User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 865 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 865

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DME
    May 5, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is one of those games you will remember for years to come. It's quite simply a masterpiece. The voice acting is perfect and the dialogue is downright hilarious. There's also plenty of eastereggs scattered throughout the game and a very challenging cooperative mode. The only downfall is the retail price. If that's the problem, then rent it or borrow it. One cannot simply pass this game up. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely hysterical game. There was never a moment where I wasn't entertained or in a state of negative emotion. Portal 2 is an intellectually challenging and consistently surprising puzzler with more memorable moments than I could count. Valve's masterpiece.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    If you liked Portal then you'll love Portal 2! It's just like Portal only bigger with more puzzles, characters, obstacles, and the return of GLaDOS! Another feature that makes Portal 2 better is the all-new co-op mode, P-Body and Atlas are well designed characters and it's fun to play Portal 2 with a buddy. Overall the game is amazing and a well improvement over the previous Portal despite the short campaign and repeated auto saves. Worth it on any console! Expand
  4. May 20, 2011
    10
    There's only one big flaw in Portal 2. ONE. That's it. No challenge rooms. But, by the time you've gotten through the super enjoyable and fairly long single player, then beaten the even harder co-op, you might not care. I won't spoil any surprises in Portal 2, everything I spoil is a glorious surprise fuelled with invention and wit taken away from you. Simply put, the single player adventure is completely brilliant, and the co-op is too. Easily 20+hrs of portal firing, robot flinging, turret killing brilliance. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Nothing wrong with the Graphics.. They are not fantastic but they dont nee dto be.. better graphics would bring nothing to this game.

    The gameplay, audio, and general feel of the game is perfect. It's as good as could be hoped, and the lack of Steam integration doesnt really detract anything on the 360.. Live is already good enough for matchmaking unlike PSN.. so it doesnt need it.. (at
    least its up at the minute ;) ) would be nice to get the free steam version like the PS3 does.. but even without it its a classic..

    GOTY? Quite possibly.
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I'm going to give it a 10. Now, it's in no way a perfect game, but it doesn't deserve a plain 9. I'd say a 9.8 or 9.9. It's longer and funnier than the first game, has a great song at the end, a great story, entertaining puzzles and an amazing ending, as well as the fun co-op. The only complaints I ever had were that the gels didn't work at times, and sometimes neither did jumping into a portal from a great height and flying out the other that same distance, as well as the movement slows to a crawl when aiming down, making jumping down into a portal difficult. Still, these are problems that can be overlooked since the game is rather amazing and they aren't always present. Still, as amazing as it is, I'm surprised that anyone gave it a negative review, but that's metacrictic user scores for yah, if one thing pisses them off, game instantly gets a 4 or below.

    Long story short:

    GET THIS GAME IF EVEN IF YOU ONLY SLIGHTLY ENJOYED THE FIRST!
    Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game completely blows its predecessor out of the water. It brings brand new elements, while keeping the classic game flow that we have all fallen in love with. The multiplayer is top class, leading to a great replay value. If you haven't already, go buy it now. There is a reason it has toped the metacritic charts in all the categories.
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of the year, has game of the year written all over it. Both the single and co-op, each easily reaching over 6 hours of game play, single player a bit more. Part of playing portal is to beat the game in a fast run through and the run through is full of Aperture lore and a genius story. Another plus side of this game is that it makes your cognitive learning improve through amazing problem solving puzzles with no violence and still maintains a level of excitement and fun through out the game. Highly suggest for gamers who loved portal 1 and people who love puzzle games. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you liked the first I have no doubt that you'll like this one too. Expect about 8 to 12 hours of gameplay. The yahoo down there who said 4.5 hours must think this is the page for the original. This isn't a game you play for top-notch graphics, so if your opinion of a game is based solely on that you'll undoubtedly come away disappointed. It's funny and just challenging enough to be well worth your money. Expand
  10. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is definitely strong candidate for game of the year with its spot on pacing and great humor combined with excellent voice acting. I have heard that Wheatleys voice, but for me merchant is the perfect choice for the voice, reasons being revealed later in the game. Gameplay and portal physics are excellent as always, although the single player doesn't offer that much challenge. Luckily coop maps are more challenging and playing around with a friend is always fun, not mentioning now with portals!

    Valve wasn't far calling this the best single player game ever made. I do think though you need to combine portal 1 and 2.
    Expand
  11. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a game that renews my faith in the gaming industry, and only further proves how brilliant a publisher Valve is. It's a game that not only progresses its own completely unique style of play, but does it in such amazing narrative style that it simply puts other games' stories to absolute shame. The Portal franchise has the cleverest, funniest, most engaging storyline of any game I've played, and even with its trademark silent protagonist, it doesn't matter because the other characters are so wonderfully designed and acted. I haven't even played co-op yet and I think it's amazing. And anyone who **** about the pricing has forgotten that it has absolutely nothing to do with a game and its gameplay. At all. Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Valve literally did nothing wrong with this game. It is actually underrated. This game is better than any call of duty (after 4) and it kills any other platformer. Valve wins.
  13. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. The humor is very well done and the things they've added to give variety to the gameplay are excellent. Portal 2 is definitely setting the bar for sequels in a year where the majority of hyped games are second and third entries of a franchise. This game is utterly hilarious and they outdo Still Alive with the new end credits song. This game is perfectly consistent throughout and has a very satisfying and well done ending. Expand
  14. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Relentlessly funny, gorgeously designed, and a testament to the power of voice acting, this formidable contender for 2011's game of the year blew expectations out of the park.
  15. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I was surprised by how good the reviews were for Portal 2. And then I played it. Superior to it's predecessor, it actually encourages co-op play with friends. As of April 20th, it is the best game of 2011.
  16. May 11, 2011
    10
    P2 is a mind blowing thrill of a game. Fun to play, witty and some a cool drink of water of the same hum drum games that come out all of the time. If you liked the first one you will LOVE this one. It is a sequel that is 100 times better than the first one. The first one introduced a fantastic concept and tinkered with it but it was short, damn short. This one will surprise when you realize how long it is. I wont spoil anything but I will say they introduce some mechanics, environments and items that are as integral and creative as the portal gun. Pure genius. Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is going to be a big candidate for game of the year so do not be stupid you kids it is not funny to give score 0 it is not funny becouse it is not your thing so stop it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing and should be the game of the year. No, it isn't perfect, but frankly, no game is. This is more of an experience than a game. It should not be missed if you are into, well, bad-ass video games.

    Story: Very good. If you don't read any spoilers, you are in for a treat. Very well acted, with interesting and funny characters. It's nice to find a game with
    three definite acts with plenty of twists and turns to keep you interested. Oh, and if you say you finished this in four hours or less, you have very clearly missed the point because this game was made to be experienced, not finished as soon as possible. As for myself, I finished it in about 10 hours. I took my time and savored it like a juicy steak. The game never drags and keeps it fresh by constantly introducing new gameplay ideas and twists in the story.

    Gameplay: EXCELLENT. If you thought the first Portal had some great ideas, wait until you play this. They have built upon an already excellent concept and made it about ten times better. Some levels will have you sitting around for ten minutes wondering what the hell to do. And just as you are about to Google "Portal 2 Walkthrough" (don't do it!) you will say "hmmm, let me give this a try" and what do you know, it works. Immensely satisfying. Graphics and Sound: Not really a major concern of mine (I think most 360 games look pretty good), but I would say this game excels in this department. Small spoiler alert, but I just have to say that GEL IN THE TRACTOR BEAM LIGHT TUNNEL THING is perhaps the coolest looking thing in video games to date.

    Overall: I give this game 10/10 for the following reason - I enjoyed every minute of it and I was sad when it was over. It is truly innovative and there is truly nothing out there right now that compares.
    Expand
  19. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best puzzle game I have ever played. It goes above and beyond Portal in so many ways, improving it in every single aspect. It has amazing level design (like almost every Valve game), hard puzzles and a huge amount of variety. It also has a very good story that fits nicely in the Portal and Half Life universe. Finally it has the best voice acting and script I have ever seen. It combines a brilliant British comedian/actor named Steven Merchant and clever and funny dialogue making it one of the most enjoyable games to listen to. And that is just single player, it also has a very lengthy and enjoyable co-op. I recommend Portal 2 to anyone. Expand
  20. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    The multi-player alone is worth the price -- simply the most mind-bending fun I've had playing couch co-op. The single player campaign is a bonus. The writing is superb, the puzzles are fantastic, and the additions they've brought to the Portal "universe" just improve the game.
  21. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Okay this trolling is getting out of hand. I am going to both review the game and dispell all the lies.

    #1 The game is NOT 4 hours long. It has been disproven by many gaming outlets; Rock Paper Shotgun, 1up, Kotaku, etc. On a speed run it takes about 7 hours to beat the SP.

    #2. The DLC is ALL cosmetic. They do not charge for any added levels so this motion of you are missing game
    content because it costs money for a hat is ridiculous.

    The game is amazing and one of the best and most creative games made. Fantastic voice acting, great story, mind boggling gameplay. Better than Portal 1 in every way and the best Valve game yet. Do yourself a favor and buy it!
    Expand
  22. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10/10 not for perfection, but for the sheer enjoyment it has given me as a gamer. Portal 2 is a game that every gamer MUST have.
  23. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished it, after having played, like, 12 hours to get though my first playthrough. Didn't think I would be that slow, not nevertheless!
    This is like, absolutely one of the most amazing games I've played ever. I really, really liked Portal, but I think it's fair to say I liked Portal 2 even more. It's like... Portal 2 is to Portal what Toy Story 2 is to Toy Story... if that makes any sense.
    Some people say they've had some issues with the preorder but I haven't noticed any. Same with bugs. On a few levels I was concerned there was a bug that prevented me from progressing but it turns out I just suck at finding the solution to such things as pressing two buttons to open a gate (I swear, I spent like, 45 minutes on that one...).
    When I give the game a score of 10 it isn't me exaggerating, it is really what I feel this game deserves. The little test-chamber things are still fun (albeit difficult :b), the characters are still evil and endearing at the same time, and the ending made me want to cry. (with joy or with sadness, I'm not sure)
    I am so superstoked about this game and I totally hope VALVe decide to make a Portal 3.

    I'm not sure if this review is at all coherent. The conclusion is: loved this game. Would buy again.
    Checked for spoilers 'cause I'm not sure if the "two button gate" thing is a spoiler.
    Expand
  24. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Amazing just like the first one, The fact that you actually have to use your brain alittle to advance through the story makes it a much better game then a run and gun game like CoD. Brilliant!
  25. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A game of this intelligence and creativity deserves to be praised and lauded. Portal 2 packs more ideas into one game than the rest of this year's games combined. Portal 2 expands on the unique application of portals to solve puzzles while delivering a great story filled with likable characters. These puzzles are incredibly satisfying to solve and the addition of elements like gels adds greater depth to the same. While not a huge graphical step up from its predecessor, visuals are of little importance when gameplay is as smooth and characters are as vibrant as this. Co-op is not a tacked-on feature, adding more hours to the single player campaign. With four portals at your disposal, puzzles are even more complex so the two of you will need to put your heads together. Portal 2 is easily one of the most innovative titles of this generation, a game with magic that will never age. Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Follow me on twitter@thetruthbites for liveE3 2011 v.I.p tweets.Portal 2 is absolutely fantastic. Co-op is great and the single player adds new welcome elements. Although the game does not seem as difficult as the first, it still provides enough challenge to keep your mind working overtime. The story and humor is also something worth mentioning. Don't want to ruin the game for anyone so I won't go in any story details, but let me just say that it rocks. This is a must for anyone that enjoyed the first, loves puzzle games, like using their brain, wants a new kind of co-op game ( also contains splitscreen mode ), of for anyone that just plain likes having fun. Expand
  27. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the negative reviews... Portal 2, like it's predecessor, is a fantastic and original puzzle game. The attention to detail, and the design are unmatched in any other game, a real treat!
  28. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Great game :D Great follow up from the 1st one. Peeps saying it to short are talking crap 10 Hrs is good going for a game, when most of the new games you can do in 5hrs. Valve are and always be one of my fav game Devlopers.
    To the guys who posted this

    "db89 -I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but
    unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu,"

    Man Up mate the first Portal was easy and done it in 3 hours.
    Expand
  29. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    people who are whining about the game taking 4+4 hours to beat..this is **** **** time i've beaten it in around 12 hours (the campaign i mean ) , started a second playthrough while knowing all the puzzles solutions and I didn't even come close to 4 hours . Its a couple of hours longer than that . Oh , I guess you ,trolls , are somewhat intelectually advanced and made it in 4 hours..srew you , trolls. stop whining like little kidoes and play the game and enjoy it cause its awesome . Expand
  30. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has gone on to make another amazing game, it keeps the feel of the original and brings many new things to the table keep up the amazing work valve
  31. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    amazing game absolutely hilarious! I loved the coop it took me about 4 hours with my buddy then the single player kept me interested for hours. I recommend to anyone who can think lol
  32. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has arrived.... ABOUT TIME! After a few delays, lots of promotion, and so many playthroughs of the first game, I finally got to play the full game! This game... is just the most fun I and many people have had in such a long time. The night before Portal 2 arrived through my door, I just couldn't sleep. It was like Christmas all over again.

    The first Portal was, let's say an
    experiment for Valve; a prototype. In no way did Valve believe they would be making the sequel they have just made. Back in 2007, they had no idea Portal would get the response it received. Portal 2 was so worth the wait!

    FOR FULL REVIEW (This is just a segment): http://www.nave360.com/review-portal-2/
    Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer has interesting puzzles that are always challenging but never feel impossible as well as an improved story. Singleplayer alone would make the game worth buying but with the added co-op the game increases its replay value. A must have for fans of the original, fans of puzzle games, or fans of good games in general.
  34. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An easy game to score for the amount of enjoyment I've recieved from the game. It's actually about 10 dollars cheaper than other new games to boot and I don't think I've ever laughed so hard during any game. It is seriously a gem. I'll give it a 9.9 because there is no such thing as a perfect game but this comes very, very close. It has its own flavour and is anything but generic. And for people complaing about it being too similar to the first game well...duh. It is a sequel. I don't know what changes they could have made and still have it be Portal. Its just a really awesome refinement and they do add some new elements, also the enviroments are quite different the further on you go. as one of the reviewers said it makes the first one look like the protype it was. Expand
  35. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that.
    Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  36. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Immediately I have to state the flaws of the Xbox 360 version of Portal 2. It lacks few multi player capabilities like cross compatibility which is featured on the PS3 and PC versions, the graphics aren't nearly as good it's PC counterpart or PS3 one at that. But despite these flaws the game prospers by including more than bearably multi player and a story more robust than any ever in the Puzzle genre. Expand
  37. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 isn't just about portals. As a matter of fact, initial development excluded portals altogether. That says a lot about the true heart of this game. It's an action-adventure game disguised as a puzzle game, and it's story-driven game. Chell's story, Glados' story, and ultimately Aperture's. Portals are just means to tell and advance that story. The action, beautifully-paced and driven by a dark and ominous soundtrack, invokes memories of Half-Life 2. The writing and voice acting are superb, with plenty of comic relief to put a smile on your face. While it's not the revolution HL2 was, it's as every bit a masterpiece in game design. Players looking for hardcore dexterity-based puzzles may be disappointed. Those of us who enjoy all aspects of gaming will cherish Portal 2 as an instant classic. Expand
  38. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Funny as hell, pissing off people with optional DLC, great cinematic gameplay, cool and challenging puzzles, coop is fun, great ending, the song was good, loads of easter eggs.

    Great job Valve, most fun I've had in a video game in a looooooooong time.
  39. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Although the game is rather short, it is just amazing. The plot is immersive enough that once you sit and start play, you don't want to stop. The graphics are fine - even though the Source Engine is quite old right now, it's still amazing what it can do in regard of physics and graphics. 10/10.
  40. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    A great continuation of the portal story. It's sad to see users such as "Valvesucks" needlessly bring down the user score when they obviously haven't tried the game.
  41. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Graphics were awesome, especially lightning. It has an awesome story that will definitely make you laugh and the upgraded gameplay from Portal 1 is just the icing on the cake.
  42. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The game play is smooth and the humor is amazing. I was smiling throughout the whole play-through.
    Highly recommend this to anyone. I have yet to try the co-op feature, I bet it will be amazing considering all the hype Valve has been putting on it.
  43. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10
  44. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    none of the negatives actually played it, the campaign is upwards of 8 hours and is entertaining and enjoyable to boot, the physics work perfectly and the comedy is unmistakably valve. This is actually probably their best game. Source has aged well and the voice acting is spectacular. Everything in this game is excellent and should be enjoyed. Just wish Microsoft had allowed valve to use their cross compatibility with steam. That is my only complaint. Expand
  45. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    nice story,brilliant writing an hilarious steve merchant as "wheatley" and really good lvl design..for me maybe a little bit too easy and too short but despite of that its one of the best games ive played so far..9.0
  46. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Great game! Played it and loved it on PC... People giveing it low marks are evil internet trolls who havent even played the game. Amazing voice acting!
  47. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Incredibly funny and smart game, really doesn't deserve to be punished for Valve's bad handling of the ARG. The story, while different from Portal 1, is simply one of the best of the current games. Must buy.
  48. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Valve have done it again! This game is Awesome, Xbox showing its age a bit but still, GOTY in my opinion, Oh and ignore the trolls, if you want to experience a fine wine of a game get Portal 2
  49. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a relatively short single player excursion, though I can't figure a way they could have extended it without ruining the fantastic story. I think the possibility of DLC for this game as Valve is famous for added content will make it a long lived adventure much like Team Fortress is. The coop has some amazing features which take it to the next level such as picture in picture and a fantastic waypoint system which makes it much easier to work with friends to complete missions. If you're not a people person, and can't stand short stories (even with great replayability) then this game might not be for you. The ways in which Valve continues to push the Source engine is amazing. Graphics are surprisingly good on an aging engine. Simply compare Counter Strike: Source running at full with Portal 2 running at full and the difference is apparent.

    On the whole a wonderful experience I will probably never forget.
    Expand
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I'll state this up front: Portal 2 is a paragon of game design. Everything about this game shows how Valve mastered the data they collected of their audience over the years through Steam and their other games. Portal 2 is filled with great gameplay, satisfying puzzles and some of the best writing you've ever seen in a video game. The character performances are spot on. It's a must buy for every gamer, young and old.

    A lot of people seem to be concerned about the added store for the co-op bots, which I think is unfounded. All of the items are purely cosmetic and is hardly content they cut out of the game just to put a price tag on it. It can be easily ignored. The reason it's in the game is because it has apparently been a success in Team Fortress 2, so I don't mind Valve earning an extra buck to fund their next projects.

    Valve will probably be releasing more free DLC for this game in the future, just like they did with Left4Dead and Team Fortress 2 (a game that's been receiving more than 10 huge free content updates since 2004!). Since the Source SDK is likely to get an update too, the community will get the tools to create maps and puzzles themselves.
    Expand
  51. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed the first Portal then you will love this. It is full of the same charm as the first game and at moments is absolutely hilarious. There is more variety to the puzzles, but they still have that Portal feel to them. Graphically it is a fairly nice looking game and there is certainly much more variety in the graphics than the first game. Overall, everything has a bit more polish to it and the controls even feel a little smoother than the original. If the first Portal wasn't your thing then there's not a whole lot here to change your mind. But as I said, if you enjoyed the first game I don't know how you couldn't absolutely love Portal 2. Expand
  52. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The backlash against Portal 2 on this site is somewhat mystifying to me. As far as sequels go, it would be inconceivable to hope for a better one than this. Much of the bitterness of others probably stems from the underwhelming conclusion of Valve's alternate reality game leading up to the release and the fact that Portal 2 lacks some of the freshness of Portal 1 (but then again, it's a sequel--what do you really expect?). The brilliance of Portal 1's storytelling came as a surprise to people just expecting an experimental puzzle game; Portal 2, then can only lose points by not having even greater writing/humour/etc. Regardless, Portal 2 improves on the original with a longer and more challenging single-player mode, a co-op mode, several new mechanics, and more Portal humor. It's a great sequel to a great game. If the price seems steep to console users, just wait a while and pick it up later--it's worth your time. Expand
  53. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game is superior to the original Portal. That's a rare thing. Writing, design, and gameplay are all top-notch. I could whine about day 1 dlc if I was superdramatic and spoiled, but I am not. This game is fantastic.
  54. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the trolls. The single player is 8 hours long for a skilled portal veteran. There are several new gameplay elements, most of which take effect around hour 2 or 3. The first few levels are the same or similar to Portal 1 but serve to ease you back into the gameplay and tour the broken down facility. All the characters are incredibly voiced and even have a bit of development during the course of the story. This is not a console port, the game is beautiful with NO bugs, glitches, or broken sections (well not broken from a gameplay stance). The DLC is just skins to amuse yourself in co-op and dont really add to the game or take away from it. YOU WILL NOT miss anything if you avoid the DLC. Best game of the year and the decade. At least untill Half Life 3 comes out. Expand
  55. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is easily the equal of Portal 1, and a fantastic followup that adds much to the already established perfection. Not only is the humor easily as good as last time, the puzzle solving goes from okay, to Portal 1's equal, to amazing and beyond anything Portal ever did over the course of the 7 to 10 hour campaign. Addressing some concerns that other reviews have said (don't listen to them, they are mad about an ARG and DLC that have nothing to do with the actual game), no, the game is not 3 hours long. No, there is no game-enhancing DLC to get upset about, the DLC, which is PC only in the first place, is purely aesthetic and no one who isn't interested has any reason to buy it. Finally, the ARG that took place before this game was release not only resulted in a midnight release on Steam (as opposed to the planned 7am release), it also got everyone who got all of the "potatoes" in the ARG Valve's *entire library of games for free*. There is no reason to dislike this game, and many of the reviews are simply venting frustrations not at all related to the game's quality. It's better in every way than one than the original Portal, save one, originality. And let's face it, that magic has passed, we can't get that moment in time back, so we should enjoy an amazing game for what it is, the best possible sequel to Portal, and the best game of the year so far. Expand
  56. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I don't know the reasoning behind the people who hate this game. "Theres an in game DLC store!" You cry. No one is making you buy from it. "It's too short!" You scream. It's still one of the most amazing experiences in gaming. Maybe it's just more boycotters. (sigh)
  57. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best experience I ever had in a game.
    The humor ist so tremendous I hardly laugh while playing but with Portal 2 I REALLY could not stop laugh out loud. The story is fantastic, lightning up every heart that cares about the aperture universe.
    And I don't really want to even talk about the game-play.... it makes a cover-based shooter with quick-time-event look like a tricycle
    trying to keep up with a rocket heading to a new planet. Expand
  58. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Expand
  59. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I finally had a chance to play through Portal 2 on the PS3 this weekend. The single player campaign was absolutely brilliant. It kept me laughing and guessing the entire time. It was a little short at ~15 hours, but I guess this is actually a lot longer than most single player games! Split-screen multiplayer was an absolute blast...the wife and I haven't had so much fun in years! I'd give it 11 out of 10 if I could! Expand
  60. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Everyone who is complaining about the game's length have obviously not played the game, it takes at minimum 6 hours to beat the single player campaign, and just as long to beat the co-op campaign, both of which are extremely high quality and are the most original campaigns of any game coming out this year. Plus this game has so much more content to offer, and has built so much on the fundamental mechanics of the original game. Expand
  61. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Possibly one of the best puzzles games ever created. Story unfolds much as a movie might, with a plot more complex and entertaining than many movies I've seen. Ignore the complaints and low scores about the high price. The game itself is a quality product and I am more satisfied with what I paid here than most games I spent the same price on. One of kind, not to be missed.
  62. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Far longer than the first one, (10 long chapters!!) a lot of surprises, lot of news. This time the game always switch between rooms and maintenance. Glados was really funny. 10/10
  63. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is nearly a perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Some people say the campaign is too short. I disagree. If you don't rush through it like some maniac you get plenty of campaign. Plus there is the co-op campaign which ads even more. Oh and the story is fantastic.
    How are the puzzles? I found the puzzles to be great. Portal 2 adds a lot of new content to make the puzzles
    more interesting. And of course many people are like "omg it was way to easy i finished it in like 4 hours". Yeah let them brag how smart they are (or not), fact is that the puzzles are interesting, challenging and varied.
    All together Portal 2 is a must buy and a Game of the Year candidate.
    Expand
  64. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I cannot deny this is a flawed game- the levels seem to be more simplified then its predecessor, it was shorter than I would have liked and the multi-player is weak (at least on the Xbox 360). That being said I greatly enjoyed "Portal 2", particularly because of the amazing story, absolutely perfect casting of Steve Merchant , and the addition of the gel. If you play this game you will finish it with a strange mixture of satisfaction and wanting desire. In conclution NEW "HALF LIFE" GAME PLEASE!!! Expand
  65. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Great controls, great puzzles, funny as hell. Every thing I liked about the first Portal only bigger and better. Yes the game is still a bit short but that's why there is co-op. This game will keep me entertained long after the first play through.
  66. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I can't believe that this game has gotten any bad reviews. It is incredibly fun, smart, and hilarious. It is plenty challenging and if you include the co-op mode, which is equally as fantastic as solo, then the length is nothing to complain about. Do not believe a bad review. This will go down as one of the best games of the year without a doubt.
  67. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantly written, produced and constructed. The dialogue in this game is second to none while the story has you reliving your journey from the first and succeeds on all levels. If you're on the ropes, buy this game! Expand
  68. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the haters in regards to this title. It's a beautiful, well designed game that plays and looks great on any platform. Yes, PC graphics are better if you happen to own a nice PC, but the console graphics are also very good.

    The gameplay additions are a great progression from the first game and the voice talent is unmatched. Stephen Merchant in particular deserves special
    recognition for work. Hilarious.

    The single player game length is longer than some other recent retail releases (*cough Homefront cough*), coming in at least 7 or 8 hours, longer if you're me and the multiplayer is a blast. All of you who are angry about the ARG viral marketing or about the purely cosmetic and optional DLC, get over yourselves. Valve is a company who has proven since before most of you could even play video games that they are a developer who puts out quality products, showers their users with free goodies and truly understands what gamers want.

    Yes, there are longer games out there, but few that play as well and are as enjoyable as this one. I'll take this sort of quality over an extra two hours of filler every day.
    Expand
  69. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    In a move that reflects well on the current treatment of sequels by the gaming industry, Portal 2 is an amazing sequel which took the concepts of its predecessor, and polished them to a blinding finish. Unfortunately, the contingent of angry valve "fans" have once more been awakened, and trashed the user rating based on other "fan" reviews, rumor, dreams, and, apparently, the mutterings of the homeless.
    As it has become necessary I will now address the erroneous complaints.
    1. The game is much longer then 4 hours, and is somewhere closer to 8, or 12. This belief could be based around the fact that portal 1 was only about 4 hours, because some "fans" are forgetting that the co-op campaign has a completely fleshed out and, different narrative, or some issues that have apparently arisen with the stem "hours played" widget.
    2. There is no "Launch DLC" or "Locked content on the disk". There is some DLC for cosmetic changes to your co-op avatars, nothing else. You are getting the, as mentioned, full 8-12 hour game. No tricks.
    3. The Potato ARG... Just in case you didn't know Valve ran a ARG (alternate reality game) for both portal 1, and portal 2, and in the weeks leading up to portal 2's release it was announced that if enough players played the various games in the "Potato Sack" bundle of games on steam Portal 2 would be released a little earlier. In a burst of extreme optimism thousands bought the bundle, and played like mad, some claiming that the game would be released as much as 2 days before the "official" date. When the game released a mere 3 hours before the "official" date however... Never mind the fact that player who did exceptionally well in those games received the entire valve library for free...
    So to recap. Valve only jumped over the metaphorical pit of fire snakes on a Segway, rather then the magical flying duck that the fan-boys wanted, and now people are whining. I thought we were over this after the whole "wah! I deserve Left for Dead 2 for free! Left for Dead 1 for free to! Screw actually paying Valve employees! ME WANT FREE STUFF!!!" debacle of about a year ago, but apparently I was wrong.
    In closing this is a awesome, funny, original game that took was essentially a 4 hour physics demo, and turned it into a amazing full game. Buy this, get some friends to come over and play the co-op with you, and send Gabe Newell a thank you e-mail :) (It's actually in there! Gabe Newell fears no troll!)
    Expand
  70. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  71. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to all the naysayers giving this game a bad review. Pretty much all the reviews have no idea what is going on in the game, or even the price value for it. Portal 2 is VALVe's best game to date, including an amazing single player story and engaging Co-op test chambers for you and your friends. I personally can beat Portal 1 in less then 2 hours, and Portal 2 took me more then 7. With so much to see and so much going on you just cant help but "stop and smell the test chambers." The campaign starts fast and never loses momentum as it catapults you into and out of the bowels of Aperture Labs. The finale to Portal 2 is beyond anything I expected and really sets the game apart from VALVe's more serious Half-Life franchise. Co-op doesn't have a story exactly, but you can spend hours solving test chambers with friends and family while "accidentally" sending them into pits of goo and spikes. The game is a great addition to the Portal franchise and the only problem I find is the problem on XBOX with not having system cross compatibility, it still is a great game, and you need to play this. Expand
  72. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has it all. A worthy sequel to the original. The single player focus on story, the co-op on funny. The best part is the outstanding challenge. Early puzzles are easy, and most can done quite quickly. But later on in the game, puzzles get so intense. The liquid that makes things bounce and slick are a great bonus. It exceeded my expectations in every way.
  73. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Going into the sequel of one of the greatest, most clever games ever made, I was ready to be accepting but still expected a great game. Dealing with expectations, Valve had to both continue the Portal tradition, keeping everything that made the first game great, while also bringing to life a completely new game that wouldn't seem copied. With a beautiful makeover, original humor that wasn't too tacky and over the top, and gameplay mechanics that were familiar yet still refreshing, Valve delivered. Everyone knew that this game could have gone wrong in so many little ways that might have killed it, like a tower so high that it must be perfectly crafted lest it fall over. Portal 2 was fantastically entertaining from start to finish, and the only problem you'll have after playing it is whether you want to jump into the full co-op campaign or start from the beginning again to catch all the wonders you only glimpsed the first time.

    *Note: I couldn't tell which I preferred, as both a PC and Xbox gamer, but I did play this more for the xbox (tried my friends copy on computer first).
    Expand
  74. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Stupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much rather have 10-12 hours, or even 1-2 hours of this amazing game than 30 hours of anything less. This game is a masterpiece and nothing less. Game of the generation. Expand
  75. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Funny, brilliant, exciting, nostalgic and yet still fresh; this game is full of win! Single player is challenging yet fun and able to make you let out a laugh every so often, the graphics are great on PC and the level design really makes you think just what went on, and for how long. Co-op? Same as single player but twice as fun, more laughs and lots of necessary team-work. I will highly recommend this game to all my buddies - I can't get enough of it; stayed up all night. Expand
  76. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Another absolute triumph in almost every aspect by Valve, with a truly engrossing story and atmosphere that carves an extraordinary cinematic experience for the player, still fitting neatly into the cosmology of Half Life. The game introduces a multitude of new game play elements and mechanics to harness alongside most concepts of the first game. players will see the return of the benevolent and comical GLaDOS amongst an array of new and wonderfully voiced characters. Content is also provided in a healthy sum as once the single player campaign is completed, players can move on to the equally as lengthy and outstanding cooperative campaign. Portal 2 Vehemently pulls itself ahead of the crowd and will please newcomers to the franchise along with fans of the Brilliant and innovative first game a like, it is an exceptional game to say the least and will provide endless hours of fun. Expand
  77. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. The puzzles are perfectly done to appeal to a wide variety of players. There were several times when I was stuck for a few moments, but eventually figured out what needed to be done, and nothing beats that aha moment when you figure it out and are able to solve the puzzle. I liked that there were no crazy ninja moves required to solve the puzzles, those types of chambers should come in later DLC and User made content. The voice acting and storyline really excel and make this game worth every penny. Once you finish the single player story line you need to check out the co-op story. Me and my friend were very impressed with this game and I really hope they release map packs for the 360. Expand
  78. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This has to be one of the finest, most polished games I have ever played. It is laugh out loud hilarious from start to finish, the puzzles are difficult without being frustrating, and it is just a blast to play not once but several times (I have already finished it twice). Trust me, do yourself a favor and go out and buy this game. You won't regret it.
  79. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Have to say it was definitely worth the wait - The story and dialogue were well written, very funny. The gameplay was very creative and varied enough to keep you interested throughout. There is no filler material to pointlessly extend the length of the game. Its pretty much the best game I've played in about 2-3 years.
  80. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The dialogue and cast of the game is incredibly funny and well written. The puzzles and new game mechanics make the game very fun to play, and the co-op is just as fun as the single player experience. The story and ending are awesome. It's just an awesome game that everyone should get.
  81. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    So Portal 2 is probably the best puzzle game ever. Even better than Tetris. So the gameplay basically is about making puzzles with a gun that shoots portals, along with some items like, for example, cubes that you have to put on buttons. The first game won awards for it's original gameplay, the funny but sinister voice acting for the machine GLaDOS, and the song at the end, that also had a lot of humor. So the sequel was inevitable.
    There are two modes, single-player and multi-player, of course. In single-player you play as Chell, the protagonist of the previous game, as she wakes up and finds a friend named Wheatley, who will help her to find the way out. In the way, something happens and they are now in the test chambers again. Without giving away too much, the story is a lot more complex in comparison to the multi-player and especially the original game, taking the most time to complete of the three. Also, the voice acting for every character is wonderful, with well-written dialogue. Almost every line they say could be a meme. Graphically, is the best-looking game that uses the Source engine, and has some pretty good visuals. The gameplay is still fun, even if it lost the fresh factor, it manages to keep it new with some new and inventive mechanics. There are easter eggs too, that are pretty interesting and, most importantly, fun.
    The multiplayer is like another game. Taking place after singleplayer mode (without revealing anything, so you can play this one first without spoilers), GLaDOS now tests two robots, ATLAS and P-Body, through the chambers. The story in this part isn't very important, similar to Portal 1.
    There are a lot of inventive uses for the two player mechanic, and even some mechanics that aren't on the single-player campaign. Obviously, it's shorter than the solo campaign, but even then it's one of the best multiplayer modes of all. You could say that the game actually has two different campaigns.
    The soundtrack is good. There are more techno ambience sounds, but, unlike in Portal 1, they will be more notorious. There are some songs here and there, without spoiling anything, and they are good, but nothing compared to the original. Overall, the game not only is an improvement to an amazing game, but also manages to keep it fresh.
    Expand
  82. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was GREAT. I've played the original Portal and although it was not a 'new' experience in Portal 2, they definitely added enough mechanics to keep it interesting. The dialogue was witty and hilarious, and overall a great experience.
  83. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    There's a certain magic that games can't grasp as well as movies nowadays, but portal 2 is one of those games that left me with a good feeling at the end almost mirroring the feeling you get after watching an amazing inspirational movie. I literally said out loud during the credits "This is the best game ever". I would complain about some of the flaws with co-op but the main game is so great that I wouldn't worry about not getting your money's worth. Expand
  84. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Let me start off by expressing my shock toward the negative reviews I've seen. Now look, the game is not without it's flaws, but few games deserve a 1. I would only give a game a 1 if I bought it, loaded it up, and it came up as a screen that said "Haha, you just paid $50 for NOTHING". I can sort of understand the middling scores, since I can see some of the frustration with certain elements, but frankly, all this rage-posting pissed me off enough to score the game a perfect 10 when I probably would have just given it an 8 or 9, just to offset the people who think that this excellent game deserves a 1 for their stupid complaints, which I shall discredit in a way that also shares my own feelings.

    1) "The game is too short". This is probably the most common and valid reason I've seen, so I'll tackle this one first. First of all, anyone who claims that they beat this in four hours is either lying, has no concept of time, or enjoyed playing so much that they lost track of time. This game cannot be beaten in four hours on the first run. I'm sorry, I don't believe you. The people who say eight hours, I'll believe you, at least for the solo campaign. It took me about 10 hours all in all and I only got stuck about 4 times. Even so, on a speed run, I could see someone completing it in 6 hours if they REALLY knew what they were doing and never faltered. 4 hours on a first play-through is complete bull.

    That being said, it could be argued that 6-10 hours for a campaign is still very short, particularly with little replayability and at full price. I would argue that we generally pay $20-30 for a two hour movie. Two movies would cost about the same and that's only 4 hours. So 6-10 hours of gameplay can be worth the price.

    I say "can" be worth the price, because it depends entirely on how GOOD the gameplay is. If it was 6-10 hours of BAD gameplay, I could understand the complaints. However, the fact that people complained that it was too short implies that they ENJOYED the time they spent with it SO MUCH that the brief time they spent with it simply wasn't enough. So why are these people giving it a 1? If you gave it a 1, I would expect that you hated the gameplay, but if that were so, why complain that it was too short? It's like complaining that your friend's waffles taste terrible while also complaining that they didn't make enough of the terrible waffles to satisfy you. It makes you sound like an idiot.

    So to summarize on this point, I can understand people who think the game is too short to justify the cost of the game. I kind of agree in theory, but frankly, the quality of the gameplay makes up for this to me. Plus, there is SOME replayability. Even if you don't want to play the co-op campaign (which is a lot of fun), you can replay the game with developer commentary (a concept that I think more games should implement because it is fascinating), you can achievement hunt, and, well, you can play the game again. It's a great game well worth playing more than once. I mean, if you have no intention of ever playing the game again, just rent it! That's what rental stores are for. Anyway, enough of that.

    2) "First Day DLC! SACRILEGE!" Anyone who complains about first-day DLC needs to understand two things. First, the DLC in question is purely cosmetic. If you don't want it, you don't need to get it. Second, you need to understand that the AAA video game market is having a hard time dealing with rentals and resellers. By including first day DLC that you can get for free by pre-order it, they encourage their customers to buy it retail. It's an advantage for buying it at full cost instead of waiting for it to be available used. It can be frustrating when this tactic is employed on something significant, but in this case, it was just for silly pointless things, so your argument is moronic and also doesn't reflect the actual content of the game at all.

    3) "The Xbox Version got shafted" I actually kind of agree, but you guys act like that's Valve's or the game's fault. No. It's the Xbox's fault. You think they dumbed down the graphics because they have some kind of vendetta or because they're lazy? No, it's because the Xbox is simply not as powerful as the PS3 or a personal computer and because Microsoft has to make everything proprietary. So yes, it is the weakest release out of all of them, but the most you will notice is reduced graphics and the lack of a bundled PC version. And frankly, if you picked up Portal 2 for the graphics, you are an idiot, and if you want to play it on your PC, you should just buy the PC version.

    Disappointment in one or two aspects of the game is no reason to act like the game gave you cancer. It is a great game. It may be shorter than some retail games, but the content you get during that gameplay is far better than what you would get from most other games
    Expand
  85. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Funny, challenging, immersive, entertaining...Everything about this game is perfect.A wonderful follow up to the already innovative Portal 1. It's a must buy.
  86. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Reviewing this without taking into account some of the ill thought decisions Valve has made is difficult but necessary I feel. Portal 2 is incredible. I have not been as delighted, surprised or engaged by a game since I first played Shenmue. Level design is inspired, story is funny and surprisingly deep compared to the first game. You must play this game.
  87. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Before reading this, the 360 version of portal 2 is lacking a few of the features that the other systems have. That being said, not only is this one of the best games of the year, it has moved to my #1 favorite game of all time. The puzzles are ingenious, the story is top notch, the voice acting is hilarious, and has the greatest ending in any game i have ever played. But valve did not stop there. They added an extra 12 of content with the newly added co-op mode, which is a blast to play around with friends. You must buy this game Expand
  88. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a wonderfully fun and addicting game that warmed my heart and left a smile on my face. The voice acting is absolutely superb with Ellen Mclain returning as the lovable but deadly GLaDOS. Stephen Merchant and J.K. Simmons join in with Mclain to create the most humorous dialogue in any game to date. The puzzles are extraordinarily fun to work your way through and can get quite challenging towards the end. Valve's Source engine still is great and did not lessen my experience at all. Everyone that loves a comedic intelligent game should buy this or GLaDOS will come and burn your house down with a combustible lemon! Expand
  89. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is one great ride of comedic portally goodness. valve have done a great job with this and it really has to be one of the best games i've ever played. play time is about 8 hours, with the co-op being about the same. the one thing about the xbox 360 version is the lack of steam cross compatibility but it doesn't really detract from the game in any way. the graphics are great, but not as good as PC or PS3 but for those two things it really is an incredible game. Expand
  90. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome story, awesome gameplay, awesome humor, awesome characters, awesome voice over, awesome coop - awesome game. You want to do something good for yourself? Play Portal 2. It is one of the best games I´ve ever played and certainly the funniest one. Now, go and buy it. Otherwise, you´re a moron.
  91. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This is the only game I would rate higher than my first and favorite games for a number of reasons. Throughout the entire single player campaign I was either stumped by the delightful puzzles, laughing my head off at the pitch-black humor or just dashing through to progress the story. I'm half-way through the co-op and it even has it's own seditious little underlying story. While I will admit the difficulty curve is a bit variant with some rooms solved in a minute flat and others leaving you stumped for ages, it does help break up the monotony that hindered the original Portal. I have yet to find any glitches beyond the occasional graphics hiccup and all other issues have more upsides than downs so you would be an idiot not to play this game. Expand
  92. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    It has a hilarious start, great story and involved back story all the way through, new mechanics that are interesting and fun to play especially with others in Co-Op. Graphics and gameplay are still as good as ever with some improvements over the original especially in the way of the script being twice as funny this time round. In short what's not to love about it, think Portal with more depth, sure it's easier to play and the 'tests' aren't as challenging, but I prefer to think of that as being used to the gameplay and just getting a little smarter in how to solve the style and type of puzzles. Expand
  93. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    ***READ*** Congratulations to Valve for not only making another amazing game but in an age where companies pump out games every year that aren't true to the franchise because they outsource them to **** developers*cough.. activition with call of duty and treyarch.. EA with pretty much everything..cough* Valve stays true to themselves and the community of fans and gamers everywhere. If you don't own a game buy valve change that now buy buying this game, if you are a fan of valve buy this game NOW, and if you are not a fan of Valve for some reason still but this game. The writing, the humor, the amazing level design, the creative ways to make what could be repetitive gameplay into completely original levels every single time. I laughed out loud many times because of Cave Johnson,GLaDOS, and Wheatley and their witty dry humor. When I finished the game for the first time I literally stood back and smiling and said "WOW" I just had the most amazing experience that i have ever had with a game ever. If you do nothing else right for the rest of your life, please, please buy this game. Expand
  94. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    There are very few games that I play from the beginning to the end with practically no break, and Portal 2 is definitely one of them. It is a brilliant game which takes the concept of Portal 1, improves upon it and makes a full fledged game out of it. There is so much attention to detail, which is impossible to describe without spoilers, let's just say that if you stop and look around you for a second, every little poster on the wall, every little prop object in the world, will tell a story. The game is genuinely funny, from GlaDOS cinysm and resention, to Wheatley being a Wheatley. Then there is a second level of humor, ridiculing the world, past and present. Portal 2 will make you laugh, and it will make you laugh even more if you don't just run through the puzzles. There have been rumors circulating around the net that the game is extremely short - it's not. There is no way anyone could go through the game, even if he knew the solutions to all the puzzles, in four hours. My guess would be that on average, it will take more than 10 hours to finish the game. More, if you poke around the rooms. There is no buffer content and it's a roller coaster ride from start to finish. If you seriously dislike this gem of a game, I don't see how you can call yourself a gamer, because it shows brilliance left and right, in it's every single aspect. Expand
  95. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    one of the best games ever.extremely fun and addicting.It is a really smart game
  96. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    The only word that can describe Portal 2 is: AMAZING!

    It is true that repeated many puzzles of the original Portal, but improved in many aspects, not only graphically, they added other tools to make more difficult the answer to the puzzles, the game is much longer than its predecessor.

    The cooperative mode is very entertaining, the game gives a large share of entertainment, the black
    humor of GlaDOS is unique. If you make a top 5 of the best villains in gaming history, GlaDOS will be there.

    Portal 2 is a great game, highly recommended.


    "We're going to have fun, with science"
    GlaDOS
    Expand
  97. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. The story telling and dialogue is easily some of the best in any recent title. The gameplay continues the puzzler trend set by Portal 1 and neither remains too challenging nor too easy. Co-op is a fantsatic addition to the game and easily doubles the life of the game. SP alone was already 7+ hours just on one play through. Multiple play throughs will undoubtedly occur as there will be secrets missed the first time, plus developer commentary throughout the game. MP was an additional 5-6 hours in one play through. Well worth the money. The visuals, while they won't win any awards for pushing hardware to the max are some of the best Valve has released in any title. The transformation of the Aperture Science Labs from broken and busted to clean and "new" are great to watch. The game has a very clean aesthetic look to it that works quite well. Expand
  98. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was one of the best puzzle games of this generation, even by Valve's standards. Improving upon it's predecessors in a verity of ways. It keeps things fresh with great pacing and the characters are lovable enough to make you play through the game twice (possibly three) to hear the dialogue you may have missed the first time through. It's a must buy to any console or PC owner.
  99. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was an amazing experience for me. I loved the unfolding back-story. I loved the unique experience. I loved the scale. For me, the length was perfect, because I don't have a lot of free time. Quality over quantity is best for me. Also, my eight-year-old boy is now playing through it and loving too!
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]