Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 Xbox 360

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 74
  2. Negative: 16 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyG
    Oct 14, 2008
    6
    This is my first review for Metacritic. But as someone who has now played both Fifa and PES 09's, Konami should be ashamed of this mess. The players move jerky, and just completely unrealistic and unnatural. The game also has pitiful extra's compared to Fifa09. Throughout my SNES, and PS1, PS2 owning days PES completely outclassed Fifa, in 2004-2006, Fifa had slightly less This is my first review for Metacritic. But as someone who has now played both Fifa and PES 09's, Konami should be ashamed of this mess. The players move jerky, and just completely unrealistic and unnatural. The game also has pitiful extra's compared to Fifa09. Throughout my SNES, and PS1, PS2 owning days PES completely outclassed Fifa, in 2004-2006, Fifa had slightly less enjoyable game of football but made up for it with so many extra's. Now Fifa has a superb game of Football and the extra's too. So it truly pains me to say this, but unless Konami get their act together there literally is no reason to buy PES again, and certainly not the 2009 edtion. A 6/10 mainly as it has slight glimmers of past years playability. Expand
  2. Nico
    Oct 16, 2008
    5
    After playing the demo i was extremely disappointed, but i thought id wait for the full game. firstly the main menu has had a complete change, and as a overall synopsis, thats the most they have changed since they have moved onto the next gen consoles. the ai is still clunky and unrealistic, audio is poor, and the addition of the champions league is purely a gimmick. i never judge a game After playing the demo i was extremely disappointed, but i thought id wait for the full game. firstly the main menu has had a complete change, and as a overall synopsis, thats the most they have changed since they have moved onto the next gen consoles. the ai is still clunky and unrealistic, audio is poor, and the addition of the champions league is purely a gimmick. i never judge a game on graphics alone, gameplay takes priority, that said, id happily play PES5 or 4 again as they were the last great PES games. As another reviewer put it, ill be buying FIFA this year for the first time since 1998. Expand
  3. RichardJ.
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    I can't believe it, truly the King id dead. It's awful this year. Here are the low points: * No realism in the player movements, they turn without any reference to reality, turning 180 degrees in a heartbeat. * Licences - it's never bother me before, but this year it's so jarring, after playing FIFA and hearing the real chants at Stamford Bridge, going to this is I can't believe it, truly the King id dead. It's awful this year. Here are the low points: * No realism in the player movements, they turn without any reference to reality, turning 180 degrees in a heartbeat. * Licences - it's never bother me before, but this year it's so jarring, after playing FIFA and hearing the real chants at Stamford Bridge, going to this is terrible. In BAL Mode it's worse! * The Gameplay is just poor, 8 directional input is DEAD, we NEED analogue inout now Seabass. The D-PAD cannot replicate accurate player movement. * Be a Legend is unfinished. A lot of potential all ruined by shoddy implementation. * Online is broken, I get awful tearing and ripping, also a lot of player morphing. 4 players, FIFA has 10 on 10 and it's better. * The Interface looks like an N64 game! There are so many reasons not to buy it this, as if you choose not to, perhaps they will sit up and take notice, and start trying a little harder. Vote with your feet and wallet, DO NOT buy this game. P.S. I have been a loyal PES/ISS fan since '98. Expand
  4. Andy
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    Just tried the demo, granted its the demo but this years appears to be the worst yet. Since moving to the 360/ps3 the franchise has been on the downslope and from the visuals and AI to the sound effects and ball physics it only gets worse this year. Try the fifa 09 demo, i think ill be buying fifa this year, the first since 2001.
  5. AnonAnon
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Shockingly bad, Konami have done nothing to last years debacle and there are even fewer licences now (only a few La Liga teams). Graphics are abysmal. This is the death of the King.
  6. NickW
    Oct 17, 2008
    7
    Was looking and hoping for a major improvement this year over 2008 and sad to say that it has not delivered. The online problems still exist and the gameplay has taken a step backwards. The pace of the game has slowed down which is good but shooting, tackling, regaining procession seems a lot more difficult now. What with the lack of proper kits, players at the right clubs, stadiums Was looking and hoping for a major improvement this year over 2008 and sad to say that it has not delivered. The online problems still exist and the gameplay has taken a step backwards. The pace of the game has slowed down which is good but shooting, tackling, regaining procession seems a lot more difficult now. What with the lack of proper kits, players at the right clubs, stadiums (things that have never bothered me before as gameplay is most important), I am sad to say my beloved PES now plays second fiddle to FIFA 09. Expand
  7. KevinA.
    Oct 18, 2008
    6
    This game just hasn't evolved. Legend mode isn't a patch on Be A Pro on Fifa, the gameplay is dated which is sad. I was a PES fanboy and Konami have taken us for granted. I was always very anti-Fifa, but it is so much more enjoyable.
  8. SeanP.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    A big step back in terms of control, and shooting. In PES 08 you could get past players clearly and the controls (albeit sometimes wouldn't respond) tend to be even more unresponsive, leaving more control in the hands of the AI. The striking is poor, unless you are 3 ft from goal the shots are completely random (mostly over the bar as if you'd kicked a fly-a-way football and the A big step back in terms of control, and shooting. In PES 08 you could get past players clearly and the controls (albeit sometimes wouldn't respond) tend to be even more unresponsive, leaving more control in the hands of the AI. The striking is poor, unless you are 3 ft from goal the shots are completely random (mostly over the bar as if you'd kicked a fly-a-way football and the wind caught it). I score in the top corner and same position same shot different outcome. I know this was the method in 08 were the shots would be randomised but that would only have been about 50% of the time, now its 100%, unless you are in the box. The RT and RB combination (were your player kicks the ball the furthest way ahead of him) to get past players seems to now only work when it results in the computer getting the ball or if you are in the last 3rd. Anywhere else is doesnt work. Pah! Getting past players cleanly is another big problem, they just seem to stick to you like glue, and when you lose the ball your players seem to slow down then speed up to create the illusion of having a fair chance fo winning the ball. Passing is good and crossing is good, but comp now defends more crosses than ever, corners are no longer as effective, comp seems always to head the ball clear 90% of the time. There just doesnt seem to be any satisfaction in shooting, ball feels like its balloon. All in all there are some improvements over 2008 (less off-sides, more pass variation, slightly improved animations), but there are also some serious drawbacks. Overall though there are more cons than pros in this game, a lot more. Tbh its the very first game I have ever downloaded (yes Its for PC), because I had a strong moral belief in paying for games, if I am quite honest I'm very glad I did, I would be furious had I paid money for this. As it is I can just say, well I didn't pay for it so no biggie, and move back to 2008. Try again Konami. Expand
  9. MikeH
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    Having been a PES Fanboy for the last 3 or 4 years, I never saw myself buying a Fifa game. I'd just like to echo other comments: this year Fifa has really stormed ahead - it's by far the superior game in terms of presentation, features, graphics and now even gameplay.
  10. KhristianR.
    Oct 6, 2008
    6
    It seems every year PES seems to be getting a little worse and its happened again. The graphics look average, the animation looks stiff. Pick FIFA up. SCORE : 68%.
  11. AndyV
    Nov 2, 2008
    5
    Before this year the last fifa title i bought was fifa 2001 on the ps2, which quickly got traded in after playing pro evolution soccer. Every year since i have bought every single pro evolution game up to 2008. I always scoffed at those who played fifa, thinking the only reason was because of the license as it sure wasnt the gameplay. However, and this is a big however...fifa is now the Before this year the last fifa title i bought was fifa 2001 on the ps2, which quickly got traded in after playing pro evolution soccer. Every year since i have bought every single pro evolution game up to 2008. I always scoffed at those who played fifa, thinking the only reason was because of the license as it sure wasnt the gameplay. However, and this is a big however...fifa is now the better game, the game that plays a more real and satisfying game of football. In addition its the only game of the two that is making any strides and improvements on the "next generation" hardware, taking advantage of the online capabilities and improved processing power to provide realism and atmosphere unparalleled. As a long time pro evo fan i'd recommend you ignore this years edition, buy fifa 09 and then check out both demos next year to see if konami have actually learnt any lessons. The problem is i think they realise theres a problem, but i question whether their team has the talent (particularly in coding and audio engineering) to drastically improve the franchise on the 360 and ps3. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 seems to be, again and lamentably, a lost opportunity. This could have been a great chance to vindicate the lost football throne, to demonstrate to the skeptics that they are cappable to make a great game, and to bring some light to a saga that is suffering, overwhelmed by new titles.
  2. 85
    For all its problems off the pitch, there’s no doubting that PES 2009 is the most fun football game on the market.
  3. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    85
    In this effort to regain the title, PES plays it safe and recovers the classic gameplay that conquered the players in the last decade. But while it can be enough to hold on the fans, the reused formula and the comeback of the same old flaws can be a growing problem for the future. [Oct 2008]