Portal 2 Xbox 360

Portal 2 Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 994 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 283
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. ThanksPortal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Game of the year, everything about the game is great. As for how long it is, not an issue because it has allowed casual gamers(not me) toGame of the year, everything about the game is great. As for how long it is, not an issue because it has allowed casual gamers(not me) to actually complete a game for once. Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    10
    From a certain person who clam that Valve have inflated the ratings but the so-called fact that they use the same phrase in most of theFrom a certain person who clam that Valve have inflated the ratings but the so-called fact that they use the same phrase in most of the positive reviews, you also have to point out that the same kind of negative reviews are saturating the ratings.

    Anyway for the game, I personally did complete it in 8 hours which it is about average (yes not fast completion time) but the multiplayer experience is amazing, which inclines players to communicate, whilst also testing their patience. I played this on the PC of which I cannot fault on the graphics, considering it is running on the Source engine.

    Also a big plus is the fact that the game is being supported with FREE DLC, how many devs can you think of that would do the same?
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutelyPortal 2 is not just an another puzzle game, it is without a doubt an incredible piece of art which combines clever writing with absolutely perfect gameplay. The core mechanics of portal 1 have been massivly upgraded adding a lot of more variety into the gameplay. The story is a huge improvement from portal 1, there are a lot of more characters in it, it is funnier and the most important thing is the fact that it's over 3-4 times longer than it's predecessor. As a bonus, an spetacular co-operative gamemode was added in which adds even more hours of gameplay. I am not being ridiculous when I say that portal 2s coop mode is easily the best co-operative gameplay you can ever experience in a interactive media. I barely just scraped the surface on why portal 2 could be one of the best games of this year. You can't afford to miss this one. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I am a very "casual" gamer and this was the first title in awhile that appealed to me. i hadn't played the first portal, but the rave reviewsI am a very "casual" gamer and this was the first title in awhile that appealed to me. i hadn't played the first portal, but the rave reviews and videos convinced me this was a game I could get into. Needless to say, this was a lot of fun. As a bonus, they have a lovely co-op mode that was equally as fun.

    i highly recommend this game
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn'tI don't understand why everyone's giving this game so bad scores. It Doesn't deserve anything near 4 or lower. Ok so the single player wasn't that long but it was defiantly a very good campaign. It defiantly did more stuff than the first one and generally was a better game over the first. It was humorous, very fun and made you think alot. It wasn't as focused on the test and challenges as the first game but instead went more towards story and expanding its universe. Also co-op is really good as well (if you can find the friend). It supports slit-screen too which makes it a little easier. Co-op is fun interesting and worth every single second. Don't listen to the reviews that say its bad, you will have fun with this game, it is better than the first one and its is worth full retail price. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatlyI really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand

See all 283 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.