User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    So I've paid for the game and yet it still bothers me with advertisements and in-game shop? It's just a joke, right? It really grinds my gears everytime I see something like this.
  2. May 26, 2013
    6
    Prince of Persia is a great series. the original games are pretty cool, and the sands of time games are my favorites in the series. But did anyone, ANYONE, ask for a reboot? I know I didn't. The story for the game is probably the best aspect of the game. It is very well written, and I found myself surprised that I cared for the characters. The gameplay actually isn't that great. most ofPrince of Persia is a great series. the original games are pretty cool, and the sands of time games are my favorites in the series. But did anyone, ANYONE, ask for a reboot? I know I didn't. The story for the game is probably the best aspect of the game. It is very well written, and I found myself surprised that I cared for the characters. The gameplay actually isn't that great. most of the time, you're just climbing around areas, trying not to die(Which you cannot do, as Elika will always save the Prince.), which gets real boring, and the combat was very minimal and bland. The graphics for the game are nice. the many colors in the world make the world of this game feel alive, and you feel like you want to help a corrupted environment. the soundtrack is ok at best. Most tracks are forgettable, but some, like the main theme, will be ones that get stuck in your head. one aspect that turned me off of Prince of Persia is the orb collecting. there are so many orbs to collect, and after flag collecting in Assassin's Creed, I really didn't want to bother. The problem here, however, is that a certain number of orbs are required to continue the game. This was what shut me down on Prince of Persia for a couple months. Another poor aspect is voice acting. the main characters, The Prince and Elika, are well developed, but their voice actors, or anyone else, don't seem to fit the part for me. Overall, Prince of Persia is a reboot that wasn't needed. the story and graphics are nice, but the gameplay, a game's most important aspect, is seriously boring, the voice acting wasn't that good, and the combat is bland. If you like the Prince of Persia series, I wouldn't recommend this title. Expand
  3. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prince of Persia is a game that tends to the casual audience while keeping the masochistic at bay. There are some hiccups that could have been fixed, but with a beautifully unique art direction that is unparalleled to anything previously done, dynamic and perpetually new environments with seamless acrobatic platforming, much can easily be forgiven. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Quite possibly the last "must own" of 2008 and easily one of the best action-adventure games of the year. With a fantastic soundtrack and a unique and superb look, Prince of Persia is a platformer that you shouldn't miss. Granted, it's not the hardcore platformer that fans of the series yearned for, but if you're looking for a rich story in an even richer setting, then Prince of Persia isQuite possibly the last "must own" of 2008 and easily one of the best action-adventure games of the year. With a fantastic soundtrack and a unique and superb look, Prince of Persia is a platformer that you shouldn't miss. Granted, it's not the hardcore platformer that fans of the series yearned for, but if you're looking for a rich story in an even richer setting, then Prince of Persia is for you ... If anyone wants us, we'll be waiting in a cupboard for the DLC which is due next year. Expand
  5. DME
    Sep 22, 2012
    5
    I bought this game due to the high reviews it's been getting and what a mistake. I hate nearly everything about it. Camera is annoying, the controls feel all wrong, voice acting and cutscenes are laughable, and the animation is poor. And the things is so freaking repetitive... The only redeeming quality I could find was the graphics, which, unfortunately, doesn't work for this game. II bought this game due to the high reviews it's been getting and what a mistake. I hate nearly everything about it. Camera is annoying, the controls feel all wrong, voice acting and cutscenes are laughable, and the animation is poor. And the things is so freaking repetitive... The only redeeming quality I could find was the graphics, which, unfortunately, doesn't work for this game. I want the time and money that I spent on this game back. Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Prince of Persia is a game that always had a place for me. The two thrones being one of my favourite games to date. This game, does not hold such places. When I started up the game I found myself going, "wow! This looks great!", which honestly, it did. The Graphics are beautiful with great surroundings to fit. Though the gameplay does not hold up. The game is fun for about 3 hours untilPrince of Persia is a game that always had a place for me. The two thrones being one of my favourite games to date. This game, does not hold such places. When I started up the game I found myself going, "wow! This looks great!", which honestly, it did. The Graphics are beautiful with great surroundings to fit. Though the gameplay does not hold up. The game is fun for about 3 hours until you get sick of the fighting mechanic. In short it's basically, Hit hit hit, use magic, use claw, hit hit hit OR hit hit hit kick off edge. The game is FULL of quick time events, they practically populate the boss fights, most of them being button mashers with unfair expectancy to complete. You can't actually die in this game either, you're brought instantly back by your partner. This sounds great, but destroys any use of difficulty. If you want a Prince of Persia were there is violence, difficulty, time reversal and epic weapons, this is NOT the game. Sadly. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    It's such a shame they didn't give this version of the series a chance. Sure there were problems with the combat, the complaints that it was "too easy" were valid and the character's weren't super well developed but the art style was breathtaking, the control was fluid, the score was excellent and by the end, I was interested in the relationship between Elika and the Prince. Like Mirror'sIt's such a shame they didn't give this version of the series a chance. Sure there were problems with the combat, the complaints that it was "too easy" were valid and the character's weren't super well developed but the art style was breathtaking, the control was fluid, the score was excellent and by the end, I was interested in the relationship between Elika and the Prince. Like Mirror's Edge, it was flawed but none of the problems were insurmountable. So much potential and such a nice package it's sad that they felt the need to scrap this version for a 3rd reboot. Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    I am a huge fan of the original Prince of Persia trilogy, and when I heard about this game I was a little worried that they would change to much of what made the original games great, and I was right, the gameplay has been completely destroyed, platforming is awkward do to too may actions being mapped to the same buttons, combat is tedious and unenjoyable, it's EXTREMELY repetitive, havingI am a huge fan of the original Prince of Persia trilogy, and when I heard about this game I was a little worried that they would change to much of what made the original games great, and I was right, the gameplay has been completely destroyed, platforming is awkward do to too may actions being mapped to the same buttons, combat is tedious and unenjoyable, it's EXTREMELY repetitive, having to search around for light seeds just to advance the plot is stupid, and do to the fact that you can't really die the whole game just feels like trial and error, and the new Prince character is completely unlikeable, while they messed up most of the game it's got some good things going for it, the voice acting is solid, the graphics are beautiful, and the ending does have interested in seeing where the story goes from here, but I'm not sure if I want to pick up the next game they come out with, this was a huge disappointment and isn't worthy to bear the Prince of Persia name. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    For the most part, this game is really good. The graphics are really nice, the game play is good, the story is interesting and the characters are good. I've been a fan of the series since The Sands of Time, and I've loved Prince of Persia since. Even though this is a reboot, I liked it a lot.
  10. Apr 25, 2011
    6
    Having never played a Prince of Persia game before, this was my first and I enjoyed it from start to finish. The gameplay was repetitive, but I enjoyed the company of the characters and I love the art style. There isn't much to go back and replay once completed, but I found that just playing to try and collect all the orbs was fun enough to keep me interested, disregarding the bossHaving never played a Prince of Persia game before, this was my first and I enjoyed it from start to finish. The gameplay was repetitive, but I enjoyed the company of the characters and I love the art style. There isn't much to go back and replay once completed, but I found that just playing to try and collect all the orbs was fun enough to keep me interested, disregarding the boss battles. It's definitely worth a rent, or £5/$10. 3/5. Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2011
    3
    I registered to Metacritic just to tell you how horrible this game is. The duels are frustrating to control, it seems that the enemies have cooler combo moves and more control than you. For some of the lesser enemies, when they're in a frenzy (non-stop hacking and slashing), you pretty much have no choice but to block until the bad guy stops or he corners you to a cliff or wall thenI registered to Metacritic just to tell you how horrible this game is. The duels are frustrating to control, it seems that the enemies have cooler combo moves and more control than you. For some of the lesser enemies, when they're in a frenzy (non-stop hacking and slashing), you pretty much have no choice but to block until the bad guy stops or he corners you to a cliff or wall then throws you around. There are four bosses to duel and you have to battle them more than four times. It's really annoying when they're nearly dead and they just run off or disappear. Also, it's a real pain in the neck when you've done so much damage that if they manage to knock you to the ground and you end up being saved by the magical girl, the boss will randomly regain their health and you are forced to fight him/her off further. After completing a "level", you have no choice but to go through the same obstacles you went though previously to collect magical seeds. It felt like they did this to prolong the length of the game by making you pull off a mario/sonic coin/ring collection. There were some issue with the forced camera changes that made it difficult to control which direction you wanted to move your character. One moment, he's side-scrolling left, the next moment he's jumping off to his death. This problem also occurs during some boss battles, where there is a random pillar in the middle of the battleground that obscures your vision and allowing the enemy to jab at you. The cutscenes are long and boring, you can't hit spacebar to skip. The story is hollow and lame. Even the flashbacks, similar to Sands of Time, are repetitive and don't reveal that much to the story. Instead, you have to listen to the same quotes involving a king making a deal with the bad guy, it's really annoying and too random of a conversation. I could go on, but then I'd be rambling beyond 5000 characters. Don't buy this game, I'm sure you'll have fun with the Assassin's Creed series or the other POP games (Sands of Time is my favourite). Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2011
    4
    This is an absolute horrible game. The story sucks. You run around doing the same thing over and over, climbing and sliding up and down rocks and mountains. Then you finally get to an enemy and it's the same one as the last and it takes 30 seconds to beat him, (EASY) and then you're back to another 15 minutes of climbing and sliding again. The moves are pretty cool but that's the onlyThis is an absolute horrible game. The story sucks. You run around doing the same thing over and over, climbing and sliding up and down rocks and mountains. Then you finally get to an enemy and it's the same one as the last and it takes 30 seconds to beat him, (EASY) and then you're back to another 15 minutes of climbing and sliding again. The moves are pretty cool but that's the only thing I liked about this game, well, besides the cool sort of artsy graphics. This game is made by the same people that made Assassin's Creed and you could call this an Assassin's Creed without the depth, maps and action. HORRIBLE. Expand
  13. Feb 20, 2011
    4
    First off, I can not for the life of me understand the high ratings from critics about this game; my mind simply can not comprehend how anyone in any right frame of mind could speak positively of this game. I can only assume that in 2008 when this game was released, expectations of games were not as demanding as they are today or these critics were charmed by the game's genuinely beautifulFirst off, I can not for the life of me understand the high ratings from critics about this game; my mind simply can not comprehend how anyone in any right frame of mind could speak positively of this game. I can only assume that in 2008 when this game was released, expectations of games were not as demanding as they are today or these critics were charmed by the game's genuinely beautiful art style. Unfortunately, my compliments end there. So, your character 's goal is to restore peace and tranquillity to a kingdom which has been consumed by evil. Fairly standard plot really; on your journey through this environment you are accompanied by its princess, Elika. She is at hand to guide you in your quest by offering hints in which direction to travel and also ensure you don't die. Which she does a pretty good job of as you won't die throughout the entirety of this game but you will become very sick of seeing the animation used to represent Elika saving you.

    Ubisoft have opted for the free-roaming play style in this particular episode of the series, or at least that's want they want you to think. Although you do have to ability to play through the game in pretty much any order, you'll soon realise that once you've chosen your path, the game becomes very linear and very repetitive. Each area requires you traverse a number of obstacles before reaching a boss battle and with little differentiation in the locations, the colours and even the obstacles themselves, things get tedious pretty quickly. And if that's not enough, to progress to further areas of the game you are required to collect 'Light Seeds' by retracing your steps. Though they seem just a cheap way of fleshing out the game's play time, these collectables also unlock new 'powers' which can only be used at certain points making them ultimately pointless additions.

    Let's talk combat. Though the focus is on the adventuring side, combat is a frequent occurrence even if it is with only one enemy at a time. A simple combat system is utilised ensuring even the most inexperienced of players will be able to grasp the various combos and dodges. The weapon of choice here is a sword and this never changes, in fact without any kind of upgrade or levelling system nothing changes; the moves you are using at the beginning of the game, you will still be pulling off in the final fight.

    Though for the most part combat is easy, it does soon get frustrating. Not just because of its repetitive nature but also because of the spam-happy nature of your opponents. At later points in the game it seems every move you pull off is blocked and every second you give the enemy, they utilise their 'charge mode' which sees them enter a rage which can only be ended with a certain move. In short, although it can look good, combat is a laborious affair and not this game's high point.

    Most irritating of all however, are the controls; the unresponsive, inconsistent and down right awful controls. For the most part, every action relies on one button. This one button will make your character jump, climb, run on walls, the works. Occasionally you will be prompted to press another but there really is little variation and despite being simple to play, the issues will eventually absolutely do your head in. You have practically no control over which direction your character jumps (this coupled with a fixed camera makes traversing some gaps virtually impossible) and at times the controls have a complete mind of their own; you will often find yourself trying to jump forwards and watching in disbelief as your character instead chooses to start climbing a wall and hopping off it into a pit. Such lack of control is even reminiscent of (dare I say it) some of the terrible post-MegaDrive Sonic the Hedgehog games.

    To summarise, Prince of Persia is a mess of a video game - a mediocre platformer with poor controls, pointless combat and an uninspired, badly written story wrapped around it. Don't be tempted by its low price, this is a shambles of an edition to a previously enjoyable franchise.
    Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Don't see why ppl r hating on this so bad, its pretty good. I know it has some flaws, but they are few and far between. First, the characters. The witty protagonist and the serious love interest is very funny indeed and seeing how theyr get along by pressing the chat button once in a while gives me a lot of comedic banter. Next, the story. Hasn't really changed that much since the princeDon't see why ppl r hating on this so bad, its pretty good. I know it has some flaws, but they are few and far between. First, the characters. The witty protagonist and the serious love interest is very funny indeed and seeing how theyr get along by pressing the chat button once in a while gives me a lot of comedic banter. Next, the story. Hasn't really changed that much since the prince of persia series. Dark Vs Light, or defeat this evil guy, its all the same. Now onto the combat. The combo system is incredibly and the wicked acrobatics you use combined with Elena's magic make for some jaw-dropping attacks, it's ust a same the gcombat, and the platforming is all a bit too easy, on the account that you can't die. Platforming now. THis is some of the best platforming I've ever done. Easily the shining point of the game, with some sweet acrobatics and jumps where you constantly have to think fast and make the next jump or risk being sent back to the last safe platform you were on, but as I said before, it can be a bit easy at times. Finally, the graphics. I know some ppl can't stand cel-shaded graphics personally I love it, after all, Prince of Persia isn't exactly all that gritty and realistic. So, to sum it up, this is a great game, but the story is boring and but is saved 2-fold by the characters and the platforming and the combat is great but can sometimes feel just a tad too easy. Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2010
    2
    Nowhere near as good as the Trilogy, SO REPETITVE, its nothing like the older games and it well really shouldnt be named Price of Persia should be called Prince of RAGE quit..
    so many times has he jumped in the wrong direction or jumps when i didnt even press the button.. so frustration and its WAYYY too easy
  16. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Well made and a joy to run around in. I found this game quite relaxing and it's no way as bad as most people would say. A game I want in my collection.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game's core mechanics are all still there, neatly created and presented stunningly. But underneath this evident beauty, Prince of Persia fails to deliver on any sort of a challenge, and instead of carrying on the proud tradition of the series, deviates to a considerable and damaging extent because of its simple gameplay and excessive accessibility.
  2. While Prince of Persia is definitely flawed and can even become tedious at points, it creates a dreamlike world that keeps you interested. It is an interactive extension of what good fiction tries to be, and while it's not for everyone, it can often leave you with a desire to come back for more.
  3. Newcomers are likely to get more out of this new trilogy's opening than veterans, who know much better. [Feb 2009, p.74]