Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    All told, this is a great debut for the Prince of Persia series on the PS3 and Xbox 360. [Jan 2009, p.74]
  2. 90
    The new title combines strong platforming fundamentals, Assassin's Creed's open-world structure, and some of Okami's wonderful aesthetic flourishes. What it introduces to action games is something truly wonderful. Since the Prince can't die, the pace and rhythm of gameplay is never lost, yet it still offers a challenge even for hardcore gamers.
  3. Prince of Persia does away with one of the most fundamental game design rules and is all the better for it.
  4. Unless you’re a hardcore fan of the Prince of Persia games, you can beat the game in about 14 hours or so in a rental to get all you need out of it during the holiday season.
  5. It’s immediately tangible, even from the title screen, that Prince of Persia is a labor of love, meant to bridge luxurious aesthetic and spitshine polish with emotional investment. And despite its overly repetitive structure, we found ourselves compelled to fight our way through to see how it all ends — donkey or not.
  6. 75
    Despite cynically poking Prince of Persia in the ribs for a significant chunk of this review, there's little doubting that Ubisoft's latest offering is one of the year's most staggeringly beautiful releases.
  7. Prince of Persia has flashes of greatness. Its production values are absolutely stunning – but the game designers need to take a long hard look at themselves.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36
  1. AlixeViolet
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    I am desperately awaiting the sequel for this. The story was great and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The humor was spot-on and the chemistry between the prince and Elika was amazing. The ending was manly, and there are still secrets to unlock. Additional content and bonuses make it worth replaying, and the game system never seems to get tired. The perfect blend between 3D fighting and platforming. Gotta love this game. Collapse
  2. JayG
    Feb 3, 2009
    9
    The new PoP is visually stunning, the gameplay is absolutley fun, and the story will leave you begging for more. The only complaint which is is a lot of comments is that you cant die. Other than that the game is great, must buy for fans, rental for those who are new to the series. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Don't see why ppl r hating on this so bad, its pretty good. I know it has some flaws, but they are few and far between. First, the characters. The witty protagonist and the serious love interest is very funny indeed and seeing how theyr get along by pressing the chat button once in a while gives me a lot of comedic banter. Next, the story. Hasn't really changed that much since the prince of persia series. Dark Vs Light, or defeat this evil guy, its all the same. Now onto the combat. The combo system is incredibly and the wicked acrobatics you use combined with Elena's magic make for some jaw-dropping attacks, it's ust a same the gcombat, and the platforming is all a bit too easy, on the account that you can't die. Platforming now. THis is some of the best platforming I've ever done. Easily the shining point of the game, with some sweet acrobatics and jumps where you constantly have to think fast and make the next jump or risk being sent back to the last safe platform you were on, but as I said before, it can be a bit easy at times. Finally, the graphics. I know some ppl can't stand cel-shaded graphics personally I love it, after all, Prince of Persia isn't exactly all that gritty and realistic. So, to sum it up, this is a great game, but the story is boring and but is saved 2-fold by the characters and the platforming and the combat is great but can sometimes feel just a tad too easy. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Prince of Persia is a game that always had a place for me. The two thrones being one of my favourite games to date. This game, does not hold such places. When I started up the game I found myself going, "wow! This looks great!", which honestly, it did. The Graphics are beautiful with great surroundings to fit. Though the gameplay does not hold up. The game is fun for about 3 hours until you get sick of the fighting mechanic. In short it's basically, Hit hit hit, use magic, use claw, hit hit hit OR hit hit hit kick off edge. The game is FULL of quick time events, they practically populate the boss fights, most of them being button mashers with unfair expectancy to complete. You can't actually die in this game either, you're brought instantly back by your partner. This sounds great, but destroys any use of difficulty. If you want a Prince of Persia were there is violence, difficulty, time reversal and epic weapons, this is NOT the game. Sadly. Expand
  5. jt
    Jul 25, 2009
    5
    Do you like collecting orbs? If you said no, then don't bother with this game. Do you like challenge? If you said yes, then don't bother with this game. If i had to sum up the PoP experience in one word, it would be "shallow". As beautiful as the game is (and it is gorgeous), it just doesn't have enough substance to feel satisfying. It absolutely baffles me to think that respected reviewers gave this game a better than mediocre review. Let me explain the problems systematically. 1. There is no challenge. At all. The main character can not under any circumstance die or fail. Ever. If you fall off a cliff, miss a quick-time event, or just suck at combat, the game will literally hold your hand until you get it right. Each time you do something that would have caused your death, Elika saves you. This would not be such a problem if not for my next point. 2. You're not playing a game. You are "interacting" with a game. What does that mean? In a real platformer, getting from point a to point b involves skill as you time your jumps and movements just right. This is not the case in PoP. I literally moved from one side of a level to the other by touching my analog stick once then just pressing buttons. In fact, moving around a level is honestly just a cleverly engineered quick time even where you are trained to notice certain objects as specfiic button presses. If you see a ring, you press B, if you see a plate, you press Y, if you see a gap, you press A, the game does the rest. I moved across an entire level by pressing A, B, and Y when the game told me to. And remember that hand-holding i mentioned earlier, it's in the movement too. The window of opportunity is so large that it's almost insulting. 3. The levels are very, very small. From the time you enter a level to the time you get to a boss is generally about ten minutes. I'm not exaggerating. This is a good deal if you're renting the game, a horrible deal if you bought it. 4. Bosses? Hah! The game has four "stages". Each stage has one boss that you fight a total of five times. I could deal with this if the boss fights varied substantially or increased in difficulty as you went, but they don't. Two reasons they don't: one, the game is non-linear, so the bosses weren't designed to be harder than each other, two, it holds your hand remember, you CAN NOT DIE. 5. Orb collecting. Remember when i asked if you enjoyed collecting orbs. I was serious, you better love it or you are going to hate this game. Getting to, and defeating a boss takes about ten to fifteen minutes per level, after that you're expected to spend a good twenty to thirty minutes scrounging around the level picking up orbs so you can unlock magic for elika. not you, elika. 6. There are no character upgrades. There's a game called metroid, it came out in the 80's for the original nintendo, it included upgrades for the main character. Why, twenty years later, can this not be accomplished. You start with a sword and a gauntlet, you end with the same thing. You don't learn to double jump. You don't find a better sword, nothing. 7. I'm done, i've put too much energy talking about how mediocre this game is already, when there are GOOD games out there waiting to be played. in short, rent or borrow this, but DO NOT BUY IT. Expand
  6. MikaH
    Dec 12, 2008
    4
    This 'game' is truly beatiful piece of art, except I wish they would have made a movie instead of these plain quick-time event massacre. There isn't much "gaming" included in at all. It is also totally too easy: I left for shopping in middle of a boss fight and let the game show it's fighting sequences to my furniture till I came back. You just can't die in the game, but lack of game play can really make you cry. Skip this if you have played the earlier PoP games. Expand
  7. JamesP
    Aug 31, 2009
    0
    This game is one of the most pathetic miserable excuses for a game I've ever played. After reading glowing reviews of this from many previously trusted sources, I've become totally disillusioned with the gaming press. This game is nothing but Dance Dance Revolution set on the easiest setting for hours and hours of mind numbing boredom. The whole game consists exclusively of "X, A, A, A, Y, B.... etc. etc." that you get from following on screen prompts. There is no possibility of death, no reward. I felt nothing but angry and conned after buying this. Without a doubt it is the worst game I have ever played in my life. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews