User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 159

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mr.Review
    Sep 21, 2006
    6
    I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing 3. Yes, it is undeniable the production values are outstanding; including the graphics and depth which this racing game evokes. PGR has always been known for blurring the line between arcade and simulation, and the gameplay witnessed here is none I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing 3. Yes, it is undeniable the production values are outstanding; including the graphics and depth which this racing game evokes. PGR has always been known for blurring the line between arcade and simulation, and the gameplay witnessed here is none different from the sequel on an inferior console from two years ago. With that said, the online portion of PGR3 is astonishingly deep and cohesive. My main problem is in fact the gameplay, the entire slow moving mechanics and such which turned me away from other popular simulation racers. PGR3 is not about speed, nor is it about a host of unlockable content pleasing fans for months to come. PGR3 is about realistic racing and none less, offering an extremely respectable online service, a nice system of upgrading and levelling, and other various means of differentiating this title from others. The main problems remain in its lackluster direction; I expect more out of a next gen title than simply a revoked online experience. With all these additions noted, PGR3 remains monotonous and average due to the lackluster racing and actual gameplay. If the game ran better with the mechanics and such, I could respect it more. It is not the worst offering on 360 by any means, but i may be in the minority by saying PGR3 is the worst racing title on 360 as of current. Too much of the same, too much of mediocre slow gameplay. Expand
  2. StevietheK
    Jan 2, 2007
    6
    Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the backgrounds, but a much more immersive simulation. Crash your car in PGR and all you have to do is gear down to first and get going. In Forza, you deal with crash damage and impaired performance. You also get to tune nearly any aspect of the car. Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the backgrounds, but a much more immersive simulation. Crash your car in PGR and all you have to do is gear down to first and get going. In Forza, you deal with crash damage and impaired performance. You also get to tune nearly any aspect of the car. Combining these critical gamelay differences with the excruciatingly slow load times and ponderous (but flashy!) menus, and you've got the racing game equivalent of a supermodel - all looks, no fun. Expand
  3. ChanceR.
    Dec 14, 2005
    5
    I'm really amazed at the hype surrounding this game. It seems like the reviews have been based on those early screen shots that were released and not on the actual game. While the control is good, the gameplay is farely boring.. (nothing like Forza, or even Need for Speed Most Wanted) and worst of all the graphics don't come up looking nearly as smooth as those screenshots. The I'm really amazed at the hype surrounding this game. It seems like the reviews have been based on those early screen shots that were released and not on the actual game. While the control is good, the gameplay is farely boring.. (nothing like Forza, or even Need for Speed Most Wanted) and worst of all the graphics don't come up looking nearly as smooth as those screenshots. The biggest problem graphically is the pixel flickering, Xbox 1 style backgrounds. Even those 80,000 poly cars could use some anti-aliasing. Just play Need for Speed for a few minutes and see how well done backgrounds in 360 racing games can be. Putting Forza up next to PGR3 in bumper cam mode, it's hard to even tell the difference. The only real improvement in PGR's tracks is the 3d fans. It seems like all the attention went into making super high poly cars and nothing into the gameplay, next gen rendering or environments. Overall, an over hyped, less than complete racing title. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    A fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mixA fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mix together. Overall this game was only worth playing back when it was released. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2015
    6
    This game is decent after 1 & 2 being utter donkey piss.The track creator allows you to make tons of circuit and point-to-point routes.Worth it for price you can get it at now.
  6. sammaher
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    Not being a racing fan, I am probably not the right person to comment on this game game. What I will say is that it looks fantastic, plays great and has excellent online modes. I have probably only marked it down, As iI am not a racing game fan (down to the face that I'm crap at them). You can probably pick this game up for less than a fiver which would make it an absolute bargain!
  7. RedXIII
    Sep 8, 2006
    7
    Ultimately a good racing game, good graphics, good controls, good sound, fun gameplay. But it lacks depth, there is no way to customize your cars (except color), the car ranking system seems to be a little backward and confusing, a there is only so much you can do with a racing game. Though this is a good racing game I definitely have played worse, the different gameplay modes are fun, Ultimately a good racing game, good graphics, good controls, good sound, fun gameplay. But it lacks depth, there is no way to customize your cars (except color), the car ranking system seems to be a little backward and confusing, a there is only so much you can do with a racing game. Though this is a good racing game I definitely have played worse, the different gameplay modes are fun, but ultimately a 7 still waiting for a game that what gran turismo did for playstation to come out for the xbox360. Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because nowI have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 92
    For fans of the genre, it is the pinnacle of racing simulation.
  2. Online play is as hectic, though perhaps not as friendly, as the previous Xbox version.
  3. With its unique blend of simulation and arcade physics, Project Gotham Racing 3 is a beautiful game that will be certainly be played for a long time.