• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    So this will be my first review on here so please be gental. I was looking forward to this game quite a bit. There is something of an inner child which still screams to be a super hero. Unfortunetly powerup heroes didn't fulfil that wish, but thats not a bad thing. Power up heroes does have many flaws, my first complaint about this game is the menu system. It is so hard to navigate around this. It is not the typical hold hand out, touch boob, boob gains a ring, screen changes. It's hold your hand out to the side, try and guess if your in the right bit, and swipe. Secondly, and this may be wrong, but it does what some games fail to do. And that is let you load up 2 profiles and play locally. It was so annoying watching my fiancee gain all these acheivements, why i was signed in as a guest. My final annoyance with this game is the lack out tutorial. And when your in split screen, its near impossible to see the gestures above the required move. That said, This game is so much fun. When you play Hum V Cpu, it does get a little easy. But when playing against another human, this game really shines. Now many of you may not think that judging a game soley on its multiplayer is worthy of an 8. And your right. Even though there is only 3 specials per suit, and 2 suits per fight (6 specials). When you start to get to grips with each suit, you can link some fantastic combos. This game really does have a bit of strategy (though not alot). My overall on this that it won't turn 'core gamers. Pretty much nothing will with Motion Controls, but this does have a good swing at. The single can get repetitive, but with online tourneys and offline multplayer too. This game does extend a bit more. Also theres an Ezio suit which was a hell of a shock too see.

    8/10
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    the games pretty dope. Only problem is as the game progresses, naturally it gets harder but the computer becomes faster in response when in close-quarter combat and can be frustrating. this game is awesome for the kinect though. it really gets you going. the 2nd set of character list is like a slap to the face though bc they only change 1 move. EX: lets say the guys name is SCORCH and his moves are flamethrower, fire burst, fire rock, the 2nd list guys name will be SCORCH X and his attacks will be flamethrower, fire burst and shield. that kind of sucked but other than that its a pretty solid game with some redundancy after like 10-20 mins but I was ok with it bc I felt like I was fighting the enemy at times. good game. I'd recommend it Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This has to be the best kinect game ever, very addicting to play and I'll go far to say that I enjoyed this game far more than generic PS3 titles like Socom 4, Resisstance 3.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Ok, Power Up Heroes, this game have a great idea, but a terrible development, have much mistakes, but is funny. This game is for retail, because bought this thing, not thanks.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Power up heroes really is a kids game and if U judge it as that its rather impressive for a Kinect title. There could be more content and more diverse rather than repetitive fighting system, and more game modes. But for a $38 and 13 achievements its not bad. Online community is dead and I struggled to sign in with two profiles, but taking it for what it is, 8/10. Good fun.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. 60
    It's a fun, exciting template; hopefully it'll return in a bigger, smoother sequel. [Feb 2012, p.747]
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    79
    Playing with multiple people is also a riot, presuming you do so via Xbox Live, and I've never had a more immersive Kinect experience than I have with this game. It's really too bad, then, that the game has lackluster response times to your gestures and can't seem to keep up with the on-screen action in the second half of the game.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    63
    For what it is and who it caters towards, kids that have lots of energy should really enjoy pretending to be a super hero with a plethora of super powers.