a couple of hours longer than that . Oh , I guess you ,trolls , are somewhat intelectually advanced and made it in 4 hours..srew you , trolls. stop whining like little kidoes and play the game and enjoy it cause its awesome . Expand
  42. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. The campaign is compelling and hilarious, and has brilliant level design and pacing. As a veteran Portal player, I definitely wish it was harder, but that's a minor complaint. It's also a little on the short side, though I spent a lot of time soaking in the vast amount of detail Valve has put into the world, so it took me longer than some of the other reviewers are stating (let me put it this way: it's longer than COD: Black Ops by quite a bit).

    Another thing that's important not to overlook is the co-op mode, which is a blast. Overall, this game was a great value at $45, and I look forward to seeing what they come up with for the free DLC in the future.
    Expand
  43. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best experience I ever had in a game.
    The humor ist so tremendous I hardly laugh while playing but with Portal 2 I REALLY could not stop laugh out loud. The story is fantastic, lightning up every heart that cares about the aperture universe.
    And I don't really want to even talk about the game-play.... it makes a cover-based shooter with quick-time-event look like a tricycle
    trying to keep up with a rocket heading to a new planet. Expand
  44. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Expand
  45. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I cannot deny this is a flawed game- the levels seem to be more simplified then its predecessor, it was shorter than I would have liked and the multi-player is weak (at least on the Xbox 360). That being said I greatly enjoyed "Portal 2", particularly because of the amazing story, absolutely perfect casting of Steve Merchant , and the addition of the gel. If you play this game you will finish it with a strange mixture of satisfaction and wanting desire. In conclution NEW "HALF LIFE" GAME PLEASE!!! Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Great controls, great puzzles, funny as hell. Every thing I liked about the first Portal only bigger and better. Yes the game is still a bit short but that's why there is co-op. This game will keep me entertained long after the first play through.
  47. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the haters in regards to this title. It's a beautiful, well designed game that plays and looks great on any platform. Yes, PC graphics are better if you happen to own a nice PC, but the console graphics are also very good.

    The gameplay additions are a great progression from the first game and the voice talent is unmatched. Stephen Merchant in particular deserves special
    recognition for work. Hilarious.

    The single player game length is longer than some other recent retail releases (*cough Homefront cough*), coming in at least 7 or 8 hours, longer if you're me and the multiplayer is a blast. All of you who are angry about the ARG viral marketing or about the purely cosmetic and optional DLC, get over yourselves. Valve is a company who has proven since before most of you could even play video games that they are a developer who puts out quality products, showers their users with free goodies and truly understands what gamers want.

    Yes, there are longer games out there, but few that play as well and are as enjoyable as this one. I'll take this sort of quality over an extra two hours of filler every day.
    Expand
  48. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    In a move that reflects well on the current treatment of sequels by the gaming industry, Portal 2 is an amazing sequel which took the concepts of its predecessor, and polished them to a blinding finish. Unfortunately, the contingent of angry valve "fans" have once more been awakened, and trashed the user rating based on other "fan" reviews, rumor, dreams, and, apparently, the mutterings of the homeless.
    As it has become necessary I will now address the erroneous complaints.
    1. The game is much longer then 4 hours, and is somewhere closer to 8, or 12. This belief could be based around the fact that portal 1 was only about 4 hours, because some "fans" are forgetting that the co-op campaign has a completely fleshed out and, different narrative, or some issues that have apparently arisen with the stem "hours played" widget.
    2. There is no "Launch DLC" or "Locked content on the disk". There is some DLC for cosmetic changes to your co-op avatars, nothing else. You are getting the, as mentioned, full 8-12 hour game. No tricks.
    3. The Potato ARG... Just in case you didn't know Valve ran a ARG (alternate reality game) for both portal 1, and portal 2, and in the weeks leading up to portal 2's release it was announced that if enough players played the various games in the "Potato Sack" bundle of games on steam Portal 2 would be released a little earlier. In a burst of extreme optimism thousands bought the bundle, and played like mad, some claiming that the game would be released as much as 2 days before the "official" date. When the game released a mere 3 hours before the "official" date however... Never mind the fact that player who did exceptionally well in those games received the entire valve library for free...
    So to recap. Valve only jumped over the metaphorical pit of fire snakes on a Segway, rather then the magical flying duck that the fan-boys wanted, and now people are whining. I thought we were over this after the whole "wah! I deserve Left for Dead 2 for free! Left for Dead 1 for free to! Screw actually paying Valve employees! ME WANT FREE STUFF!!!" debacle of about a year ago, but apparently I was wrong.
    In closing this is a awesome, funny, original game that took was essentially a 4 hour physics demo, and turned it into a amazing full game. Buy this, get some friends to come over and play the co-op with you, and send Gabe Newell a thank you e-mail :) (It's actually in there! Gabe Newell fears no troll!)
    Expand
  49. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  50. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely hysterical game. There was never a moment where I wasn't entertained or in a state of negative emotion. Portal 2 is an intellectually challenging and consistently surprising puzzler with more memorable moments than I could count. Valve's masterpiece.
  51. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Okay this trolling is getting out of hand. I am going to both review the game and dispell all the lies.

    #1 The game is NOT 4 hours long. It has been disproven by many gaming outlets; Rock Paper Shotgun, 1up, Kotaku, etc. On a speed run it takes about 7 hours to beat the SP.

    #2. The DLC is ALL cosmetic. They do not charge for any added levels so this motion of you are missing game
    content because it costs money for a hat is ridiculous.

    The game is amazing and one of the best and most creative games made. Fantastic voice acting, great story, mind boggling gameplay. Better than Portal 1 in every way and the best Valve game yet. Do yourself a favor and buy it!
    Expand
  52. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished it, after having played, like, 12 hours to get though my first playthrough. Didn't think I would be that slow, not nevertheless!
    This is like, absolutely one of the most amazing games I've played ever. I really, really liked Portal, but I think it's fair to say I liked Portal 2 even more. It's like... Portal 2 is to Portal what Toy Story 2 is to Toy Story... if that makes any sense.
    Some people say they've had some issues with the preorder but I haven't noticed any. Same with bugs. On a few levels I was concerned there was a bug that prevented me from progressing but it turns out I just suck at finding the solution to such things as pressing two buttons to open a gate (I swear, I spent like, 45 minutes on that one...).
    When I give the game a score of 10 it isn't me exaggerating, it is really what I feel this game deserves. The little test-chamber things are still fun (albeit difficult :b), the characters are still evil and endearing at the same time, and the ending made me want to cry. (with joy or with sadness, I'm not sure)
    I am so superstoked about this game and I totally hope VALVe decide to make a Portal 3.

    I'm not sure if this review is at all coherent. The conclusion is: loved this game. Would buy again.
    Checked for spoilers 'cause I'm not sure if the "two button gate" thing is a spoiler.
    Expand
  53. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Everyone who is complaining about the game's length have obviously not played the game, it takes at minimum 6 hours to beat the single player campaign, and just as long to beat the co-op campaign, both of which are extremely high quality and are the most original campaigns of any game coming out this year. Plus this game has so much more content to offer, and has built so much on the fundamental mechanics of the original game. Expand
  54. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    The first thing that really hit me was hearing Stephen Merchant's voice cut in at the beginning. This was the perfect choice from Valve for a companion throughout the game. Visually we still find ourselves in the still-current-just valve engine with a few new effects here and there which look good. The levels are far less generic than the first in what will undoubtedly now become a series of sequels from Valve. However, the tests were too similar for my liking. It feels as if the original genius behind a game with portals was missing and instead the Producer has simple done more-of-the-same but placed it all in a HL2 level this time. It's very expensive for a game easily finished in long afternoon but it's here, and I enjoyed it. Just not blown away as hoped. Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 surpasses the original in nearly every way, from the writing and voice acting, to the scope and ingenuity of the Aperture Laboratories and possible ways to solve its devious puzzles. In the end, the story, humor and presentation linger longer than the actual puzzles this time, and that's not necessarily a bad thing at all.

    If someone's main complaint is the day-one DLC on PC and
    consequently scoring the game low because of that, they're missing the point. If someone is complaining about the game's length, they're obviously playing it way too fast the first time through (because it is at least two and a half times longer) and not only are they missing the point here as well, they're missing out on enjoying the developing story and hilarious characterizations that make Portal 2 memorable. Sure, there are definitely tougher puzzlers out there, but how many are this entertaining? Any worthy negatives I have with this title are few and far between. The graphics aren't anything to go crazy about and the occasional platforming elements aren't as tight as they could be (jumping seems a bit off). The puzzle mechanics are still classic Portal, but the level design does fall victim sometimes to the "Well, we need the player to have a panel they can make a portal in ... we'll throw one in on the wall over there for the heck of it" mentality when you find yourself outside of the test chambers. But really these are minor and forgivable.

    The Portal 2 single-player is an enjoyable ride that will make you laugh in between twisting your brain with puzzles and twisting the plot. The environment, ideas and characters remind me of BioShock's Rapture and Andrew Ryan, but the Portal series stands on it's own. There is truly nothing out there like it today.
    Expand
  56. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The only downside (and the reason this review is 9/10 instead of 10/10) is that It would have been good to have a 'Challenges' mode. Like the 'Challenges' mode in portal1 where you had the 'hard mode' versions of some test chambers in the story game - along with time based challenges. Otherwise, basically a really good game that lived up to the hype, was worth every penny, and wasn't too short at all. Expand
  57. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Absolutely terrific game. I won't spoil anything, but the game is full of witty and dark, sarcastic moments that keep you smiling throughout the game. The length of the game depends, but it took me about 15 hours with exploring. The puzzles are definitely more challenging than the ones in Portal, but you usually get it after trying a few combinations. The writing and the environments are top notch. Stephen Merchant does a very convincing job as Wheatley. I can safely say this is the GOTY of 2011 or even one of the best games of the past 10 years. Definitely worth playing! Worth 10.0 points. Expand
  58. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what the complaints are all about. Unlike a lot of people I didn't obsessively follow the hype machine other than a trailer or two. However I have played through the first Portal 5 or 6 times. Even after you know all the puzzles the first game is just that compelling. In Portal 2 I just got to Chapter 5, and it seems to me to be just as engrossing at the first Portal. The dialogue is just as dark and full of genius as the original, and the learning curve of the puzzles steps you into it perfectly just like the original game. Luckily I played the game for a few hours before wandering into the Steam forums and reading the hate mail. I was astonished to read the things people were saying about this game, even though after what happened with Left 4 Dead 2 I shouldn't have been. Don't listen to the nay saying. There are small critiques even with the most perfect games. Bottom line, if you liked Portal, this sequel will take you back into that world in a very awesome way. Expand
  59. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10/10 not for perfection, but for the sheer enjoyment it has given me as a gamer. Portal 2 is a game that every gamer MUST have.
  60. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews... Portal 2, like it's predecessor, is a fantastic and original puzzle game. The attention to detail, and the design are unmatched in any other game, a real treat!
  61. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    While this game lacks re-playability for me, I found the experience to be fun, albeit short. It's more of the same in comparison to the first Portal which is neither good nor bad. I'm disappointed in this as a full retail release, costing most people around the $55 mark. I think being spoiled by the Orange Box and it's price makes this harder to accept Portal 2 as a stand-alone release. The campaign is short, though it is on par with the length of other FPS. Having a lack of friends available for multiplayer, for the time being, leaves effectively half the game unaccessible for me. It's not a bad game, I just expected more out of it. If you're on the fence about it, I'd save it for a rental. Expand
  62. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Going into the sequel of one of the greatest, most clever games ever made, I was ready to be accepting but still expected a great game. Dealing with expectations, Valve had to both continue the Portal tradition, keeping everything that made the first game great, while also bringing to life a completely new game that wouldn't seem copied. With a beautiful makeover, original humor that wasn't too tacky and over the top, and gameplay mechanics that were familiar yet still refreshing, Valve delivered. Everyone knew that this game could have gone wrong in so many little ways that might have killed it, like a tower so high that it must be perfectly crafted lest it fall over. Portal 2 was fantastically entertaining from start to finish, and the only problem you'll have after playing it is whether you want to jump into the full co-op campaign or start from the beginning again to catch all the wonders you only glimpsed the first time.

    *Note: I couldn't tell which I preferred, as both a PC and Xbox gamer, but I did play this more for the xbox (tried my friends copy on computer first).
    Expand
  63. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game. The total play time for single player was approximately 9 hours, that's moving at a reasonable pace (not rushing and actually listening to the story/jokes) and only getting stuck for 10 minutes a couple of times. If you liked the first one, this new version is sure to please. I haven't had a chance to do the multiplayer campaign yet, but I'm looking forward to it. The new methods of motion are really cool, the fluids are an impressive and interesting addition. If you think the price is unreasonable for the playtime offered, or that the DLC is too expensive, simply wait for the price to come down, or don't buy it. Valve/Steam is really good about offering sales/specials on pretty much everything, so I'm sure there will be some deals in the next 6 months. The one thing I would like to see is a bit more variety in the environments. It's essentially a handful of zone "types" (back room factory, portal training, underground, dilapidated office space), despite this, I thought the graphics looked excellent, source engine or not, but I'm not generally impressed by things like Crysis. Good graphics are good artwork for me, not number of polygons and lighting models. Expand
  64. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Before reading this, the 360 version of portal 2 is lacking a few of the features that the other systems have. That being said, not only is this one of the best games of the year, it has moved to my #1 favorite game of all time. The puzzles are ingenious, the story is top notch, the voice acting is hilarious, and has the greatest ending in any game i have ever played. But valve did not stop there. They added an extra 12 of content with the newly added co-op mode, which is a blast to play around with friends. You must buy this game Expand
  65. May 20, 2011
    10
    There's only one big flaw in Portal 2. ONE. That's it. No challenge rooms. But, by the time you've gotten through the super enjoyable and fairly long single player, then beaten the even harder co-op, you might not care. I won't spoil any surprises in Portal 2, everything I spoil is a glorious surprise fuelled with invention and wit taken away from you. Simply put, the single player adventure is completely brilliant, and the co-op is too. Easily 20+hrs of portal firing, robot flinging, turret killing brilliance. Expand
  66. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges as the first game but instead went more towards story and expanding its universe. Also co-op is really good as well (if you can find the friend). It supports slit-screen too which makes it a little easier. Co-op is fun interesting and worth every single second. Don't listen to the reviews that say its bad, you will have fun with this game, it is better than the first one and its is worth full retail price. Expand
  67. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environment that shifts and changes just as organically as those personalities trapped with you at Aperture. The finely honed atmosphere is abound with tense electronic pulses and physical effects that at times make you feel truly like the lab rat that you are. The beauty of the series, however, is is ever-encroaching feeling of control held within the player despite your arsenal never truly heralding new gadgets. It's the real human sense of inevitable freedom and escape powered by ingenuity that drives the player to complete each puzzle, a trait that Chell is indeed replete with. The main campaign is short and linear (8 hours), but so expertly crafted and dense with character that repeat playthroughs are as necessary as watching BTTF for the 20th time 25 years after it's release. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  68. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Awesome game but.....
    Does anyone else feel like they've already played this game before? The original Portal is easily one of the best games ever made: It was entertaining, had excellent puzzles, was short enough it didn't wear out it's welcome AND it was easy on the wallet. Now Portal 2, while just as engaging and hilarious with some great puzzles DOES wear out it's welcome around the
    three hour mark (where the original ended). The puzzles were still clever but i just wasn't as entertained as I was in the first part and the game felt more like work than a fun experience. Great game, but wait till it drops in price. Expand
  69. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has gone on to make another amazing game, it keeps the feel of the original and brings many new things to the table keep up the amazing work valve
  70. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    If you enjoyed the original, you'll love the follow up. Of all the facets that make the game great, from the intricately woven story to the clean, beautiful visual style, not many games compare when you consider how seamlessly Valve has been able to blend them together. The puzzles are more complex and nuanced than before, the story more extensive and rich. You'll enjoy the co-op as much as the campaign, if not more. The catch? If you're a story buff, it's advisable to check out the original. Otherwise, it's a must-buy for 2011. Expand
  71. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Another absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of the benevolent and comical GLaDOS amongst an array of new and wonderfully voiced characters. Content is also provided in a healthy sum as once the single player campaign is completed, players can move on to the equally as lengthy and outstanding cooperative campaign. Portal 2 Vehemently pulls itself ahead of the crowd and will please newcomers to the franchise along with fans of the Brilliant and innovative first game a like, it is an exceptional game to say the least and will provide endless hours of fun. Collapse
  72. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Have to say it was definitely worth the wait - The story and dialogue were well written, very funny. The gameplay was very creative and varied enough to keep you interested throughout. There is no filler material to pointlessly extend the length of the game. Its pretty much the best game I've played in about 2-3 years.
  73. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Funny, challenging, immersive, entertaining...Everything about this game is perfect.A wonderful follow up to the already innovative Portal 1. It's a must buy.
  74. May 27, 2011
    6
    Because we celebrated the innovation and mind blowing game play in Portal 1 doesn't mean we have to extend the honeymoon to Portal 2 and give it a free pass. I thought Portal 1 was a "10", but with as much time as Valve has had, I don't think Portal 2 deserves high praise. To do so would be just to encourage the lack of innovation and their milking an idea as a cash cow. What made Portal 1 so great is that nothing like it had been done before. Every new mechanic and piece of the environment was being seen for the first time as you played it. Portal 2 would have been more worthy of praise had it been a DLC add-on a long time ago. Now I just question why more wasn't done with it. Using such an intellectual property to claim $60 for one night of mildly entertaining hoop jumping seems not only disappointing, but perhaps even immoral. I feel like Valve really missed an opportunity here to have the community go"Wow! they did it again!...unbelievable!...no one would have expected them to introduce these types of (characters/creatures/guns/environments/online game types/droid customizations/gadgets...etc.)!" Bottom line...instead I am left saying rather wistfully...oh...they did it again. Expand
  75. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    the BEST singleplayer i have played
    great puzzles, hilarious dialouge, awesome characters, and a very satisfying ending. i seriously recommend this game, especially if you have someone to play co op with!
  76. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    If you liked Portal then you'll love Portal 2! It's just like Portal only bigger with more puzzles, characters, obstacles, and the return of GLaDOS! Another feature that makes Portal 2 better is the all-new co-op mode, P-Body and Atlas are well designed characters and it's fun to play Portal 2 with a buddy. Overall the game is amazing and a well improvement over the previous Portal despite the short campaign and repeated auto saves. Worth it on any console! Expand
  77. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer has interesting puzzles that are always challenging but never feel impossible as well as an improved story. Singleplayer alone would make the game worth buying but with the added co-op the game increases its replay value. A must have for fans of the original, fans of puzzle games, or fans of good games in general.
  78. Apr 19, 2011
    5
    Negatives: Too short - took me 5 hours because it is too easy. Dated graphics. Price is too high for such a short game. It took them how long to develop the game and the graphics are the same as Portal 1? Positives: Humor was good and I liked the story. Rating: I'm only giving it a 5 because it is another game that could have been great, but has been rushed and dumbed-down for the masses. Also too expensive. Expand
  79. Apr 19, 2011
    3
    While the voice acting is top notch, and GladOS is creepy as ever, I feel as though I've been taken advantage of. I blasted through the single player campaign in about 5 1/2 hours, and while it was a joyous 5 hours I don't think it was worth $50. And while I have heard that the co-op will add several more hours of game play, I found it to be buggy, laggy, and overly complicated at best. And if you're not a fan of having to play well with others, you've severely overpaid for the game. The sub-par graphics combined with short duration and high price cause me to tell people to stay away from Portal 2 until it hits the bargain bin. Expand
  80. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand
  81. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I have played Portal like a die hard fan. Sure this game has flaws same as any other game. This game is a great refresher from the typical first person shooters that most people are playing now a days. The campaign for me took about 7 hours single and 4 hours Co-op. That is perfectly fine by me. All you people giving this game lower then a 5 because only the shortness? Your so stupid. This game has lots to offer even after its done, sit down and play with a friend or family member. Or play on line with someone who hasnt played yet for a whole new experience. Just because its short doesnt mean its a 3 or even a 4. The gameplay is solid and everything works just fine. Did you buy Bioshock because you thought you could play it over and over again? NO! you bought it because its a freaking good game! This is a single player title. (with some coop) so dont be disappointed when you beat the game in 5 hours, you bought a great game that will be nice to pop in one day and play with a friend. Sorry this was really jumpy but im just tired of the "ranters" bashing this game on the length. Its a great game so just buy it so you can have your brain melt in happiness like I did. Expand
  82. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    The sequel to Valve's smash hit "Portal," Portal 2 is a lot of the same. The humor and excellent puzzle platforming has improved, and the graphics have received a few improvements. The ending was excellent, and it's refreshing to see a Valve game end without a cliffhanger. The game does quickly get repetitive, especially around the halfway point. Lack of cross-platform co-op and Steam support seriously hurt the 360 version's score. Expand
  83. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was one of the best puzzle games of this generation, even by Valve's standards. Improving upon it's predecessors in a verity of ways. It keeps things fresh with great pacing and the characters are lovable enough to make you play through the game twice (possibly three) to hear the dialogue you may have missed the first time through. It's a must buy to any console or PC owner.
  84. Apr 20, 2011
    1
    If you have multiple systems, avoid the Xbox version, it's by far the worst of the bunch, the worst visuals, and many key features missing.

    The PS3 version comes with free user-content, steamworks, a PC/Mac copy, cloud saving etc..
  85. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best puzzle game I have ever played. It goes above and beyond Portal in so many ways, improving it in every single aspect. It has amazing level design (like almost every Valve game), hard puzzles and a huge amount of variety. It also has a very good story that fits nicely in the Portal and Half Life universe. Finally it has the best voice acting and script I have ever seen. It combines a brilliant British comedian/actor named Steven Merchant and clever and funny dialogue making it one of the most enjoyable games to listen to. And that is just single player, it also has a very lengthy and enjoyable co-op. I recommend Portal 2 to anyone. Expand
  86. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  87. Apr 20, 2011
    4
    To sum it up this game DOES NOT deserve all of the praise it's been getting. Not to say that it's completely undeserving but it should not be at a 94. Like other people have said this is a 10 hour experience, single player and co-op, it has absolutely no replay value so basically you go through everything once and your done, great way to spend $60. The game is also getting praised for its story, the game should be getting no praise for this what so ever. The story sucks, it's paper thin and on top of that it's predictable. The critics reviewing this are absurd, they're grasping at straws trying to make it seem like the story has some profound depth and that the characters go through some deep emotional development, to say that the game has these qualities would be a lie. They also conveniently forgot to mention the length, any other game they would've more than gladly mentioned the 10 hour completion time but not in this case, the almighty Portal can't have any flaws can it? Overall this game is vastly overrated, it does have good design and it has personality, but does it represent the medium at its best? Hell no. I would've given it a higher score but the critics and Portal fanboys made me hate it. Food for thought, aren't critics essentially Portal fanboys? Expand
  88. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 came as a complete surprise to me, having not played the first yet I may have done myself a injustice but this game is fun as hell best game of 2011 for me so far. I bought mortal kombat also but i cant put portal 2 down to play it
  89. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I genuinely can't understand how people are panning this game! Who cares if it's like portal 1? Portal 1 was an awesome game! And they've now added co-op. What is there to complain about? It's got witty humour, clever puzzles and more of a story. If you enjoyed the 1st then basically I would ignore what other people said and go for it. I personally thought the graphics are good, and Stephen Merchant does an excellent job at voice acting. My only bug is it doesn't have the advanced puzzle mode as in the 1st game so the playability isn't quite as high. Expand
  90. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    A masterpiece erected over its predecessor's foundations, Portal 2 stands as a monument to game design. Brilliant voice acting, wry, understated humor, and a plot that manages to provide back-story even as it surprises with twists and provides context for new mechanics all serve to elevate the brilliant core gameplay, culminating in a experience best summarized as What A Sequel Should Be. The game starts in familiar territory, reacquainting the player with the portal gun and slowly layering in the complexity. The first couple hours bring players up to speed with the original's features, but by the end of the game you'll be working with launchers, turrets, barriers made of light, tractor beams, and several flavors of gel: one that reduces friction, one that amplifies jumps, and one that paints surfaces, allowing portals to be fired on anything it touches. Puzzles are elegant and satisfying throughout the game, but those near the end are particularly imaginative and challenging. Equally important to the game's success is the addition of a versatile cooperative mode, wherein players take on the role of a pair of testing robots, each armed with its own portal gun, and team up to solve puzzles that would be impossible to solve alone. Levels are accessed through a central hub divided into 5 sets of rooms, the first four focusing on specific concepts and mechanics in a manner similar to the single-player campaign's progression, with the 5th appearing once the first four have been mastered. From the hub, players can access and replay any level they've completed, or pick up where they left off, and returning to the hub is as simple as pausing the game and selecting the correct option. The cooperative puzzles are at least as engaging than those found in the single-player mode, and though the plot is essentially a monologue by GLaDOS peppered with context-sensitive commentary, the ride is nevertheless enjoyable.

    That said, however, Portal 2 is not for everyone. An inordinate amount of negative user reviews are surfacing here, most of which give the game a "0" for being too hard, too short, not pretty enough, or as a blatant and admitted effort to counteract the "fan boys" and produce an average that better reflects what it "should." For the sake of clarity, I'd like to address a few of those issues below, from a different, and, I hope, less biased perspective. In my estimation, Portal 2 is far from a mediocre game, but most people will either love it or (apparently) hate it. And so, a disclaimer:

    FPS fans accustomed to more conventional titles -- Halo, Call of Duty, BattleField, and all the many copycats -- may find Portal 2's focus on platforming and solving puzzles to the exclusion of explosive eye-candy and wanton violence a bit off-putting. Similarly, solitary gamers and those conditioned for competitive multiplayer may find the game a little short. The single-player campaign takes about 6 hours to complete, with the multiplayer campaign (Split Screen, System Link, or over Xbox Live) taking about as long, assuming the player plays each level once and only once. Resultantly, those without a friend to play with and lacking Xbox Live may feel short-changed, and players expecting an endless online frag-fest with every game that supports online multiplayer will find themselves similarly disappointed. All of the above is doubly true for people with a poor sense for spatial relationships, and those suffering from what I'll diplomatically call a "problem-solving deficiency;" you don't have to be a rocket scientist to play Portal 2, but most people will occasionally need to stop and think about what they're doing -- particularly towards the end.

    Portal 2 is a fantastic game in every way, but isn't for everyone. If you'd really rather not think while playing video games, look elsewhere. Similarly, if you're going to play each level once and be done with the game -- particularly if you don't subscribe to Xbox Live -- there are many titles that have longer narratives. However, most players will find the game undeniably unique and tremendously enjoyable, and many will play through a second, or third time -- particularly with the introduction of the flexible co-op mode. I'd recommend those hesitant to buy at least rent the game before dismissing it -- most will, I think, find themselves pleasantly surprised. Portal 2 is one of the treasures of this console generation, and will be played long after most of its competition has been replaced and forgotten.
    Expand
  91. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was GREAT. I've played the original Portal and although it was not a 'new' experience in Portal 2, they definitely added enough mechanics to keep it interesting. The dialogue was witty and hilarious, and overall a great experience.
  92. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Let me start off by expressing my shock toward the negative reviews I've seen. Now look, the game is not without it's flaws, but few games deserve a 1. I would only give a game a 1 if I bought it, loaded it up, and it came up as a screen that said "Haha, you just paid $50 for NOTHING". I can sort of understand the middling scores, since I can see some of the frustration with certain elements, but frankly, all this rage-posting pissed me off enough to score the game a perfect 10 when I probably would have just given it an 8 or 9, just to offset the people who think that this excellent game deserves a 1 for their stupid complaints, which I shall discredit in a way that also shares my own feelings.

    1) "The game is too short". This is probably the most common and valid reason I've seen, so I'll tackle this one first. First of all, anyone who claims that they beat this in four hours is either lying, has no concept of time, or enjoyed playing so much that they lost track of time. This game cannot be beaten in four hours on the first run. I'm sorry, I don't believe you. The people who say eight hours, I'll believe you, at least for the solo campaign. It took me about 10 hours all in all and I only got stuck about 4 times. Even so, on a speed run, I could see someone completing it in 6 hours if they REALLY knew what they were doing and never faltered. 4 hours on a first play-through is complete bull.

    That being said, it could be argued that 6-10 hours for a campaign is still very short, particularly with little replayability and at full price. I would argue that we generally pay $20-30 for a two hour movie. Two movies would cost about the same and that's only 4 hours. So 6-10 hours of gameplay can be worth the price.

    I say "can" be worth the price, because it depends entirely on how GOOD the gameplay is. If it was 6-10 hours of BAD gameplay, I could understand the complaints. However, the fact that people complained that it was too short implies that they ENJOYED the time they spent with it SO MUCH that the brief time they spent with it simply wasn't enough. So why are these people giving it a 1? If you gave it a 1, I would expect that you hated the gameplay, but if that were so, why complain that it was too short? It's like complaining that your friend's waffles taste terrible while also complaining that they didn't make enough of the terrible waffles to satisfy you. It makes you sound like an idiot.

    So to summarize on this point, I can understand people who think the game is too short to justify the cost of the game. I kind of agree in theory, but frankly, the quality of the gameplay makes up for this to me. Plus, there is SOME replayability. Even if you don't want to play the co-op campaign (which is a lot of fun), you can replay the game with developer commentary (a concept that I think more games should implement because it is fascinating), you can achievement hunt, and, well, you can play the game again. It's a great game well worth playing more than once. I mean, if you have no intention of ever playing the game again, just rent it! That's what rental stores are for. Anyway, enough of that.

    2) "First Day DLC! SACRILEGE!" Anyone who complains about first-day DLC needs to understand two things. First, the DLC in question is purely cosmetic. If you don't want it, you don't need to get it. Second, you need to understand that the AAA video game market is having a hard time dealing with rentals and resellers. By including first day DLC that you can get for free by pre-order it, they encourage their customers to buy it retail. It's an advantage for buying it at full cost instead of waiting for it to be available used. It can be frustrating when this tactic is employed on something significant, but in this case, it was just for silly pointless things, so your argument is moronic and also doesn't reflect the actual content of the game at all.

    3) "The Xbox Version got shafted" I actually kind of agree, but you guys act like that's Valve's or the game's fault. No. It's the Xbox's fault. You think they dumbed down the graphics because they have some kind of vendetta or because they're lazy? No, it's because the Xbox is simply not as powerful as the PS3 or a personal computer and because Microsoft has to make everything proprietary. So yes, it is the weakest release out of all of them, but the most you will notice is reduced graphics and the lack of a bundled PC version. And frankly, if you picked up Portal 2 for the graphics, you are an idiot, and if you want to play it on your PC, you should just buy the PC version.

    Disappointment in one or two aspects of the game is no reason to act like the game gave you cancer. It is a great game. It may be shorter than some retail games, but the content you get during that gameplay is far better than what you would get from most other games
    Expand
  93. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An easy game to score for the amount of enjoyment I've recieved from the game. It's actually about 10 dollars cheaper than other new games to boot and I don't think I've ever laughed so hard during any game. It is seriously a gem. I'll give it a 9.9 because there is no such thing as a perfect game but this comes very, very close. It has its own flavour and is anything but generic. And for people complaing about it being too similar to the first game well...duh. It is a sequel. I don't know what changes they could have made and still have it be Portal. Its just a really awesome refinement and they do add some new elements, also the enviroments are quite different the further on you go. as one of the reviewers said it makes the first one look like the protype it was. Expand
  94. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Stupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much rather have 10-12 hours, or even 1-2 hours of this amazing game than 30 hours of anything less. This game is a masterpiece and nothing less. Game of the generation. Expand
  95. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I've changed my mind, the cost to value is way up. I've been playing this game since Tuesday and I haven't finished it yet. Now my frustration is ending the game, I'm loosing sleep. Fun is addictive.
  96. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    there is nothing wrong with game if you love portal you will want to play portal 2 it is one of the best puzzle/action you could ever buy/own if you like puzzle games get this the ending is so good
  97. May 19, 2011
    7
    All in All, fun game. Unlike the first Portal, however it does not hold your interest as long. I liked Portal 2, but to go as far as scoring this in the 90's, leaves me to believe that most, if not all of these Publishers are looking for Advertising brownie points. The game is not bad, and you will keep testing away as you progress, for the sheer joy of seeing what comes next, but after a few chambers, you start to bore quickly. I miss the old GlaDOS, as she was not over done. In Portal 2, there are times I wish she would stop with the sarcasm and stop acting so human. I do like the new puzzle concepts, but there aren't that many of them and unfortunately the game is much too short. The two play is a nice add-on, but even this doesn't have any replay value. I think I was expecting too much from this game. Expand
  98. May 17, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game that teaches as it goes. No killing, no swearing, just humorous, innovative game play that never leaves you feeling frustrated. Every time you finish a puzzle you feel like you just got that much better at the game, which is a great feeling a lot of games are missing nowadays.
  99. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Valve literally did nothing wrong with this game. It is actually underrated. This game is better than any call of duty (after 4) and it kills any other platformer. Valve wins.
  100. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    The multi-player alone is worth the price -- simply the most mind-bending fun I've had playing couch co-op. The single player campaign is a bonus. The writing is superb, the puzzles are fantastic, and the additions they've brought to the Portal "universe" just improve the game.
  101. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    Another absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of the benevolent and comical GLaDOS amongst an array of new and wonderfully voiced characters. Content is also provided in a healthy sum as once the single player campaign is completed, players can move on to the equally as lengthy and outstanding cooperative campaign. Portal 2 Vehemently pulls itself ahead of the crowd and will please newcomers to the franchise along with fans of the Brilliant and innovative first game a like, it is an exceptional game to say the least and will provide endless hours of fun. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]