Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It’s very difficult again to say which game, PES 10 or FIFA 10, is better. My personal winner is PES 10 because the AI and the ball physic work just great!
  2. Pro Evo 2010 delivers as exciting a game of football as you are likely to find anywhere, it just happens to be wrapped in the finest looking packaging that the series has ever had to offer.
  3. We enjoyed PES 2010's slower pacing, but FIFA 10 is slightly better. Especially FIFA's extensive licenses are missing from PES 2010.
  4. 87
    Improved graphics, streamlined tactical options and a relatively robust take on the series' winning formula ensure that this is the best PES yet, though it's not quite enough to topple FIFA from its well-earned perch.
  5. It’s tough to say which is better, Pro Evolution or FIFA, given that the former has more depth while the latter comes off as the sexier experience.
  6. PES 2010 isn't the final soccer simulation, but it surely manages to entertain us with our friends. It lacks on novelties and the graphics feel a little bit dated, but a couple of very long and involving online modes, the new cards system, a deep schemes creation editor and a finally playable online multiplayer, make PES 2010 a title to not undervalue, which definitely deserves to be enjoyed.
  7. It has more changes than last year's and it's on the right track, but still far from what we all desire.
  8. Artists like The Kaiser Chiefs, The Klaxons and The Chemical Brothers are among many that give the game a good atmosphere when you aren't even kicking a football about.
  9. 83
    After putting significant hours into both games we’re more than happy to give Konami a nod of encouragement and to say ‘hey, that is more like it. Now we are getting somewhere.’ But that doesn’t change the fact that FIFA 10 is a superior soccer experience in pretty much every component and in a two horse race if you’re not first, you’re last.
  10. Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 is immediate and playable. The problem is its attachment with its own past, leaving Konami's title many steps behind Fifa 10. The technical aspect is characterized by ups and downs, with great player realization against bad animations and ugly stadiums. Every fan will decide the winner of the challenge of football this season based on their experiences and their own tastes, but Konami with this new edition of its football title, finds himself sadly still behind its closest competitor, although an obvious first step in the right direction finally seems to have been taken.
  11. There's no denying that PES 2010 is an excellent game of football - it's just that PES's 'E', Evolution, is more suited to its chief rival.
  12. PES is slowly creeping back up and it might have a chance to fight back FIFA if it keeps up this way. The return of some serious simulation ensures this is one of the better editions of the past years.
  13. There is a new feeling on the pitch. It’s a little rougher and a bit clumsier but a lot can be recognized from PES 2009, a bit too much even. I would like to have seen more new animations and better control of the ball. Finally the career mode have received a massive upgrade, there is now a lot more manager options together with the Champions and Europe League licenses. In the end the step forward on the field isn’t what I hoped for but it is definitely worth your time this year.
  14. PES2010 is a great game for fans of this franchise: it has a direct and fast playability and it's great when played with a friend. But for the next entry they really should improve animations, collision detection and league licenses.
  15. The latest edition of Pro Evolution Soccer tries to show something new but, in the end, there are no major improvements. The 'new engine' looks the same as the one of the past edition, while many animations that were to be fixed since ages are unfortunately still there. The only interesting options are the new 'sliding' tactics and the skill cards to apply to each player. In the end it's a good soccer game, but FIFA 10 is on an upper level.
  16. Though the mode on hand are all old hat, they've been greatly refined. The online experience in particular is vastly improved.
  17. PES 2010 is a fast paced and frantic football game and while it lacks the polish of FIFA it's still great fun to play.
  18. PES 2010 brings hope to Konami’s series with its new iteration. Nice gameplay and fantastic visuals for the actually first Next-Gen Pro Evolution Soccer game.
  19. PES is far from perfect, but if the ball starts to roll and two players are competitive to each other, you start to believe in PES again. Konami is pushing this game in the right direction and let us hope that Konami stays on this path. PES stays PES, and FIFA stays FIFA. It’s a certain feeling that should be generated if you play one of the two games. If you’re willing to put some time in this game, you can play for hours with joy.
  20. There are some good innovations in PES 2010 like new tactical options. Revamped Master League is also a welcomed addition and finally PES looks good. The main problem is that on the pitch PES 2010 feels all too familiar. Next year we should see a whole new passing system and more convincing duels. [Nov 2010]
  21. One step forward, two steps back. Konami have shot for realism, but sacrificed the fun.
  22. 77
    The gameplay is solid; it just isn’t able to keep pace with FIFA 10 in most regards.
  23. Unfortunately, despite all the new additions in PES 2010 and things it does get right, you get the feeling of underwhelming achievement, like it should have been so much more.
  24. Overall Konami have upped their game in terms of bringing back the good old days of Pro Evolution Soccer. However with EA's FIFA series has been growing leaps and bounds each year, I'm not too sure if it's too late for Konami to gain the fans interest back.
  25. PES 2010's team management options are a warning sign that the Japanese developer still has some tricks up its sleeve, and people for whom the transition to another football game is simply too much to countenance will buy and enjoy this, and discover it still plays a good, grass-roots game. For everyone else though, up is still down, because FIFA wins again.
  26. PES 2010 is simply not good enough to challenge FIFA's dominance. It's an improvement on last year's effort, and fans of the more arcadey virtual football will find plenty to enjoy, but as a simulation it pales in comparison.
  27. Yet another current gen disappointment that can't hold a candle to the ever improving FIFA series.
  28. The noticeable improvements aside, there are some very real problems with the core gameplay of PES that aren’t easily forgotten. The engine is well past its sell-by-date, its clumsy brand of football is given a real thrashing by FIFA in realism and too many aspects of the package remain disappointingly unrefined.
  29. It's hard to imagine why gamers would opt for PES over FIFA this year unless they are such stubborn fans of the series that they'll never let go. FIFA betters Konami's offerings more or less across the board this time around, while PES' continued lack of substantial gameplay innovations (even without any comparisons to FIFA) is becoming quite worrying to say the least.
  30. PES 2010 may not have been able to topple FIFA as the leading football game but it’s clear the series is getting back on track and obvious improvements have been made over last years game.
  31. 70
    Unfortunately there are only a few improvements in Pro Evolution Soccer 2010. PES-fans will be happy with some improvements in the different modes, but general soccer fans are better off with EA's FIFA 10.
  32. 67
    Yes, FIFA is the superior offering this year -- but it's a lot closer than you might initially think. If Takatsuka's team tackles the animation issues and online hiccups next year like they addressed the graphics, presentation, and Master League this year, we could have a 2010 videogame footballing derby worthy of Premier League titans Liverpool and Man United.
  33. This year's Pro Evo improves upon its predecessor in some key areas, but it does little else to keep up with the competition.
  34. Not just treading water, but arguably depreciating a little. [Issue#52, p.92]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. MatTheCat
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    PES 2010 is far from perfect so I will start with some glaring annoyances in the game. The goalkeepers in general are just not all to clever PES 2010 is far from perfect so I will start with some glaring annoyances in the game. The goalkeepers in general are just not all to clever but from time to time the goalkeeping AI goes totally awol. Indeed, this often undermines gritty hard fought contests where horribly lame goals that give no satisfaction to anyone can occurr due to faulty goalkeeping AI. I am not talking about cheap parried shots or keepers letting balls go under their legs here, I am talking about keepers quite simply taking off as though they have just seen an ice-cream van somewhere at a crucial moment. These flaws can of course be combatted by the fact that you can take control of your keeper. Indeed, this little (re)addition to the game certainly adds extra excitement and satisfaction elements to the game when you begin to get good at doing this, but only if the game allows you to take control quick enough which leads me to the second major flaw in the game. Button lag is unnacceptable. Contrary to what the usual Konami arselicking sites (PESfan, WENB) like to promote, it's not 'realism', its not 'waiting for animations to complete', and its not an 'intended part of the game'. Its just damn frustrating but something you will have to learn to work with if you are going to tap into the vast pool of gameplay depth that this game offers. Other than there are the minor flaws such as the robotic player animations, limited ball control methods, limited methods for passing ball around, horrible collisions system, etc etc. You get the idea, plenty has been written about these things and are presented as the main reasons for PES's suppossed 'inferiority' to FIFA on many review sites. Before I move on to actually telling you why I love this game and gain a fantastic amount of excitement and enjoyment from it, I should also mention the crowd noises. To sum up Konami's default chants, they are nauseating. In a few words, they are completely fucking headache inducing and make me want to puke all at the same time. 'Poor quality crowd chants' may not seem like a big deal, but I was unable to play PES for more than 20 minutes until I had sorted out and installed a chants pack for it. Since I play on PC, this wasn't a hard thing to do (see: http://www.pesgaming.com/showthread.php?t=73745 ). But if I was a 360 gamer for example, I would be stuck with these bloody awful droney chants that never let up and they would serioulsy damage my enjoyment of the game. Like I said, I couldn't really play PES2010 until I got my chants pack sorted out. So what is good is about the game you ask and how is it different to PES2009? Apart from another new lick of paint, on first examination, this game is not a lot different to PES2009. However, when you get playing it a bit, you will realise it is nothing like the last incarnation of ProEvo and for me, that magic lies within the AI which in my opinion is the best balanced AI engine that Konami have ever produced. It is now a lot harder to simply charge down the line or through defenses with all the best players although it is still possible. However, the way the defensive AI has got so much more clever in dealing with this type of exploitative gameplay) means that the cheap goal scoring methods are no longer the most efficient route to goal by an order of several magnitude. Of course, you can still score cynical looking goals but the game no longer rewards the gamer so richly for 'that shitty style' of gameplay. Indeed, if you are needing to get a goal back for a game that is worth a £10 bet, you are probably more likely to get it by setting up a Lampard or Ballack for a 20-25 yard blast or from an early crossed ball (when the radar movement suggests the time is right) than by getting the ball to Messi and simply trying to run through everyone. Whilst, I am sure that given the passage of time all the usual cocksuckers that end up top of PESwankings will have worked out the lamest method of getting a goal sooner or later, for most of us the AI really does encourage us to try 'playing the game' instead of trying to break or exploit the game. Furthermore, I should add that the sliders system in PES also has a very noticeable impact on how your team plays, moves, defends, and attacks. So I would imagine that when the 'Cut-back Queens' do start to disover PES2010 AI flaws, knowledgeable adjustment of the sliders could well greatly frustrate thier cynical ploys, whatever they may turn out to be. But moving away from playing against the Rob McLeans or Wallaces's (PESwankings top gunners) of this world. The sliders are something that you will overlook at first, but when u get playing the game, and feel that your team needs say more width or perhaps need to tighten up thier act and be more tenacious in the middle of the park, adjustment of those sliders work a treat. Finally, what makes ProEvo 2010 a cracking game in my eyes is that the game makes me cream my pants on a regular basis! Over the top utterly fantastic goals are a regular occurrence in PES2010 and I for one couldn't give a crap whether this reflects real football or not. I would rather be playing a video soccer game against my bros/mates where half the goals scored are screamers from 25 yards out or bullet diving headers than practically all the goals being scored from dribbling and short passes before shooting from 6 yards out as has been the tradition amongst so called 'great players' of ProEvo in past times. Some people argue that in PES2010, you get far too much space to shoot from long range and it is indeed the case that the game does encourage long range shooting opportunities. It is also true that if you know how to read radar movements, that big long high crosses can be utterly devasting on a regular basis. But combine the opening up of the defensive AI in this respect and combine it with the tightening up of the AI in response to the cynical dribbling cut back bullshit of yesteryear, and you have a game that rewards creative and ambitious gameplay as oppossed to punishing it, whilst bending it over and bearing it's arse to anyone who opts to dribble through the whole team into the same old sweet-spots with Messi and co, PES4 - PES2009 style. Also I should stress that 'these cracking goals' which I have stated occur regularly in the game, have not the slightest whiff of a 'pre-manufactured' feel to them in the same way that many of the seemingly 'amazing' goals scored in FIFA do. Each of them is very different; each of them makes the gamer think that HE scored it; and for most of them, an intuitive sense of timing (again, unlike in FIFA) is a critical factor between hitting the G-spot or not. At its best, scoring in PES2010 gives big time thrills, whereas scoring in FIFA10 gives mild satisfaction at most. In short, despite some horrible bugs, PES 2010 is a genius of a game. The biggest thrills come from the games shooting mechanics but this would mean nothing without being built upon a brilliantly well balanced AI system that actually encourages and rewards the gamer for actually 'trying things out'. This game really deserves a 9 for the amount of fun it delivers. But the goalkeeping bug alone is deserving of a point being deducted. Also, the default fan chants are shockingly bad. On these grounds, it gets only an 8. Full Review »
  2. MatiK
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    It is best football game on PS3 and x360. Way better than PES 2009 and FIFA 10. Great gameplay and ONLINE.
  3. GiorgosA
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Despite improvements Pes2010 fails to deliver because of laughable animation, broken goalie & referee AI and last-gen feeling. Graphics and Despite improvements Pes2010 fails to deliver because of laughable animation, broken goalie & referee AI and last-gen feeling. Graphics and shading are good but only when the game doesnt...move. Shame Konami! Pes2011 should use another engine and possibly a new development team. Dead in the water Full Review »