User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 900 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 900

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DME
    May 5, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is one of those games you will remember for years to come. It's quite simply a masterpiece. The voice acting is perfect and the dialogue is downright hilarious. There's also plenty of eastereggs scattered throughout the game and a very challenging cooperative mode. The only downfall is the retail price. If that's the problem, then rent it or borrow it. One cannot simply pass this game up. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely hysterical game. There was never a moment where I wasn't entertained or in a state of negative emotion. Portal 2 is an intellectually challenging and consistently surprising puzzler with more memorable moments than I could count. Valve's masterpiece.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    If you liked Portal then you'll love Portal 2! It's just like Portal only bigger with more puzzles, characters, obstacles, and the return of GLaDOS! Another feature that makes Portal 2 better is the all-new co-op mode, P-Body and Atlas are well designed characters and it's fun to play Portal 2 with a buddy. Overall the game is amazing and a well improvement over the previous Portal despite the short campaign and repeated auto saves. Worth it on any console! Expand
  4. May 20, 2011
    10
    There's only one big flaw in Portal 2. ONE. That's it. No challenge rooms. But, by the time you've gotten through the super enjoyable and fairly long single player, then beaten the even harder co-op, you might not care. I won't spoil any surprises in Portal 2, everything I spoil is a glorious surprise fuelled with invention and wit taken away from you. Simply put, the single player adventure is completely brilliant, and the co-op is too. Easily 20+hrs of portal firing, robot flinging, turret killing brilliance. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I've only scratched the surface of this game, but I already feel as though I've gotten my money's worth ten times over. The only reason I'm not rating this a 9 instead of a perfect 10 is purely because I haven't finished it yet, and because it doesn't come wrapped in bacon and/or dipped in chocolate. Otherwise all indications point to this being a true masterpiece and certainly one of the top games of 2011 if not all time. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Nothing wrong with the Graphics.. They are not fantastic but they dont nee dto be.. better graphics would bring nothing to this game.

    The gameplay, audio, and general feel of the game is perfect. It's as good as could be hoped, and the lack of Steam integration doesnt really detract anything on the 360.. Live is already good enough for matchmaking unlike PSN.. so it doesnt need it.. (at
    least its up at the minute ;) ) would be nice to get the free steam version like the PS3 does.. but even without it its a classic..

    GOTY? Quite possibly.
    Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I'm going to give it a 10. Now, it's in no way a perfect game, but it doesn't deserve a plain 9. I'd say a 9.8 or 9.9. It's longer and funnier than the first game, has a great song at the end, a great story, entertaining puzzles and an amazing ending, as well as the fun co-op. The only complaints I ever had were that the gels didn't work at times, and sometimes neither did jumping into a portal from a great height and flying out the other that same distance, as well as the movement slows to a crawl when aiming down, making jumping down into a portal difficult. Still, these are problems that can be overlooked since the game is rather amazing and they aren't always present. Still, as amazing as it is, I'm surprised that anyone gave it a negative review, but that's metacrictic user scores for yah, if one thing pisses them off, game instantly gets a 4 or below.

    Long story short:

    GET THIS GAME IF EVEN IF YOU ONLY SLIGHTLY ENJOYED THE FIRST!
    Expand
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game completely blows its predecessor out of the water. It brings brand new elements, while keeping the classic game flow that we have all fallen in love with. The multiplayer is top class, leading to a great replay value. If you haven't already, go buy it now. There is a reason it has toped the metacritic charts in all the categories.
  9. May 19, 2011
    7
    All in All, fun game. Unlike the first Portal, however it does not hold your interest as long. I liked Portal 2, but to go as far as scoring this in the 90's, leaves me to believe that most, if not all of these Publishers are looking for Advertising brownie points. The game is not bad, and you will keep testing away as you progress, for the sheer joy of seeing what comes next, but after a few chambers, you start to bore quickly. I miss the old GlaDOS, as she was not over done. In Portal 2, there are times I wish she would stop with the sarcasm and stop acting so human. I do like the new puzzle concepts, but there aren't that many of them and unfortunately the game is much too short. The two play is a nice add-on, but even this doesn't have any replay value. I think I was expecting too much from this game. Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 plays in a league few are privy to. The puzzles alone would feel like you were doing math every waking second you invest in the game if that were simply it. Of course, for the soduko or Tetris diehards, that might be enough. But it's the zany conversations had between AI characters that really makes it all so much more entertaining. Perhaps the best thing about Portal 2 is it doesn't take itself serious for one second. I can say this is one of the more entertaining games I've played in recent memory. Certainly worthy of a purchase, especially if you can pick it up for cheap like I did (Xbox Live sale for $9.99). Expand
  11. May 7, 2011
    9
    I think that this is pretty good stuff. It has nice graphics, an original storyline, and inventive gameplay. Ultimately it is just Lara Croft without guns though.
  12. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Outstanding fun and entertaining as well. At its heart is a simple idea. But the idea has been built on to epic proportions and the world blown wide open to match
  13. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I really wish this would have been Portal 1. The gameplay though unique just gets old after a while and is been there done that after the first game. My favorite aspect of Portal 2 where the co-op missions. On the short side but sweet.
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    As stated by others, the game is too short (4 hours), too easy and the graphics are dated. Not worth the full price. Fanboys are already skewing the score as you can see by the reviews. Even people who admit the game is too short and the graphics are dated still rate it 10/10, proving they are trying to inflate the score. Why give a perfect score if there are obviously flaws which you yourself have stated? Valve employees and hired agents are also inflating the score as they use the same phrases Valve uses in advertising the game. Expand
  15. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of the year, has game of the year written all over it. Both the single and co-op, each easily reaching over 6 hours of game play, single player a bit more. Part of playing portal is to beat the game in a fast run through and the run through is full of Aperture lore and a genius story. Another plus side of this game is that it makes your cognitive learning improve through amazing problem solving puzzles with no violence and still maintains a level of excitement and fun through out the game. Highly suggest for gamers who loved portal 1 and people who love puzzle games. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you liked the first I have no doubt that you'll like this one too. Expect about 8 to 12 hours of gameplay. The yahoo down there who said 4.5 hours must think this is the page for the original. This isn't a game you play for top-notch graphics, so if your opinion of a game is based solely on that you'll undoubtedly come away disappointed. It's funny and just challenging enough to be well worth your money. Expand
  17. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges as the first game but instead went more towards story and expanding its universe. Also co-op is really good as well (if you can find the friend). It supports slit-screen too which makes it a little easier. Co-op is fun interesting and worth every single second. Don't listen to the reviews that say its bad, you will have fun with this game, it is better than the first one and its is worth full retail price. Expand
  18. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    After playing the Xbox 360 version from start to finish I can honestly say that Valve have done a great job. The graphics of the Xbox 360 looked sharp, the sound was incredible and the game played very well using the 360 gamepad. The game itself was a really good experience. It entertained me for about 12 hours and that's with being stuck on a few parts for a bit longer than I would have wanted. In the end I always ended up finding the solution to the puzzle. You feel really smart when you do sometimes.

    So what could have been done to improve this amazing game? Well the Anti-alaising could have been increased a bit more but that's almost always the case on our current consoles. There could also have been less loading times. It doesn't get that annoying unless you die a lot though.

    Good version of a great game.
    Expand
  19. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a Really fun game. The addition of the cooperative campaign, is GREAT. I really enjoyed it. I would have prefered the coop and single campaign to be longer.
  20. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    what a complete disappointment..i absolutely loved Portal 1 and still to this day think it is one of the best puzzle games ever created...the advanced maps were fun as hell, the challenges (least steps, time, and portals) were all challenging and satisfying, and the end game was fantastic...Portal 2 strips away all the fun by forcing you to learn the new mechanics like the gels and bridges..it doesn't feel like I'm playing a game..it feels like I'm doing work and work is NOT FUN. It's one of those games that starts out interesting, but gets very tedious and very boring as it goes on..honestly, the 5 1/2 hours i played felt like an eternity...I felt it most around chapter 6 when the game just completely diverts from the formula that made Portal 1 so great..and that's the AMAZING AND SMART PUZZLES..no one cares about story in these types of game and I felt that Portal 2 tried to force the story on you..gamers want to be challenged, not listen to robots bickering about when you don't even know what they are talking about half of the time...I really wish Valve included some type of mode where it was just straight puzzles with advanced maps..similar to the way Portal 1 did it..only this time they could've thrown in the new mechanics to spice things up if they wanted to...I thought a mode like that would be first on top of their list..instead it was just focused on forcing a story down our throats...honestly, the end game was really predictable and wasn't as satisfying as Portal 1...when it was all over, I said to myself "wow I don't remember anything I did"..and I thought about it and I figured out why I thought that to myself..there were very few memorable moments in the game...who could forget in Portal 1 when you first picked up the portal gun off the pedestal, an achievement popped up,and you instantly started screwing around with it because it was so cool...who could also forget the first time you soared through the air to clear a gap and felt that feeling of being immersed in that moment...WOW that was incredible..Portal 2 u just slide on gel and cross light bridges in overly big rooms where it seems that only 1 solution can be found...whatever happened to multiple solutions like in Portal 1 where you basically need to do the faster solution to even clear some of the challenges..that's what made it so great, there were more solutions right in front of your face than you thought was possible...This review is getting too long, but I hope I made some good points and helped people out Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This game was great. Atmosphere, Personality, great game play etc. My only concern was the length of the game. I paid 60 bucks and beat it in less than a day, the coop campaign in another couple hours. I have heard some absurd counters to this claim like "oh it depends on your level of immersion in the game"... that doesn't make any sense. You solve puzzle chambers and in between them you get a snarky comment. The comment doesn't even last longer than it time it takes you to walk to the exit from finishing the puzzle, hidden rooms with wall paintings are few and far between and take 30 seconds to look at. There is no variance in the "level of immersion". It's just a short game.

    However, it is still a lot longer than the first one. To be honest short games seem to be the standard these days... designing levels is probably a large time sink and they figure they might as well get paid extra for more levels (dlc) or let the community make them (dlc of other people's work aka "still alive") Don't expect me not to comment on the length of the game though.
    Expand
  22. May 30, 2012
    6
    Good game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bit of a chore and felt like going through the motions just so I could seen the ending. Though I have to admit, the story and characterisation was much better this time around. Other than that I couldn't find too many other positive things to say about this game. It doesn't have much re-playability even when you take the coop mode into account. Overall if you loved the original then its more of the same, but if like me you really didn't see what all the fuss was about the original, and just thought it an okay first person puzzler, then you probably wont find your opinion has changed much with the sequel. So its good, but not a classic, at least not in my book. 6 / 10 Expand
  23. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is definitely strong candidate for game of the year with its spot on pacing and great humor combined with excellent voice acting. I have heard that Wheatleys voice, but for me merchant is the perfect choice for the voice, reasons being revealed later in the game. Gameplay and portal physics are excellent as always, although the single player doesn't offer that much challenge. Luckily coop maps are more challenging and playing around with a friend is always fun, not mentioning now with portals!

    Valve wasn't far calling this the best single player game ever made. I do think though you need to combine portal 1 and 2.
    Expand
  24. May 17, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game that teaches as it goes. No killing, no swearing, just humorous, innovative game play that never leaves you feeling frustrated. Every time you finish a puzzle you feel like you just got that much better at the game, which is a great feeling a lot of games are missing nowadays.
  25. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a game that renews my faith in the gaming industry, and only further proves how brilliant a publisher Valve is. It's a game that not only progresses its own completely unique style of play, but does it in such amazing narrative style that it simply puts other games' stories to absolute shame. The Portal franchise has the cleverest, funniest, most engaging storyline of any game I've played, and even with its trademark silent protagonist, it doesn't matter because the other characters are so wonderfully designed and acted. I haven't even played co-op yet and I think it's amazing. And anyone who **** about the pricing has forgotten that it has absolutely nothing to do with a game and its gameplay. At all. Expand
  26. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Valve literally did nothing wrong with this game. It is actually underrated. This game is better than any call of duty (after 4) and it kills any other platformer. Valve wins.
  27. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. The humor is very well done and the things they've added to give variety to the gameplay are excellent. Portal 2 is definitely setting the bar for sequels in a year where the majority of hyped games are second and third entries of a franchise. This game is utterly hilarious and they outdo Still Alive with the new end credits song. This game is perfectly consistent throughout and has a very satisfying and well done ending. Expand
  28. May 13, 2011
    9
    The 2007 original fell into that category of games which requires no sequel (eg. Bioshock) and the announcement of a second game was met with considerable apprehension. Thankfully, Valve managed to prove us naysayers wrong. Portal 2 is bigger, funnier and more challenging than its predecessor. Serves us right for doubting the brilliant minds behind Half-Life and L4D.
  29. Apr 20, 2011
    1
    If you have multiple systems, avoid the Xbox version, it's by far the worst of the bunch, the worst visuals, and many key features missing.

    The PS3 version comes with free user-content, steamworks, a PC/Mac copy, cloud saving etc..
  30. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Relentlessly funny, gorgeously designed, and a testament to the power of voice acting, this formidable contender for 2011's game of the year blew expectations out of the park.
  31. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I was surprised by how good the reviews were for Portal 2. And then I played it. Superior to it's predecessor, it actually encourages co-op play with friends. As of April 20th, it is the best game of 2011.
  32. May 1, 2011
    9
    Aside from being really short, I really can't find any fault with this game. A lot of people are complaining about the graphics, but even though it still uses the same old engine from the first game, I think they squeezed every bit they could out of it as the game looks much better than the first. It isn't going to win any beauty contests, but there is nothing overly wrong with it from a visual standpoint. Anyway, that's not what the game is about. It is all about the story and the gameplay. The story is great, just don't expect some kind of epic narrative with cutscenes and all. Your character never says anything, and you only catch glances at her through portals. The way the story progresses is through NPC's that speak to you and each other throughout different levels. They are all brilliantly funny, and GLADOS is as humorous and menacing as ever. As for the gameplay, you are put into different test-chambers and have to figure a way out using a gun that creates two different colored portals, one an entrance and the other an exit. It all starts simple enough but the difficulty ramps up nicely as new elements are introduced, like goo, hard-light pathways and laser reflectors. It isn't hard like most other games where they throw more bad-guys at you, or a boss or something. They just make you use your brain in ways other games don't, you're solving puzzles, but it looks like an FPS. It is also nothing you can't figure out on your own, you just have to spend a little time in each room and try different thing to see what works. And DON'T use the strategy guide, that kills the purpose of this game. All in all Portal 2 is a great game that could have been better if it were a little longer, there is a co-op mode with different characters and story, so that helps, unless like me you are a solo-gamer. Still, it is like nothing else you've played, except the first Portal. I'd recommend playing that one first so you know what's going on story-wise and because it will be an excellent primer for this game. I went back and played the first after playing this one and breezed through it, but I remember when I first played it thinking how hard it was and wondering how they could be any more inventive. The devs really topped themselves. Great game that makes you think, not many of those nowadays. Expand
  33. May 11, 2011
    10
    P2 is a mind blowing thrill of a game. Fun to play, witty and some a cool drink of water of the same hum drum games that come out all of the time. If you liked the first one you will LOVE this one. It is a sequel that is 100 times better than the first one. The first one introduced a fantastic concept and tinkered with it but it was short, damn short. This one will surprise when you realize how long it is. I wont spoil anything but I will say they introduce some mechanics, environments and items that are as integral and creative as the portal gun. Pure genius. Expand
  34. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environment that shifts and changes just as organically as those personalities trapped with you at Aperture. The finely honed atmosphere is abound with tense electronic pulses and physical effects that at times make you feel truly like the lab rat that you are. The beauty of the series, however, is is ever-encroaching feeling of control held within the player despite your arsenal never truly heralding new gadgets. It's the real human sense of inevitable freedom and escape powered by ingenuity that drives the player to complete each puzzle, a trait that Chell is indeed replete with. The main campaign is short and linear (8 hours), but so expertly crafted and dense with character that repeat playthroughs are as necessary as watching BTTF for the 20th time 25 years after it's release. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  35. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is going to be a big candidate for game of the year so do not be stupid you kids it is not funny to give score 0 it is not funny becouse it is not your thing so stop it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  36. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing and should be the game of the year. No, it isn't perfect, but frankly, no game is. This is more of an experience than a game. It should not be missed if you are into, well, bad-ass video games.

    Story: Very good. If you don't read any spoilers, you are in for a treat. Very well acted, with interesting and funny characters. It's nice to find a game with
    three definite acts with plenty of twists and turns to keep you interested. Oh, and if you say you finished this in four hours or less, you have very clearly missed the point because this game was made to be experienced, not finished as soon as possible. As for myself, I finished it in about 10 hours. I took my time and savored it like a juicy steak. The game never drags and keeps it fresh by constantly introducing new gameplay ideas and twists in the story.

    Gameplay: EXCELLENT. If you thought the first Portal had some great ideas, wait until you play this. They have built upon an already excellent concept and made it about ten times better. Some levels will have you sitting around for ten minutes wondering what the hell to do. And just as you are about to Google "Portal 2 Walkthrough" (don't do it!) you will say "hmmm, let me give this a try" and what do you know, it works. Immensely satisfying. Graphics and Sound: Not really a major concern of mine (I think most 360 games look pretty good), but I would say this game excels in this department. Small spoiler alert, but I just have to say that GEL IN THE TRACTOR BEAM LIGHT TUNNEL THING is perhaps the coolest looking thing in video games to date.

    Overall: I give this game 10/10 for the following reason - I enjoyed every minute of it and I was sad when it was over. It is truly innovative and there is truly nothing out there right now that compares.
    Expand
  37. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best puzzle game I have ever played. It goes above and beyond Portal in so many ways, improving it in every single aspect. It has amazing level design (like almost every Valve game), hard puzzles and a huge amount of variety. It also has a very good story that fits nicely in the Portal and Half Life universe. Finally it has the best voice acting and script I have ever seen. It combines a brilliant British comedian/actor named Steven Merchant and clever and funny dialogue making it one of the most enjoyable games to listen to. And that is just single player, it also has a very lengthy and enjoyable co-op. I recommend Portal 2 to anyone. Expand
  38. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Another masterpiece from Valve. Portal 2 improves everything on the original, with better characters, better history and a long and quite varied campaign. I can't think in anything wrong but the graphics, that are a little outdated with the Source Engine. The game of the year so far.
  39. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 surpasses the original in nearly every way, from the writing and voice acting, to the scope and ingenuity of the Aperture Laboratories and possible ways to solve its devious puzzles. In the end, the story, humor and presentation linger longer than the actual puzzles this time, and that's not necessarily a bad thing at all.

    If someone's main complaint is the day-one DLC on PC and
    consequently scoring the game low because of that, they're missing the point. If someone is complaining about the game's length, they're obviously playing it way too fast the first time through (because it is at least two and a half times longer) and not only are they missing the point here as well, they're missing out on enjoying the developing story and hilarious characterizations that make Portal 2 memorable. Sure, there are definitely tougher puzzlers out there, but how many are this entertaining? Any worthy negatives I have with this title are few and far between. The graphics aren't anything to go crazy about and the occasional platforming elements aren't as tight as they could be (jumping seems a bit off). The puzzle mechanics are still classic Portal, but the level design does fall victim sometimes to the "Well, we need the player to have a panel they can make a portal in ... we'll throw one in on the wall over there for the heck of it" mentality when you find yourself outside of the test chambers. But really these are minor and forgivable.

    The Portal 2 single-player is an enjoyable ride that will make you laugh in between twisting your brain with puzzles and twisting the plot. The environment, ideas and characters remind me of BioShock's Rapture and Andrew Ryan, but the Portal series stands on it's own. There is truly nothing out there like it today.
    Expand
  40. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    The multi-player alone is worth the price -- simply the most mind-bending fun I've had playing couch co-op. The single player campaign is a bonus. The writing is superb, the puzzles are fantastic, and the additions they've brought to the Portal "universe" just improve the game.
  41. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Okay this trolling is getting out of hand. I am going to both review the game and dispell all the lies.

    #1 The game is NOT 4 hours long. It has been disproven by many gaming outlets; Rock Paper Shotgun, 1up, Kotaku, etc. On a speed run it takes about 7 hours to beat the SP.

    #2. The DLC is ALL cosmetic. They do not charge for any added levels so this motion of you are missing game
    content because it costs money for a hat is ridiculous.

    The game is amazing and one of the best and most creative games made. Fantastic voice acting, great story, mind boggling gameplay. Better than Portal 1 in every way and the best Valve game yet. Do yourself a favor and buy it!
    Expand
  42. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Overall, a very good game. The writing and acting is some of the funniest stuff I've encountered anywhere. There are some very clever moments and some of the environments REALLY push this game beyond the confined spaces of the original. The co-op, especially with a friend and voice chat, is also a ton of fun. The only negatives for me were the frequent load screens (really ruins the pace of some scenes), somewhat brief length (3-4ish hours?), and overall easiness of the puzzles (especially the last quarter of the game). Expand
  43. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Awesome game but.....
    Does anyone else feel like they've already played this game before? The original Portal is easily one of the best games ever made: It was entertaining, had excellent puzzles, was short enough it didn't wear out it's welcome AND it was easy on the wallet. Now Portal 2, while just as engaging and hilarious with some great puzzles DOES wear out it's welcome around the
    three hour mark (where the original ended). The puzzles were still clever but i just wasn't as entertained as I was in the first part and the game felt more like work than a fun experience. Great game, but wait till it drops in price. Expand
  44. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10/10 not for perfection, but for the sheer enjoyment it has given me as a gamer. Portal 2 is a game that every gamer MUST have.
  45. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    As stated by many here the game is very short for the price. The graphics engine is old, it looks like Valve games from 10 years ago. The complexity of the puzzles are a disappointment. Given the time to release the game, and the limitations, I am surprised by the reviews. Clearly the name "Valve" contributed to influencing the reviewers. At the end of the day I am going through the game simply for hte achievements. Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished it, after having played, like, 12 hours to get though my first playthrough. Didn't think I would be that slow, not nevertheless!
    This is like, absolutely one of the most amazing games I've played ever. I really, really liked Portal, but I think it's fair to say I liked Portal 2 even more. It's like... Portal 2 is to Portal what Toy Story 2 is to Toy Story... if that makes any sense.
    Some people say they've had some issues with the preorder but I haven't noticed any. Same with bugs. On a few levels I was concerned there was a bug that prevented me from progressing but it turns out I just suck at finding the solution to such things as pressing two buttons to open a gate (I swear, I spent like, 45 minutes on that one...).
    When I give the game a score of 10 it isn't me exaggerating, it is really what I feel this game deserves. The little test-chamber things are still fun (albeit difficult :b), the characters are still evil and endearing at the same time, and the ending made me want to cry. (with joy or with sadness, I'm not sure)
    I am so superstoked about this game and I totally hope VALVe decide to make a Portal 3.

    I'm not sure if this review is at all coherent. The conclusion is: loved this game. Would buy again.
    Checked for spoilers 'cause I'm not sure if the "two button gate" thing is a spoiler.
    Expand
  47. May 10, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is the sequel to the Orange Boxes multi game pack which contains Portal. Portal 2 is a puzzle game which bring you into the experience and solving incredible puzzles. You may think the first levels are easy but trust me, they get harder, way harder. If you a fan then you'll know whats going on but if your new then don't worry, you may not understand whats going on but you'll have a fun time with the cast of characters and the great dark and funny humor they bring. And if you somehow finished the game you and a friend can play together! But is this game good? Yes. Is it better then Portal 1? No. Portal 2 may be a better improved version with more content but Portal one felt more in place. Portal 2 makes the characters with very open feelings but in Portal one it was just you and Glados with a big secret. But in all's cases. You got to buy this game. Great Game. Expand
  48. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Amazing just like the first one, The fact that you actually have to use your brain alittle to advance through the story makes it a much better game then a run and gun game like CoD. Brilliant!
  49. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A game of this intelligence and creativity deserves to be praised and lauded. Portal 2 packs more ideas into one game than the rest of this year's games combined. Portal 2 expands on the unique application of portals to solve puzzles while delivering a great story filled with likable characters. These puzzles are incredibly satisfying to solve and the addition of elements like gels adds greater depth to the same. While not a huge graphical step up from its predecessor, visuals are of little importance when gameplay is as smooth and characters are as vibrant as this. Co-op is not a tacked-on feature, adding more hours to the single player campaign. With four portals at your disposal, puzzles are even more complex so the two of you will need to put your heads together. Portal 2 is easily one of the most innovative titles of this generation, a game with magic that will never age. Expand
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Follow me on twitter@thetruthbites for liveE3 2011 v.I.p tweets.Portal 2 is absolutely fantastic. Co-op is great and the single player adds new welcome elements. Although the game does not seem as difficult as the first, it still provides enough challenge to keep your mind working overtime. The story and humor is also something worth mentioning. Don't want to ruin the game for anyone so I won't go in any story details, but let me just say that it rocks. This is a must for anyone that enjoyed the first, loves puzzle games, like using their brain, wants a new kind of co-op game ( also contains splitscreen mode ), of for anyone that just plain likes having fun. Expand
  51. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews... Portal 2, like it's predecessor, is a fantastic and original puzzle game. The attention to detail, and the design are unmatched in any other game, a real treat!
  52. May 4, 2011
    9
    Brilliant game, Valve once again have shown why they are such a game-making powerhouse. The game is based on an already tested idea in half-life series and portal 1, with only necessary tweaks done to vary the gameplay. So, basically we have the more the same but better. The strongest point of Portal 2 is definitely its narration and story presented. GLADOS and Whetley banter, hilarious black-humorous Announcer, an addition of retro Cave Jonhson character...here lies the true power of Valve, because playing is well...as said before, Portal 1 with tweaks. In reality, the only low points of the game and the reason why some of hot headed reviewers gave game bad reviews, are not-so-long playing time. Nothing of big concern, the story is quite long, wraps itself nice and you feel only a little regret that it is over, but not, for example, an anger that you played while eating dinner and it was suddenly over. The second lowdown are simple ,as for part 2 of already developed idea, puzzles. On a commentary track authors actually admitted that it was intentional not make game too hard. With the game 1, it wouldn't be a problem, but with a second release, there must be expectations to have some more sophisticated challenges. Saying as saying, those two arenâ Expand
  53. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Great game :D Great follow up from the 1st one. Peeps saying it to short are talking crap 10 Hrs is good going for a game, when most of the new games you can do in 5hrs. Valve are and always be one of my fav game Devlopers.
    To the guys who posted this

    "db89 -I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but
    unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu,"

    Man Up mate the first Portal was easy and done it in 3 hours.
    Expand
  54. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    people who are whining about the game taking 4+4 hours to beat..this is **** **** time i've beaten it in around 12 hours (the campaign i mean ) , started a second playthrough while knowing all the puzzles solutions and I didn't even come close to 4 hours . Its a couple of hours longer than that . Oh , I guess you ,trolls , are somewhat intelectually advanced and made it in 4 hours..srew you , trolls. stop whining like little kidoes and play the game and enjoy it cause its awesome . Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has gone on to make another amazing game, it keeps the feel of the original and brings many new things to the table keep up the amazing work valve
  56. May 29, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the start of the game you feel the changes in the aperture science laboratories and you just can't wait to learn more about the story, the mechanics or the game are genially crafted so that it starts easy but with the progression, the puzzles get harder and harder and at the same time you laugh about glados sarcastic jokes . While the single player story leaves you wanting more, the multiplayer experience is just amazing and very fun to play with a friend. Overall portal 2 is and excellent game and i highly recommend it. Expand
  57. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    amazing game absolutely hilarious! I loved the coop it took me about 4 hours with my buddy then the single player kept me interested for hours. I recommend to anyone who can think lol
  58. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. The campaign is compelling and hilarious, and has brilliant level design and pacing. As a veteran Portal player, I definitely wish it was harder, but that's a minor complaint. It's also a little on the short side, though I spent a lot of time soaking in the vast amount of detail Valve has put into the world, so it took me longer than some of the other reviewers are stating (let me put it this way: it's longer than COD: Black Ops by quite a bit).

    Another thing that's important not to overlook is the co-op mode, which is a blast. Overall, this game was a great value at $45, and I look forward to seeing what they come up with for the free DLC in the future.
    Expand
  59. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is an amazing game. It combines humor, wits and creativity into one. Some people would argue that a puzzle game can't be much. But Portal 2 does just that. It offers an amazing witty single player campaign, hilarious co-op and an overall creative experience. I would highly recommend this game. I only argue that the there are only two campaigns and after your done both of them, there's no real reason to come back. Expand
  60. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has arrived.... ABOUT TIME! After a few delays, lots of promotion, and so many playthroughs of the first game, I finally got to play the full game! This game... is just the most fun I and many people have had in such a long time. The night before Portal 2 arrived through my door, I just couldn't sleep. It was like Christmas all over again.

    The first Portal was, let's say an
    experiment for Valve; a prototype. In no way did Valve believe they would be making the sequel they have just made. Back in 2007, they had no idea Portal would get the response it received. Portal 2 was so worth the wait!

    FOR FULL REVIEW (This is just a segment): http://www.nave360.com/review-portal-2/
    Expand
  61. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer has interesting puzzles that are always challenging but never feel impossible as well as an improved story. Singleplayer alone would make the game worth buying but with the added co-op the game increases its replay value. A must have for fans of the original, fans of puzzle games, or fans of good games in general.
  62. May 24, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game!!! The story is simple yet very good and the amazing voice acting and writing do nothing but enhance the game and Wheatly the British robot really steals the show. The puzzles are also much more interesting this time around as well. This time round you get to play with light bridges, gravity tunnels and bouncy and speed gels, and of course the turrets make their triumphant return. These new mechanics add a new level of complexity to the puzzles that make them all the more satisfying when you solve them. That is another great thing about portal 2, the puzzles. They are to difficult that they will prevent you from solving them yet they aren't so easy that when you solve them you won't feel like you didn't accomplish anything. As far as graphics go they are pretty good, i don't know why people are saying that they are really dated. I mean this isn't the best looking game around but it does look good enough to get the job done. As far as length goes it is about 6-7 hours and people who say they beat it in 3 or 4 either used a guide, rushed through the game as fast as they could, or are lying. Some people complain about the short campaign but i think it is the perfect length because i feel that if it had been made longer then it would have begun to get boring and repetitive and to be honest it did drag on a little bit in chapter 7. Co-op is another great addition to the game it adds about 6 more hours of gameplay and what could be more fun then solving puzzles with your friends. So overall this is a near perfect game that i will definitely revisit in the future Expand
  63. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An easy game to score for the amount of enjoyment I've recieved from the game. It's actually about 10 dollars cheaper than other new games to boot and I don't think I've ever laughed so hard during any game. It is seriously a gem. I'll give it a 9.9 because there is no such thing as a perfect game but this comes very, very close. It has its own flavour and is anything but generic. And for people complaing about it being too similar to the first game well...duh. It is a sequel. I don't know what changes they could have made and still have it be Portal. Its just a really awesome refinement and they do add some new elements, also the enviroments are quite different the further on you go. as one of the reviewers said it makes the first one look like the protype it was. Expand
  64. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    This is a fun and clever game but I don't think it's challenging enough and also think it doesn't have enough replay value to hold on to (as of this review). There will allegedly be some DLC but it wouldn't warrant purchasing to me because the game already feels too expensive in the first place. Hopefully, Valve will add free DLC to add more value to a game that feels well-made in the first place, but lacks enough challenging content. Expand
  65. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a blast. It ingeniously combines a surprisingly interesting story with very creative puzzle mechanics to make a very fun game. The game is on sale for a not so generous price, and the combination of co-op and single player campaign still leaves it pretty short compared to some games these days. Nevertheless the fact is that in this somewhat short time, you have a really enjoyable experience. The replay value is expectedly not great so longevity really isn't to be found, except Valve is promising free co-op maps later this year. I can recommend it to everyone and anyone. It is that good. So do yourself a favour and go buy a copy of Portal 2. For science. You Monster. Expand
  66. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that.
    Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  67. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Immediately I have to state the flaws of the Xbox 360 version of Portal 2. It lacks few multi player capabilities like cross compatibility which is featured on the PS3 and PC versions, the graphics aren't nearly as good it's PC counterpart or PS3 one at that. But despite these flaws the game prospers by including more than bearably multi player and a story more robust than any ever in the Puzzle genre. Expand
  68. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  69. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Funny as hell, pissing off people with optional DLC, great cinematic gameplay, cool and challenging puzzles, coop is fun, great ending, the song was good, loads of easter eggs.

    Great job Valve, most fun I've had in a video game in a looooooooong time.
  70. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Although the game is rather short, it is just amazing. The plot is immersive enough that once you sit and start play, you don't want to stop. The graphics are fine - even though the Source Engine is quite old right now, it's still amazing what it can do in regard of physics and graphics. 10/10.
  71. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    A great continuation of the portal story. It's sad to see users such as "Valvesucks" needlessly bring down the user score when they obviously haven't tried the game.
  72. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Graphics were awesome, especially lightning. It has an awesome story that will definitely make you laugh and the upgraded gameplay from Portal 1 is just the icing on the cake.
  73. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The game play is smooth and the humor is amazing. I was smiling throughout the whole play-through.
    Highly recommend this to anyone. I have yet to try the co-op feature, I bet it will be amazing considering all the hype Valve has been putting on it.
  74. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  75. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    none of the negatives actually played it, the campaign is upwards of 8 hours and is entertaining and enjoyable to boot, the physics work perfectly and the comedy is unmistakably valve. This is actually probably their best game. Source has aged well and the voice acting is spectacular. Everything in this game is excellent and should be enjoyed. Just wish Microsoft had allowed valve to use their cross compatibility with steam. That is my only complaint. Expand
  76. Apr 19, 2011
    5
    Negatives: Too short - took me 5 hours because it is too easy. Dated graphics. Price is too high for such a short game. It took them how long to develop the game and the graphics are the same as Portal 1? Positives: Humor was good and I liked the story. Rating: I'm only giving it a 5 because it is another game that could have been great, but has been rushed and dumbed-down for the masses. Also too expensive. Expand
  77. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    nice story,brilliant writing an hilarious steve merchant as "wheatley" and really good lvl design..for me maybe a little bit too easy and too short but despite of that its one of the best games ive played so far..9.0
  78. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Very much like its predecessor, Portal 2 story is full of dark humor and solid continuation of the story. The puzzles seemed slightly easier on the whole(granted there are a few thinkers); although this could be from having a good "think outside the box" mentality from playing Portal obsessive compulsively. The addition of co-op mode(along with a full unique campaign) changed the game a lot more then I though. There isn't a lot of space for one person to slough off while your partner in science does all the work. Game length(for each campaign) will depend largely on how much/well you played the original Portal.Veteran(5+ hours)-----------------Amateur(10~ hours) Expand
  79. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Great game! Played it and loved it on PC... People giveing it low marks are evil internet trolls who havent even played the game. Amazing voice acting!
  80. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Incredibly funny and smart game, really doesn't deserve to be punished for Valve's bad handling of the ARG. The story, while different from Portal 1, is simply one of the best of the current games. Must buy.
  81. Apr 19, 2011
    3
    While the voice acting is top notch, and GladOS is creepy as ever, I feel as though I've been taken advantage of. I blasted through the single player campaign in about 5 1/2 hours, and while it was a joyous 5 hours I don't think it was worth $50. And while I have heard that the co-op will add several more hours of game play, I found it to be buggy, laggy, and overly complicated at best. And if you're not a fan of having to play well with others, you've severely overpaid for the game. The sub-par graphics combined with short duration and high price cause me to tell people to stay away from Portal 2 until it hits the bargain bin. Expand
  82. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Valve have done it again! This game is Awesome, Xbox showing its age a bit but still, GOTY in my opinion, Oh and ignore the trolls, if you want to experience a fine wine of a game get Portal 2
  83. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    Fantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice to look at. Fun and entertaining from beginning to end, worth replaying multiple times, and the co-op is very well done.

    The game is about 7-9 hours long in single player, and maybe 4-5 in multiplayer. Some people think that's not enough content for $60 and ding the game for it, but that's kind of silly; rent the game or wait for the price to drop.

    The 360 version lacks some of the features found in the PS3 version (Steam support, the PC/Mac version of the game for free) so it's a lesser package. Overall though, it's a fantastic game on any platform.
    Expand
  84. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a relatively short single player excursion, though I can't figure a way they could have extended it without ruining the fantastic story. I think the possibility of DLC for this game as Valve is famous for added content will make it a long lived adventure much like Team Fortress is. The coop has some amazing features which take it to the next level such as picture in picture and a fantastic waypoint system which makes it much easier to work with friends to complete missions. If you're not a people person, and can't stand short stories (even with great replayability) then this game might not be for you. The ways in which Valve continues to push the Source engine is amazing. Graphics are surprisingly good on an aging engine. Simply compare Counter Strike: Source running at full with Portal 2 running at full and the difference is apparent.

    On the whole a wonderful experience I will probably never forget.
    Expand
  85. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I'll state this up front: Portal 2 is a paragon of game design. Everything about this game shows how Valve mastered the data they collected of their audience over the years through Steam and their other games. Portal 2 is filled with great gameplay, satisfying puzzles and some of the best writing you've ever seen in a video game. The character performances are spot on. It's a must buy for every gamer, young and old.

    A lot of people seem to be concerned about the added store for the co-op bots, which I think is unfounded. All of the items are purely cosmetic and is hardly content they cut out of the game just to put a price tag on it. It can be easily ignored. The reason it's in the game is because it has apparently been a success in Team Fortress 2, so I don't mind Valve earning an extra buck to fund their next projects.

    Valve will probably be releasing more free DLC for this game in the future, just like they did with Left4Dead and Team Fortress 2 (a game that's been receiving more than 10 huge free content updates since 2004!). Since the Source SDK is likely to get an update too, the community will get the tools to create maps and puzzles themselves.
    Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed the first Portal then you will love this. It is full of the same charm as the first game and at moments is absolutely hilarious. There is more variety to the puzzles, but they still have that Portal feel to them. Graphically it is a fairly nice looking game and there is certainly much more variety in the graphics than the first game. Overall, everything has a bit more polish to it and the controls even feel a little smoother than the original. If the first Portal wasn't your thing then there's not a whole lot here to change your mind. But as I said, if you enjoyed the first game I don't know how you couldn't absolutely love Portal 2. Expand
  87. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's a sequel--what do you really expect?). The brilliance of Portal 1's storytelling came as a surprise to people just expecting an experimental puzzle game; Portal 2, then can only lose points by not having even greater writing/humour/etc. Regardless, Portal 2 improves on the original with a longer and more challenging single-player mode, a co-op mode, several new mechanics, and more Portal humor. It's a great sequel to a great game. If the price seems steep to console users, just wait a while and pick it up later--it's worth your time. Expand
  88. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game is superior to the original Portal. That's a rare thing. Writing, design, and gameplay are all top-notch. I could whine about day 1 dlc if I was superdramatic and spoiled, but I am not. This game is fantastic.
  89. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the trolls. The single player is 8 hours long for a skilled portal veteran. There are several new gameplay elements, most of which take effect around hour 2 or 3. The first few levels are the same or similar to Portal 1 but serve to ease you back into the gameplay and tour the broken down facility. All the characters are incredibly voiced and even have a bit of development during the course of the story. This is not a console port, the game is beautiful with NO bugs, glitches, or broken sections (well not broken from a gameplay stance). The DLC is just skins to amuse yourself in co-op and dont really add to the game or take away from it. YOU WILL NOT miss anything if you avoid the DLC. Best game of the year and the decade. At least untill Half Life 3 comes out. Expand
  90. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The only downside (and the reason this review is 9/10 instead of 10/10) is that It would have been good to have a 'Challenges' mode. Like the 'Challenges' mode in portal1 where you had the 'hard mode' versions of some test chambers in the story game - along with time based challenges. Otherwise, basically a really good game that lived up to the hype, was worth every penny, and wasn't too short at all. Expand
  91. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign. Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen to them, they are mad about an ARG and DLC that have nothing to do with the actual game), no, the game is not 3 hours long. No, there is no game-enhancing DLC to get upset about, the DLC, which is PC only in the first place, is purely aesthetic and no one who isn't interested has any reason to buy it. Finally, the ARG that took place before this game was release not only resulted in a midnight release on Steam (as opposed to the planned 7am release), it also got everyone who got all of the "potatoes" in the ARG Valve's *entire library of games for free*. There is no reason to dislike this game, and many of the reviews are simply venting frustrations not at all related to the game's quality. It's better in every way than one than the original Portal, save one, originality. And let's face it, that magic has passed, we can't get that moment in time back, so we should enjoy an amazing game for what it is, the best possible sequel to Portal, and the best game of the year so far. Expand
  92. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I don't know the reasoning behind the people who hate this game. "Theres an in game DLC store!" You cry. No one is making you buy from it. "It's too short!" You scream. It's still one of the most amazing experiences in gaming. Maybe it's just more boycotters. (sigh)
  93. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best experience I ever had in a game.
    The humor ist so tremendous I hardly laugh while playing but with Portal 2 I REALLY could not stop laugh out loud. The story is fantastic, lightning up every heart that cares about the aperture universe.
    And I don't really want to even talk about the game-play.... it makes a cover-based shooter with quick-time-event look like a tricycle
    trying to keep up with a rocket heading to a new planet. Expand
  94. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Expand
  95. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I finally had a chance to play through Portal 2 on the PS3 this weekend. The single player campaign was absolutely brilliant. It kept me laughing and guessing the entire time. It was a little short at ~15 hours, but I guess this is actually a lot longer than most single player games! Split-screen multiplayer was an absolute blast...the wife and I haven't had so much fun in years! I'd give it 11 out of 10 if I could! Expand
  96. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Everyone who is complaining about the game's length have obviously not played the game, it takes at minimum 6 hours to beat the single player campaign, and just as long to beat the co-op campaign, both of which are extremely high quality and are the most original campaigns of any game coming out this year. Plus this game has so much more content to offer, and has built so much on the fundamental mechanics of the original game. Expand
  97. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    The first thing that really hit me was hearing Stephen Merchant's voice cut in at the beginning. This was the perfect choice from Valve for a companion throughout the game. Visually we still find ourselves in the still-current-just valve engine with a few new effects here and there which look good. The levels are far less generic than the first in what will undoubtedly now become a series of sequels from Valve. However, the tests were too similar for my liking. It feels as if the original genius behind a game with portals was missing and instead the Producer has simple done more-of-the-same but placed it all in a HL2 level this time. It's very expensive for a game easily finished in long afternoon but it's here, and I enjoyed it. Just not blown away as hoped. Expand
  98. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best puzzles games ever created. Story unfolds much as a movie might, with a plot more complex and entertaining than many movies I've seen. Ignore the complaints and low scores about the high price. The game itself is a quality product and I am more satisfied with what I paid here than most games I spent the same price on. One of kind, not to be missed.
  99. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Far longer than the first one, (10 long chapters!!) a lot of surprises, lot of news. This time the game always switch between rooms and maintenance. Glados was really funny. 10/10
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]