Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    The improvements in AI and excellent online modes are a solid basis to continue re-building PES to its former glory, but the weird physics and newfound lack of weight are a concern. It still feels like PES just isn't 100% sure where it should be going.
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    That being said, PES should still be top of your shopping list if you're after a game that takes the most exciting elements of the beautiful game and concentrates them into one package.
  3. 70
    While the core game is arguably as fun as FIFA's it just lacks the depth to sustain the challenge. The gap has closed. Can PES regroup and build again to really challenge for the top honours next year?
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    70
    No two matches -- even between the same teams -- ever feel quite the same, and it's that element of surprise that just might, at least offline, make Pro Evolution my go-to soccer game this season.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    60
    The simple act of controlling your player is fraught with issues. [Issue#77, p.85]
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    60
    The frantic and occasional flawed action on the pitch harks back to older PES games. Fifa 12 is the more complete football experience but PES 2012 can still deliver in short hectic doses.
  7. Sep 28, 2011
    60
    Another disappointing instalment of the once great franchise. Inconsistent level of realism, poor presentation and too few positive innovations.
  8. Oct 3, 2011
    58
    It's too obtuse for a newcomer to the sport, but those who understand the gravity of the phrase, "downloading the right Option File" and all that comes with it, PES 2012 is worth a look, once Konami has finally ironed out its issues.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 55
  2. Negative: 13 out of 55
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    6
    The best arcade football game ever made. If the player is ready to accept PES 2012 as such then-despite the bugs and horrible-horribe keepers-The best arcade football game ever made. If the player is ready to accept PES 2012 as such then-despite the bugs and horrible-horribe keepers- he will enjoy Konami's offering. If sim is your cup of tea then choose the "other" game plain and simple. Konami decided to end the race against FIFA, at least in the current console generation, opted for mediocre animations and super fast gameplay, but forgot the fix the keepers and some annoying bugs. 4 for sim, 8 for arcade so 6 overall. Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    i played it on pc and on that platform it's fully customizable so i update it monthly with new shoes balls and players. I used to play fifai played it on pc and on that platform it's fully customizable so i update it monthly with new shoes balls and players. I used to play fifa as well but when i found out about pes I never really got back into fia anymore. Pes is 100% manual football... Fifa. is more pre-programmed combinations Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    I can only comment on the career mode so far, but as far as I am concerned, there is no improvement from pes2011. The rating system is stillI can only comment on the career mode so far, but as far as I am concerned, there is no improvement from pes2011. The rating system is still broken, the gameplay has changed, but I am not sure it's for the better (when play goes down either wing, there is no chance of getting on the end of a cross, the ai uses the through ball less, and shooting feels less real than before) . The goalkeepers are pretty useless. The soundtrack to the game is terrible.Overall I am not impressed. Full Review »