User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 73
  2. Negative: 16 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    Ok before I review this game, I must give a severe tongue-lashing to Euro-nonegamer! What a pathetic site with bias/stupid reviewers, I urge all readers to ignore their reviewers from now on. Why? Because great games like Deep Space, good games like Pro 09, get 7/10. Average games like Fifa 09, or terrible games like Bioshock on the PS3 get 10/10! What planet are they on!!!! Answers on Ok before I review this game, I must give a severe tongue-lashing to Euro-nonegamer! What a pathetic site with bias/stupid reviewers, I urge all readers to ignore their reviewers from now on. Why? Because great games like Deep Space, good games like Pro 09, get 7/10. Average games like Fifa 09, or terrible games like Bioshock on the PS3 get 10/10! What planet are they on!!!! Answers on some toilet tissue, so hopefully both can be flushed away! Anyway this IS a good game, but not a radically different one. For all the new bells and whistles Fifa has, it still has the same tired gameplay and same faded graphics (check eurogamer laughable comment about Fifa wonderful graphics). I've played it, and everyone agrees Pro is better graphically and gameplay wise. The fluid gameplay of yester-year is back, slick passing, tight controls, it's all here and happily flowing. Yes 'be a pro' is rubbish, yes Champs league is nothing more than a knock out comp from the start, yes the keepers have teflon glove moments but the game WORKS this year, on and offline! Which for pure football lovers is enough to throw fifa back to the store with it's receipt. So Eurogamer, GamesTM, keep your cash from EA and write your rubbish tribe, this years choice is Pro 09 for the REAL football masses. Don't say I didn't warn you! Expand
  2. JonM.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Fifa has far superior graphics, presentation and some really, really nice touches-example: the players warming up in the tunnel before kick off, and players numbers and names being announced over the tanoy-really help to build atmosphere. However. Pro Evo is still the footballers choice in terms of gameplay, the game feels more like football. Passes feel like passes and the shooting Fifa has far superior graphics, presentation and some really, really nice touches-example: the players warming up in the tunnel before kick off, and players numbers and names being announced over the tanoy-really help to build atmosphere. However. Pro Evo is still the footballers choice in terms of gameplay, the game feels more like football. Passes feel like passes and the shooting system has been tweaked to perfection. With Fifa, I feel like I could pop off, make a coffee and come back 1-0 up!! headers and volleys are too easy to pull off-you dont have to time your jumps like you do in pro evo. Scoring a goal feels so much more rewarding as well. I am not a fanboy btw. I will buy both games (fifa for its on-line play) Pro evolution is still a much better sim in terms of playability. Fifa in terms of looks and presentation. Expand
  3. AnthonyG
    Oct 14, 2008
    6
    This is my first review for Metacritic. But as someone who has now played both Fifa and PES 09's, Konami should be ashamed of this mess. The players move jerky, and just completely unrealistic and unnatural. The game also has pitiful extra's compared to Fifa09. Throughout my SNES, and PS1, PS2 owning days PES completely outclassed Fifa, in 2004-2006, Fifa had slightly less This is my first review for Metacritic. But as someone who has now played both Fifa and PES 09's, Konami should be ashamed of this mess. The players move jerky, and just completely unrealistic and unnatural. The game also has pitiful extra's compared to Fifa09. Throughout my SNES, and PS1, PS2 owning days PES completely outclassed Fifa, in 2004-2006, Fifa had slightly less enjoyable game of football but made up for it with so many extra's. Now Fifa has a superb game of Football and the extra's too. So it truly pains me to say this, but unless Konami get their act together there literally is no reason to buy PES again, and certainly not the 2009 edtion. A 6/10 mainly as it has slight glimmers of past years playability. Expand
  4. Nico
    Oct 16, 2008
    5
    After playing the demo i was extremely disappointed, but i thought id wait for the full game. firstly the main menu has had a complete change, and as a overall synopsis, thats the most they have changed since they have moved onto the next gen consoles. the ai is still clunky and unrealistic, audio is poor, and the addition of the champions league is purely a gimmick. i never judge a game After playing the demo i was extremely disappointed, but i thought id wait for the full game. firstly the main menu has had a complete change, and as a overall synopsis, thats the most they have changed since they have moved onto the next gen consoles. the ai is still clunky and unrealistic, audio is poor, and the addition of the champions league is purely a gimmick. i never judge a game on graphics alone, gameplay takes priority, that said, id happily play PES5 or 4 again as they were the last great PES games. As another reviewer put it, ill be buying FIFA this year for the first time since 1998. Expand
  5. UliWarwick
    Oct 20, 2008
    9
    Can all Fifa zealots please stop posting your silly reviews, posing as Pro diehards when you probably never played it in your lives. F the media, Pro is back in effect and you better believe online is working at full tilt. The gameplay is excellent, Champs league is excellent, online excellent. Be a pro is shite, so is the interface, but who cares! Leave the little boys and the AmericansCan all Fifa zealots please stop posting your silly reviews, posing as Pro diehards when you probably never played it in your lives. F the media, Pro is back in effect and you better believe online is working at full tilt. The gameplay is excellent, Champs league is excellent, online excellent. Be a pro is shite, so is the interface, but who cares! Leave the little boys and the Americans who know nothing about football to play Fifa, Pro is for real men with hair on our chest and chins!! Expand
  6. RichardJ.
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    I can't believe it, truly the King id dead. It's awful this year. Here are the low points: * No realism in the player movements, they turn without any reference to reality, turning 180 degrees in a heartbeat. * Licences - it's never bother me before, but this year it's so jarring, after playing FIFA and hearing the real chants at Stamford Bridge, going to this is I can't believe it, truly the King id dead. It's awful this year. Here are the low points: * No realism in the player movements, they turn without any reference to reality, turning 180 degrees in a heartbeat. * Licences - it's never bother me before, but this year it's so jarring, after playing FIFA and hearing the real chants at Stamford Bridge, going to this is terrible. In BAL Mode it's worse! * The Gameplay is just poor, 8 directional input is DEAD, we NEED analogue inout now Seabass. The D-PAD cannot replicate accurate player movement. * Be a Legend is unfinished. A lot of potential all ruined by shoddy implementation. * Online is broken, I get awful tearing and ripping, also a lot of player morphing. 4 players, FIFA has 10 on 10 and it's better. * The Interface looks like an N64 game! There are so many reasons not to buy it this, as if you choose not to, perhaps they will sit up and take notice, and start trying a little harder. Vote with your feet and wallet, DO NOT buy this game. P.S. I have been a loyal PES/ISS fan since '98. Expand
  7. Andy
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    Just tried the demo, granted its the demo but this years appears to be the worst yet. Since moving to the 360/ps3 the franchise has been on the downslope and from the visuals and AI to the sound effects and ball physics it only gets worse this year. Try the fifa 09 demo, i think ill be buying fifa this year, the first since 2001.
  8. AdamWilkin
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A definite improvement over PES2008 and still better than Fifa but only just. It is let down a little by people with dodgy connections online which ruin the game but all the other modes a better than ever. The Master League is miles better than anything on the Fifa games
  9. GarethB.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    I Luv PES its so good the gameplay is amazing and the graphics are irreletive, they are good enough not 2 ruin the game. The gamelay is far supperior to fifa the players on fifa are 2 bumbly and clunky.
  10. AnonAnon
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Shockingly bad, Konami have done nothing to last years debacle and there are even fewer licences now (only a few La Liga teams). Graphics are abysmal. This is the death of the King.
  11. NickW
    Oct 17, 2008
    7
    Was looking and hoping for a major improvement this year over 2008 and sad to say that it has not delivered. The online problems still exist and the gameplay has taken a step backwards. The pace of the game has slowed down which is good but shooting, tackling, regaining procession seems a lot more difficult now. What with the lack of proper kits, players at the right clubs, stadiums Was looking and hoping for a major improvement this year over 2008 and sad to say that it has not delivered. The online problems still exist and the gameplay has taken a step backwards. The pace of the game has slowed down which is good but shooting, tackling, regaining procession seems a lot more difficult now. What with the lack of proper kits, players at the right clubs, stadiums (things that have never bothered me before as gameplay is most important), I am sad to say my beloved PES now plays second fiddle to FIFA 09. Expand
  12. Sticky
    Oct 17, 2008
    8
    A return to form. This is the Pro Evo of old, but unfortunately this is also it's biggest criticism. It's is almost exactly the same game. They will need to look at more innovation next year, although Become a Legend is at least a start. If you know your footie games then you'll know that nothing is quite up there with PES.
  13. KevinA.
    Oct 18, 2008
    6
    This game just hasn't evolved. Legend mode isn't a patch on Be A Pro on Fifa, the gameplay is dated which is sad. I was a PES fanboy and Konami have taken us for granted. I was always very anti-Fifa, but it is so much more enjoyable.
  14. JohnH
    Oct 18, 2008
    4
    The worse pes game ever played, yeah this is almost as shit as pes 08 and konami keeps on fucking with us by saying we are gonna have huge improvements and at the end delivers same shitty online and modes and no license and same arcade shit game play, WTF, WE deserve better i am gave fifa 09 a try and i am hooked so fuck Konami, i give this shit a 4 because i was a huge pes fan otherwiseThe worse pes game ever played, yeah this is almost as shit as pes 08 and konami keeps on fucking with us by saying we are gonna have huge improvements and at the end delivers same shitty online and modes and no license and same arcade shit game play, WTF, WE deserve better i am gave fifa 09 a try and i am hooked so fuck Konami, i give this shit a 4 because i was a huge pes fan otherwise it will get a 0 Expand
  15. ALLAN
    Oct 19, 2008
    4
    This is worst pro ever,me and my mates have been die hards ever since first one came out,the animation is a joke its impossible to defend anymore,and it feels like your kicking a medicine ball about rather than a light football,shame on you seabass for ruining a once great franchise,me and my mates are going back to play pes 2008 the best pro ever.
  16. PhilliusF.
    Oct 22, 2008
    2
    Good god, what have they done? The game play is as baffling dull as any Fifa from the last ten years. It all just smacks of laziness. A case in point is the summer transfers, or lack of. With the European window closing on the 31st of August, it shouldn't be too hard to squeeze in a few transfers. But if you can forgive missing off last minute deals like Berbatov and Robinho, why is Good god, what have they done? The game play is as baffling dull as any Fifa from the last ten years. It all just smacks of laziness. A case in point is the summer transfers, or lack of. With the European window closing on the 31st of August, it shouldn't be too hard to squeeze in a few transfers. But if you can forgive missing off last minute deals like Berbatov and Robinho, why is David Bentley still at Blackburn? His transfer went through on the 31st of July. Oh and all of the commentary was used on last year's game. I know kits and team names aren't the be all and end all, and with PES you expect the lack of licensing, but in the past you've always been able to use their excellent edit modes to create the Premier League yourself, making near reasonable enough replicas of kits and sponsors. Not so this year. With a game so unwilling to look after such insignificances as detail, the least you should expect is to be able to do it yourself. Dreadful effort. Lazy, lazy, lazy and insulting. This used to be a connoisseur's game compared to the point-and-click of Fifa. Not so any more. Expand
  17. SeanP.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    A big step back in terms of control, and shooting. In PES 08 you could get past players clearly and the controls (albeit sometimes wouldn't respond) tend to be even more unresponsive, leaving more control in the hands of the AI. The striking is poor, unless you are 3 ft from goal the shots are completely random (mostly over the bar as if you'd kicked a fly-a-way football and the A big step back in terms of control, and shooting. In PES 08 you could get past players clearly and the controls (albeit sometimes wouldn't respond) tend to be even more unresponsive, leaving more control in the hands of the AI. The striking is poor, unless you are 3 ft from goal the shots are completely random (mostly over the bar as if you'd kicked a fly-a-way football and the wind caught it). I score in the top corner and same position same shot different outcome. I know this was the method in 08 were the shots would be randomised but that would only have been about 50% of the time, now its 100%, unless you are in the box. The RT and RB combination (were your player kicks the ball the furthest way ahead of him) to get past players seems to now only work when it results in the computer getting the ball or if you are in the last 3rd. Anywhere else is doesnt work. Pah! Getting past players cleanly is another big problem, they just seem to stick to you like glue, and when you lose the ball your players seem to slow down then speed up to create the illusion of having a fair chance fo winning the ball. Passing is good and crossing is good, but comp now defends more crosses than ever, corners are no longer as effective, comp seems always to head the ball clear 90% of the time. There just doesnt seem to be any satisfaction in shooting, ball feels like its balloon. All in all there are some improvements over 2008 (less off-sides, more pass variation, slightly improved animations), but there are also some serious drawbacks. Overall though there are more cons than pros in this game, a lot more. Tbh its the very first game I have ever downloaded (yes Its for PC), because I had a strong moral belief in paying for games, if I am quite honest I'm very glad I did, I would be furious had I paid money for this. As it is I can just say, well I didn't pay for it so no biggie, and move back to 2008. Try again Konami. Expand
  18. NikB
    Oct 24, 2008
    4
    This is the first FIFA I have preferred over PES. Pro Evo is continually putting out similar versions each year and being left way behind. The graphics have been updated a bit, but very little else has changed. There are even less licensed teams and leagues than last year! Would never have thought I would change to FIFA, but there are absolutely no doubts that FIFA is the superior This is the first FIFA I have preferred over PES. Pro Evo is continually putting out similar versions each year and being left way behind. The graphics have been updated a bit, but very little else has changed. There are even less licensed teams and leagues than last year! Would never have thought I would change to FIFA, but there are absolutely no doubts that FIFA is the superior football game this year. Expand
  19. George
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Pro evolution 2009, in terms of control, game play, pace, ball physics, and fun, is by far the best football game on the market. It gives you a feeling of having the ball at your feet. Pro evolution has never really been about presentation, which is fine with me.
  20. MikeH
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    Having been a PES Fanboy for the last 3 or 4 years, I never saw myself buying a Fifa game. I'd just like to echo other comments: this year Fifa has really stormed ahead - it's by far the superior game in terms of presentation, features, graphics and now even gameplay.
  21. KhristianR.
    Oct 6, 2008
    6
    It seems every year PES seems to be getting a little worse and its happened again. The graphics look average, the animation looks stiff. Pick FIFA up. SCORE : 68%.
  22. ChrisB.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I will give a second opinion once the game is released. I have played both FIFA and PES demos and have a decision, for now. FIFA is still inferior in game play. PES did step up the graphics, it is more fun to play and still delivers more realistic game play. I wish FIFA played like PES, cause I would love to have the FIFA liscensing and attention to artistic detail EA has. Unfortunately, I will give a second opinion once the game is released. I have played both FIFA and PES demos and have a decision, for now. FIFA is still inferior in game play. PES did step up the graphics, it is more fun to play and still delivers more realistic game play. I wish FIFA played like PES, cause I would love to have the FIFA liscensing and attention to artistic detail EA has. Unfortunately, EA's title still does not live up to the hype. Expand
  23. H
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game is true to it's name. It keeps evolving for the better every year. Great controls/ game pace. Most of these critic/user reviews are worthless. They don't get the small details in the game play, that make this game great. Fifa has gone from having awful game play, to improved game play, and they get raving reviews? Real pro evo fans know this is the best video football This game is true to it's name. It keeps evolving for the better every year. Great controls/ game pace. Most of these critic/user reviews are worthless. They don't get the small details in the game play, that make this game great. Fifa has gone from having awful game play, to improved game play, and they get raving reviews? Real pro evo fans know this is the best video football game to date. Expand
  24. AndyV
    Nov 2, 2008
    5
    Before this year the last fifa title i bought was fifa 2001 on the ps2, which quickly got traded in after playing pro evolution soccer. Every year since i have bought every single pro evolution game up to 2008. I always scoffed at those who played fifa, thinking the only reason was because of the license as it sure wasnt the gameplay. However, and this is a big however...fifa is now the Before this year the last fifa title i bought was fifa 2001 on the ps2, which quickly got traded in after playing pro evolution soccer. Every year since i have bought every single pro evolution game up to 2008. I always scoffed at those who played fifa, thinking the only reason was because of the license as it sure wasnt the gameplay. However, and this is a big however...fifa is now the better game, the game that plays a more real and satisfying game of football. In addition its the only game of the two that is making any strides and improvements on the "next generation" hardware, taking advantage of the online capabilities and improved processing power to provide realism and atmosphere unparalleled. As a long time pro evo fan i'd recommend you ignore this years edition, buy fifa 09 and then check out both demos next year to see if konami have actually learnt any lessons. The problem is i think they realise theres a problem, but i question whether their team has the talent (particularly in coding and audio engineering) to drastically improve the franchise on the 360 and ps3. Expand
  25. JimmyD.
    Nov 26, 2008
    8
    Yeah - small dev team - less improvements every year - it's taken 3 years to get (almost - but not all) the features of PES5 to nextgen systems. But the gameplay is still king. For all its modes and features - FIFA09 still feels like slow PES on the pitch. My yardstick every year is trying out the FIFA and PES demos with my (offline) friends - and seeing what they think - seeing as I Yeah - small dev team - less improvements every year - it's taken 3 years to get (almost - but not all) the features of PES5 to nextgen systems. But the gameplay is still king. For all its modes and features - FIFA09 still feels like slow PES on the pitch. My yardstick every year is trying out the FIFA and PES demos with my (offline) friends - and seeing what they think - seeing as I usually spend half my gametime on PES playing friends when they visit. Half my friends didn't want to play the second half of a FIFA09 match. Yes - it's flawed. Yes - these reviews should give Seabass a kick in the pants. But - for me - the fluid, rewarding gameplay is still there. And Liverpool FC! Expand
  26. joep
    Oct 17, 2008
    2
    Simply a terrible game fifa 2009 outshines it in everyway i was willing to give konami one last chance after the travisty what was pro evo 2008 but they have fixed nothing , online play is still broken , offline is filled full of frame rate bugs an glitches do not waste your money on this trash , not even a die hard pro evo fan could say this game is worth full price do yourself a favor Simply a terrible game fifa 2009 outshines it in everyway i was willing to give konami one last chance after the travisty what was pro evo 2008 but they have fixed nothing , online play is still broken , offline is filled full of frame rate bugs an glitches do not waste your money on this trash , not even a die hard pro evo fan could say this game is worth full price do yourself a favor an grab fifa 09 an never look back. Expand
  27. camilocastaño
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Yo juego FIFA y PEs desde hace dos años y tampoco es que fifa sea superior como dicen por ahi, los arqueros tiene unas fallas tremendas es asqueroso como salen de mal en el fifa y la IA de la jugabilidad e sun asco, que le pasa a la gente que dice que FIFA es inmensamente superior? ambos tienen cosas buenas y malas pero en la jugabilidad a mi concepto PEs gana siempre
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 seems to be, again and lamentably, a lost opportunity. This could have been a great chance to vindicate the lost football throne, to demonstrate to the skeptics that they are cappable to make a great game, and to bring some light to a saga that is suffering, overwhelmed by new titles.
  2. 85
    For all its problems off the pitch, there’s no doubting that PES 2009 is the most fun football game on the market.
  3. In this effort to regain the title, PES plays it safe and recovers the classic gameplay that conquered the players in the last decade. But while it can be enough to hold on the fans, the reused formula and the comeback of the same old flaws can be a growing problem for the future. [Oct 2008]