Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known by fans for its superior gameplay and incredible realism, PES 2009 further bridges the gap between PES and the real thing. The game has undergone a graphical update to ensure its players look more like their real-life counterparts. Similarly, all-new options allow users to tailor the game to their own tastes, while new stylish moves, innovative control schemes and key online elements further the realism. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Last year was obviously a blip because Pro Evolution Soccer is now back and it is better than ever. The best football game on the market, but only just.
  2. In this effort to regain the title, PES plays it safe and recovers the classic gameplay that conquered the players in the last decade. But while it can be enough to hold on the fans, the reused formula and the comeback of the same old flaws can be a growing problem for the future. [Oct 2008]
  3. PES makes changes to its formula that aren't particularly welcome for the most part and, while the Become A Legend mode has potential, the general gameplay has taken a downturn.
  4. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 is an improvement on last year's game, but this is a series that desperately needs a complete overhaul.
  5. The basic act of playing the game is still enjoyable enough, but with FIFA adding loads of great new features like 10 vs 10 online multiplayer, this seems like a step sideways instead of forwards.
  6. The lack of overall polish is inexcusable.
  7. It’s just now you can really see the difference between FIFA and PES – and FIFA is starting to pull away.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. H
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game is true to it's name. It keeps evolving for the better every year. Great controls/ game pace. Most of these critic/user reviews are worthless. They don't get the small details in the game play, that make this game great. Fifa has gone from having awful game play, to improved game play, and they get raving reviews? Real pro evo fans know this is the best video football game to date. Expand
  2. GarethB.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    I Luv PES its so good the gameplay is amazing and the graphics are irreletive, they are good enough not 2 ruin the game. The gamelay is far supperior to fifa the players on fifa are 2 bumbly and clunky. Expand
  3. AdamWilkin
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A definite improvement over PES2008 and still better than Fifa but only just. It is let down a little by people with dodgy connections online which ruin the game but all the other modes a better than ever. The Master League is miles better than anything on the Fifa games Expand
  4. KhristianR.
    Oct 6, 2008
    6
    It seems every year PES seems to be getting a little worse and its happened again. The graphics look average, the animation looks stiff. Pick FIFA up. SCORE : 68%. Expand
  5. MikeH
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    Having been a PES Fanboy for the last 3 or 4 years, I never saw myself buying a Fifa game. I'd just like to echo other comments: this year Fifa has really stormed ahead - it's by far the superior game in terms of presentation, features, graphics and now even gameplay. Expand
  6. SeanP.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    A big step back in terms of control, and shooting. In PES 08 you could get past players clearly and the controls (albeit sometimes wouldn't respond) tend to be even more unresponsive, leaving more control in the hands of the AI. The striking is poor, unless you are 3 ft from goal the shots are completely random (mostly over the bar as if you'd kicked a fly-a-way football and the wind caught it). I score in the top corner and same position same shot different outcome. I know this was the method in 08 were the shots would be randomised but that would only have been about 50% of the time, now its 100%, unless you are in the box. The RT and RB combination (were your player kicks the ball the furthest way ahead of him) to get past players seems to now only work when it results in the computer getting the ball or if you are in the last 3rd. Anywhere else is doesnt work. Pah! Getting past players cleanly is another big problem, they just seem to stick to you like glue, and when you lose the ball your players seem to slow down then speed up to create the illusion of having a fair chance fo winning the ball. Passing is good and crossing is good, but comp now defends more crosses than ever, corners are no longer as effective, comp seems always to head the ball clear 90% of the time. There just doesnt seem to be any satisfaction in shooting, ball feels like its balloon. All in all there are some improvements over 2008 (less off-sides, more pass variation, slightly improved animations), but there are also some serious drawbacks. Overall though there are more cons than pros in this game, a lot more. Tbh its the very first game I have ever downloaded (yes Its for PC), because I had a strong moral belief in paying for games, if I am quite honest I'm very glad I did, I would be furious had I paid money for this. As it is I can just say, well I didn't pay for it so no biggie, and move back to 2008. Try again Konami. Expand
  7. joep
    Oct 17, 2008
    2
    Simply a terrible game fifa 2009 outshines it in everyway i was willing to give konami one last chance after the travisty what was pro evo 2008 but they have fixed nothing , online play is still broken , offline is filled full of frame rate bugs an glitches do not waste your money on this trash , not even a die hard pro evo fan could say this game is worth full price do yourself a favor an grab fifa 09 an never look back. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews