User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 156

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    This was one of the original launch games for the Xbox 360 and people used it to prove how good the console could make games look. First off, while it does look pretty good, I felt like the game itself was complete garbage. Everyone got the same car, the fastest one in the game, and raced it over and over and it was awful online. The single player was the most repetitive and uninteresting modes around. I'm usually not so harsh on a game, but this one is just no fun at all. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lot less focus on racing against the AI. If you're the kind of gamer who wants a game which is all about visuals and holding down the trigger rather than apex-perfect precision, than avoid this. If you want pure racing with fantastic driving mechanics which is purely centred around perfection, this is the best racing game EVER. Let's not forget that PGR 3 was released with the Xbox 360 in November 2005. And what a game. It was the first truly 7th generation racing game. It features party modes (as seen in DiRT 3) for a good mess with friends, split-screen local gameplay, a career mode, achievements, medals and a variety of modes & tracks for TrueSkill ranked matchmaking. Everything is pretty much perfectly designed- difficulty, driving physics, graphics, controls, cars, tracks, multiplayer (including tournaments), interior view (which not many games had at the time and even still not all do now) etc. Not only is this game flawless in everything it tries to, it's also a benchmark setter. The sense of speed and the graphics of interior car view still remain unmatched even by Forza 4. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    PGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none of them are bad. Gameplay is pretty good but time to time annoying. Overall really good and sorry if this review is crap, never reviewed a racing game before. Project Gotham Racing 3 8.1/10 Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some skill to master - Epic drifts !
  6. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    A fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mix together. Overall this game was only worth playing back when it was released. Expand
  7. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.0 Gameplay: 8.5 Fun/Story: 8.2

    A nice way to start with Xbox360. Great graphics and good gameplay (i would prefer less arcade and more realistic but after all that´s the world of Forza).
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 92
    For fans of the genre, it is the pinnacle of racing simulation.
  2. Online play is as hectic, though perhaps not as friendly, as the previous Xbox version.
  3. With its unique blend of simulation and arcade physics, Project Gotham Racing 3 is a beautiful game that will be certainly be played for a long time.