User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 93
  2. Negative: 9 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    If you are not sure whether or not to buy this game, let me just say that if you loved the original Sands of Time trilogy, you'll love this game too. In the early sections of the game it may seem like it offers nothing new to the series but stick with it. Once you start getting the elemental powers the game really picks up, and you'll have an absolute blast. My only real complaints are that the combat is a little bit too hack-and-slashy, and the main story mode is fairly short. Still, it's great to see the old Prince back instead of the idiot from the 2008 PoP, and it's really nice to see that his acrobatics are still as awesome as ever. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games in the Prince of persia series.. Very underrated! I dont get how people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like hack'n'Slash/adventure games
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Amazing game overall, it is what I call the proper sequel to the Sands of Time with the Prince in a new adventure. The gameplay remains similar to the Sands of Time with some new abilities and powers that make the experience fun too. The challenge modes are fun and the uPlay integration is great to purchase some stuff for the game. The story is the only downside, it exists through the whole game but it's quite forgettable. Overall this is a must-buy for any Prince of Persia fan and a great entry to the franchise. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite video games. A perfect Prince of Persia adventure for anyone who likes video games. The game has perfect combat and a plot that will keep you interested until the end. The game is mostly dependent of you solving puzzles, with challenges being hard, but not too hard. Don't judge it for having puzzles, this is a very exciting, fast paced game with lots of combat. You will love it. Collapse
  5. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    The Forgotten Sands is a game that has a lot of great ideas put in to motion. Most of these ideas have to do with the platforming aspect of the game, but there are some cool power ups and upgrades for the combat. Some of these ideas are freezing water so you can climb it, wearing stone armor so that no attacks hurt you, and rewinding time to save yourself from falling to your doom (or to save yourself from an enemies attack in combat.) The platforming is normally amazing, and very smooth. The combat is the best in the series's history. instead of fight 3 or 4 people (like in sands of time) you fight 30 or 40. The combat is faster paced and much more fun. Unfortunately the combat is never a real challenge. This game has excellent graphics except for the character models which have odd looking faces. The sound in the game is great. The main problem with the game is the lack of a story. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    I am so glad I decided to play this game. I didn't hate the last Prince of Persia installment, I actually enjoyed it, but it didn't nearly live up to the original Sands of Time trilogy. I'm glad to say that Ubisoft returned to the Sands of Time story (I believe this game takes place between the first and second game), and the game is a blast. The graphics are nice, especially during cutscenes. The music is perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. The story isn't extravagant, but it isn't bad by any means. The combat is incredible, especially when you start gaining your different powers. It is fluid and really makes you feel awesome when you are taking down many enemies. The platforming starts pretty easy, but the further you go the platforming and puzzles becoming quite challenging. My only two real complaints with the game are it is short, roughly 6-8 hours. Plus, after you beat the game you unlock a challenge mode, but I finished it in 5 minutes and it doesn't change after the first time. It is the same waves over and over. Although the formula is similar to the Sands of time trilogy and it is quite short, that doesn't mean you should not try out this Prince of Persia. I guarantee you it is just as much fun as the Sands of Time. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Wow! What a surprisingly fun game! Especially since you can find this game for about $10. This is what games were designed to be...fun! I really enjoyed how much it reminded me of POP Sands of Time, but the developers also took the time to make it more modernized by including leveling up abilities and adding new magic elements. A fun stress free game (with lots of easy achievements if your in to that sort of thing) Expand
  8. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    This game wasnt horrible...it just wasnt a good game. It was simply okay. It had decent combat and an okay story. I liked the elemental control but I wish they had fleshed it out more. Same with the fights themselves. It was just hack through the same enemies over and over. I wasnt dissapointed. I was just unimpressed. Im split between a 6 and a 7. Ill just be nice and let it have a 7.
  9. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story and visuals are unimpressive, but the combat and platforming are good enough that anyone who's been longing for another PoP game since 2005's Two Thrones is in for a treat. Expand
  10. Apr 8, 2011
    0
    Can't get past the beginning because I keep falling asleep. I don't even care if it gets better later at this point. Nothing could be worth this slow grind.
  11. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands marks the return of the prince we all know and love. While the game isnâ
  12. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    It's a decent game, but is ridiculously easy and short. Also, I had a problem at the final part where my game bugged making my character fall forever. I had to restart the entire game.
  13. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    This is one of my favorite video games. A perfect Prince of Persia adventure for anyone who likes video games. The game has perfect combat and a plot that will keep you interested until the end. The game is mostly dependent of you solving puzzles, with challenges being hard, but not too hard. Don't judge it for having puzzles, this is a very exciting, fast paced game with lots of combat. You will love it. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands has a lot of great puzzle-elements, but when it comes down to the combat, the game fails.
  2. Forgotten Sands may not be one of the most stunning games released this year, but just like the previous Prince of Persia games, Forgotten Sands knocks it out of the park with some of the most satisfying platforming you’ll see this year.
  3. Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a fun platform and action game, but nothing more than that. It's a decent HD-reincarnation of The Sands of Time.