• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    86
    By no means should PowerUp Heroes be considered a game just for kids. With the Versus and Tournament modes, this game is perfect for parties, and perfect for showing off what Kinect can do.
  2. Oct 15, 2011
    80
    A dream come true for the kids of the Ben 10 generation, which will be able to transform themselves into poweful super heroes. The game sports a good and satisfying control system and accurate Kinect recognition, but with a too short single player experience. Best if played with friends.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    79
    Playing with multiple people is also a riot, presuming you do so via Xbox Live, and I've never had a more immersive Kinect experience than I have with this game. It's really too bad, then, that the game has lackluster response times to your gestures and can't seem to keep up with the on-screen action in the second half of the game.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    75
    The tragedy of PowerUp Heroes is that it's actually a rather good game, but one that lacks any memorable characters. Ubisoft does toss in some references to their other properties, with suits based on the Rabbids and Assassin's Creed unlocked by defeating Malignance, but not being a publisher known for producing fighting games makes this a title likely to be overlooked.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    70
    PowerUp Heroes is cute and likable, and the motion controls work surprisingly well.
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    70
    It's one of the most frustrating kinds of games that a company can possibly release: The disappointing thing about PowerUp Heroes is how much I like playing it, and how very little there is to play.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    63
    For what it is and who it caters towards, kids that have lots of energy should really enjoy pretending to be a super hero with a plethora of super powers.
  8. 60
    It's a fun, exciting template; hopefully it'll return in a bigger, smoother sequel. [Feb 2012, p.747]
  9. 60
    PowerUp Heroes is a game that I cannot recommend to be purchased at full price, but if you've got children who would really enjoy stepping into the shoes of a super hero this is something I can wholeheartedly recommend. I personally found it to get rather repetitive but I am much older than the target audience, so I can't say for sure how repetitive it may be – but just don't expect something super substantial.
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    55
    Beyond unlocking the suits and leveling up your fighter to unlock "power ups" there's very little depth beyond its primary use as a brief distraction for the kids. [Christmas 2011, p.94]
  11. Oct 25, 2011
    55
    PowerUp Heroes had the potential to be a great super-hero fighting game for Kinect. It winds up getting in its own way with aggressive repetition and motion controls that only work half the time.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    40
    Broken, overly repetitive and frustrating to play. [Issue#78, p.89]
  13. Oct 13, 2011
    40
    If you want to work up a sweat pretending to be a superhero, you're probably better off dressing up and running around the local park saving endangered squirrels. Ubisoft's Kinect game means well, and will certainly appeal to younger gamers, but its execution is sadly what we've come to expect from Kinect titles - a bit too messy.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    the games pretty dope. Only problem is as the game progresses, naturally it gets harder but the computer becomes faster in response when in close-quarter combat and can be frustrating. this game is awesome for the kinect though. it really gets you going. the 2nd set of character list is like a slap to the face though bc they only change 1 move. EX: lets say the guys name is SCORCH and his moves are flamethrower, fire burst, fire rock, the 2nd list guys name will be SCORCH X and his attacks will be flamethrower, fire burst and shield. that kind of sucked but other than that its a pretty solid game with some redundancy after like 10-20 mins but I was ok with it bc I felt like I was fighting the enemy at times. good game. I'd recommend it Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    So this will be my first review on here so please be gental. I was looking forward to this game quite a bit. There is something of an inner child which still screams to be a super hero. Unfortunetly powerup heroes didn't fulfil that wish, but thats not a bad thing. Power up heroes does have many flaws, my first complaint about this game is the menu system. It is so hard to navigate around this. It is not the typical hold hand out, touch boob, boob gains a ring, screen changes. It's hold your hand out to the side, try and guess if your in the right bit, and swipe. Secondly, and this may be wrong, but it does what some games fail to do. And that is let you load up 2 profiles and play locally. It was so annoying watching my fiancee gain all these acheivements, why i was signed in as a guest. My final annoyance with this game is the lack out tutorial. And when your in split screen, its near impossible to see the gestures above the required move. That said, This game is so much fun. When you play Hum V Cpu, it does get a little easy. But when playing against another human, this game really shines. Now many of you may not think that judging a game soley on its multiplayer is worthy of an 8. And your right. Even though there is only 3 specials per suit, and 2 suits per fight (6 specials). When you start to get to grips with each suit, you can link some fantastic combos. This game really does have a bit of strategy (though not alot). My overall on this that it won't turn 'core gamers. Pretty much nothing will with Motion Controls, but this does have a good swing at. The single can get repetitive, but with online tourneys and offline multplayer too. This game does extend a bit more. Also theres an Ezio suit which was a hell of a shock too see.

    8/10
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Power up heroes really is a kids game and if U judge it as that its rather impressive for a Kinect title. There could be more content and more diverse rather than repetitive fighting system, and more game modes. But for a $38 and 13 achievements its not bad. Online community is dead and I struggled to sign in with two profiles, but taking it for what it is, 8/10. Good fun. Full Review »