User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 162
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. alexthuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with niceI set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with nice frames. i love it if it was a woman i would be erected Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some skill to master - Epic drifts !
  3. Liam
    Feb 6, 2006
    1
    you know that feeling after
    A your house has been broken into
    B your Car/Bike has been stolen C you or a Friend/ Family has been asre Raped D you brought a Xbox 360 if you have ever witnessed any of the above then thats the feeling you will get after you go out and buy this game. Total dissapointment and that feeling that you have been violatede. I only give it a 1 because its
    you know that feeling after
    A your house has been broken into
    B your Car/Bike has been stolen
    C you or a Friend/ Family has been asre Raped
    D you brought a Xbox 360

    if you have ever witnessed any of the above then thats the feeling you will get after you go out and buy this game. Total dissapointment and that feeling that you have been violatede. I only give it a 1 because its hasnt changed from the original Metropolis street racer on the dreamcast and that was one of those games that looked great but played like siht
    Expand
  4. PeterT.
    Dec 13, 2005
    3
    over priced over hyped and just a poor game, the handleing hasnt changed since it was originaly released as metropilis street racer on the dreamcast all those years ago. if you want a racing game may i suggest burnout revenge ridge racer or even shock horror gran turismo on the PS2.
  5. TylerA.
    Mar 7, 2006
    0
    This game is terrible, I have honestly seen better graphics on GameCube and the controls are weak. Don't get this and by the looks of the 360 so far don't even get this sad excuse for a system.
  6. Mr.Review
    Sep 21, 2006
    6
    I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing 3. Yes, it is undeniable the production values are outstanding; including the graphics and depth which this racing game evokes. PGR has always been known for blurring the line between arcade and simulation, and the gameplay witnessed here is none I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing 3. Yes, it is undeniable the production values are outstanding; including the graphics and depth which this racing game evokes. PGR has always been known for blurring the line between arcade and simulation, and the gameplay witnessed here is none different from the sequel on an inferior console from two years ago. With that said, the online portion of PGR3 is astonishingly deep and cohesive. My main problem is in fact the gameplay, the entire slow moving mechanics and such which turned me away from other popular simulation racers. PGR3 is not about speed, nor is it about a host of unlockable content pleasing fans for months to come. PGR3 is about realistic racing and none less, offering an extremely respectable online service, a nice system of upgrading and levelling, and other various means of differentiating this title from others. The main problems remain in its lackluster direction; I expect more out of a next gen title than simply a revoked online experience. With all these additions noted, PGR3 remains monotonous and average due to the lackluster racing and actual gameplay. If the game ran better with the mechanics and such, I could respect it more. It is not the worst offering on 360 by any means, but i may be in the minority by saying PGR3 is the worst racing title on 360 as of current. Too much of the same, too much of mediocre slow gameplay. Expand
  7. StevietheK
    Jan 2, 2007
    6
    Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the backgrounds, but a much more immersive simulation. Crash your car in PGR and all you have to do is gear down to first and get going. In Forza, you deal with crash damage and impaired performance. You also get to tune nearly any aspect of the car. Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the backgrounds, but a much more immersive simulation. Crash your car in PGR and all you have to do is gear down to first and get going. In Forza, you deal with crash damage and impaired performance. You also get to tune nearly any aspect of the car. Combining these critical gamelay differences with the excruciatingly slow load times and ponderous (but flashy!) menus, and you've got the racing game equivalent of a supermodel - all looks, no fun. Expand
  8. 360FAN
    Dec 10, 2005
    1
    Awful game. although the graphics look better than the xbox version they aint much better than Gran turismo 4 on the PS2 and thats a real shame because this is ment to be a next generation consol. the main problem with this game is the handling of the cars, they feel like they are clued to the road turning circle is terrable and there is no sence of speed. i will be taking this pile of Awful game. although the graphics look better than the xbox version they aint much better than Gran turismo 4 on the PS2 and thats a real shame because this is ment to be a next generation consol. the main problem with this game is the handling of the cars, they feel like they are clued to the road turning circle is terrable and there is no sence of speed. i will be taking this pile of over priced tripe back to the shop for a refund. Expand
  9. Grounder
    Dec 10, 2005
    4
    Have you noticed how all the reviews tell you how amazing this game looks and have you noticed that all of them are basing the score on how preety the game looks well i have to say that the actual handling of all the cars in the game is just crap. i cant belive that anybody would actualy find this game playable. but if your the shallow type of person who enjoys looks over gameplay then Have you noticed how all the reviews tell you how amazing this game looks and have you noticed that all of them are basing the score on how preety the game looks well i have to say that the actual handling of all the cars in the game is just crap. i cant belive that anybody would actualy find this game playable. but if your the shallow type of person who enjoys looks over gameplay then your gonna be annoyed by this review. im gonna be selling my 350 to some mug after xmas. Expand
  10. Gery
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    MS are shhoting themselves in the foot for charging the xbox community 49.99 gor such a sub starndard game. and the thing is that all future crap games are all gonna be priced at the $50 mark, this is just an awful game
  11. wolf359
    Dec 19, 2005
    0
    utter tripe over priced for a game that manages to be even worse than the previous version. im so glad i sold my eggbox to some mug for a whopping $850. now i will be putting this money towards a PS3 and if that consol turns out as crap at least i am safe in the knowledge that some Xbox owner brought it for me.
  12. Goss
    Dec 27, 2005
    2
    the problem here is that if you have a normal TV then your buggered you have brought a sh..e consol. If you are one of those lucky people who have parents who are willing to go out and buy a HDTV just so you can play your 360 then this game will look much better. lets base this review for all the people who do not have a HDTV. this game is OK nothing great the handleing is no diffrent to the problem here is that if you have a normal TV then your buggered you have brought a sh..e consol. If you are one of those lucky people who have parents who are willing to go out and buy a HDTV just so you can play your 360 then this game will look much better. lets base this review for all the people who do not have a HDTV. this game is OK nothing great the handleing is no diffrent to the original metropilis street racer which wasnt much cop either. Expand
  13. Liam
    Nov 18, 2005
    1
    OMFG theres me thinking that the XBOX 360 was the be all and end all of future enterainment, how wrong was i. this game just goes to show your that the next gen graphics of the consols is no better than the last generation of graphics cards for the pc.
  14. ChanceR.
    Dec 14, 2005
    5
    I'm really amazed at the hype surrounding this game. It seems like the reviews have been based on those early screen shots that were released and not on the actual game. While the control is good, the gameplay is farely boring.. (nothing like Forza, or even Need for Speed Most Wanted) and worst of all the graphics don't come up looking nearly as smooth as those screenshots. The I'm really amazed at the hype surrounding this game. It seems like the reviews have been based on those early screen shots that were released and not on the actual game. While the control is good, the gameplay is farely boring.. (nothing like Forza, or even Need for Speed Most Wanted) and worst of all the graphics don't come up looking nearly as smooth as those screenshots. The biggest problem graphically is the pixel flickering, Xbox 1 style backgrounds. Even those 80,000 poly cars could use some anti-aliasing. Just play Need for Speed for a few minutes and see how well done backgrounds in 360 racing games can be. Putting Forza up next to PGR3 in bumper cam mode, it's hard to even tell the difference. The only real improvement in PGR's tracks is the 3d fans. It seems like all the attention went into making super high poly cars and nothing into the gameplay, next gen rendering or environments. Overall, an over hyped, less than complete racing title. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    This was one of the original launch games for the Xbox 360 and people used it to prove how good the console could make games look. First off, while it does look pretty good, I felt like the game itself was complete garbage. Everyone got the same car, the fastest one in the game, and raced it over and over and it was awful online. The single player was the most repetitive and uninterestingThis was one of the original launch games for the Xbox 360 and people used it to prove how good the console could make games look. First off, while it does look pretty good, I felt like the game itself was complete garbage. Everyone got the same car, the fastest one in the game, and raced it over and over and it was awful online. The single player was the most repetitive and uninteresting modes around. I'm usually not so harsh on a game, but this one is just no fun at all. Expand
  16. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    A fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mixA fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mix together. Overall this game was only worth playing back when it was released. Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2015
    6
    This game is decent after 1 & 2 being utter donkey piss.The track creator allows you to make tons of circuit and point-to-point routes.Worth it for price you can get it at now.
  18. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Remembering the beautiful yet difficult MSR, Project Gotham 3 hasn't really evolved much from it. But with tight online play and a medium amount of offline challenges, it is a must for any petrol head. The graphics are top notch, the sense of speed is definitely better, and the A.I. is the second best behind Forza. Single player career mode isn't great by no means, but the other Remembering the beautiful yet difficult MSR, Project Gotham 3 hasn't really evolved much from it. But with tight online play and a medium amount of offline challenges, it is a must for any petrol head. The graphics are top notch, the sense of speed is definitely better, and the A.I. is the second best behind Forza. Single player career mode isn't great by no means, but the other modes like eliminator and team battles means there is hours of racing to be had. And it doesn't matter about damage to cars, racing is the real pleasure here. Expand
  19. Dave
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Being a fan of the old PGR1 & 2 on Xbox, I was eager to test my skills or lack thereof on the new version on 360. Little did I realize how beautiful this game looks. From the starting siren of the race to the handbrake turns the cars look amazing. I found myself crashing quite often due to gawking at a building or spotting a subway train zip by overhead. While not a major overhaul in Being a fan of the old PGR1 & 2 on Xbox, I was eager to test my skills or lack thereof on the new version on 360. Little did I realize how beautiful this game looks. From the starting siren of the race to the handbrake turns the cars look amazing. I found myself crashing quite often due to gawking at a building or spotting a subway train zip by overhead. While not a major overhaul in controls or gameplay from the old versions, PGR3 is easy to pick up and play if you've tried the old ones, and it's a delight to look at. Once I get some music ripped to my 360 it will be all the sweeter (since the music for the most part is pretty bleah) Expand
  20. JustinMacumber
    Jan 2, 2006
    8
    I've been playing this for about three weeks now, and for me it is an amazing experience. I play it on a 52" HDTV with 5.1 surround sound, and this is by far the most immersive racing experience I've ever had. I wish it had offered more low end vehicles, but as it stands, I am extremely happy. Highly recommended.
  21. JustinK.
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    What an incredibly racing game! I personally dont have an HDTV, and the graphics still look absolutely fabulous.
  22. RezaD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    Do not compare this game with Forza or Gran Turismo, although it does seem like it at times. If the controls don't seem real it is because it is not a simulation game. The game's single player mode plays similar to PGR 2 with new additions and the LIVE component is very smooth and easy to get a game going. This game is definately worth the 49.99 price tag and it is a great game Do not compare this game with Forza or Gran Turismo, although it does seem like it at times. If the controls don't seem real it is because it is not a simulation game. The game's single player mode plays similar to PGR 2 with new additions and the LIVE component is very smooth and easy to get a game going. This game is definately worth the 49.99 price tag and it is a great game to have as an xbox launch title! Expand
  23. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Some words I would like to use to describe this game: Beautiful, thrilling, fun and lots of replay value. Everything is top-notch. Should make you say "wow" when considering every aspect of the game should that be the top-notch graphics (which in my opinion are currently the best seen on a console), the gameplay, the longevity, the sweet Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Some words I would like to use to describe this game: Beautiful, thrilling, fun and lots of replay value. Everything is top-notch. Should make you say "wow" when considering every aspect of the game should that be the top-notch graphics (which in my opinion are currently the best seen on a console), the gameplay, the longevity, the sweet cars, GothamTV, Photo mode, the cities etc. Expand
  24. sammaher
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    Not being a racing fan, I am probably not the right person to comment on this game game. What I will say is that it looks fantastic, plays great and has excellent online modes. I have probably only marked it down, As iI am not a racing game fan (down to the face that I'm crap at them). You can probably pick this game up for less than a fiver which would make it an absolute bargain!
  25. RobertM.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Normally I never give a perfect score, but the game is flawless. The details in the cars, the action, the amount of options, and I haven't even BEGUN about racing on XBox Live with it....you will not find a better racing game if you're a fan of the PGR type racing.
  26. RobE.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This is a great game. The in car driver view is pretty ground breaking. As are the graphics in the most part or at least the best you can get for now on any system. The gameplay isn't a million miles away from previous PGRs in content but then for a launch title I don't think you could expect much more? If you look back at launch titles for the PS2 or Xbox 1 for example they This is a great game. The in car driver view is pretty ground breaking. As are the graphics in the most part or at least the best you can get for now on any system. The gameplay isn't a million miles away from previous PGRs in content but then for a launch title I don't think you could expect much more? If you look back at launch titles for the PS2 or Xbox 1 for example they were nowhere near as strong as this and others...the majority of which are 75+ meta rating. But If you want an arcade (Ridge, Burnout or NFS) racer this isn't it ...and if you want a serious simulation (GT or Forza) this isn't it either. It sits in the middle ground very neatly. As for Most Wanted being better... OMG what are you playing? MW is a typical EA product... very short dev time rushing to swamp an early adopter market with titles... The EA launch titles really are last gen titles with graphic tweaks... Although PGR isn't a complete next gen title at least it's moving in the right direction and tries to add a number of new things to a pretty old and tired genre. Expand
  27. AndyA.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    This game is AMAZING. I've been a fan of Bizarre Creations work since MSR on the Dreamcast and this is a new high. Sure, it's not a big leap forward in terms of gameplay, but how easy is it to improve on near-perfection!! The graphics are flawless, online racing is well implemented and the overall gameplay is perfectly paced with just another goal around the corner. I'veThis game is AMAZING. I've been a fan of Bizarre Creations work since MSR on the Dreamcast and this is a new high. Sure, it's not a big leap forward in terms of gameplay, but how easy is it to improve on near-perfection!! The graphics are flawless, online racing is well implemented and the overall gameplay is perfectly paced with just another goal around the corner. I've just reached Rank 1 and bought every car in the game and i'm not bored yet!!! - BUY THIS GAME NOW Expand
  28. Daz
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    This game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think i will equal or even beat that on PGR3. I also have perfect dark zero which i think is very good but i've hardly played it because PGR3 is so great. Highly recommended
  29. LukeM.
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    I would give it a ten for its amazing visuals and fun gameplay but there are a few bugs that prevent me from doing so.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    For those who don't have a HDTV, you can buy a VGA cable that will turn your PC monitor into a little HDTV. Some people need to use their heads more often. For the game, custom soundtracks, outstanding graphics, and stellar online play make this game great. The selection of cars is really good, and the camera angles are just astounding. Just buy this game. You won't regret it.
  31. CameronS.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    What an amazing game. The perfect blend of arcade and sim, with the accesability of an arcade game, but the physics of a sim. The cars even feel right. I started playing on a CRT telly, and it still looks amazing, but on HDTV it's just phenomanal. As I don't have LIVE, the single player's a bit short, and for me easy as I completed it on Hardcore (immediately after doing What an amazing game. The perfect blend of arcade and sim, with the accesability of an arcade game, but the physics of a sim. The cars even feel right. I started playing on a CRT telly, and it still looks amazing, but on HDTV it's just phenomanal. As I don't have LIVE, the single player's a bit short, and for me easy as I completed it on Hardcore (immediately after doing Hard, and only doing it on that so I could get alot more credits) in a short amount of time, but it's great fun. If you have a 360, then buy this. It will not dissapoint. And lastly, use the interor cockpit view, if you don't then you should change NOW. Expand
  32. RedXIII
    Sep 8, 2006
    7
    Ultimately a good racing game, good graphics, good controls, good sound, fun gameplay. But it lacks depth, there is no way to customize your cars (except color), the car ranking system seems to be a little backward and confusing, a there is only so much you can do with a racing game. Though this is a good racing game I definitely have played worse, the different gameplay modes are fun, Ultimately a good racing game, good graphics, good controls, good sound, fun gameplay. But it lacks depth, there is no way to customize your cars (except color), the car ranking system seems to be a little backward and confusing, a there is only so much you can do with a racing game. Though this is a good racing game I definitely have played worse, the different gameplay modes are fun, but ultimately a 7 still waiting for a game that what gran turismo did for playstation to come out for the xbox360. Expand
  33. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Great racing game.. I prefer it over Forza 2.. ;) LOT'S of replay value, and although some goals seem frustrating to get, it means lots of hours playing.
  34. WyattG.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    This game came as a package deal when I got the 360, and even though I have not dusted it off for a few months it is still one of my favourite games I have played. I am writing this review after I have played Forza 2; and while Forza 2 is a really good game, I feel that PGR3 is just that bit better. To me the balance between arcade and simulator racing is what makes this game so good. In This game came as a package deal when I got the 360, and even though I have not dusted it off for a few months it is still one of my favourite games I have played. I am writing this review after I have played Forza 2; and while Forza 2 is a really good game, I feel that PGR3 is just that bit better. To me the balance between arcade and simulator racing is what makes this game so good. In Forza 2 a single mistake WILL cost you the race, but in PGR3 mistakes can be overcome which makes you push your car to the limits more often. Nothing beats driving full throttle into a bend, slamming on the handbrake, and then powering out of the corner without even putting a dent in your beautiful machine. There is very little not to like about this game; the graphics are great, the cars are great, the sounds are great, the tracks are great and the types of events are...well you know, great ! You can even race on xbox live against other racers and find out very quickly just how ordinary you are ! The only real criticism I could have is that a few more tracks in different cities wouldn't hurt (currently only 4 cities in which you race in), and some weather effects would have added a bit of variety to the current night or day options. In summary, racing does not come much more fun than this. Expand
  35. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, but really poor user interface and offline mode.
  36. PrimusM.
    Dec 22, 2005
    8
    I'm not really sure where all the negativity is coming from on this one. The handling on the game is comparable to the PGR2, which was definately an upgrade of the first Xbox PGR. There is a great amount of depth to the handling because the controls are pressure sensitive. Yes, the car won't turn if you overbreak and start to skid. That's actually good. The cars can get I'm not really sure where all the negativity is coming from on this one. The handling on the game is comparable to the PGR2, which was definately an upgrade of the first Xbox PGR. There is a great amount of depth to the handling because the controls are pressure sensitive. Yes, the car won't turn if you overbreak and start to skid. That's actually good. The cars can get squirly if you try to accelerate too hard out of a turn, also. Complaints about the handling seem to come from people who haven't played enough to figure out what they're doing and want arcade style handling. The graphics are superior to PGR2 even when not playing on HD, though not overwhelming if you do not have HD. The game is designed to be played on an HD TV, and the graphics aren't going to look as good on a normal TV. The single player does not seem to be as compelling as it was on PGR2, and the game seems more focused on street racing (I liked the other challenges better). Online has been vastly improved in some areas, and that's really where the game shines anyway. I'd like to see more searching options for finding games on Live! and I'd also like to be able to do cone challenges and such on Live! However, the addition of more race types including team oriented races is very cool and the ability to create your own course is awesome. Expand
  37. BenG.
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    The graphics are amazing! The only downer is that you need a high-def tv. It has solid gameplay, but it is not a classic.
  38. JeffA.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    A perfect balance between sim and arcade. Four difficulty levels means that everyone can find a level to suit their skill. I have a CRT (regular) TV and the graphics still look amazing. Cars handle well and different from one another. You can race in real cities or make your own courses. Also because PGR3 was developed by Microsoft Studios you know that the game is optimized to show off A perfect balance between sim and arcade. Four difficulty levels means that everyone can find a level to suit their skill. I have a CRT (regular) TV and the graphics still look amazing. Cars handle well and different from one another. You can race in real cities or make your own courses. Also because PGR3 was developed by Microsoft Studios you know that the game is optimized to show off the power of the 360. don't waste your time renting this game because you will end up buying it. Expand
  39. HeistGoneWrong
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    Project Gotham Racing 3 is Bizarre's first outting on the 360, and they should be applauding themselves right about now. It's Been 3 months today since this game and an xbox 360 showed up on my doorstep via the nice Purolator man, and honestly I don't think it's left the DVD tray more then about twice. Spectacular graphics, although they sold us a bit short by Project Gotham Racing 3 is Bizarre's first outting on the 360, and they should be applauding themselves right about now. It's Been 3 months today since this game and an xbox 360 showed up on my doorstep via the nice Purolator man, and honestly I don't think it's left the DVD tray more then about twice. Spectacular graphics, although they sold us a bit short by rendering anything realtime in 600p, they made up for it in fast paced racing, great online play, and beautiful scenery. 9 out of 10. Expand
  40. StephenB.
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    This is a great game. . It's fun to play, single player and online, and looks great even in Standard Definition. It may not be perfect but for those who scored it very low I say unless you can tell us about a better game then get your mommy or daddy to trade it in so you won't have to whine any more.
  41. Bass
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    When Metropolis Street Racer was first released on Dreamcast some 6 years ago I remember being completely astonished by the quality and originality of the title, and by how Bizarre Creations had been able to effortlessly breathe new life into the racing genre. The subsequent PGR sequals have been equally solid and prominent games, with each new installment demonstrating both growth and When Metropolis Street Racer was first released on Dreamcast some 6 years ago I remember being completely astonished by the quality and originality of the title, and by how Bizarre Creations had been able to effortlessly breathe new life into the racing genre. The subsequent PGR sequals have been equally solid and prominent games, with each new installment demonstrating both growth and improvement over its predecessors. Project Gotham Racing 3 is the definitive entry in the series, and is essentially the perfect mix of style and substance. Both the handling and presentation of the cars are beautiful (the in-car view is truly realistic) and the real world enviroments look spectacular (MSR was one of the very first titles to use real locations within a computer game and in PGR 3 they look better than ever). Whilst the online multiplayer shown in PGR 2 was impressive at the time, Gotham 3's online play is exceptional, providing impressive lag-free gameplay. Whilst i've always favoured Gotham's mix of sim and arcade thrills over GT's hyper-simulated approach to racing games, PGR 3 really does blow all the competition away. No other driving game looks or plays as well as this, and Grand Turismo 5 will have to go a long way to better the 360's premiere racing title. Expand
  42. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because nowI have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
  43. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lotThis game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lot less focus on racing against the AI. If you're the kind of gamer who wants a game which is all about visuals and holding down the trigger rather than apex-perfect precision, than avoid this. If you want pure racing with fantastic driving mechanics which is purely centred around perfection, this is the best racing game EVER. Let's not forget that PGR 3 was released with the Xbox 360 in November 2005. And what a game. It was the first truly 7th generation racing game. It features party modes (as seen in DiRT 3) for a good mess with friends, split-screen local gameplay, a career mode, achievements, medals and a variety of modes & tracks for TrueSkill ranked matchmaking. Everything is pretty much perfectly designed- difficulty, driving physics, graphics, controls, cars, tracks, multiplayer (including tournaments), interior view (which not many games had at the time and even still not all do now) etc. Not only is this game flawless in everything it tries to, it's also a benchmark setter. The sense of speed and the graphics of interior car view still remain unmatched even by Forza 4. Expand
  44. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    PGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none ofPGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none of them are bad. Gameplay is pretty good but time to time annoying. Overall really good and sorry if this review is crap, never reviewed a racing game before. Project Gotham Racing 3 8.1/10 Expand
  45. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    PGR3 is a solid racing game that looks beautiful, plays well, but lacks depth, preventing this game from reaching the heights that PGR2 achieved. With a short campaign, somewhat lower car choice, almost nothing that really stands out, PGR3 does seem like a racing game not worth your money, but its absolutely beautiful graphics, decent music, and… just fascinating level editor makes it aPGR3 is a solid racing game that looks beautiful, plays well, but lacks depth, preventing this game from reaching the heights that PGR2 achieved. With a short campaign, somewhat lower car choice, almost nothing that really stands out, PGR3 does seem like a racing game not worth your money, but its absolutely beautiful graphics, decent music, and… just fascinating level editor makes it a game that you pretty much have to get if you’re a fan of somewhat realistic racing games. I feel that the PGR series is a good mix of arcade racing action and Forza Motorsport-esque realism. One more thing - the level editor is just really cool. It’s the first and last (for some reason) time that a PGR game has gotten a level editor. While the choices aren’t really infinite, the fact that you can make a custom track in any city you want is pretty darn cool.

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: N/A/10
    Music: 8/10
    Presentation: 9/10
    Length: 7/10
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  46. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.0 Gameplay: 8.5 Fun/Story: 8.2

    A nice way to start with Xbox360. Great graphics and good gameplay (i would prefer less arcade and more realistic but after all that´s the world of Forza).
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 92
    For fans of the genre, it is the pinnacle of racing simulation.
  2. Online play is as hectic, though perhaps not as friendly, as the previous Xbox version.
  3. With its unique blend of simulation and arcade physics, Project Gotham Racing 3 is a beautiful game that will be certainly be played for a long time.