Portal: Still Alive Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Portal: Still Alive features the full award-winning Portal single player game from Valve, plus a new challenge mode. Designed to change the way you approach, manipulate, and surmise the possibilities in any given environment, Portal has earned over 70 industry honors for its innovative gameplay, with more than 30 "Game of the Year" awards. Break the laws of physics using "portal" technology to solve puzzles and survive in this darkly comic story weaving adventure with brain-bending puzzles. Experience the first first-person puzzle-action-adventure game with hours of single player gaming. The game includes fourteen brand new bonus puzzles to challenge even the most skilled test subjects. And, get a glimpse into the making of Portal: Still Alive with commentary from the developers. [Valve] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A flawless two hours of fun, made all the better by the extra challenge stages. [Jan 2009, p.102]
  2. I can’t imagine the emptiness your life has been up to this point without having experienced the joys of the Companion Cube or the awesome song over the end credits. Portal: Still Alive is your chance to set your life right.
  3. At the end of the day, as I've said many times before, this is an amazing game.
  4. The only downside is that GlaDOS has no new speaking parts, making the challenge levels feel lifeless. [Dec 2008, p.56]
  5. Clever humor that'll have you chuckling for months. [Dec 2008, p.93]
  6. Those yet to play Portal, this is the perfect opportunity to play possibly one of the sweetest games ever.
  7. Portal: Still Alive is ideal for Xbox 360 owners who want the Portal experience without any hassles. Log in, download, and play - but beware, it's not exactly a small file.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. EndymionU.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    I'm mostly posting this to respond to Perse Pappa's comment. This game was originally released as part of The Orange Box, next to Half-Life 2 and Team Fortress 2, although this is much added content that was not included with that release. It is a game deserving of a full release in and of itself. The game is innovative and invigorating. It is nothing like the majority of XBLA games out there. Production quality is that of a full release game. Furthermore, just because games on XBLA are normally "lousy" does not mean that there is not a minority worth purchasing (especially for the price). Braid is a shining example of this. N+ and World of Goo (available to Wii owners as WiiWare) are worthy purchases as well. Perse, you should play the game before you post. Expand
  2. LanceS.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    This is simply an expansion onto my favorite game of last year, and i bought it because i adore portal. And dont listen to that idiot Perse Pappa. My guess is the only thing he plays are twitch shooters and Madden (not that thats a horrible thing or anything) but seriously, if you think size is what makes a game good, you need to open your f**kin eyes! Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    10
    When I played this the first time, I stayed up all night with my nephew and his foreign exchange girlfriend until we beat it. It transcended the language barrier. It was like nothing we had played before. It was clever, mind blowing, funny, challenging, innovative...just an absolute blast and completely engrossing. There wasn't much reason to play through again, and it only lasted one night (about 6-8hrs) but I will never forget the way it made a portal in my brain when I first stepped through one, saw myself, and went..."Whoa!". Expand
  4. JDUB
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Portal rocks. anyone having problems with not being able to load your saved portal game from the Orange Box? I'm having to redo the original portal puzzles before getting to the new puzzles b/c of this problem. BUT, portal is such a cool game that I don't really mind. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    AS someone who wasn't going to waste money on the orange box for a single game, this title game is wonderful for those who just want Portal. The extra maps are nice and unlike the achievements in the Orange box, these ones are actually possible to obtain by human beings. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    I never got the Orange Box (nor do I want to) so I was glad when this was released on XBLA as it was the only title I was interested in. Portal is just a truly great, funny, imaginative and unique game that really does add something fresh to the gaming market. I get that it was never intended as a full release, but the only critique I have of the game is that it is far too short and it leaves you craving more. Overall: A must buy, regardless of your preference in gaming. Expand
  7. PersePappa
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    I think it messes the idea of whole Metacrtici that games like this are rated and ranked in the top list with regular games. It's ridiculous that this game gets over 90 points, come on guys, it's nothing but a lousy XBLA game. It's idiotic to say that XBLA games could be as good as normal games. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews