Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 910 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Despite being so much bigger than the original, I actually felt a little melancholy once Portal 2 was over, simply because it's so rare to find a game this smart, this funny, and this rich with detail. It elevates Portal from an odd, memorable experiment to one of the most significant series in Valve's stable with a unique voice and an incredible level of quality that all developers should aspire to.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Genius is an often overused word but Valve's work on Portal 2 is genius in the truest sense. The studio has exhibited exceptional creativity in the game, even compared to some of its other masterpieces. If we could give it 11/10, we would.
  3. May 20, 2011
    100
    A truly spectacular sequel that reaches previously unthinkable heights. Portal 2 is an experience to be cherished and already a strong contender for the best game of 2011. [Issue#72, p.78]
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    Overall, Portal 2 is an absolutely amazing title. Everyone (including myself) was disappointed when Portal 2 was delayed earlier this year, however, it was more than worth the wait. Portal 2 is a masterpiece that I can see myself playing for years.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    94
    Portal 2 has an enormous warmth that makes it easy to adore, even when you're up against its many frustrating brainteasers. An amazing gameplay experience merged with a very unique, engrossing concept. Truly an exceptional experience that almost any gamer should give at least one go.
  6. May 10, 2011
    90
    Portal 2 is an amazing puzzle game that, thanks to ingenious puzzles and an especially homourous story, keeps you gleud to your screen for hours on end. And you'll play it all with a big smile on your face.
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 293
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the best one in its genre, yes you don't kill anyone but thinking with portals makes up for that. Aboslutely Brilliant. Thanks Valve! 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Stupid people are stupid. So the first one was free, should the second one that took years to make with A list celebrities voice acting be free too? So it's short, the single player will keep you occupied for 5-6 hours and with the multiplayer, you're looking at about 10-12 hours which is a decent length for games nowadays. Besides, what happened to quality over quantity? I'd much rather have 10-12 hours, or even 1-2 hours of this amazing game than 30 hours of anything less. This game is a masterpiece and nothing less. Game of the generation. Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    10
    From a certain person who clam that Valve have inflated the ratings but the so-called fact that they use the same phrase in most of the positive reviews, you also have to point out that the same kind of negative reviews are saturating the ratings.

    Anyway for the game, I personally did complete it in 8 hours which it is about average (yes not fast completion time) but the multiplayer experience is amazing, which inclines players to communicate, whilst also testing their patience. I played this on the PC of which I cannot fault on the graphics, considering it is running on the Source engine.

    Also a big plus is the fact that the game is being supported with FREE DLC, how many devs can you think of that would do the same?
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let me first start off by saying that all the negative reviews posted on here about this game are totally false statements. This game is easily in the running for BEST puzzler EVER. I am a seasoned gamer of 15 years and can say that the first Portal knocked me off my feet. With that said, Portal 2 goes above and beyond anything that was presented in the first game. It is brilliantly written, produced and constructed. The dialogue in this game is second to none while the story has you reliving your journey from the first and succeeds on all levels. If you're on the ropes, buy this game! Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 is a very interesting, tricky, strategic, puzzle game. It can be easy and it can hard. It tests your mind in parts of the game and thats basically it. Its all fun and it holds one of the most jaw dropping moments in recent gaming years. "Yeah that just happened". But the reason I've given it a 9 is because once you beat the story and play the multiplayer which tests your working ability with your firends, there really isn't much more you can do. Its fun and you will enjoy it for weeks, but thats just it. Check it out though. Its all worth it for that awesome moment and a pleasent ending. Also the main reason I came on here was the user "downrater" is either a troll or has absolutely no taste in games. He'll give this a zero, all the cods a zero, (but thats kinda understandable considering each new game in series is a rehash of the last one), halo all got zeros, skyrim got a zero, zelda got a zero, mass effect got a zero,
    But the only game he gave a full 10 out of 10 was a World of Warcraft game, that personally really wreaked of suck. I feel like he has no life and has become one of Warcrafts slaves. He can't like anything else sadly.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game. The total play time for single player was approximately 9 hours, that's moving at a reasonable pace (not rushing and actually listening to the story/jokes) and only getting stuck for 10 minutes a couple of times. If you liked the first one, this new version is sure to please. I haven't had a chance to do the multiplayer campaign yet, but I'm looking forward to it. The new methods of motion are really cool, the fluids are an impressive and interesting addition. If you think the price is unreasonable for the playtime offered, or that the DLC is too expensive, simply wait for the price to come down, or don't buy it. Valve/Steam is really good about offering sales/specials on pretty much everything, so I'm sure there will be some deals in the next 6 months. The one thing I would like to see is a bit more variety in the environments. It's essentially a handful of zone "types" (back room factory, portal training, underground, dilapidated office space), despite this, I thought the graphics looked excellent, source engine or not, but I'm not generally impressed by things like Crysis. Good graphics are good artwork for me, not number of polygons and lighting models. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu, it feels more like portal 1.5. The puzzles are mostly the same rehashed from the first, the humour is not good either, and if that wasn't enough then think : This game takes about 5-8hrs to complete, that is not very long, every review site has mentioned the the replayability is almost zero, other fps games have multiplayer to extend life, this has a boring co-op that no one would want to bother with, just pointless, only get when the price drops because otherwise people like valve are going to think it's ok to charge big money for a very short game with no point in replaying, a disgrace and a letdown. Dont fall into hype trap, i regret wasting money, dont put yourself in my shoes in a few days time when the game is done and your down money. Expand

See all 293 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.