Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 941 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 298
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. ThanksPortal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    It's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games toIt's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games to give it the fastest possible time as its average. Obviously the graphics had flaws (I did find a couple glitches, including one in Wheatley's 15th chamber that kept me from an achievement), but I think they are still bright, the use of multiple characters was clever, and the complex story, especially compared to the simple Portal, is absolutely brilliant. You can't go wrong with Portal 2. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    Just an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It'sJust an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It's almost as if they could care less if they made a dime on the game, as long as others get to experience it. I have no clue how they came up with the gels system, etc, but it's all just brilliant. Throw in some much needed humor with Wheatley and it just cherry tops it all. I love hearing about the 'geniuses' that got through the game in a few hours (walkthrough help much?). Oh brother, because I found the campaign relatively difficult and extensive. Regardless, bravo to another Valve masterpiece. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutelyPortal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Intuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the originalIntuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the original "Portal". The new array of puzzles are significantly more varied and numerous, as well as fiendishly difficult during the second half (and challenging during the first), this amounts to a very lengthy single player, but what really makes this game stand out is its ingenious story driven all the way by undeniably classic humour (ranging from fat-jokes to light-hearted banter regarding murder), the finish is certainly climatic, if there's one thing valve is good at (and there are several) its concluding a game leaving the player feeling triumphant and fulfilled, i'll be honest, I cried. The Co-Op side of things are good and well thought out, but it really just amounts to the more experienced player babying the secondary through the challenges, which isn't that much fun. Very suited (although not high-standard) graphics, amazing soundtrack, brilliant presentation, incredible game Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to beingThe Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environment that shifts and changes just as organically as those personalities trapped with you at Aperture. The finely honed atmosphere is abound with tense electronic pulses and physical effects that at times make you feel truly like the lab rat that you are. The beauty of the series, however, is is ever-encroaching feeling of control held within the player despite your arsenal never truly heralding new gadgets. It's the real human sense of inevitable freedom and escape powered by ingenuity that drives the player to complete each puzzle, a trait that Chell is indeed replete with. The main campaign is short and linear (8 hours), but so expertly crafted and dense with character that repeat playthroughs are as necessary as watching BTTF for the 20th time 25 years after it's release. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatlyI really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand

See all 298 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.