Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 892 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 291
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Stupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much rather have 10-12 hours, or even 1-2 hours of this amazing game than 30 hours of anything less. This game is a masterpiece and nothing less. Game of the generation. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    Just an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It's almost as if they could care less if they made a dime on the game, as long as others get to experience it. I have no clue how they came up with the gels system, etc, but it's all just brilliant. Throw in some much needed humor with Wheatley and it just cherry tops it all. I love hearing about the 'geniuses' that got through the game in a few hours (walkthrough help much?). Oh brother, because I found the campaign relatively difficult and extensive. Regardless, bravo to another Valve masterpiece. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantly written, produced and constructed. The dialogue in this game is second to none while the story has you reliving your journey from the first and succeeds on all levels. If you're on the ropes, buy this game! Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Intuitive puzzles that combine the traditional physics of Half-Life with two portals returns in the sequel to hit-sensation to the original "Portal". The new array of puzzles are significantly more varied and numerous, as well as fiendishly difficult during the second half (and challenging during the first), this amounts to a very lengthy single player, but what really makes this game stand out is its ingenious story driven all the way by undeniably classic humour (ranging from fat-jokes to light-hearted banter regarding murder), the finish is certainly climatic, if there's one thing valve is good at (and there are several) its concluding a game leaving the player feeling triumphant and fulfilled, i'll be honest, I cried. The Co-Op side of things are good and well thought out, but it really just amounts to the more experienced player babying the secondary through the challenges, which isn't that much fun. Very suited (although not high-standard) graphics, amazing soundtrack, brilliant presentation, incredible game Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    If you enjoyed the original, you'll love the follow up. Of all the facets that make the game great, from the intricately woven story to the clean, beautiful visual style, not many games compare when you consider how seamlessly Valve has been able to blend them together. The puzzles are more complex and nuanced than before, the story more extensive and rich. You'll enjoy the co-op as much as the campaign, if not more. The catch? If you're a story buff, it's advisable to check out the original. Otherwise, it's a must-buy for 2011. Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    0
    This game is a rental at best! I finished it without problems in about 3-4 hours. This is better served as DLC because of the length. Decent enough but I'm lowering the score to zero to counter act some of the fan boys. Expand

See all 291 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.