• Publisher: 2K Games
  • Release Date: Jul 11, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 124
  2. Negative: 13 out of 124
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrettS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    So, this is a rarity, I have finally found a game for the 360 that does not suck (Oblivion, battlefield are two other fantastic games). This game was visually spellbindingly awesome. For all those who say this game was like DOOM or other 1st person shooters, yes you are right, but what do you expect from a 1st person shooter, the whole idea of a 1st person shooter is to shoot things. So, this is a rarity, I have finally found a game for the 360 that does not suck (Oblivion, battlefield are two other fantastic games). This game was visually spellbindingly awesome. For all those who say this game was like DOOM or other 1st person shooters, yes you are right, but what do you expect from a 1st person shooter, the whole idea of a 1st person shooter is to shoot things. Really, the only thing you can change is the background, and the concept just like PREY did with the way it twisted dimensions and gravity. I really enjoyed the opening level where you could actualy make all the things in the bathroom and bar work, unlike so many other games where they don't. The 3 dimensional concepts and gravity concepts in the game were awesome, for me that is taking a 1st person shooter to new levels, i have never seen a game with that sort of design,(eg were entering into one portal makes you 2 feet tall etc). Well done Human Head Studios!!! Online wasn't so much fun, but you can't be perfect. Expand
  2. Fred
    Aug 7, 2006
    8
    Sure, much of Prey seems familiar, but there's just enough innovation to satisfy and create an experience, something generally lacking in 360's game library. Prey is engrossing and beautifully done.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. VERY great game with a cool story and interesting characters. The game also features a lot of unique and fun weapons to use. And the spirit mode is a unique twist that you use to solve various puzzles and challenges. The game also has some great atmospheric music. Most of the environments usually look similar except for the occasion where you go into space but besides that your moving through paths and chambers that all pretty much look the same. The graphics are also very nice looking for the time . But one thing i hated about the game is that a lot of the time it is VERY unclear what it is you are supposed to do and ill sit there for 25 minutes looking around trying to figure out what im supposed to do. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    So if you are not good at shooters this would be a good recommendation since even if you "die" you go straight into a spirit world where you just have to shoot some red and blue fish to get back your life and you fall right back to where you died without losing a stitch.

    There are also really complicated puzzles especially for a FPS. The only problems i had was the game was too
    So if you are not good at shooters this would be a good recommendation since even if you "die" you go straight into a spirit world where you just have to shoot some red and blue fish to get back your life and you fall right back to where you died without losing a stitch.

    There are also really complicated puzzles especially for a FPS.

    The only problems i had was the game was too short ( i finished it in less than two weeks) I would have also liked to have seen more use for the spirit abilities they are only really used for the puzzles and getting through force fields,
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    8
    Prey is a pretty cool game. The gravity shifting, unique level designs, and creepy atmosphere are the major strong suits here. The action isn't quite spectacular but it's still pretty solid overall. The weak points of the game in my opinion are the story and voice acting. They just came across as clunky and cheesy to me, which is a shame because the basic premise is intriguing. I'dPrey is a pretty cool game. The gravity shifting, unique level designs, and creepy atmosphere are the major strong suits here. The action isn't quite spectacular but it's still pretty solid overall. The weak points of the game in my opinion are the story and voice acting. They just came across as clunky and cheesy to me, which is a shame because the basic premise is intriguing. I'd still say the game is worth a look though, for its unique gameplay and surreal world. Not perfect, but still an entertaining shooter. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played.
    Prey is a Sci-fi Shooter with a very interesting story (you are Tommy, a native American who has been abducted by aliens and the fate of the world lies in your hands), nice graphics and awesome weapons.
    So if you like single-player FPS games with a tense atmosphere and a good story you should definitly buy it
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    though the online component has long gone the way of the dodo, this is easily the reason why people should forgive 2K. I Sank a good 35 HOurs in the first playthrough alone,and im not ashamed to say I think portal is the poor-man's prey.
  8. Mr.Nobody
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    This is one of the most original games i have played in a long time but lacks in a few areas. There is no split screen mode so you eather need 2 xboxs or xbox live to play multiplayer. Also there should be more then deathmatch and team deathmatch.
  9. Adam
    Jul 20, 2006
    8
    Solid gameplay, unique and wonderful level design, fast paced and exciting multiplayer. I just wish the guns(which are great) had a little more BANG! FOR THE BUCK. They tend to lack that hard hitting impact and personality that guns in a FPS should have. Otherwise, great game.
  10. JeffA.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Xbox had halo and the 360 has Prey. Superb graphics, characters, weapons, storyline, controls and audio make Prey a must have FPS. 11 years in the making and it was well worth the wait. The portal technology in the game sets Prey part from any other game and crowns this title as the king of FPS.
  11. PavelM.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    1010. Amazing game. Best FPS I have played since Halo. Creepy, scary and fun. The great (professional) reviews on this game are 100% accurate.
  12. Alex
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    if a demo can be considered an accurate representation of what the final product will be, then i'm convinced that Prey is going to be on hell of a ride. with features like wall walking, the seamless portals, gravity flipping, the spirit walk, and the death walk, Prey stands out as one of the most innovative FPS titles in a LONG time. not since Halo 1 has a title been this wildlyif a demo can be considered an accurate representation of what the final product will be, then i'm convinced that Prey is going to be on hell of a ride. with features like wall walking, the seamless portals, gravity flipping, the spirit walk, and the death walk, Prey stands out as one of the most innovative FPS titles in a LONG time. not since Halo 1 has a title been this wildly engrossing, and so far only the demo is out. multiplayer could become the next Halo as well, as it takes several of the single player features (4 of the 5 that i listed above) and throws them into an 8 person deathmatch that is more than fun. i have a couple complaints so far, however. first, the mulitplayer is LAGGY. however, i think this can be blamed on the demo servers. my other complaint involves both the bad voice acting and used-and-abused storyline. however, these are both minor, as the game manages to stay engrossing and fun. i can't wait for July 10th. Expand
  13. juicebox
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    what? gamers are spoiled brats. and the more games they play, the more tainted, i'm afraid, their opinions become. i'm noticing people, instead of enjoying the experience of a made game for what it gives, they're comparing the whole experience of playing through the game to games they've played before it. it's a bunch of, "oh, they could have done this better.what? gamers are spoiled brats. and the more games they play, the more tainted, i'm afraid, their opinions become. i'm noticing people, instead of enjoying the experience of a made game for what it gives, they're comparing the whole experience of playing through the game to games they've played before it. it's a bunch of, "oh, they could have done this better. halo did this better." for instance, i read a guy's review, and he's complaining about there being so few enemy types in prey, so i go back to the same guy's halo review, and there's no mention of there being so few enemy types in that game. so, why is prey getting picked on? i love the game. i've never played anything like it. it's fun. it's pretty. it's one of a kind. if you want something different, give prey a playthrough. Expand
  14. ElizabethR.
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    This game was enjoyable, but a few things kept it from being great. The story was very cheesy at times. The fact that you never really die (at least after the first chapter or so) and are instead given the opportunity to replenish your health then return to the exact same spot where you died made me play carelessly at times - it was tempting to run and gun in every situation, knowing that This game was enjoyable, but a few things kept it from being great. The story was very cheesy at times. The fact that you never really die (at least after the first chapter or so) and are instead given the opportunity to replenish your health then return to the exact same spot where you died made me play carelessly at times - it was tempting to run and gun in every situation, knowing that there were no consequences for doing so (e.g. having to return to a checkpoint.) The gravity-defying and shifting aspects were fun, and there were moments when the environments and sound effects were genuinely creepy. Prey is a great FPS for a casual fans of the genre - casual gamers could complete this game and gain some achievement points. Expand
  15. DavidB.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    A great game, simply.
  16. BrendanN.
    Jul 16, 2006
    8
    The game is short, make no mistake about it. I started playing the game at 2:30 in the afternoon and was IMMEDIATELY pulled into it. The game, while it lasts is pretty amazing. A little after 11 PM I had finished the game, complete with the after-the-credits surprise. So, it took about 8 and a half hours to finish. What speaks so well to the game's premise is the fact that you The game is short, make no mistake about it. I started playing the game at 2:30 in the afternoon and was IMMEDIATELY pulled into it. The game, while it lasts is pretty amazing. A little after 11 PM I had finished the game, complete with the after-the-credits surprise. So, it took about 8 and a half hours to finish. What speaks so well to the game's premise is the fact that you don't necessarily die in the game, which makes it that much easier to get wrapped up in the gameplay and forget how long you've been playing. Had I actually died in the game, I may have became so frustrated that I would have put off the ending until tomorrow. It's kind of hard to be frustrated though when the game flows so smoothly between story and spectacle, gore and gaming nirvana. I'm not typically a gamer to spend 10 hours a day on one game, but with a premise like Prey's, it's kind of hard to stop. Expand
  17. AtomH.
    Jul 18, 2006
    8
    A very solid single player game with a good online experience. Pretty to look at and fun to play. Recommended.
  18. ShaneTheLiar
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Shane, who cares how hyped it was. I didn't even know it was coming out until the demo hit. The demo made it a must buy for me and I'm glad I did. Despite the hype, I find this is one of the bext games I have ever played and I've been playing games since the Atari 2600. Take your trolling elsewhere.
  19. NikM.
    Sep 2, 2006
    8
    Sure, it isnt quite like halo or riddick, but its a lot beter then 80% of the shooters out there if not more, fun bosses, and this would be like a 5 withouts its amazing story and mind bending plot twists, some advice for prey two; more enemies, and a larger level varigety, i got bored with the constant hybrid spaceship/blob i was fighiting in.
  20. MattS.
    Sep 23, 2006
    8
    This was a pretty solid title. I enjoyed the new game on the aging doom engine (which i'm getting sick of). But the story and balance were excellent, and that's what kept me playing. I was also happy to see that a good number of enemies had scripts written into them so instead of always standing there when you ran around the corner some would come around the corner shooting at a This was a pretty solid title. I enjoyed the new game on the aging doom engine (which i'm getting sick of). But the story and balance were excellent, and that's what kept me playing. I was also happy to see that a good number of enemies had scripts written into them so instead of always standing there when you ran around the corner some would come around the corner shooting at a human and stuff like that. However I was once again a little upset to see some unneeded frame-rate slow-down where it shouldn't have been. I don't know if the developers were just eager to port this game to the 360 or if it's another famous hardware issue. But still, multiplayer was a good amount of fun since they implement the same gravity effects as they do in the singleplayer. Unlockable content is kind of lame (ecspecially if you bought the special edition version that comes with an art book). And a good number of your award points come from just beating the levels. Expand
  21. RandyM.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Prey is, simply put, a next-gen masterpiece. Not only are the gameplay, level design, and graphics executed superbly, but I found one thing in this game that absolutely touched me: the storyline. It was exciting, sad, and full of brilliant plot twists. This is often rare for a first person shooter, and it shocked me to see how detailed it was. Truly, a triple A title that will remain in Prey is, simply put, a next-gen masterpiece. Not only are the gameplay, level design, and graphics executed superbly, but I found one thing in this game that absolutely touched me: the storyline. It was exciting, sad, and full of brilliant plot twists. This is often rare for a first person shooter, and it shocked me to see how detailed it was. Truly, a triple A title that will remain in my heart forever. (On a side note, the scene where you are abducted and taken aboard the sphere while hearing "Don't Fear the Reaper", is absolutely brilliant.) Expand
  22. jeremiahweston
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Best game ever! I play games around 3 hours a day, in all genres. This game is on a whole other level and yet for some reason it is so underrated. The wall walking and portals just add to the awesome atmosphere and story. It does what it does great and better than most games who have tried similiar actions. Though the guns aren't numerous, they all have great purposes andBest game ever! I play games around 3 hours a day, in all genres. This game is on a whole other level and yet for some reason it is so underrated. The wall walking and portals just add to the awesome atmosphere and story. It does what it does great and better than most games who have tried similiar actions. Though the guns aren't numerous, they all have great purposes and designs. The multiplayer can be glitchy if alot of people are online, but it's not game-breaking. The single player campaign is one of the best I've ever played. The multiplayer would have been perfect if the interface was a little more streamlined and had some feel of progression like cod4 or other more recent shooters. This is one of the only shooters that really sucks you into its environments and gives you the emotions it tries to convey. The ending leaves plenty of room for a sequel, but there's still no news as of yet which is extremely dissapointing to me. The studios behind prey and marc ecko are working together on an as of yet unnamed title, and I hope it's Prey 2. You can find this game at gamestop for under 7 dollars used, and if you haven't played this yet, I'd buy it before renting anything else, it's cheaper and better than 99 percent of games that have come out since. If you don't like fps or science fiction, it's not for you though. The cherokee difficulty is EXTREME so be aware you probably won't make it half way through the game unless you are an incredible fps gamer. It's also available on the new xbox360 dashboard to buy for 20 dollars which isn't a bad deal if you don't live near a store. Don't pass this one up! Expand
  23. G.M.
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    One of the best games ever. I don't know if the other people with the low scores are on crack, lying, or just there to hate on anything for the 360. As far as single player goes, my jaw was on the floor from begininng to end (haven't tried multiplayer yet).
  24. TomRugg
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    LIke Bioshock or Gears, I keep coming back to this game. I'm a little surprised by some of the poor reviews. Definitely one of the top 3 games I've played on 360 and infinitely better than some of the uninspired games that have come out recently (Halo 3)
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80
  1. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  2. 80
    If only the Native American mysticism had figured in more. If only the spirit "death walk" had developed into something more than a shooting gallery. If only the voice acting and storytelling were a little better. If only there were more than just deathmatch to the multiplayer. All those half steps...but even combined, they don't amount to a stride backward.
  3. It could have been much better if only there were more than two modes (deathmatch and team deathmatch) and a couple of maps small enough to play with less than five players, but Prey is still a major blast for shooter fans with strong stomachs.