User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 934 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 934

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed the first Portal then you will love this. It is full of the same charm as the first game and at moments is absolutely hilarious. There is more variety to the puzzles, but they still have that Portal feel to them. Graphically it is a fairly nice looking game and there is certainly much more variety in the graphics than the first game. Overall, everything has a bit more polishIf you enjoyed the first Portal then you will love this. It is full of the same charm as the first game and at moments is absolutely hilarious. There is more variety to the puzzles, but they still have that Portal feel to them. Graphically it is a fairly nice looking game and there is certainly much more variety in the graphics than the first game. Overall, everything has a bit more polish to it and the controls even feel a little smoother than the original. If the first Portal wasn't your thing then there's not a whole lot here to change your mind. But as I said, if you enjoyed the first game I don't know how you couldn't absolutely love Portal 2. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is aboutMy opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    There's a certain magic that games can't grasp as well as movies nowadays, but portal 2 is one of those games that left me with a good feeling at the end almost mirroring the feeling you get after watching an amazing inspirational movie. I literally said out loud during the credits "This is the best game ever". I would complain about some of the flaws with co-op but the main game is soThere's a certain magic that games can't grasp as well as movies nowadays, but portal 2 is one of those games that left me with a good feeling at the end almost mirroring the feeling you get after watching an amazing inspirational movie. I literally said out loud during the credits "This is the best game ever". I would complain about some of the flaws with co-op but the main game is so great that I wouldn't worry about not getting your money's worth. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Before reading this, the 360 version of portal 2 is lacking a few of the features that the other systems have. That being said, not only is this one of the best games of the year, it has moved to my #1 favorite game of all time. The puzzles are ingenious, the story is top notch, the voice acting is hilarious, and has the greatest ending in any game i have ever played. But valve did notBefore reading this, the 360 version of portal 2 is lacking a few of the features that the other systems have. That being said, not only is this one of the best games of the year, it has moved to my #1 favorite game of all time. The puzzles are ingenious, the story is top notch, the voice acting is hilarious, and has the greatest ending in any game i have ever played. But valve did not stop there. They added an extra 12 of content with the newly added co-op mode, which is a blast to play around with friends. You must buy this game Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    There are very few games that I play from the beginning to the end with practically no break, and Portal 2 is definitely one of them. It is a brilliant game which takes the concept of Portal 1, improves upon it and makes a full fledged game out of it. There is so much attention to detail, which is impossible to describe without spoilers, let's just say that if you stop and look around youThere are very few games that I play from the beginning to the end with practically no break, and Portal 2 is definitely one of them. It is a brilliant game which takes the concept of Portal 1, improves upon it and makes a full fledged game out of it. There is so much attention to detail, which is impossible to describe without spoilers, let's just say that if you stop and look around you for a second, every little poster on the wall, every little prop object in the world, will tell a story. The game is genuinely funny, from GlaDOS cinysm and resention, to Wheatley being a Wheatley. Then there is a second level of humor, ridiculing the world, past and present. Portal 2 will make you laugh, and it will make you laugh even more if you don't just run through the puzzles. There have been rumors circulating around the net that the game is extremely short - it's not. There is no way anyone could go through the game, even if he knew the solutions to all the puzzles, in four hours. My guess would be that on average, it will take more than 10 hours to finish the game. More, if you poke around the rooms. There is no buffer content and it's a roller coaster ride from start to finish. If you seriously dislike this gem of a game, I don't see how you can call yourself a gamer, because it shows brilliance left and right, in it's every single aspect. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    This is no perfect game, but it is an unforgettable experience, and it is because of that I will give Portal 2 a 10. I would have wished for maybe some harder puzzles. That is all.
  7. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    Wow,this game is good. It actually makes you thinks unlike most games today. It is insanely fun,has some of the best characters in video game history,is hilarious and has a great co-op. The only reason some people don't like it is because there too stupid too figure it out or they waste their time playing call of duty all day..
  8. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Simply put, Portal 2 is a fantastic game. Making Portal look like the simple tech-demo it was, Portal 2 adds to the game's universe a much more rich and in-depth story, and a multitude of new in-game elements that I thoroughly enjoyed. The story is one the most well written I've ever seen in a game. The plot twists and character developments kept me entertained the whole way through, andSimply put, Portal 2 is a fantastic game. Making Portal look like the simple tech-demo it was, Portal 2 adds to the game's universe a much more rich and in-depth story, and a multitude of new in-game elements that I thoroughly enjoyed. The story is one the most well written I've ever seen in a game. The plot twists and character developments kept me entertained the whole way through, and the ending of the game was mind blowing. The new characters like Wheatley and Cave Johnson were very well written, masterfully voice-acted, and had hilarious dialogue. The new puzzle elements were a huge improvement. Replacing high-energy pellets with lasers, and adding configurable panels, aerial-faith plates, excursion funnels, and hard-light bridges was a great choice, shifting the game focus from avoiding hazards and timing movements properly, to figuring out the puzzle. i was skeptical about the new paints in the game, but just one puzzle with them I realized how well they fit into the game. Graphically, while Portal too makes some improvements to it's original engine, it's not exactly breathtaking. No Valve games are. However, the design of the levels and virtual destruction of the old test chambers seemed very well built. Some may complain that the game is too short, being only about 5 to 10 hours, depending on how long you take to solve each puzzle, and how much of the game you stop to look at. But I found that the game seemed to be the exact right length, as I felt that if it were any longer, I would get tired of solving puzzles. The co-op aspect is truly a great experience. It's only real downfall is that playing with a complete stranger, or with someone at a different point in the co-op campaign can get tiring. Other than that, I thought that the co-op was a very fun experience. Overall, I though Portal 2 was a great game. The story was fantastic, and the new gameplay elements were very engaging. If your looking for a game exactly like the original, with little story and simple, time and hazard based puzzles, than Portal 2 might disappoint you. However, If you are at all interested in the story, solving test chambers with a friend, or a just plain fun experience, I would absolutely recommend Portal 2. Expand
  9. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your workingPortal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your working ability with your firends, there really isn't much more you can do. Its fun and you will enjoy it for weeks, but thats just it. Check it out though. Its all worth it for that awesome moment and a pleasent ending. Also the main reason I came on here was the user "downrater" is either a troll or has absolutely no taste in games. He'll give this a zero, all the cods a zero, (but thats kinda understandable considering each new game in series is a rehash of the last one), halo all got zeros, skyrim got a zero, zelda got a zero, mass effect got a zero,
    But the only game he gave a full 10 out of 10 was a World of Warcraft game, that personally really wreaked of suck. I feel like he has no life and has become one of Warcrafts slaves. He can't like anything else sadly.
    Expand
  10. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 pulls at the minds of gamers, forcing them to think clearly and remember various techniques in order to complete the level. Amusing and varied challenges offer great incentive to play on and progress to the next level. The new gadgets are drip-fed to players just enough to keep them interested enough as well. The gameplay is just one part of why this game is very impressive, thePortal 2 pulls at the minds of gamers, forcing them to think clearly and remember various techniques in order to complete the level. Amusing and varied challenges offer great incentive to play on and progress to the next level. The new gadgets are drip-fed to players just enough to keep them interested enough as well. The gameplay is just one part of why this game is very impressive, the other being the hilarious dialogue and characters present in the game who all have very interesting personalities and very skilful voice actors. Both the high quality gameplay and the humorous characters combine to make this a must play for anybody who has the means to. Expand
  11. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Genial e a palavra certa para se definir Portal 2, todos os puzzles são muito bem construidos e os personagens tambem, a Dublagem e excelente, e um roteiro incrível, não é dificil dizer que Portal 2 é um dos melhores Games já feitos até então!
  12. May 5, 2013
    10
    This Game Is great fun, the single player alone is worth your money, but hen valve also gives and equally excellent co-op story line. the game is an awesome blend of first person and puzzle. a definite buy. don't hesitate. go now.go
  13. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Nothing wrong with the Graphics.. They are not fantastic but they dont nee dto be.. better graphics would bring nothing to this game.

    The gameplay, audio, and general feel of the game is perfect. It's as good as could be hoped, and the lack of Steam integration doesnt really detract anything on the 360.. Live is already good enough for matchmaking unlike PSN.. so it doesnt need it.. (at
    Nothing wrong with the Graphics.. They are not fantastic but they dont nee dto be.. better graphics would bring nothing to this game.

    The gameplay, audio, and general feel of the game is perfect. It's as good as could be hoped, and the lack of Steam integration doesnt really detract anything on the 360.. Live is already good enough for matchmaking unlike PSN.. so it doesnt need it.. (at least its up at the minute ;) ) would be nice to get the free steam version like the PS3 does.. but even without it its a classic..

    GOTY? Quite possibly.
    Expand
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you liked the first I have no doubt that you'll like this one too. Expect about 8 to 12 hours of gameplay. The yahoo down there who said 4.5 hours must think this is the page for the original. This isn't a game you play for top-notch graphics, so if your opinion of a game is based solely on that you'll undoubtedly come away disappointed. It's funny and just challenging enough to be wellIf you liked the first I have no doubt that you'll like this one too. Expect about 8 to 12 hours of gameplay. The yahoo down there who said 4.5 hours must think this is the page for the original. This isn't a game you play for top-notch graphics, so if your opinion of a game is based solely on that you'll undoubtedly come away disappointed. It's funny and just challenging enough to be well worth your money. Expand
  15. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Another masterpiece from Valve. Portal 2 improves everything on the original, with better characters, better history and a long and quite varied campaign. I can't think in anything wrong but the graphics, that are a little outdated with the Source Engine. The game of the year so far.
  16. May 4, 2011
    9
    Brilliant game, Valve once again have shown why they are such a game-making powerhouse. The game is based on an already tested idea in half-life series and portal 1, with only necessary tweaks done to vary the gameplay. So, basically we have the more the same but better. The strongest point of Portal 2 is definitely its narration and story presented. GLADOS and Whetley banter, hilariousBrilliant game, Valve once again have shown why they are such a game-making powerhouse. The game is based on an already tested idea in half-life series and portal 1, with only necessary tweaks done to vary the gameplay. So, basically we have the more the same but better. The strongest point of Portal 2 is definitely its narration and story presented. GLADOS and Whetley banter, hilarious black-humorous Announcer, an addition of retro Cave Jonhson character...here lies the true power of Valve, because playing is well...as said before, Portal 1 with tweaks. In reality, the only low points of the game and the reason why some of hot headed reviewers gave game bad reviews, are not-so-long playing time. Nothing of big concern, the story is quite long, wraps itself nice and you feel only a little regret that it is over, but not, for example, an anger that you played while eating dinner and it was suddenly over. The second lowdown are simple ,as for part 2 of already developed idea, puzzles. On a commentary track authors actually admitted that it was intentional not make game too hard. With the game 1, it wouldn't be a problem, but with a second release, there must be expectations to have some more sophisticated challenges. Saying as saying, those two arenâ Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has gone on to make another amazing game, it keeps the feel of the original and brings many new things to the table keep up the amazing work valve
  18. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    amazing game absolutely hilarious! I loved the coop it took me about 4 hours with my buddy then the single player kept me interested for hours. I recommend to anyone who can think lol
  19. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Immediately I have to state the flaws of the Xbox 360 version of Portal 2. It lacks few multi player capabilities like cross compatibility which is featured on the PS3 and PC versions, the graphics aren't nearly as good it's PC counterpart or PS3 one at that. But despite these flaws the game prospers by including more than bearably multi player and a story more robust than any ever in theImmediately I have to state the flaws of the Xbox 360 version of Portal 2. It lacks few multi player capabilities like cross compatibility which is featured on the PS3 and PC versions, the graphics aren't nearly as good it's PC counterpart or PS3 one at that. But despite these flaws the game prospers by including more than bearably multi player and a story more robust than any ever in the Puzzle genre. Expand
  20. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's aThe backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's a sequel--what do you really expect?). The brilliance of Portal 1's storytelling came as a surprise to people just expecting an experimental puzzle game; Portal 2, then can only lose points by not having even greater writing/humour/etc. Regardless, Portal 2 improves on the original with a longer and more challenging single-player mode, a co-op mode, several new mechanics, and more Portal humor. It's a great sequel to a great game. If the price seems steep to console users, just wait a while and pick it up later--it's worth your time. Expand
  21. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign. Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen toPortal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign. Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen to them, they are mad about an ARG and DLC that have nothing to do with the actual game), no, the game is not 3 hours long. No, there is no game-enhancing DLC to get upset about, the DLC, which is PC only in the first place, is purely aesthetic and no one who isn't interested has any reason to buy it. Finally, the ARG that took place before this game was release not only resulted in a midnight release on Steam (as opposed to the planned 7am release), it also got everyone who got all of the "potatoes" in the ARG Valve's *entire library of games for free*. There is no reason to dislike this game, and many of the reviews are simply venting frustrations not at all related to the game's quality. It's better in every way than one than the original Portal, save one, originality. And let's face it, that magic has passed, we can't get that moment in time back, so we should enjoy an amazing game for what it is, the best possible sequel to Portal, and the best game of the year so far. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best experience I ever had in a game.
    The humor ist so tremendous I hardly laugh while playing but with Portal 2 I REALLY could not stop laugh out loud. The story is fantastic, lightning up every heart that cares about the aperture universe.
    And I don't really want to even talk about the game-play.... it makes a cover-based shooter with quick-time-event look like a tricycle
    Simply put the best experience I ever had in a game.
    The humor ist so tremendous I hardly laugh while playing but with Portal 2 I REALLY could not stop laugh out loud. The story is fantastic, lightning up every heart that cares about the aperture universe.
    And I don't really want to even talk about the game-play.... it makes a cover-based shooter with quick-time-event look like a tricycle trying to keep up with a rocket heading to a new planet.
    Expand
  23. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I finally had a chance to play through Portal 2 on the PS3 this weekend. The single player campaign was absolutely brilliant. It kept me laughing and guessing the entire time. It was a little short at ~15 hours, but I guess this is actually a lot longer than most single player games! Split-screen multiplayer was an absolute blast...the wife and I haven't had so much fun in years!I finally had a chance to play through Portal 2 on the PS3 this weekend. The single player campaign was absolutely brilliant. It kept me laughing and guessing the entire time. It was a little short at ~15 hours, but I guess this is actually a lot longer than most single player games! Split-screen multiplayer was an absolute blast...the wife and I haven't had so much fun in years! I'd give it 11 out of 10 if I could! Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Everyone who is complaining about the game's length have obviously not played the game, it takes at minimum 6 hours to beat the single player campaign, and just as long to beat the co-op campaign, both of which are extremely high quality and are the most original campaigns of any game coming out this year. Plus this game has so much more content to offer, and has built so much on theEveryone who is complaining about the game's length have obviously not played the game, it takes at minimum 6 hours to beat the single player campaign, and just as long to beat the co-op campaign, both of which are extremely high quality and are the most original campaigns of any game coming out this year. Plus this game has so much more content to offer, and has built so much on the fundamental mechanics of the original game. Expand
  25. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I can't believe that this game has gotten any bad reviews. It is incredibly fun, smart, and hilarious. It is plenty challenging and if you include the co-op mode, which is equally as fantastic as solo, then the length is nothing to complain about. Do not believe a bad review. This will go down as one of the best games of the year without a doubt.
  26. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what the complaints are all about. Unlike a lot of people I didn't obsessively follow the hype machine other than a trailer or two. However I have played through the first Portal 5 or 6 times. Even after you know all the puzzles the first game is just that compelling. In Portal 2 I just got to Chapter 5, and it seems to me to be just as engrossing at the first Portal. TheI'm not sure what the complaints are all about. Unlike a lot of people I didn't obsessively follow the hype machine other than a trailer or two. However I have played through the first Portal 5 or 6 times. Even after you know all the puzzles the first game is just that compelling. In Portal 2 I just got to Chapter 5, and it seems to me to be just as engrossing at the first Portal. The dialogue is just as dark and full of genius as the original, and the learning curve of the puzzles steps you into it perfectly just like the original game. Luckily I played the game for a few hours before wandering into the Steam forums and reading the hate mail. I was astonished to read the things people were saying about this game, even though after what happened with Left 4 Dead 2 I shouldn't have been. Don't listen to the nay saying. There are small critiques even with the most perfect games. Bottom line, if you liked Portal, this sequel will take you back into that world in a very awesome way. Expand
  27. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 came as a complete surprise to me, having not played the first yet I may have done myself a injustice but this game is fun as hell best game of 2011 for me so far. I bought mortal kombat also but i cant put portal 2 down to play it
  28. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Funny, brilliant, exciting, nostalgic and yet still fresh; this game is full of win! Single player is challenging yet fun and able to make you let out a laugh every so often, the graphics are great on PC and the level design really makes you think just what went on, and for how long. Co-op? Same as single player but twice as fun, more laughs and lots of necessary team-work. I will highlyFunny, brilliant, exciting, nostalgic and yet still fresh; this game is full of win! Single player is challenging yet fun and able to make you let out a laugh every so often, the graphics are great on PC and the level design really makes you think just what went on, and for how long. Co-op? Same as single player but twice as fun, more laughs and lots of necessary team-work. I will highly recommend this game to all my buddies - I can't get enough of it; stayed up all night. Expand
  29. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Another absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of theAnother absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of the benevolent and comical GLaDOS amongst an array of new and wonderfully voiced characters. Content is also provided in a healthy sum as once the single player campaign is completed, players can move on to the equally as lengthy and outstanding cooperative campaign. Portal 2 Vehemently pulls itself ahead of the crowd and will please newcomers to the franchise along with fans of the Brilliant and innovative first game a like, it is an exceptional game to say the least and will provide endless hours of fun. Expand
  30. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome story, awesome gameplay, awesome humor, awesome characters, awesome voice over, awesome coop - awesome game. You want to do something good for yourself? Play Portal 2. It is one of the best games I´ve ever played and certainly the funniest one. Now, go and buy it. Otherwise, you´re a moron.
  31. May 1, 2011
    10
    Now let it be said right now that this version of Portal 2 is not the ideal version. Frankly, it can be said the ideal version is the PS3 edition, which comes with a Steam copy for free and allows for cross-platform play. This complaint is only a minor one about the version- not the game itself. In terms of the actual game, there is little ill to say of Portal 2. My single biggestNow let it be said right now that this version of Portal 2 is not the ideal version. Frankly, it can be said the ideal version is the PS3 edition, which comes with a Steam copy for free and allows for cross-platform play. This complaint is only a minor one about the version- not the game itself. In terms of the actual game, there is little ill to say of Portal 2. My single biggest complaint is that the environments sometimes feel like puzzles when they are not, and it results in several absolutely needless deaths. Otherwise, Portal 2 is not only a worthy sequel but also surpasses the original in terms of absolute Aperture Science-style madness.

    The co-op mode shines through its use of something dubbed a "calibration course"- it allows two players to get used to each other and the game's movement style via a simple series of rooms. The actual co-op tests are fantastic in their effective mix of several simple little puzzles forming a much larger and more complicated mechanism.
    Expand
  32. May 16, 2011
    9
    This is the first time in a long time I've spent $60 on a title I completed in about 6 hours and felt it was an entirely justified purchase. Yes, it is a little on the short side. However, the immersion I felt in the Portal universe while playing was unrivaled by any non-RPG I have ever played in my entire life. I was laughing the whole time. The plot twists genuinely caught me byThis is the first time in a long time I've spent $60 on a title I completed in about 6 hours and felt it was an entirely justified purchase. Yes, it is a little on the short side. However, the immersion I felt in the Portal universe while playing was unrivaled by any non-RPG I have ever played in my entire life. I was laughing the whole time. The plot twists genuinely caught me by surprise. The ending was spectacularly over the top and amazing. The co-op is quite brilliant, especially if you and a friend that haven't gone through them before tackle it together.

    The two biggest knocks people throw on the game is shortness and "dated graphics." As mentioned, yes it is a little on the short side. I find it to be a strength the game is as short as it is but there is never a moment the player is not engaged in the universe. I've played some games that last 60 hours and yet 40 of them felt tedious, so I'd much prefer something so completely enthralling from start to finish. I don't get the whole "dated graphics" thing either. Welcome to the era of stock system settings. It's not Crysis; nothing is. I rather like the visuals as they are appealing, simple, clean.

    Ignoring the price tag on the content delivered, it's a solid 11 out of 10. It's a must-play, end of story.
    Expand
  33. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Best sequel i have ever seen.The game after chapter 4 it looks like half-life and this veryyyy good!Not at all boring and the co-op is very smart.Also the quotes ara very funny and also smart.10/10
    Valve knows how to rule the game world!!
  34. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Finnally, a breath of fresh air from all of the bullet ridden shooters. This is an outstanding game. It does involve shooting, but in puzzle type sense. Portal 2 expands on the original in every way. The biggest addition is the new co-op mode, which forces two friends to think with portals. The only complaint is the campaign is a little short, just about 7 hours. It still has the humorFinnally, a breath of fresh air from all of the bullet ridden shooters. This is an outstanding game. It does involve shooting, but in puzzle type sense. Portal 2 expands on the original in every way. The biggest addition is the new co-op mode, which forces two friends to think with portals. The only complaint is the campaign is a little short, just about 7 hours. It still has the humor aspect from the 1st one(and it improves that too) Still it is a fantastic game that i can't recommend any higher Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The game is brilliant, portal 2 gives you hours of fun, the game have amazing graphics , animations , sounds ,voice acting and soundtracks.The coop mode have a great story too. Talking about entertain and inovation portal 2 is the winner.
  36. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game with fantastic challenges, witty dialogue, a score of hidden Easter eggs and references, and a fluid story line. It was perhaps a little shorter than I wanted it to be, but only because I had such a great time playing it.
  37. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    It was, a perfect sequel. The story was comical yet mind-blowingly difficult at sometimes! It had just long enough to get the story fitted in, making it action-packed and fast-paced, which most gamers need with their shorter attention spans. The story is memorable, funny, sad, tragic, and even a little romantic. It all blends together into a perfect game! And the Multiplayer mode is soIt was, a perfect sequel. The story was comical yet mind-blowingly difficult at sometimes! It had just long enough to get the story fitted in, making it action-packed and fast-paced, which most gamers need with their shorter attention spans. The story is memorable, funny, sad, tragic, and even a little romantic. It all blends together into a perfect game! And the Multiplayer mode is so sophisticated, yet, I have still to see a bug or glitch. I tried all the different taunts, and even found how easy it is to play with a stranger! (Although I highly recommend you do play with a friend). It was very entertaining, and I recommend that all gamers should try it! Expand
  38. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games of all time just got better. Can you tell me another puzzle game that has such a rich and enthralling story? Yes it is more of the same puzzles... its portal. The amount of twists and unique ways to complete them however couldn't be better and valve knows exactly how to make a sequel. The graphics are very good and to the neigh sayers. What else would you want?One of the best puzzle games of all time just got better. Can you tell me another puzzle game that has such a rich and enthralling story? Yes it is more of the same puzzles... its portal. The amount of twists and unique ways to complete them however couldn't be better and valve knows exactly how to make a sequel. The graphics are very good and to the neigh sayers. What else would you want? Your in a testing facility, not exactly the open plains with rich detail and colours. Overall, this is one of the best games iv'e ever played and have been enthralled enough to read the comic and look in deeper to the story of Chell from beginning to end.. 10/10. Expand
  39. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    An absolutely wonderful game, which is as unique as it is brilliant. The story line invites the player to participate, from start to finish, while also offering great entertainment. The puzzles may have you waking from your sleep, and saying I've got it" as they are clever but not unsolvable. A community of puzzle builders will keep your mind working as long as it is willing.
  40. May 7, 2011
    9
    I think that this is pretty good stuff. It has nice graphics, an original storyline, and inventive gameplay. Ultimately it is just Lara Croft without guns though.
  41. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges asI don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges as the first game but instead went more towards story and expanding its universe. Also co-op is really good as well (if you can find the friend). It supports slit-screen too which makes it a little easier. Co-op is fun interesting and worth every single second. Don't listen to the reviews that say its bad, you will have fun with this game, it is better than the first one and its is worth full retail price. Expand
  42. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Relentlessly funny, gorgeously designed, and a testament to the power of voice acting, this formidable contender for 2011's game of the year blew expectations out of the park.
  43. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing and should be the game of the year. No, it isn't perfect, but frankly, no game is. This is more of an experience than a game. It should not be missed if you are into, well, bad-ass video games.

    Story: Very good. If you don't read any spoilers, you are in for a treat. Very well acted, with interesting and funny characters. It's nice to find a game with
    This game is truly amazing and should be the game of the year. No, it isn't perfect, but frankly, no game is. This is more of an experience than a game. It should not be missed if you are into, well, bad-ass video games.

    Story: Very good. If you don't read any spoilers, you are in for a treat. Very well acted, with interesting and funny characters. It's nice to find a game with three definite acts with plenty of twists and turns to keep you interested. Oh, and if you say you finished this in four hours or less, you have very clearly missed the point because this game was made to be experienced, not finished as soon as possible. As for myself, I finished it in about 10 hours. I took my time and savored it like a juicy steak. The game never drags and keeps it fresh by constantly introducing new gameplay ideas and twists in the story.

    Gameplay: EXCELLENT. If you thought the first Portal had some great ideas, wait until you play this. They have built upon an already excellent concept and made it about ten times better. Some levels will have you sitting around for ten minutes wondering what the hell to do. And just as you are about to Google "Portal 2 Walkthrough" (don't do it!) you will say "hmmm, let me give this a try" and what do you know, it works. Immensely satisfying. Graphics and Sound: Not really a major concern of mine (I think most 360 games look pretty good), but I would say this game excels in this department. Small spoiler alert, but I just have to say that GEL IN THE TRACTOR BEAM LIGHT TUNNEL THING is perhaps the coolest looking thing in video games to date.

    Overall: I give this game 10/10 for the following reason - I enjoyed every minute of it and I was sad when it was over. It is truly innovative and there is truly nothing out there right now that compares.
    Expand
  44. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    The multi-player alone is worth the price -- simply the most mind-bending fun I've had playing couch co-op. The single player campaign is a bonus. The writing is superb, the puzzles are fantastic, and the additions they've brought to the Portal "universe" just improve the game.
  45. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished it, after having played, like, 12 hours to get though my first playthrough. Didn't think I would be that slow, not nevertheless!
    This is like, absolutely one of the most amazing games I've played ever. I really, really liked Portal, but I think it's fair to say I liked Portal 2 even more. It's like... Portal 2 is to Portal what Toy Story 2 is to Toy Story... if that makes any sense.
    Some people say they've had some issues with the preorder but I haven't noticed any. Same with bugs. On a few levels I was concerned there was a bug that prevented me from progressing but it turns out I just suck at finding the solution to such things as pressing two buttons to open a gate (I swear, I spent like, 45 minutes on that one...).
    When I give the game a score of 10 it isn't me exaggerating, it is really what I feel this game deserves. The little test-chamber things are still fun (albeit difficult :b), the characters are still evil and endearing at the same time, and the ending made me want to cry. (with joy or with sadness, I'm not sure)
    I am so superstoked about this game and I totally hope VALVe decide to make a Portal 3.

    I'm not sure if this review is at all coherent. The conclusion is: loved this game. Would buy again.
    Checked for spoilers 'cause I'm not sure if the "two button gate" thing is a spoiler.
    Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews... Portal 2, like it's predecessor, is a fantastic and original puzzle game. The attention to detail, and the design are unmatched in any other game, a real treat!
  47. May 24, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game!!! The story is simple yet very good and the amazing voice acting and writing do nothing but enhance the game and Wheatly the British robot really steals the show. The puzzles are also much more interesting this time around as well. This time round you get to play with light bridges, gravity tunnels and bouncy and speed gels, and of course the turrets make theirWhat an amazing game!!! The story is simple yet very good and the amazing voice acting and writing do nothing but enhance the game and Wheatly the British robot really steals the show. The puzzles are also much more interesting this time around as well. This time round you get to play with light bridges, gravity tunnels and bouncy and speed gels, and of course the turrets make their triumphant return. These new mechanics add a new level of complexity to the puzzles that make them all the more satisfying when you solve them. That is another great thing about portal 2, the puzzles. They are to difficult that they will prevent you from solving them yet they aren't so easy that when you solve them you won't feel like you didn't accomplish anything. As far as graphics go they are pretty good, i don't know why people are saying that they are really dated. I mean this isn't the best looking game around but it does look good enough to get the job done. As far as length goes it is about 6-7 hours and people who say they beat it in 3 or 4 either used a guide, rushed through the game as fast as they could, or are lying. Some people complain about the short campaign but i think it is the perfect length because i feel that if it had been made longer then it would have begun to get boring and repetitive and to be honest it did drag on a little bit in chapter 7. Co-op is another great addition to the game it adds about 6 more hours of gameplay and what could be more fun then solving puzzles with your friends. So overall this is a near perfect game that i will definitely revisit in the future Expand
  48. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Graphics were awesome, especially lightning. It has an awesome story that will definitely make you laugh and the upgraded gameplay from Portal 1 is just the icing on the cake.
  49. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    nice story,brilliant writing an hilarious steve merchant as "wheatley" and really good lvl design..for me maybe a little bit too easy and too short but despite of that its one of the best games ive played so far..9.0
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I'll state this up front: Portal 2 is a paragon of game design. Everything about this game shows how Valve mastered the data they collected of their audience over the years through Steam and their other games. Portal 2 is filled with great gameplay, satisfying puzzles and some of the best writing you've ever seen in a video game. The character performances are spot on. It's a must buy forI'll state this up front: Portal 2 is a paragon of game design. Everything about this game shows how Valve mastered the data they collected of their audience over the years through Steam and their other games. Portal 2 is filled with great gameplay, satisfying puzzles and some of the best writing you've ever seen in a video game. The character performances are spot on. It's a must buy for every gamer, young and old.

    A lot of people seem to be concerned about the added store for the co-op bots, which I think is unfounded. All of the items are purely cosmetic and is hardly content they cut out of the game just to put a price tag on it. It can be easily ignored. The reason it's in the game is because it has apparently been a success in Team Fortress 2, so I don't mind Valve earning an extra buck to fund their next projects.

    Valve will probably be releasing more free DLC for this game in the future, just like they did with Left4Dead and Team Fortress 2 (a game that's been receiving more than 10 huge free content updates since 2004!). Since the Source SDK is likely to get an update too, the community will get the tools to create maps and puzzles themselves.
    Expand
  51. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The only downside (and the reason this review is 9/10 instead of 10/10) is that It would have been good to have a 'Challenges' mode. Like the 'Challenges' mode in portal1 where you had the 'hard mode' versions of some test chambers in the story game - along with time based challenges. Otherwise, basically a really good game that lived up to the hype, was worth every penny, and wasn't tooThe only downside (and the reason this review is 9/10 instead of 10/10) is that It would have been good to have a 'Challenges' mode. Like the 'Challenges' mode in portal1 where you had the 'hard mode' versions of some test chambers in the story game - along with time based challenges. Otherwise, basically a really good game that lived up to the hype, was worth every penny, and wasn't too short at all. Expand
  52. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I don't know the reasoning behind the people who hate this game. "Theres an in game DLC store!" You cry. No one is making you buy from it. "It's too short!" You scream. It's still one of the most amazing experiences in gaming. Maybe it's just more boycotters. (sigh)
  53. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best puzzles games ever created. Story unfolds much as a movie might, with a plot more complex and entertaining than many movies I've seen. Ignore the complaints and low scores about the high price. The game itself is a quality product and I am more satisfied with what I paid here than most games I spent the same price on. One of kind, not to be missed.
  54. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is nearly a perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Some people say the campaign is too short. I disagree. If you don't rush through it like some maniac you get plenty of campaign. Plus there is the co-op campaign which ads even more. Oh and the story is fantastic.
    How are the puzzles? I found the puzzles to be great. Portal 2 adds a lot of new content to make the puzzles
    Portal 2 is nearly a perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Some people say the campaign is too short. I disagree. If you don't rush through it like some maniac you get plenty of campaign. Plus there is the co-op campaign which ads even more. Oh and the story is fantastic.
    How are the puzzles? I found the puzzles to be great. Portal 2 adds a lot of new content to make the puzzles more interesting. And of course many people are like "omg it was way to easy i finished it in like 4 hours". Yeah let them brag how smart they are (or not), fact is that the puzzles are interesting, challenging and varied.
    All together Portal 2 is a must buy and a Game of the Year candidate.
    Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I cannot deny this is a flawed game- the levels seem to be more simplified then its predecessor, it was shorter than I would have liked and the multi-player is weak (at least on the Xbox 360). That being said I greatly enjoyed "Portal 2", particularly because of the amazing story, absolutely perfect casting of Steve Merchant , and the addition of the gel. If you play this game you willI cannot deny this is a flawed game- the levels seem to be more simplified then its predecessor, it was shorter than I would have liked and the multi-player is weak (at least on the Xbox 360). That being said I greatly enjoyed "Portal 2", particularly because of the amazing story, absolutely perfect casting of Steve Merchant , and the addition of the gel. If you play this game you will finish it with a strange mixture of satisfaction and wanting desire. In conclution NEW "HALF LIFE" GAME PLEASE!!! Expand
  56. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has it all. A worthy sequel to the original. The single player focus on story, the co-op on funny. The best part is the outstanding challenge. Early puzzles are easy, and most can done quite quickly. But later on in the game, puzzles get so intense. The liquid that makes things bounce and slick are a great bonus. It exceeded my expectations in every way.
  57. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Going into the sequel of one of the greatest, most clever games ever made, I was ready to be accepting but still expected a great game. Dealing with expectations, Valve had to both continue the Portal tradition, keeping everything that made the first game great, while also bringing to life a completely new game that wouldn't seem copied. With a beautiful makeover, original humor thatGoing into the sequel of one of the greatest, most clever games ever made, I was ready to be accepting but still expected a great game. Dealing with expectations, Valve had to both continue the Portal tradition, keeping everything that made the first game great, while also bringing to life a completely new game that wouldn't seem copied. With a beautiful makeover, original humor that wasn't too tacky and over the top, and gameplay mechanics that were familiar yet still refreshing, Valve delivered. Everyone knew that this game could have gone wrong in so many little ways that might have killed it, like a tower so high that it must be perfectly crafted lest it fall over. Portal 2 was fantastically entertaining from start to finish, and the only problem you'll have after playing it is whether you want to jump into the full co-op campaign or start from the beginning again to catch all the wonders you only glimpsed the first time.

    *Note: I couldn't tell which I preferred, as both a PC and Xbox gamer, but I did play this more for the xbox (tried my friends copy on computer first).
    Expand
  58. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I genuinely can't understand how people are panning this game! Who cares if it's like portal 1? Portal 1 was an awesome game! And they've now added co-op. What is there to complain about? It's got witty humour, clever puzzles and more of a story. If you enjoyed the 1st then basically I would ignore what other people said and go for it. I personally thought the graphics are good, andI genuinely can't understand how people are panning this game! Who cares if it's like portal 1? Portal 1 was an awesome game! And they've now added co-op. What is there to complain about? It's got witty humour, clever puzzles and more of a story. If you enjoyed the 1st then basically I would ignore what other people said and go for it. I personally thought the graphics are good, and Stephen Merchant does an excellent job at voice acting. My only bug is it doesn't have the advanced puzzle mode as in the 1st game so the playability isn't quite as high. Expand
  59. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Stupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much ratherStupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much rather have 10-12 hours, or even 1-2 hours of this amazing game than 30 hours of anything less. This game is a masterpiece and nothing less. Game of the generation. Expand
  60. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was GREAT. I've played the original Portal and although it was not a 'new' experience in Portal 2, they definitely added enough mechanics to keep it interesting. The dialogue was witty and hilarious, and overall a great experience.
  61. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    It has a hilarious start, great story and involved back story all the way through, new mechanics that are interesting and fun to play especially with others in Co-Op. Graphics and gameplay are still as good as ever with some improvements over the original especially in the way of the script being twice as funny this time round. In short what's not to love about it, think Portal with moreIt has a hilarious start, great story and involved back story all the way through, new mechanics that are interesting and fun to play especially with others in Co-Op. Graphics and gameplay are still as good as ever with some improvements over the original especially in the way of the script being twice as funny this time round. In short what's not to love about it, think Portal with more depth, sure it's easier to play and the 'tests' aren't as challenging, but I prefer to think of that as being used to the gameplay and just getting a little smarter in how to solve the style and type of puzzles. Expand
  62. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a good game but it is not superb. There seems to have been a lot of criticism of the games length but it have found that if you complete both the single player and co op then you will be pushing 9-10 hours. The game play is very impressive and it is refreshing to play a first person shooter that does not require any killing. Some of the stages are really quite puzzling andPortal 2 is a good game but it is not superb. There seems to have been a lot of criticism of the games length but it have found that if you complete both the single player and co op then you will be pushing 9-10 hours. The game play is very impressive and it is refreshing to play a first person shooter that does not require any killing. Some of the stages are really quite puzzling and sound of the air rushing past as you propel your self through the air through portal propulsion. On that note the sound in this game is sensational especially the voice acting. The reasons why this game is a nine and not a ten is that it is a touch short and in places is a little receptive. Portal 2 extremely and defiantly worth buying. Expand
  63. May 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a lot more fun than the original. I don't agree with reviewers claiming the graphics looked dated, it's definitely an upgrade from the first portal. Is it short? Well, it was longer than I expected so that was refreshing, but once you know how to solve the puzzles, you could probably beat it in 4 hours, but I guarantee you your first run through will not be so easy to pull off. Replay value is HIGH, I'm on my 3rd time through. Co-op is good if you have a friend physically by your side, but it's frustrating online. Gaming with strangers causes frustration and game drops
    The GLaDOS wit is back, and when she's not saying snarky/witty things, you get it from about 3 other characters/voices. The developers have added now portal elements like a light bridge, a anti-gravity tunnel, repulsion gel, acceleration gel, and a white portal enabling gel. These new game dynamics change the way you have to experience the game, and it's quite a fun experience as a result.
    The developer commentary wasn't as involved as the original portal commentary, and lacked observations from the voice over talent. But some of the commentary actually flew right over my head because of how technical it actually was.
    The ending seemed to eliminate the franchise, so that's a bummer. But I really enjoyed this game, and will continue to enjoy the game.
    Expand
  64. May 21, 2011
    10
    Pure enjoyment, nothing comes close to beating the phenomenal and thoroughly entertaining 12 hour campaign of this extraordinary series. simply a must have for anyone who enjoys enjoyment.
  65. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an amazing game that will have fans of the series loving its puzzle element and witty humor and in a market over-saturated by military shooters it stands out from the crowd. A true master piece of gaming
  66. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 blends the perfect balance of extremely difficult puzzles with comedy and clever writing. You canâ
  67. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Like I said for DNF (duke nukem forever) different people have different opinions. get the demo and then see if you like it. get the full game. the demo doesn't cost money. all of you who hate the game: YOU SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE DEMO!!!! ) :< its just a waist of money to go out and buy somthing if you dont know what your in for! (I still love the game though.) for those of you whoLike I said for DNF (duke nukem forever) different people have different opinions. get the demo and then see if you like it. get the full game. the demo doesn't cost money. all of you who hate the game: YOU SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE DEMO!!!! ) :< its just a waist of money to go out and buy somthing if you dont know what your in for! (I still love the game though.) for those of you who can't finish it, look up: portal walkthrough part 6 or somthing. do not include or somthing. personaly I don't want to say I like it (even though I do) I just wanted to say its what you decide. PLS use walkthroughs, walkthroughs could save your hope in your game some day! Expand
  68. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 takes the legacy that the original Portal and expands greatly on it. More story, humor, a co-op mode and new things to interact with in puzzles definitely made the game a fun experience.
  69. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Generally a good game, but slightly short. Overall, I enjoyed it. Multiplayer story progression can be thrown out of whack if you play online with someone else.
  70. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I was not expecting much from the game when I heard about it being a retail game, as the first one was included as one of five games in Orange Box and later as an arcade title. However, this game really surprised me and had so much fun with the story and the fun remarks in it, along with the fun new puzzles and puzzle mechanics that I cannot recommend this game enough. This is a blast toI was not expecting much from the game when I heard about it being a retail game, as the first one was included as one of five games in Orange Box and later as an arcade title. However, this game really surprised me and had so much fun with the story and the fun remarks in it, along with the fun new puzzles and puzzle mechanics that I cannot recommend this game enough. This is a blast to play through it lasts long enough if you want to get 1000 gamerscore in it. It was a fun challenge, both in singleplayer and in coop. Coop, btw, is the best coop implementation I have ever seen in a game. This is the first time I really felt like it was crucial to work as a team, and quite fun to do so. Expand
  71. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    First off, let me just say that this game is one of the best i have ever played. The story is very engrossing, and made me feel quite emotional at times, especially the end. The game also has some smart remarks made by the AI. For all of the people who think the graphics are out dated, the aren't that bad. The game is not about graphics, it's about solving puzzles. Anyway, its awesome. 9/10
  72. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    It's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games to give it the fastest possible time as its average. Obviously the graphics had flaws (I did find a couple glitches, including one in Wheatley's 15th chamber that kept me from an achievement), but I think they are still bright, the use of multipleIt's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games to give it the fastest possible time as its average. Obviously the graphics had flaws (I did find a couple glitches, including one in Wheatley's 15th chamber that kept me from an achievement), but I think they are still bright, the use of multiple characters was clever, and the complex story, especially compared to the simple Portal, is absolutely brilliant. You can't go wrong with Portal 2. Expand
  73. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Bigger, Better, Portal 2. I loved the first one and I got to say that this sequel manages to be more even more entertaining in every way you could think of.
    To the german players: The voice actor who does Jack Black in movies gives his voice to the main robotic character of this game.
  74. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I am a very "casual" gamer and this was the first title in awhile that appealed to me. i hadn't played the first portal, but the rave reviews and videos convinced me this was a game I could get into. Needless to say, this was a lot of fun. As a bonus, they have a lovely co-op mode that was equally as fun.

    i highly recommend this game
  75. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is full of innovation. It still runs Valve's signature Source engine, but is still more than competent against other games. The game is full of dark and sarcastic humor. It's funny, but doesn't detract from the story's mid-game plot twists. The gameplay is expanded with physics gels that affect your movements. Instead of cashing in and making Portal a trilogy, Valve made thePortal 2 is full of innovation. It still runs Valve's signature Source engine, but is still more than competent against other games. The game is full of dark and sarcastic humor. It's funny, but doesn't detract from the story's mid-game plot twists. The gameplay is expanded with physics gels that affect your movements. Instead of cashing in and making Portal a trilogy, Valve made the respectable choice of ending the game with a great and nostalgic ending. While loose ends are tied here, I believe there should be more room for campaign-extending DLC. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  76. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A marvelous powerhouse of story, clever gameplay, and fantastic execution. Incredibly fun, moderately challenging, and very very funny. An absolute must play.
  77. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing despite being short. The multiplayer co-op is exciting, the humor is really funny, the level design are great. It's one of the best games I've played in 2011.
  78. May 19, 2012
    10
    The best FPS ive played since Wolfenstein 3D. A game with exceptional storytelling, pace, difficulty balance and game mechanics, and yet great entertainment. I was very happy at the end and expected nothing more when the game presented me with one of the prettiest endings I've seen in a game. Thank you very much Valve.
  79. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the most stupid games I have played in my entire life,Just Kidding,i loved this game,beautiful gameplay,nice humor, a challenging game and the only flaw is that it may be short,Recommend it Expand
  80. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is a game with a great game with a great story that i just happen to love. Valve always knows what they are doing when it comes to games. Good job.
  81. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    A brilliant game with polished graphics and superb gameplay. The voice acting is great, and the easter eggs make the whole experience worth while. A must buy for video game fans.
  82. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 surpasses the original in nearly every way, from the writing and voice acting, to the scope and ingenuity of the Aperture Laboratories and possible ways to solve its devious puzzles. In the end, the story, humor and presentation linger longer than the actual puzzles this time, and that's not necessarily a bad thing at all.

    If someone's main complaint is the day-one DLC on PC and
    Portal 2 surpasses the original in nearly every way, from the writing and voice acting, to the scope and ingenuity of the Aperture Laboratories and possible ways to solve its devious puzzles. In the end, the story, humor and presentation linger longer than the actual puzzles this time, and that's not necessarily a bad thing at all.

    If someone's main complaint is the day-one DLC on PC and consequently scoring the game low because of that, they're missing the point. If someone is complaining about the game's length, they're obviously playing it way too fast the first time through (because it is at least two and a half times longer) and not only are they missing the point here as well, they're missing out on enjoying the developing story and hilarious characterizations that make Portal 2 memorable. Sure, there are definitely tougher puzzlers out there, but how many are this entertaining? Any worthy negatives I have with this title are few and far between. The graphics aren't anything to go crazy about and the occasional platforming elements aren't as tight as they could be (jumping seems a bit off). The puzzle mechanics are still classic Portal, but the level design does fall victim sometimes to the "Well, we need the player to have a panel they can make a portal in ... we'll throw one in on the wall over there for the heck of it" mentality when you find yourself outside of the test chambers. But really these are minor and forgivable.

    The Portal 2 single-player is an enjoyable ride that will make you laugh in between twisting your brain with puzzles and twisting the plot. The environment, ideas and characters remind me of BioShock's Rapture and Andrew Ryan, but the Portal series stands on it's own. There is truly nothing out there like it today.
    Expand
  83. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10/10 not for perfection, but for the sheer enjoyment it has given me as a gamer. Portal 2 is a game that every gamer MUST have.
  84. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Great game :D Great follow up from the 1st one. Peeps saying it to short are talking crap 10 Hrs is good going for a game, when most of the new games you can do in 5hrs. Valve are and always be one of my fav game Devlopers.
    To the guys who posted this
    "db89 -I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but
    Great game :D Great follow up from the 1st one. Peeps saying it to short are talking crap 10 Hrs is good going for a game, when most of the new games you can do in 5hrs. Valve are and always be one of my fav game Devlopers.
    To the guys who posted this

    "db89 -I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu,"

    Man Up mate the first Portal was easy and done it in 3 hours.
    Expand
  85. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    people who are whining about the game taking 4+4 hours to beat..this is **** **** time i've beaten it in around 12 hours (the campaign i mean ) , started a second playthrough while knowing all the puzzles solutions and I didn't even come close to 4 hours . Its a couple of hours longer than that . Oh , I guess you ,trolls , are somewhat intelectually advanced and made it in 4 hours..srewpeople who are whining about the game taking 4+4 hours to beat..this is **** **** time i've beaten it in around 12 hours (the campaign i mean ) , started a second playthrough while knowing all the puzzles solutions and I didn't even come close to 4 hours . Its a couple of hours longer than that . Oh , I guess you ,trolls , are somewhat intelectually advanced and made it in 4 hours..srew you , trolls. stop whining like little kidoes and play the game and enjoy it cause its awesome . Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Funny as hell, pissing off people with optional DLC, great cinematic gameplay, cool and challenging puzzles, coop is fun, great ending, the song was good, loads of easter eggs.

    Great job Valve, most fun I've had in a video game in a looooooooong time.
  87. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Although the game is rather short, it is just amazing. The plot is immersive enough that once you sit and start play, you don't want to stop. The graphics are fine - even though the Source Engine is quite old right now, it's still amazing what it can do in regard of physics and graphics. 10/10.
  88. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The game play is smooth and the humor is amazing. I was smiling throughout the whole play-through.
    Highly recommend this to anyone. I have yet to try the co-op feature, I bet it will be amazing considering all the hype Valve has been putting on it.
  89. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    none of the negatives actually played it, the campaign is upwards of 8 hours and is entertaining and enjoyable to boot, the physics work perfectly and the comedy is unmistakably valve. This is actually probably their best game. Source has aged well and the voice acting is spectacular. Everything in this game is excellent and should be enjoyed. Just wish Microsoft had allowed valve tonone of the negatives actually played it, the campaign is upwards of 8 hours and is entertaining and enjoyable to boot, the physics work perfectly and the comedy is unmistakably valve. This is actually probably their best game. Source has aged well and the voice acting is spectacular. Everything in this game is excellent and should be enjoyed. Just wish Microsoft had allowed valve to use their cross compatibility with steam. That is my only complaint. Expand
  90. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Great game! Played it and loved it on PC... People giveing it low marks are evil internet trolls who havent even played the game. Amazing voice acting!
  91. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Incredibly funny and smart game, really doesn't deserve to be punished for Valve's bad handling of the ARG. The story, while different from Portal 1, is simply one of the best of the current games. Must buy.
  92. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a relatively short single player excursion, though I can't figure a way they could have extended it without ruining the fantastic story. I think the possibility of DLC for this game as Valve is famous for added content will make it a long lived adventure much like Team Fortress is. The coop has some amazing features which take it to the next level such as picture in picture andPortal 2 is a relatively short single player excursion, though I can't figure a way they could have extended it without ruining the fantastic story. I think the possibility of DLC for this game as Valve is famous for added content will make it a long lived adventure much like Team Fortress is. The coop has some amazing features which take it to the next level such as picture in picture and a fantastic waypoint system which makes it much easier to work with friends to complete missions. If you're not a people person, and can't stand short stories (even with great replayability) then this game might not be for you. The ways in which Valve continues to push the Source engine is amazing. Graphics are surprisingly good on an aging engine. Simply compare Counter Strike: Source running at full with Portal 2 running at full and the difference is apparent.

    On the whole a wonderful experience I will probably never forget.
    Expand
  93. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game is superior to the original Portal. That's a rare thing. Writing, design, and gameplay are all top-notch. I could whine about day 1 dlc if I was superdramatic and spoiled, but I am not. This game is fantastic.
  94. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the trolls. The single player is 8 hours long for a skilled portal veteran. There are several new gameplay elements, most of which take effect around hour 2 or 3. The first few levels are the same or similar to Portal 1 but serve to ease you back into the gameplay and tour the broken down facility. All the characters are incredibly voiced and even have a bit ofDon't listen to the trolls. The single player is 8 hours long for a skilled portal veteran. There are several new gameplay elements, most of which take effect around hour 2 or 3. The first few levels are the same or similar to Portal 1 but serve to ease you back into the gameplay and tour the broken down facility. All the characters are incredibly voiced and even have a bit of development during the course of the story. This is not a console port, the game is beautiful with NO bugs, glitches, or broken sections (well not broken from a gameplay stance). The DLC is just skins to amuse yourself in co-op and dont really add to the game or take away from it. YOU WILL NOT miss anything if you avoid the DLC. Best game of the year and the decade. At least untill Half Life 3 comes out. Expand
  95. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Far longer than the first one, (10 long chapters!!) a lot of surprises, lot of news. This time the game always switch between rooms and maintenance. Glados was really funny. 10/10
  96. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Great controls, great puzzles, funny as hell. Every thing I liked about the first Portal only bigger and better. Yes the game is still a bit short but that's why there is co-op. This game will keep me entertained long after the first play through.
  97. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantlyLet me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantly written, produced and constructed. The dialogue in this game is second to none while the story has you reliving your journey from the first and succeeds on all levels. If you're on the ropes, buy this game! Expand
  98. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the haters in regards to this title. It's a beautiful, well designed game that plays and looks great on any platform. Yes, PC graphics are better if you happen to own a nice PC, but the console graphics are also very good.

    The gameplay additions are a great progression from the first game and the voice talent is unmatched. Stephen Merchant in particular deserves special
    Don't believe the haters in regards to this title. It's a beautiful, well designed game that plays and looks great on any platform. Yes, PC graphics are better if you happen to own a nice PC, but the console graphics are also very good.

    The gameplay additions are a great progression from the first game and the voice talent is unmatched. Stephen Merchant in particular deserves special recognition for work. Hilarious.

    The single player game length is longer than some other recent retail releases (*cough Homefront cough*), coming in at least 7 or 8 hours, longer if you're me and the multiplayer is a blast. All of you who are angry about the ARG viral marketing or about the purely cosmetic and optional DLC, get over yourselves. Valve is a company who has proven since before most of you could even play video games that they are a developer who puts out quality products, showers their users with free goodies and truly understands what gamers want.

    Yes, there are longer games out there, but few that play as well and are as enjoyable as this one. I'll take this sort of quality over an extra two hours of filler every day.
    Expand
  99. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Absolutely terrific game. I won't spoil anything, but the game is full of witty and dark, sarcastic moments that keep you smiling throughout the game. The length of the game depends, but it took me about 15 hours with exploring. The puzzles are definitely more challenging than the ones in Portal, but you usually get it after trying a few combinations. The writing and the environments areAbsolutely terrific game. I won't spoil anything, but the game is full of witty and dark, sarcastic moments that keep you smiling throughout the game. The length of the game depends, but it took me about 15 hours with exploring. The puzzles are definitely more challenging than the ones in Portal, but you usually get it after trying a few combinations. The writing and the environments are top notch. Stephen Merchant does a very convincing job as Wheatley. I can safely say this is the GOTY of 2011 or even one of the best games of the past 10 years. Definitely worth playing! Worth 10.0 points. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]