Portal 2 Xbox 360

Portal 2 Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 980 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 302
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. ThanksPortal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. May 4, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is clever, innovative and genuinely funny. In an medium where 'bad TV movie writing' is often the best compliment one can give aPortal 2 is clever, innovative and genuinely funny. In an medium where 'bad TV movie writing' is often the best compliment one can give a game, Portal 2 contains clever, snappy comedy and well-written characters. Mind-bending puzzles tie the whole experience together, and make no mistake, Portal 2 is an experience: there's little padding to be found, just a progression of increasingly impressive puzzles and hilarious character moments.

    The game is short - roughly 5-10 hours for the single player - but it is endlessly replayable and, in this modern age, longer than most non-RPGs (it seems like FPS' often clock in at 4-6 hours, these days, for example). What's more, it's short because Valve trimmed the fat - rather than padding the game with inessential levels, the puzzles all build off of each other, becoming more intuitive as they also become more challenging, many revealing something darkly funny about the history of Aperture or the origins of Glados.

    The levels are impeccably designed, from the sterile test chambers of cruel computerized mastermind Glados to the abandoned (and massive) Aperture Science labs you explore throughout the game. New puzzle elements are introduced, including gravity tunnels, light bridges and physics-altering gels, but the core gameplay element tying it all together remains the portal gun. The new puzzles are tricky - no need to worry about any seeming too familiar to fans of the original.

    In short, a worthy sequel to one of the best video games ever made. Portal 2 is slightly sloppier than the original, but it has more to offer, too.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a lot more fun than the original. I don't agree with reviewers claiming the graphics looked dated, it's definitely an upgrade from the first portal. Is it short? Well, it was longer than I expected so that was refreshing, but once you know how to solve the puzzles, you could probably beat it in 4 hours, but I guarantee you your first run through will not be so easy to pull off. Replay value is HIGH, I'm on my 3rd time through. Co-op is good if you have a friend physically by your side, but it's frustrating online. Gaming with strangers causes frustration and game drops
    The GLaDOS wit is back, and when she's not saying snarky/witty things, you get it from about 3 other characters/voices. The developers have added now portal elements like a light bridge, a anti-gravity tunnel, repulsion gel, acceleration gel, and a white portal enabling gel. These new game dynamics change the way you have to experience the game, and it's quite a fun experience as a result.
    The developer commentary wasn't as involved as the original portal commentary, and lacked observations from the voice over talent. But some of the commentary actually flew right over my head because of how technical it actually was.
    The ending seemed to eliminate the franchise, so that's a bummer. But I really enjoyed this game, and will continue to enjoy the game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    In a move that reflects well on the current treatment of sequels by the gaming industry, Portal 2 is an amazing sequel which took the conceptsIn a move that reflects well on the current treatment of sequels by the gaming industry, Portal 2 is an amazing sequel which took the concepts of its predecessor, and polished them to a blinding finish. Unfortunately, the contingent of angry valve "fans" have once more been awakened, and trashed the user rating based on other "fan" reviews, rumor, dreams, and, apparently, the mutterings of the homeless.
    As it has become necessary I will now address the erroneous complaints.
    1. The game is much longer then 4 hours, and is somewhere closer to 8, or 12. This belief could be based around the fact that portal 1 was only about 4 hours, because some "fans" are forgetting that the co-op campaign has a completely fleshed out and, different narrative, or some issues that have apparently arisen with the stem "hours played" widget.
    2. There is no "Launch DLC" or "Locked content on the disk". There is some DLC for cosmetic changes to your co-op avatars, nothing else. You are getting the, as mentioned, full 8-12 hour game. No tricks.
    3. The Potato ARG... Just in case you didn't know Valve ran a ARG (alternate reality game) for both portal 1, and portal 2, and in the weeks leading up to portal 2's release it was announced that if enough players played the various games in the "Potato Sack" bundle of games on steam Portal 2 would be released a little earlier. In a burst of extreme optimism thousands bought the bundle, and played like mad, some claiming that the game would be released as much as 2 days before the "official" date. When the game released a mere 3 hours before the "official" date however... Never mind the fact that player who did exceptionally well in those games received the entire valve library for free...
    So to recap. Valve only jumped over the metaphorical pit of fire snakes on a Segway, rather then the magical flying duck that the fan-boys wanted, and now people are whining. I thought we were over this after the whole "wah! I deserve Left for Dead 2 for free! Left for Dead 1 for free to! Screw actually paying Valve employees! ME WANT FREE STUFF!!!" debacle of about a year ago, but apparently I was wrong.
    In closing this is a awesome, funny, original game that took was essentially a 4 hour physics demo, and turned it into a amazing full game. Buy this, get some friends to come over and play the co-op with you, and send Gabe Newell a thank you e-mail :) (It's actually in there! Gabe Newell fears no troll!)
    Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Intuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the originalIntuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the original "Portal". The new array of puzzles are significantly more varied and numerous, as well as fiendishly difficult during the second half (and challenging during the first), this amounts to a very lengthy single player, but what really makes this game stand out is its ingenious story driven all the way by undeniably classic humour (ranging from fat-jokes to light-hearted banter regarding murder), the finish is certainly climatic, if there's one thing valve is good at (and there are several) its concluding a game leaving the player feeling triumphant and fulfilled, i'll be honest, I cried. The Co-Op side of things are good and well thought out, but it really just amounts to the more experienced player babying the secondary through the challenges, which isn't that much fun. Very suited (although not high-standard) graphics, amazing soundtrack, brilliant presentation, incredible game Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to beingThe Back to the Future of video games. One of the most hilarious, clever, and original stories ever penned for the medium in addition to being one of the most seamless gameplay experiences ever produced. There is no distinction between gameplay and narrative which lends itself not only to developing complete, lengendary characters right before your eyes but to experiencing an environment that shifts and changes just as organically as those personalities trapped with you at Aperture. The finely honed atmosphere is abound with tense electronic pulses and physical effects that at times make you feel truly like the lab rat that you are. The beauty of the series, however, is is ever-encroaching feeling of control held within the player despite your arsenal never truly heralding new gadgets. It's the real human sense of inevitable freedom and escape powered by ingenuity that drives the player to complete each puzzle, a trait that Chell is indeed replete with. The main campaign is short and linear (8 hours), but so expertly crafted and dense with character that repeat playthroughs are as necessary as watching BTTF for the 20th time 25 years after it's release. Portal 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatlyI really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand

See all 302 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.