Portal 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1007 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I love the story, I love the characters, I love the level design, I love the innovation and I love this game. They better be making a portal 3 because this game blew me away.
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So very challenging, so very fun. Made my head hurt, but for all the right reasons. I never played the first game, but this is truly a work of art. It is so cleverly done and thought through that the developers must be pretty chuffed with themselves. I literally cannot fault this game, except possibly the graphics which aren't amazing, but I'm not that bothered, the gameplay literallySo very challenging, so very fun. Made my head hurt, but for all the right reasons. I never played the first game, but this is truly a work of art. It is so cleverly done and thought through that the developers must be pretty chuffed with themselves. I literally cannot fault this game, except possibly the graphics which aren't amazing, but I'm not that bothered, the gameplay literally compensates for it all. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 really builds upon the originals successes and plants them into a whole new world (in aperture labs of course), making the sequel an excellent companion (hee hee) to the original with many additions. When the single player is done and dusted, co-op is definitely the way to go. Even though the progress is linear, every different person you co-op with yields a different experience.Portal 2 really builds upon the originals successes and plants them into a whole new world (in aperture labs of course), making the sequel an excellent companion (hee hee) to the original with many additions. When the single player is done and dusted, co-op is definitely the way to go. Even though the progress is linear, every different person you co-op with yields a different experience. And with a possible level editor rumoured, it seems as if finally, content powered by the community may finally begin the grasp the creativity of console owners who probably cannot grasp the technicalities of Hammer. Overall, a puzzling package which is a must for any cube, button, turret, and possible motion sickness fan to own. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Valve has a reputation for excellence, and that is shown by their latest installment, Portal 2. An excellent continuation of the gripping franchise, Portal shows just how engaging a puzzle game can be. With a wonderful atmosphere conveyed through the charismatic cast and puzzles that will make your head spin, Portal 2 is a fine contender for one of the best games of the year.
  5. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Containing the complexity and bombasticity of a blockbuster, the charm and cheek of an indie game, the dry wit and sharp dialogue of the greatest of comedies, and the undeniable magic of an offering from Pixar, Portal 2 exceeds its predecessor in every concievable way, and goes on to be one of the greastest games of all time.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The game is brilliant, portal 2 gives you hours of fun, the game have amazing graphics , animations , sounds ,voice acting and soundtracks.The coop mode have a great story too. Talking about entertain and inovation portal 2 is the winner.
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The flaws: replayabilty is low. Now that that's done, Portal 2 is the most complete measure of Valve's genius. The source engine looks brilliant, not realistic, but brilliant. The characters apart from the player are the most enjoyable interesting characters in any game. The puzzles are challenging but never unfair and you get an incredibly lengthy single-player compared to the original.The flaws: replayabilty is low. Now that that's done, Portal 2 is the most complete measure of Valve's genius. The source engine looks brilliant, not realistic, but brilliant. The characters apart from the player are the most enjoyable interesting characters in any game. The puzzles are challenging but never unfair and you get an incredibly lengthy single-player compared to the original. You also are invited to bring along a friend in split-screen or online and do even more, more challenging puzzles. Best game Valve has ever made period. Expand
  8. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This is pure epicness, its the 1st Portal's potential maxed out to the funnest limits, this is Valve doing what they do best, innovate. I have to say playing through this game in both singleplayer and multiplayer was extremely fun and entertaining and it gives me the feeling that it was worth playing this game again and again. Oh, also the great sense of humor from the 1st game isThis is pure epicness, its the 1st Portal's potential maxed out to the funnest limits, this is Valve doing what they do best, innovate. I have to say playing through this game in both singleplayer and multiplayer was extremely fun and entertaining and it gives me the feeling that it was worth playing this game again and again. Oh, also the great sense of humor from the 1st game is triplicated in this game having great fun jokes and awesome voice acting. The new elements added to this game like the light bridge and all the gels are again, amazing. The free DLC they added with the challenge modes also adds quite some value and the multiplayer game is just so fun playing. It is definitely a must-buy and its a great 10/10 Expand
  9. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I am a very "casual" gamer and this was the first title in awhile that appealed to me. i hadn't played the first portal, but the rave reviews and videos convinced me this was a game I could get into. Needless to say, this was a lot of fun. As a bonus, they have a lovely co-op mode that was equally as fun.

    i highly recommend this game
  10. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game. The visuals are stunning.The story is epic and hilarious. The puzzles are mind bending even with a partner. Though the Xbox version is lacking in features in the PC/Mac and PS3 version its still the amazing.
  11. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    One of the most original, funniest, super fun game I have played in years. I haven't had this much fun playing a game since the original Mario Bros on NES. Great job Valve on another stellar game.
  12. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A marvelous powerhouse of story, clever gameplay, and fantastic execution. Incredibly fun, moderately challenging, and very very funny. An absolute must play.
  13. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    First off, I am not a fanboy. But all you have to do to love Portal 2 is look into the details. Doesn't Wheatly's animations seem life-like? How about GLaDOS? Valve spent time to have them Animations, and give them personalities. They don't just stand there and say stuff, they jurk around. They simulate hand movements. They were given deep personalities by Valve. And the stuff they say canFirst off, I am not a fanboy. But all you have to do to love Portal 2 is look into the details. Doesn't Wheatly's animations seem life-like? How about GLaDOS? Valve spent time to have them Animations, and give them personalities. They don't just stand there and say stuff, they jurk around. They simulate hand movements. They were given deep personalities by Valve. And the stuff they say can really make you feel the antmosphere of the Encichment Center. Sure some Hardcore FPS fanboy might overlook these details, because he has never seen true gaming art and is afraid of it. Don't be the fanboy. Expand
  14. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your workingPortal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your working ability with your firends, there really isn't much more you can do. Its fun and you will enjoy it for weeks, but thats just it. Check it out though. Its all worth it for that awesome moment and a pleasent ending. Also the main reason I came on here was the user "downrater" is either a troll or has absolutely no taste in games. He'll give this a zero, all the cods a zero, (but thats kinda understandable considering each new game in series is a rehash of the last one), halo all got zeros, skyrim got a zero, zelda got a zero, mass effect got a zero,
    But the only game he gave a full 10 out of 10 was a World of Warcraft game, that personally really wreaked of suck. I feel like he has no life and has become one of Warcrafts slaves. He can't like anything else sadly.
    Expand
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is by far the most original and interesting puzzle game I have ever played, the game-play, the story is interesting and funny, of the best games of 2011.
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Damned near perfect, one of the few games to tell a fully realised story using only the environments to you play through without ever leaving the first person perspective.
  17. May 18, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Mind-bending and addictive from the first minute. Multiplayer is an excellent addition, although the single player campaign is the real attraction here. The puzzles strike a perfect balance of difficulty and accessibility, but the game is built on character moments and a funny/dark/beautiful atmosphere. You'll laugh, empathize, and be totally immersed. Nothing isAbsolutely incredible. Mind-bending and addictive from the first minute. Multiplayer is an excellent addition, although the single player campaign is the real attraction here. The puzzles strike a perfect balance of difficulty and accessibility, but the game is built on character moments and a funny/dark/beautiful atmosphere. You'll laugh, empathize, and be totally immersed. Nothing is perfect, but this title's flaws are too minor to even mention, so 10/10. Don't miss this one. Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game with fantastic challenges, witty dialogue, a score of hidden Easter eggs and references, and a fluid story line. It was perhaps a little shorter than I wanted it to be, but only because I had such a great time playing it.
  19. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A brilliant sequel to an incredibly innovative game, this is one of the purest, most focused games I've played on this console. A true masterpiece combining fast paced visuals, an intense soundtrack, and a driving story-line. A must play for any 360 owner. The only drawback to this game is that it is very short, so much so that I cannot give it a perfect rating. Find it in a discountA brilliant sequel to an incredibly innovative game, this is one of the purest, most focused games I've played on this console. A true masterpiece combining fast paced visuals, an intense soundtrack, and a driving story-line. A must play for any 360 owner. The only drawback to this game is that it is very short, so much so that I cannot give it a perfect rating. Find it in a discount bin for a good price and than I would give it a 10. Expand
  20. May 19, 2012
    10
    The best FPS ive played since Wolfenstein 3D. A game with exceptional storytelling, pace, difficulty balance and game mechanics, and yet great entertainment. I was very happy at the end and expected nothing more when the game presented me with one of the prettiest endings I've seen in a game. Thank you very much Valve.
  21. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Overall Portal 2 is a very fun game. The dialog is very comical and the puzzles can get very complicated and provide a sense of satisfaction once completed. The game is much longer than the original Portal, and provided me with hours of entertainment. I also highly enjoyed the multiplayer which is also very long and still puzzling and can provide tons of entertainment if you areOverall Portal 2 is a very fun game. The dialog is very comical and the puzzles can get very complicated and provide a sense of satisfaction once completed. The game is much longer than the original Portal, and provided me with hours of entertainment. I also highly enjoyed the multiplayer which is also very long and still puzzling and can provide tons of entertainment if you are cooperative. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys puzzle games. Expand
  22. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    It was, a perfect sequel. The story was comical yet mind-blowingly difficult at sometimes! It had just long enough to get the story fitted in, making it action-packed and fast-paced, which most gamers need with their shorter attention spans. The story is memorable, funny, sad, tragic, and even a little romantic. It all blends together into a perfect game! And the Multiplayer mode is soIt was, a perfect sequel. The story was comical yet mind-blowingly difficult at sometimes! It had just long enough to get the story fitted in, making it action-packed and fast-paced, which most gamers need with their shorter attention spans. The story is memorable, funny, sad, tragic, and even a little romantic. It all blends together into a perfect game! And the Multiplayer mode is so sophisticated, yet, I have still to see a bug or glitch. I tried all the different taunts, and even found how easy it is to play with a stranger! (Although I highly recommend you do play with a friend). It was very entertaining, and I recommend that all gamers should try it! Expand
  23. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    This game is truly a masterpiece in both story and game play. The story will keep you laughing and satisfied through out. The game gives you tons of those satisfying moments where after tons of guessing and failed attempts you figure out the puzzle and continue forward. The multi-player keeps the fun going with a decent plot and more challenging puzzles. My complaints are that theThis game is truly a masterpiece in both story and game play. The story will keep you laughing and satisfied through out. The game gives you tons of those satisfying moments where after tons of guessing and failed attempts you figure out the puzzle and continue forward. The multi-player keeps the fun going with a decent plot and more challenging puzzles. My complaints are that the multi-player can easily be ruined if you join the game with some complete idiot because you don't have a friend to play with. It can also be ruined by not having a friend to partner up with to play the game who hasn't already played through the game. Expand
  24. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    This game, and its prequel, shows to us that resolving puzzles can be a lot funnier killing soldiers or monsters with guns. Even with only three characters speaking, Portal 2 has one of the best narrative in FPG.
    GOOD THINGS:
    Puzzles more difficult, Co-op mode, GLaDOS.
    BAD THINGs:
    Chell still doesn't speak.
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Valve has taken an idea and fully elaborated on it. Some greatest puzzle solving madness ever to grace video games. The game is a little short but that's okay. If this was a 20+ hour single-player experience the game may become tedious and repetitive. The story is somewhat dark and engrossing and really allows the player to become enthralled with the game. Not toAbsolutely amazing. Valve has taken an idea and fully elaborated on it. Some greatest puzzle solving madness ever to grace video games. The game is a little short but that's okay. If this was a 20+ hour single-player experience the game may become tedious and repetitive. The story is somewhat dark and engrossing and really allows the player to become enthralled with the game. Not to mention the spectacular (and difficult) co-op campaign. From exploring the modern day Aperture Sciences and then on to the fictional company's weird past, everything in Portal 2 is an absolute joy. 10/10 Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This is an amazing game, top 10. It has fun, but challenging, obstacles and challenges that make you want more. And for those who want more, the multiplayer is a whole other campaign! Cleverness of gaming has ceased to amaze from Valve. It also has great voice acting and fantastic music, as well as good graphics. Unfortunately, after you beat this the only thing left is the FREE DLC, whichThis is an amazing game, top 10. It has fun, but challenging, obstacles and challenges that make you want more. And for those who want more, the multiplayer is a whole other campaign! Cleverness of gaming has ceased to amaze from Valve. It also has great voice acting and fantastic music, as well as good graphics. Unfortunately, after you beat this the only thing left is the FREE DLC, which is amazing, and then what? Expand
  27. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I played this game two years ago. But you know why I review it now? Simple. Portal 2 is, in my opinion, the best game ever made. No game has left me so much hungry for more than Portal 2. It had a considerable duration, an emotional grappling, a clever script, an engaging gameplay with a cooperative campaign that is just as fun, and in my opinion, Valve's finest (And Valve has got its fineI played this game two years ago. But you know why I review it now? Simple. Portal 2 is, in my opinion, the best game ever made. No game has left me so much hungry for more than Portal 2. It had a considerable duration, an emotional grappling, a clever script, an engaging gameplay with a cooperative campaign that is just as fun, and in my opinion, Valve's finest (And Valve has got its fine stuff, ain't it?).
    Portal 2 takes off from the simple premise that the exquisitely evil GLADoS (One of the best villains in video game history, and there is no way to argue that) has got you again in the Aperture Science testing facility. The facility is tearing apart, and you, Chell, are trapped in there for a lifetime, or at least that is what GLADoS thinks. Along with you, a new divine character joins this adventure, a robot called Wheatley. Oh my god! IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER!
    The turrets, GLADoS, Wheatley.... Even Aperture's CEO Cave Johnson. You will not forget these characters. They are all full of wit and hilarity, and they really attach to you in an emotional ride, and that is the best way to describe Portal 2. It gets better when we talk about gameplay.
    The original Portal was well-known by its innovative gameplay but also its short duration (1 or 2 hours). Portal 2 is a pleasant 8-10 hours ride, which are more than enough for a puzzle game. Still, I had so much fun. Puzzles are harder than ever, and the addition of the three gels make puzzles even more mind-bending. They are indeed challenging, and even though the boss battle still was disappointing in contrast to the puzzles, I didn't care, as I found the ending joyful and made me cry as a little b**ch.
    The story in Portal 2 was never imagined to be as deep. But as you travel through Aperture's decadence, you will realise how dark the plot is turning halfway through the game, with a twist that will break your heart. Why? Because the characters are so well done, the voice acting is amazing and the game is genius at creating bonds within them and you. Even the Co-op campaign, which was really good and also offers a considerable duration (About 6 hours), has a storyline that leaves you on the edge of your seat. The Co-op campaign is a great addition. It really forces you to be cooperative and responsive to the other player, and the two bots you play as are equally as charming, and puzzles are equally as hard as in the campaign.
    The visuals on this game will not blow your wig off, but damn they were impressive. Aperture's decadence is sometimes incredibly detailed, and you will find some scenarios even on Xbox 360 breath-taking. The Co-op campaign doesn't have the same visual dazzle. Still, it wasn't glitchy neither unbearable.
    So, that's it. 10/10. My favourite game of all time. The best thing this generation of gaming has brought, and the best dish Valve layed on his big feast of outstanding game. Portal 2 is so great words can't even describe it. You will soon find yourself hopeless asking for a Portal 3. Guess we will have to wait, but I sure want to hear a turret again saying: "Are you still there?" with its T-Pain style voice.
    Expand
  28. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Genial e a palavra certa para se definir Portal 2, todos os puzzles são muito bem construidos e os personagens tambem, a Dublagem e excelente, e um roteiro incrível, não é dificil dizer que Portal 2 é um dos melhores Games já feitos até então!
  29. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is a creative and hilarious game that everyone should experience, full of clever puzzles, hilarious one-liners, and awesome game mechanics. You just can't go wrong with this one.
  30. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is the best successor the first game was amazing and and this one is far more better than the first as it it was improved in every way this game is a must own the single player was great but it doesn't stop here as there is an amazing multiplayer mode
  31. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the most stupid games I have played in my entire life,Just Kidding,i loved this game,beautiful gameplay,nice humor, a challenging game and the only flaw is that it may be short,Recommend it Expand
  32. May 9, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this game a ten and a short review. It's beyond FUN. I've gotta say, I played it with a friend and had such a laugh it's unreal. The game really challenges you to think and especially on the co-op mode, work together. I'm sorry but letting your friend collect something you need on the far side of the room, holding a button down so he can cross back over and simply letting goI'm giving this game a ten and a short review. It's beyond FUN. I've gotta say, I played it with a friend and had such a laugh it's unreal. The game really challenges you to think and especially on the co-op mode, work together. I'm sorry but letting your friend collect something you need on the far side of the room, holding a button down so he can cross back over and simply letting go only to watch him unexpectedly plummet to his death is beyond laughable, the good thing about it is.. there isn't any frustation, once you know what to do, you just go back and do it. You don't really get penalised for it, the game is challenging enough in my opinion. I couldn't help but love this game and it's very morbid yet entertaining humour! Expand
  33. May 5, 2013
    10
    This Game Is great fun, the single player alone is worth your money, but hen valve also gives and equally excellent co-op story line. the game is an awesome blend of first person and puzzle. a definite buy. don't hesitate. go now.go
  34. May 27, 2014
    10
    I rarely give a game 10/10, but Portal 2 does something which some games like this fail to give, A Comedy FPS Puzzler, its hilarious story, Amazing Puzzles, Unique Co-Op and not forgetting the excellent ending, This game is not only the best Xbox 360 game, but the best game of all time
  35. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games of all time just got better. Can you tell me another puzzle game that has such a rich and enthralling story? Yes it is more of the same puzzles... its portal. The amount of twists and unique ways to complete them however couldn't be better and valve knows exactly how to make a sequel. The graphics are very good and to the neigh sayers. What else would you want?One of the best puzzle games of all time just got better. Can you tell me another puzzle game that has such a rich and enthralling story? Yes it is more of the same puzzles... its portal. The amount of twists and unique ways to complete them however couldn't be better and valve knows exactly how to make a sequel. The graphics are very good and to the neigh sayers. What else would you want? Your in a testing facility, not exactly the open plains with rich detail and colours. Overall, this is one of the best games iv'e ever played and have been enthralled enough to read the comic and look in deeper to the story of Chell from beginning to end.. 10/10. Expand
  36. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    There is absolutely no reason why you should not play this game. It is a wonderful magical blend of perfect game mechanics, a great storyline and absolutely hilarious dark humor. Definitely one of the defining games of the generation and the best puzzle game ever. Period.
  37. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    An absolutely wonderful game, which is as unique as it is brilliant. The story line invites the player to participate, from start to finish, while also offering great entertainment. The puzzles may have you waking from your sleep, and saying I've got it" as they are clever but not unsolvable. A community of puzzle builders will keep your mind working as long as it is willing.
  38. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I've never had a game grab my attention more than in portal 2. I'm a huge fan of valve and this was not what I expected but intrigued me none the less. This game makes you work your brain and that alone is worth its weight. I got this as a gift from my girlfriend who doesn't play video games and I woke up to find her playing this after I fell asleep for about 10 hours. Well done! I am aI've never had a game grab my attention more than in portal 2. I'm a huge fan of valve and this was not what I expected but intrigued me none the less. This game makes you work your brain and that alone is worth its weight. I got this as a gift from my girlfriend who doesn't play video games and I woke up to find her playing this after I fell asleep for about 10 hours. Well done! I am a true fan and I would have never even picked this type of game off the shelf. Expand
  39. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    An incredible puzzle game for just the single player alone. The co-op campaign is the best campaign that I have ever played with a friend. The ONLY reason this doesn't get a ten is the fact that I did find that the second part of three in the single player sort dragged on. Apart from that though, the game is perfect
  40. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    For those unfamiliar with this game:

    Basically, it's like a first person shooter -- except you solve puzzles, and instead of a gun that shoots bullets, you have a "gun" that shoots portals, either red or orange. In the game you are a lady who is under the control of a robot overlords, and you are forced into industrial looking rooms, and made to figure out how to escape. A seemingly
    For those unfamiliar with this game:

    Basically, it's like a first person shooter -- except you solve puzzles, and instead of a gun that shoots bullets, you have a "gun" that shoots portals, either red or orange. In the game you are a lady who is under the control of a robot overlords, and you are forced into industrial looking rooms, and made to figure out how to escape.

    A seemingly simple concept, but a lot more sophisticated than it sounds. You can play alone or with another person. It's really a lot of fun, and endures even more with its excellent voice acting, and post apocalyptic storyline.

    If you like puzzle games, even in the least, then you should definitely check this out. It's definitely a classic. Superior to the first games. Lots of fun.
    Expand
  41. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is a game with a great game with a great story that i just happen to love. Valve always knows what they are doing when it comes to games. Good job.
  42. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    A brilliant game with polished graphics and superb gameplay. The voice acting is great, and the easter eggs make the whole experience worth while. A must buy for video game fans.
  43. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    Quite similar to the original and massively overrated, as all valve games are. It is much more fun to play coop than solo so I recommend finding a friend to play with
  44. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    An absolute treasure.

    This game had made me waste HOURS into. That's how great this game was.

    The story, characters, level design, and overall strategy was pulled off so well in this game.
    The game had some hard levels that were very fun to try and complete.

    This is a game I will most likely never forget and would die for a third game.
  45. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This is one the best non-violent games ever made. It is also the funniest. If you love Pixar movies, odds are you'll also love this game. Highly recommended.
  46. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    Everything is perfect or nearly perfect. Graphics, story, humour, gameplay, soundtrack.
    This is one of the few games worth purchasing for every kind of player, even if you aren't normally attracted by this genre, you should give it a try. It is probably the best puzzle game ever made and one of the funniest co-op experiences.
  47. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    Portal 2 is Portal 1, but better, the aesthetics do a great job of setting the mood, the humor is spot on with all of the jokes making me laugh, the gameplay, while the same, doesn't feel the same because of all the new puzzles, and the multiplayer is just as good with new and interesting puzzles.
  48. Aug 24, 2017
    8
    The first thing I should mention before I dive into this rich creation is that if you have a choice between the PS3 or Xbox versions of this game, get the PS3 version. It runs, and looks a lot better on Sony's console. Now, to dive right into it. The graphical fidelity of Portal 2 is much higher quality than that of any of Valve's previous titles. This is because it runs on a heavilyThe first thing I should mention before I dive into this rich creation is that if you have a choice between the PS3 or Xbox versions of this game, get the PS3 version. It runs, and looks a lot better on Sony's console. Now, to dive right into it. The graphical fidelity of Portal 2 is much higher quality than that of any of Valve's previous titles. This is because it runs on a heavily modified version of Valve's trademark Source engine, that adds a lot more detail and polish to the game's look. What is
    also great about Portal 2 is that it is a much longer game than the original, due to the much larger team, consisting of developers behind Left 4 Dead, Half-Life, Tag: The Power of Paint, and of course the original Narbacular Drop team. The game will take you around 5 or 6 hours to beat, much longer than Portal 1's short length. GLaDOS, Chell, and the iconic turrets all return from Portal 1, but a few more characters are thrown into the mix, making your playtime a lot more interesting. The story takes place a good few thousand years after the original Portal, Aperture is a dilapidated mess, and Chell, with the help of another character who I will not spoil, attempts to escape once again. Another thing I have to note is that Mike Morasky's score in this game is fantastic! Much better than Portal 1's admittedly mostly lackluster soundtrack. Now, on to the co op mode. It is very good. You can tell the developers put a lot of effort into making sure both players started thinking with portals and working as one. And GLaDOS's dialogue, in both the singleplayer and co op is hilarious, even better than in Portal 1. Overall, Portal 2 does a great job of expanding and fleshing out the innovative portal gameplay mechanic first introduced in Narbacular Drop back in 2005, while closing off the Portal storyline that began in 2007 in a satisfying, wholesome manner. I don't think that this game is better than Portal 1. There are things that Portal 1 does better than 2, and vice versa. I think that Portal 1 & 2 are equally good. And that's good enough for me.
    Expand
  49. Apr 25, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I played in the last few years. For anyone who likes to solve puzzles and would like to try an experience of breaking with the physical boundaries of space. It's quite funny too.
  50. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    Portal 2 is one of my most favourite games of all time. The story, presentation and gameplay are all fantastic! If you haven't already played this game. GET IT!
  51. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    The game Portal 2 is a console game usually played on the XBOX 360, PS3, or PC. The game came out on April 18, 2011, although I’ve only been playing since Christmas of 2016, or a few months as I’m writing this. The console I will be reviewing on will be the XBOX 360, the XBOX version of Portal 2 currently is about $30, but most stores offer discounts.

    Some reasons it’s a good reason to
    The game Portal 2 is a console game usually played on the XBOX 360, PS3, or PC. The game came out on April 18, 2011, although I’ve only been playing since Christmas of 2016, or a few months as I’m writing this. The console I will be reviewing on will be the XBOX 360, the XBOX version of Portal 2 currently is about $30, but most stores offer discounts.

    Some reasons it’s a good reason to play on the XBOX is the easy controls, the controls are very easy to use and can be remembered quickly. It is a puzzle game which is also quite short but usually takes a bit of time. After you do beat it you will have additional challenges to play, which I heard could also be quite frustrating. The puzzles can be great for brain development in almost everyone. This could also be a bad thing, if you aren’t patient this probably isn’t the game for you, or kids under the age of 10. I’m not done with the game because of the puzzles, but I am a pretty patient person so it doesn’t bother me.

    Although it is a puzzle solving game, it can be trickier than most. You go through each room with your portal gun, each room gets a bit trickier while trying to figure out where a cube goes, later it is a grey/white companion cube with a single heart on each side. Companion cubes help you to solve the puzzles by laying them on buttons that must have a weight to keep down. You also get the second portal gun pretty early in the game after you finish what I like to refer to as the “tutorial levels”. You aren’t playing the game alone though, the person helping you through the levels is an artificial intelligence names Wheatley. Later you get another one named GLaDOS which makes fun of you when you’re stuck on something. After you do beat the game you get rewarded with a prize and a song.

    Overall, Portal 2 is a great game to get your brain going. The puzzles you have to do mixed with the story line you get along with it. It took little to no time to start it up on the XBOX 360, although, I wouldn’t know for other platforms. Sometimes you do get stuck on something, but more than likely that just makes you want to beat the room more because of the story line that is provided. If you have a busy schedule this is a great game as well, you can save at any point and because it goes by rooms you could play one room at a time, although it does get pretty difficult and addicting.
    Expand
  52. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    I cannot begin to describe this game in a way anyone who hasn't played it would understand, so I'll simply say this; Portal 2 is the greatest puzzle game you will ever play. No other game will have you thinking as hard while laughing your ass off at the silly side character and insane plot.
    Truly one of my favourite gaming experiences and I'll not soon forget about it.
  53. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    Portal 2 is an incredibly clever and innovative game that far exceeded my expectations. Valve has really upped the ante with the franchise, and improved it in every way possible. It has a better story, characters, gameplay mechanics, sound design, and with the inclusion of co-op as the icing on the cake. All these aspects make this a worthy sequel to its predecessor. I absolutely love thePortal 2 is an incredibly clever and innovative game that far exceeded my expectations. Valve has really upped the ante with the franchise, and improved it in every way possible. It has a better story, characters, gameplay mechanics, sound design, and with the inclusion of co-op as the icing on the cake. All these aspects make this a worthy sequel to its predecessor. I absolutely love the hilarious and memorable dialogue between some of the characters; this breathes life into the game, creating an enriching experience. A must play! Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    May 22, 2011
    92
    A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]