Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PES bounds back onto the pitch to showcase new skills. Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 returns to the roots of football with unique levels of control plus major emphasis on the individual style of the world's best players. Thanks to feedback from dedicated fans, PES2013 offers total freedom to play any kind of ball, which for the first time includes full control over shooting and the first touch. Endorsed by Cristiano Ronaldo, PES promises to push boundaries, reflecting the genius of top level players and capturing the essence of modern teamwork. The result promises to be the most faithful recreation of modern day soccer to date. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    A good improvement on last year's PES, but still lacking the polish to be top dog again. [Dec 2012, p.70]
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    89
    Slowly Konami is starting to enhance its soccer experience and with PES 2013 we've finally got a good product that still misses some of the best features we'd like to see in a soccer game.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    85
    PES 2013 brings some great improvements over the previous titles but it still remains bound to some of its historic problems. It feels like a transition chapter: the beginning of a new course for Konami's series.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    Personally, Pro Evo 2013 feels a bit too much like work. Videogames are meant to be fun and, while I appreciate the finesse and hardcore aptitude required to impress in Pro Evo, I can't help but think that time would be better spent on a pitch mastering the real-life sport.
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    Successfully executing plays in its more complicated control system, especially in trapping and dynamic one-two passing, does feel appropriately rewarding. There's definitely an appeal to the more challenging game in Pro Evolution Soccer 2013, and I happily encourage players to give it a shot.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    In PES 2013 there's a distinct realism to the flow of the game, how players move, how they receive the ball, how they pass, and how they look for space. It still lacks polish in both execution on the field, and particularly execution in the menus and management to make a serious run at FIFA's crown, but PES 2013 will absolutely wow soccer purists on-the-field, and if that's important enough to you, then this is the pick in the 2013 virtual soccer stakes.
  7. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    We do sometimes, even if it is briefly, get the feeling we're playing a classic PES game from the series. Still rough around the edges though.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    this is easily the best pro evo since pes 6 a much welcome return to the good old days. the graphics are superb as ever and the game play is drastically slowed down but it makes the game so much more compelling to play Collapse
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    The ones who rate this game badly are simply the conformed FIFA-players who are obliged to throw **** at PES just because they like giving **** to the underdog.

    PES 13 is the rewarding alternative with incredibly realistic gameplay, loads of different ways to score, defend and play tactically and it is very refined. Please don't listen to the zombie-probably-payed-by-EA-games-haters".
    Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    1- the game have a great graphics models for the players with great animation & facial animation 2- the gameplay is way better than the previous pes 3- player ID is awseome 4- free controlling makes you feel free to do waht everyou want in the game Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    Quite simply the best PES of the new generation. Some issues online, but overall plays smoothly with razor sharp reactions. Every goal involves some form of skill or effort so is very rewarding. FIFA better watch out this year, the king is back! Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    despues de jugar 7 años fifa por que tenia el gamecube ,nome quedaba de otra, hasta que salio en xbox 360 el pes,, lo probe sinceramente le faltaban mejorar a los pes anteriores muy irreales hasta este pes 2013 que salio muy bien tuneado por asi decirlo divertido sobre todo y las graficas excelentes mucho mejor que fifa 13 que es demasiado movimiento lento y tardan una eternidad en dar la vuelta y se caen de todo y es aburridisimo el fifa me cambie al pes 2013 este año lo recomiendo ampliamente eso si lo unico malo es el on line de ahi en fuera el mejor de todos Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I have a schizophrenic relationship with Pro Evo 2013.

    One moment, I am totally besotted in wonder at the game, the next minute I am
    wanting to put my fist through some Konami rep's face.

    PES 2013 offers unrivalled playability and heart stopping action, albeit via an engine with some brutal flaws. However, with the super improved defending, it is for the most part possible to block repetative lame exploit gameplay as is common when playing against rat-boys online (I have turned into a rat-boy as well when playing strangers online..PES does that to people). However, due to the scripted nature of PES, sometimes it will be very hard, if not utterly impossible to defend the lame exploit attempts. Furthermore, as soon as one realises how much of a hand the AI has in influencing the flow of the game, rage induced panic attacks can occur, especially in situations where some rat boy is exploiting my ass whilst the AI is simulataneously beating me with a faeces covered stick. As much as my PES induced rage would could drive me to hitting sites all across the internet spreading lots of hate about the game. Since PES 2013 came out. I have been totally uninterested in playing any other game. I own a high end PC and can play any title you care to name totally maxed. But all I want is my daily and rather large, intense hit of PES 2013. For that reason, even though I hate PES and want to stamp out Konami's guts, I have to give the game a 9/10.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    This game is trying to be like fifa when konami realized that everybody was migrating to fifa, but the game still terrible like the other version. The gameplay is terrible, like the phisics Expand

See all 15 User Reviews