User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 194

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EndymionU.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    I'm mostly posting this to respond to Perse Pappa's comment. This game was originally released as part of The Orange Box, next to Half-Life 2 and Team Fortress 2, although this is much added content that was not included with that release. It is a game deserving of a full release in and of itself. The game is innovative and invigorating. It is nothing like the majority of XBLA I'm mostly posting this to respond to Perse Pappa's comment. This game was originally released as part of The Orange Box, next to Half-Life 2 and Team Fortress 2, although this is much added content that was not included with that release. It is a game deserving of a full release in and of itself. The game is innovative and invigorating. It is nothing like the majority of XBLA games out there. Production quality is that of a full release game. Furthermore, just because games on XBLA are normally "lousy" does not mean that there is not a minority worth purchasing (especially for the price). Braid is a shining example of this. N+ and World of Goo (available to Wii owners as WiiWare) are worthy purchases as well. Perse, you should play the game before you post. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    I never got the Orange Box (nor do I want to) so I was glad when this was released on XBLA as it was the only title I was interested in. Portal is just a truly great, funny, imaginative and unique game that really does add something fresh to the gaming market. I get that it was never intended as a full release, but the only critique I have of the game is that it is far too short and itI never got the Orange Box (nor do I want to) so I was glad when this was released on XBLA as it was the only title I was interested in. Portal is just a truly great, funny, imaginative and unique game that really does add something fresh to the gaming market. I get that it was never intended as a full release, but the only critique I have of the game is that it is far too short and it leaves you craving more. Overall: A must buy, regardless of your preference in gaming. Expand
  3. TjThegamer
    Nov 26, 2008
    5
    If you've already played this game in "The Orange Box", don't buy this game. It's the same game other than 14 easy challenge rooms. If you never bought "The Orange Box" and wondered about "Portal"... then buy "The Orange Box". You'll get 4 other amazing games for an extra $30. This is just a sad attempt to milk the money out of the "Portal" bandwagon. 1,200 Microsoft If you've already played this game in "The Orange Box", don't buy this game. It's the same game other than 14 easy challenge rooms. If you never bought "The Orange Box" and wondered about "Portal"... then buy "The Orange Box". You'll get 4 other amazing games for an extra $30. This is just a sad attempt to milk the money out of the "Portal" bandwagon. 1,200 Microsoft points for a game I already played, and some extra stuff that took me maybe 2 hours to complete. 1,200 Microsoft points for this is a joke. Go buy "Psyconaunts" or "San Andreas" they're much longer and funner games for the same price. Expand
  4. JustinCox
    Oct 27, 2008
    2
    This was the biggest waste of $15 ever on XBL (And I spend a ton of money there). I love portal. But this is just new levels stacked on top of the original game. there is absolutely no humor or that macabre humor. This should have been sold on XBL as a level pack for $5
  5. PersePappa
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    I think it messes the idea of whole Metacrtici that games like this are rated and ranked in the top list with regular games. It's ridiculous that this game gets over 90 points, come on guys, it's nothing but a lousy XBLA game. It's idiotic to say that XBLA games could be as good as normal games.
  6. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    Original good concept, but not much meat to it. Single player can be completed in one hour.
  7. JN.
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    To start off, and clear up some confusion surrounding Still Alive, I will state that the main game is exactly the same as the one included in The Orange Box. However, there are an additional 14 test chambers and new achievements that were not on the disc. Given the length of time that The Orange Box has been out, I will not cover the main story/game of Portal but will instead focus on the To start off, and clear up some confusion surrounding Still Alive, I will state that the main game is exactly the same as the one included in The Orange Box. However, there are an additional 14 test chambers and new achievements that were not on the disc. Given the length of time that The Orange Box has been out, I will not cover the main story/game of Portal but will instead focus on the new challenges. All of the charisma of the old Portal is still there and the challenges really do make you start "thinking with portals" once again. The new game mechanics add to the feeling of impending doom you get when playing through the story version of Portal, and some of them really make you sit back and think "how the Expand
  8. MichaelF
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Perse Pappa, is it because PSN games are horrible? The fact that you say XBLA games aren't regular games means you shouldn't be PLAYING games.. Another fun thing to mention is that this was with The Orange Box, and I bet you praised it. Portal: Still Alive is a GREAT addition to your gaming library and adds more to what we already love.
  9. MarkRandall
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    You can tell Perse Pappa's nipples lactate...and he hasn't played the game. This is essentially a greatest hits edition of the game...similar to Midnight Club 3's, God of War 2's, or even Lost Planet's...Is it worth 15$...unequivocally 'Yes'! Also Perse Pappa there are a lot of XBLA games that are rated high
  10. HagenM
    Feb 3, 2009
    8
    Portal is still fantastic and the new Still Alive rooms are nice as well. However, me being a huge Valve fan is why I purchased this. While the Still Alive rooms are very good, they aren't worth 1200 msp if you have The Orange Box, which EVERYONE should own. If you're a huge fan of Portal, pick this up. If you haven't played Portal, buy it now. If you didn't really Portal is still fantastic and the new Still Alive rooms are nice as well. However, me being a huge Valve fan is why I purchased this. While the Still Alive rooms are very good, they aren't worth 1200 msp if you have The Orange Box, which EVERYONE should own. If you're a huge fan of Portal, pick this up. If you haven't played Portal, buy it now. If you didn't really care for Portal on The Orange Box, this won't change your mind. Expand
  11. PeterW.
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    Perse Pappa has absolutely no idea what he's talking about, so don't take anything he says seriously.

    Honestly, I love Portal, and I always will. But this game is basically just an expansion to the full game (with the full game included), made up of maps that can be downloaded for free on the PC version, which costs less. I'd say just go for the actual Orange Box
    Perse Pappa has absolutely no idea what he's talking about, so don't take anything he says seriously.

    Honestly, I love Portal, and I always will. But this game is basically just an expansion to the full game (with the full game included), made up of maps that can be downloaded for free on the PC version, which costs less. I'd say just go for the actual Orange Box itself, especially since it just got a price reduction.
    Expand
  12. LanceS.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    This is simply an expansion onto my favorite game of last year, and i bought it because i adore portal. And dont listen to that idiot Perse Pappa. My guess is the only thing he plays are twitch shooters and Madden (not that thats a horrible thing or anything) but seriously, if you think size is what makes a game good, you need to open your f**kin eyes!
  13. JDUB
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Portal rocks. anyone having problems with not being able to load your saved portal game from the Orange Box? I'm having to redo the original portal puzzles before getting to the new puzzles b/c of this problem. BUT, portal is such a cool game that I don't really mind.
  14. NeilC
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games I ever played, regardless of genre. If you didn't buy the Orange Box then you should really take advantage of the opportunity to buy Portal separately - it's better than Half-Life 2 and both its episodes combined!
  15. shane
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Perse Pappa - this is not a forum. It's idiotic to think that just because a game is on xbla that i tcannot be as good as a retail release. Such an absurd comment. AND this game in particular has had an individual retail release if you bothered to make an informed comment. Awesome game and well worth the small price to pay to have it on your xbox.
  16. ChangMan
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to Perse Pappa's review; He sounds like someone who has no true knowledge or extensive experience in gaming, he probably has been gaming for like 3 years. I've been a gamer for over 20 years and let me tell you games CAN be of SMALL size and still be GREAT games, classics even. Many titles from the 80's and 90's still hold their own today, not because Don't listen to Perse Pappa's review; He sounds like someone who has no true knowledge or extensive experience in gaming, he probably has been gaming for like 3 years. I've been a gamer for over 20 years and let me tell you games CAN be of SMALL size and still be GREAT games, classics even. Many titles from the 80's and 90's still hold their own today, not because of size or graphics, but because of gameplay and innovation. Portal's gameplay is amazing and innovation is second to NONE. Granted, You could probably get the entire Orange Box used for $20 these days, and get the original Portal levels, but this also comes with 14 new (and even more difficult) levels, not to mention new achievements. For anyone who has NOT played Portal yet, this is a no-brainer. If you have played Portal and/or if you still own the Orange Box, then I only recommend this if you are a huge Portal fan, for the 14 new challenge levels -- which are excellent. Expand
  17. WillB
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    To Perse Pappa: Braid? Geometry Wars? Banjo-Kazooie (to some, but i am a fan)? Arcade game are certainly in the same league as normal games at least. Hense Microsofts huge dashboard change with prime time. For this game however, its basically just more of the same. Which is fine by me (as i loved the gameplay), but for those who didnt like portal, dont think you will find solitude in this To Perse Pappa: Braid? Geometry Wars? Banjo-Kazooie (to some, but i am a fan)? Arcade game are certainly in the same league as normal games at least. Hense Microsofts huge dashboard change with prime time. For this game however, its basically just more of the same. Which is fine by me (as i loved the gameplay), but for those who didnt like portal, dont think you will find solitude in this game. just more portal. Expand
  18. JonC
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I got this game with the Orange Box package but i highly recommend this to anybody who doesn't have it with the Orange Box yet. I'm not into many puzzlers, but this game changed my perspective. It's extremely fun all the way through, and challenging at the end. With its great humor and addictive gameplay, this game itself deserves a ten.
  19. BlueZero4
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    Portal was great with the Orange Box, yes. However, despite the extreme originality, the game is so old it's stale. Valve's re-release Portal for more profits is just a bad idea. At the end of the day, Portal was great as a change of pace from Half-Life and TF2. The only possible reason you'd want Still Alive is if you don't have the Orange Box, but you should probably Portal was great with the Orange Box, yes. However, despite the extreme originality, the game is so old it's stale. Valve's re-release Portal for more profits is just a bad idea. At the end of the day, Portal was great as a change of pace from Half-Life and TF2. The only possible reason you'd want Still Alive is if you don't have the Orange Box, but you should probably just go out and buy the Orange Box instead. Expand
  20. RyanS
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    Don't want to buy the Orange Box because you don't want/have Half Life and Team Fortress? Well this is for you. Portal is the best arcade puzzle game to hit the 360 this year. Get it.
  21. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Portal is meant to play only by genius people. People that complained about this is because they cannot handle the puzzles. Never in my entire life thought about some company to put the FPS genre and fuse it with( as already said) puzzle genre. The graphics looks good and bad, but thats not necessary. The controls are great and the puzzles itself are bizarre.
  22. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games, funny lines, puzzles that look hard until you remember you have a portal gun, greatist thing since sliced bread deserved a full release and a sequal
  23. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Every once and a while a game comes along and takes everyone by surprise with its quality, Portal is one such game. Originally ported to the Xbox as part of Half Life 2: Orange Box collection its clever physics based puzzles and strange sense of humour was like nothing that had ever been seen before. Whether you like puzzlers or not Portal is a game that everyone should experience.
  24. May 9, 2011
    10
    Portal is a great concept, brilliantly executed. Wonderful, intuitive puzzle design, a great visual aesthetic, and some of the funniest dark humor narration you could want. Short but there's not a bad moment to be found and this version of the game comes with a whole new challenge mode where you complete short puzzles under strict time limits to earn medals...this encourages some reallyPortal is a great concept, brilliantly executed. Wonderful, intuitive puzzle design, a great visual aesthetic, and some of the funniest dark humor narration you could want. Short but there's not a bad moment to be found and this version of the game comes with a whole new challenge mode where you complete short puzzles under strict time limits to earn medals...this encourages some really creative portaling! Collapse
  25. May 27, 2011
    10
    When I played this the first time, I stayed up all night with my nephew and his foreign exchange girlfriend until we beat it. It transcended the language barrier. It was like nothing we had played before. It was clever, mind blowing, funny, challenging, innovative...just an absolute blast and completely engrossing. There wasn't much reason to play through again, and it only lasted oneWhen I played this the first time, I stayed up all night with my nephew and his foreign exchange girlfriend until we beat it. It transcended the language barrier. It was like nothing we had played before. It was clever, mind blowing, funny, challenging, innovative...just an absolute blast and completely engrossing. There wasn't much reason to play through again, and it only lasted one night (about 6-8hrs) but I will never forget the way it made a portal in my brain when I first stepped through one, saw myself, and went..."Whoa!". Expand
  26. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    The developer commentary featured in the "Still Alive" XBLA version of Portal is incredibly insightful. Well aware that they had created a completely new animal, the first-person puzzle platformer, the guys and girls at Valve explain how each of the 19 puzzle chambers was carefully engineered to gradually "train" the player and equip them with the necessary skills to tackle theThe developer commentary featured in the "Still Alive" XBLA version of Portal is incredibly insightful. Well aware that they had created a completely new animal, the first-person puzzle platformer, the guys and girls at Valve explain how each of the 19 puzzle chambers was carefully engineered to gradually "train" the player and equip them with the necessary skills to tackle the increasingly more complex challenges. Some levels were modified, some cut completely, and additional ones added based on the responses of the playtesters. There's no filler, everything is there for a reason. It really illustrates how impressive the game is - not only refreshingly original, but also constructed to perfection.

    Portal is short. It can be completed in a couple of hours, but it houses more new ideas and memorable moments than most other titles ten times its duration, and that's really what matters. The escape sequence at the end, which all that training has been leading up to, is the highlight, and means that the game is one of very few which continuously builds up all the way through and peaks at its conclusion. The characters are also excellent - the menacing GLaDOS and her chilling dialogue, and player character Chell for the exact opposite reason - because she is silent and almost invisible, giving the player a real personal connection to the villain.

    The sequel, released four years later, was also spectacular, but the first game left a much greater impression on me. Portal 2, while possibly the funniest game I have ever played - largely thanks to Stephen Merchant's portrayal of Wheatley, was understandably an evolution of the first game. It contained some nice innovations and furthered the physics-based puzzling with a handful of new obstacles, but the exploration sections of chapter 6 just dragged far too much for my liking. The success of Portal meant that the budget and scope for the sequel was much greater, and it ended up not quite being as concise and perfectly-formed as the first game, which was perhaps to be expected. Nevertheless, it was a fantastic effort.

    Playing through Portal felt like returning to the early days of videogaming, when everything was new and every game needed to be learned from scratch. A first-person game which didn't involve killing bad guys by shooting at them? Who would have thought? (Shooting a portal onto the floor underneath a turret doesn't count.)
    Expand
  27. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly awe inspiring. How Comedy mixes with Platforming and FPS, truly marvelous. It's one of the most memorable games I've ever played. The cake at the end of that game looked delicious and made me want to play it again... and I did. Expand
  28. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    AS someone who wasn't going to waste money on the orange box for a single game, this title game is wonderful for those who just want Portal. The extra maps are nice and unlike the achievements in the Orange box, these ones are actually possible to obtain by human beings.
  29. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    I have finished portal a hour ago, waw great experience, one of the best puzzle games ever, brain breaking tests for the thinking gamer, great black humor history, and the big motivation to get the cake, i still want to taste it...
  30. May 29, 2014
    9
    A good puzzle shooter that will keep you entertained for a few hours. "Only a few hours" you may say and yes. This game is really short, but it got replay value so no worry. But the average time to beat the story will be 2 hours or less. There are also some Challenge Maps that you can do after beating the story, but this will most likely stretch the playtime to about 6hours. This is justA good puzzle shooter that will keep you entertained for a few hours. "Only a few hours" you may say and yes. This game is really short, but it got replay value so no worry. But the average time to beat the story will be 2 hours or less. There are also some Challenge Maps that you can do after beating the story, but this will most likely stretch the playtime to about 6hours. This is just the only negative thing about this game, the rest of the game is nearly perfect. It's fun, challenging and it's also having a great humor. Buy it Expand
  31. May 9, 2011
    0
    Portal is a great concept, brilliantly executed. Wonderful, intuitive puzzle design, a great visual aesthetic, and some of the funniest dark humor narration you could want. Short but there's not a bad moment to be found and this version of the game comes with a whole new challenge mode where you complete short puzzles under strict time limits to earn medals...this encourages some reallyPortal is a great concept, brilliantly executed. Wonderful, intuitive puzzle design, a great visual aesthetic, and some of the funniest dark humor narration you could want. Short but there's not a bad moment to be found and this version of the game comes with a whole new challenge mode where you complete short puzzles under strict time limits to earn medals...this encourages some really creative portaling! Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clever humor that'll have you chuckling for months. [Dec 2008, p.93]
  2. It's easily the best puzzle game to come along in quite some time and arguably up there with some of the best we've seen within the world of videogames. [Issue#38, p.114]
  3. 92
    Part of what makes the main Portal experience so successful is that the game draws you in quickly, subtly creates a believable world with every new room and then begins to slowly draw back the curtain. Much like a fine malt liquor, Portal sneaks up on you.