User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 162
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. alexthuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with niceI set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with nice frames. i love it if it was a woman i would be erected Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some skill to master - Epic drifts !
  3. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Remembering the beautiful yet difficult MSR, Project Gotham 3 hasn't really evolved much from it. But with tight online play and a medium amount of offline challenges, it is a must for any petrol head. The graphics are top notch, the sense of speed is definitely better, and the A.I. is the second best behind Forza. Single player career mode isn't great by no means, but the other Remembering the beautiful yet difficult MSR, Project Gotham 3 hasn't really evolved much from it. But with tight online play and a medium amount of offline challenges, it is a must for any petrol head. The graphics are top notch, the sense of speed is definitely better, and the A.I. is the second best behind Forza. Single player career mode isn't great by no means, but the other modes like eliminator and team battles means there is hours of racing to be had. And it doesn't matter about damage to cars, racing is the real pleasure here. Expand
  4. Dave
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Being a fan of the old PGR1 & 2 on Xbox, I was eager to test my skills or lack thereof on the new version on 360. Little did I realize how beautiful this game looks. From the starting siren of the race to the handbrake turns the cars look amazing. I found myself crashing quite often due to gawking at a building or spotting a subway train zip by overhead. While not a major overhaul in Being a fan of the old PGR1 & 2 on Xbox, I was eager to test my skills or lack thereof on the new version on 360. Little did I realize how beautiful this game looks. From the starting siren of the race to the handbrake turns the cars look amazing. I found myself crashing quite often due to gawking at a building or spotting a subway train zip by overhead. While not a major overhaul in controls or gameplay from the old versions, PGR3 is easy to pick up and play if you've tried the old ones, and it's a delight to look at. Once I get some music ripped to my 360 it will be all the sweeter (since the music for the most part is pretty bleah) Expand
  5. JustinMacumber
    Jan 2, 2006
    8
    I've been playing this for about three weeks now, and for me it is an amazing experience. I play it on a 52" HDTV with 5.1 surround sound, and this is by far the most immersive racing experience I've ever had. I wish it had offered more low end vehicles, but as it stands, I am extremely happy. Highly recommended.
  6. JustinK.
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    What an incredibly racing game! I personally dont have an HDTV, and the graphics still look absolutely fabulous.
  7. RezaD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    Do not compare this game with Forza or Gran Turismo, although it does seem like it at times. If the controls don't seem real it is because it is not a simulation game. The game's single player mode plays similar to PGR 2 with new additions and the LIVE component is very smooth and easy to get a game going. This game is definately worth the 49.99 price tag and it is a great game Do not compare this game with Forza or Gran Turismo, although it does seem like it at times. If the controls don't seem real it is because it is not a simulation game. The game's single player mode plays similar to PGR 2 with new additions and the LIVE component is very smooth and easy to get a game going. This game is definately worth the 49.99 price tag and it is a great game to have as an xbox launch title! Expand
  8. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Some words I would like to use to describe this game: Beautiful, thrilling, fun and lots of replay value. Everything is top-notch. Should make you say "wow" when considering every aspect of the game should that be the top-notch graphics (which in my opinion are currently the best seen on a console), the gameplay, the longevity, the sweet Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Some words I would like to use to describe this game: Beautiful, thrilling, fun and lots of replay value. Everything is top-notch. Should make you say "wow" when considering every aspect of the game should that be the top-notch graphics (which in my opinion are currently the best seen on a console), the gameplay, the longevity, the sweet cars, GothamTV, Photo mode, the cities etc. Expand
  9. RobertM.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Normally I never give a perfect score, but the game is flawless. The details in the cars, the action, the amount of options, and I haven't even BEGUN about racing on XBox Live with it....you will not find a better racing game if you're a fan of the PGR type racing.
  10. RobE.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This is a great game. The in car driver view is pretty ground breaking. As are the graphics in the most part or at least the best you can get for now on any system. The gameplay isn't a million miles away from previous PGRs in content but then for a launch title I don't think you could expect much more? If you look back at launch titles for the PS2 or Xbox 1 for example they This is a great game. The in car driver view is pretty ground breaking. As are the graphics in the most part or at least the best you can get for now on any system. The gameplay isn't a million miles away from previous PGRs in content but then for a launch title I don't think you could expect much more? If you look back at launch titles for the PS2 or Xbox 1 for example they were nowhere near as strong as this and others...the majority of which are 75+ meta rating. But If you want an arcade (Ridge, Burnout or NFS) racer this isn't it ...and if you want a serious simulation (GT or Forza) this isn't it either. It sits in the middle ground very neatly. As for Most Wanted being better... OMG what are you playing? MW is a typical EA product... very short dev time rushing to swamp an early adopter market with titles... The EA launch titles really are last gen titles with graphic tweaks... Although PGR isn't a complete next gen title at least it's moving in the right direction and tries to add a number of new things to a pretty old and tired genre. Expand
  11. AndyA.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    This game is AMAZING. I've been a fan of Bizarre Creations work since MSR on the Dreamcast and this is a new high. Sure, it's not a big leap forward in terms of gameplay, but how easy is it to improve on near-perfection!! The graphics are flawless, online racing is well implemented and the overall gameplay is perfectly paced with just another goal around the corner. I'veThis game is AMAZING. I've been a fan of Bizarre Creations work since MSR on the Dreamcast and this is a new high. Sure, it's not a big leap forward in terms of gameplay, but how easy is it to improve on near-perfection!! The graphics are flawless, online racing is well implemented and the overall gameplay is perfectly paced with just another goal around the corner. I've just reached Rank 1 and bought every car in the game and i'm not bored yet!!! - BUY THIS GAME NOW Expand
  12. Daz
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    This game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think i will equal or even beat that on PGR3. I also have perfect dark zero which i think is very good but i've hardly played it because PGR3 is so great. Highly recommended
  13. LukeM.
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    I would give it a ten for its amazing visuals and fun gameplay but there are a few bugs that prevent me from doing so.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    For those who don't have a HDTV, you can buy a VGA cable that will turn your PC monitor into a little HDTV. Some people need to use their heads more often. For the game, custom soundtracks, outstanding graphics, and stellar online play make this game great. The selection of cars is really good, and the camera angles are just astounding. Just buy this game. You won't regret it.
  15. CameronS.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    What an amazing game. The perfect blend of arcade and sim, with the accesability of an arcade game, but the physics of a sim. The cars even feel right. I started playing on a CRT telly, and it still looks amazing, but on HDTV it's just phenomanal. As I don't have LIVE, the single player's a bit short, and for me easy as I completed it on Hardcore (immediately after doing What an amazing game. The perfect blend of arcade and sim, with the accesability of an arcade game, but the physics of a sim. The cars even feel right. I started playing on a CRT telly, and it still looks amazing, but on HDTV it's just phenomanal. As I don't have LIVE, the single player's a bit short, and for me easy as I completed it on Hardcore (immediately after doing Hard, and only doing it on that so I could get alot more credits) in a short amount of time, but it's great fun. If you have a 360, then buy this. It will not dissapoint. And lastly, use the interor cockpit view, if you don't then you should change NOW. Expand
  16. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Great racing game.. I prefer it over Forza 2.. ;) LOT'S of replay value, and although some goals seem frustrating to get, it means lots of hours playing.
  17. WyattG.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    This game came as a package deal when I got the 360, and even though I have not dusted it off for a few months it is still one of my favourite games I have played. I am writing this review after I have played Forza 2; and while Forza 2 is a really good game, I feel that PGR3 is just that bit better. To me the balance between arcade and simulator racing is what makes this game so good. In This game came as a package deal when I got the 360, and even though I have not dusted it off for a few months it is still one of my favourite games I have played. I am writing this review after I have played Forza 2; and while Forza 2 is a really good game, I feel that PGR3 is just that bit better. To me the balance between arcade and simulator racing is what makes this game so good. In Forza 2 a single mistake WILL cost you the race, but in PGR3 mistakes can be overcome which makes you push your car to the limits more often. Nothing beats driving full throttle into a bend, slamming on the handbrake, and then powering out of the corner without even putting a dent in your beautiful machine. There is very little not to like about this game; the graphics are great, the cars are great, the sounds are great, the tracks are great and the types of events are...well you know, great ! You can even race on xbox live against other racers and find out very quickly just how ordinary you are ! The only real criticism I could have is that a few more tracks in different cities wouldn't hurt (currently only 4 cities in which you race in), and some weather effects would have added a bit of variety to the current night or day options. In summary, racing does not come much more fun than this. Expand
  18. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, but really poor user interface and offline mode.
  19. PrimusM.
    Dec 22, 2005
    8
    I'm not really sure where all the negativity is coming from on this one. The handling on the game is comparable to the PGR2, which was definately an upgrade of the first Xbox PGR. There is a great amount of depth to the handling because the controls are pressure sensitive. Yes, the car won't turn if you overbreak and start to skid. That's actually good. The cars can get I'm not really sure where all the negativity is coming from on this one. The handling on the game is comparable to the PGR2, which was definately an upgrade of the first Xbox PGR. There is a great amount of depth to the handling because the controls are pressure sensitive. Yes, the car won't turn if you overbreak and start to skid. That's actually good. The cars can get squirly if you try to accelerate too hard out of a turn, also. Complaints about the handling seem to come from people who haven't played enough to figure out what they're doing and want arcade style handling. The graphics are superior to PGR2 even when not playing on HD, though not overwhelming if you do not have HD. The game is designed to be played on an HD TV, and the graphics aren't going to look as good on a normal TV. The single player does not seem to be as compelling as it was on PGR2, and the game seems more focused on street racing (I liked the other challenges better). Online has been vastly improved in some areas, and that's really where the game shines anyway. I'd like to see more searching options for finding games on Live! and I'd also like to be able to do cone challenges and such on Live! However, the addition of more race types including team oriented races is very cool and the ability to create your own course is awesome. Expand
  20. BenG.
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    The graphics are amazing! The only downer is that you need a high-def tv. It has solid gameplay, but it is not a classic.
  21. JeffA.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    A perfect balance between sim and arcade. Four difficulty levels means that everyone can find a level to suit their skill. I have a CRT (regular) TV and the graphics still look amazing. Cars handle well and different from one another. You can race in real cities or make your own courses. Also because PGR3 was developed by Microsoft Studios you know that the game is optimized to show off A perfect balance between sim and arcade. Four difficulty levels means that everyone can find a level to suit their skill. I have a CRT (regular) TV and the graphics still look amazing. Cars handle well and different from one another. You can race in real cities or make your own courses. Also because PGR3 was developed by Microsoft Studios you know that the game is optimized to show off the power of the 360. don't waste your time renting this game because you will end up buying it. Expand
  22. HeistGoneWrong
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    Project Gotham Racing 3 is Bizarre's first outting on the 360, and they should be applauding themselves right about now. It's Been 3 months today since this game and an xbox 360 showed up on my doorstep via the nice Purolator man, and honestly I don't think it's left the DVD tray more then about twice. Spectacular graphics, although they sold us a bit short by Project Gotham Racing 3 is Bizarre's first outting on the 360, and they should be applauding themselves right about now. It's Been 3 months today since this game and an xbox 360 showed up on my doorstep via the nice Purolator man, and honestly I don't think it's left the DVD tray more then about twice. Spectacular graphics, although they sold us a bit short by rendering anything realtime in 600p, they made up for it in fast paced racing, great online play, and beautiful scenery. 9 out of 10. Expand
  23. StephenB.
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    This is a great game. . It's fun to play, single player and online, and looks great even in Standard Definition. It may not be perfect but for those who scored it very low I say unless you can tell us about a better game then get your mommy or daddy to trade it in so you won't have to whine any more.
  24. Bass
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    When Metropolis Street Racer was first released on Dreamcast some 6 years ago I remember being completely astonished by the quality and originality of the title, and by how Bizarre Creations had been able to effortlessly breathe new life into the racing genre. The subsequent PGR sequals have been equally solid and prominent games, with each new installment demonstrating both growth and When Metropolis Street Racer was first released on Dreamcast some 6 years ago I remember being completely astonished by the quality and originality of the title, and by how Bizarre Creations had been able to effortlessly breathe new life into the racing genre. The subsequent PGR sequals have been equally solid and prominent games, with each new installment demonstrating both growth and improvement over its predecessors. Project Gotham Racing 3 is the definitive entry in the series, and is essentially the perfect mix of style and substance. Both the handling and presentation of the cars are beautiful (the in-car view is truly realistic) and the real world enviroments look spectacular (MSR was one of the very first titles to use real locations within a computer game and in PGR 3 they look better than ever). Whilst the online multiplayer shown in PGR 2 was impressive at the time, Gotham 3's online play is exceptional, providing impressive lag-free gameplay. Whilst i've always favoured Gotham's mix of sim and arcade thrills over GT's hyper-simulated approach to racing games, PGR 3 really does blow all the competition away. No other driving game looks or plays as well as this, and Grand Turismo 5 will have to go a long way to better the 360's premiere racing title. Expand
  25. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lotThis game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lot less focus on racing against the AI. If you're the kind of gamer who wants a game which is all about visuals and holding down the trigger rather than apex-perfect precision, than avoid this. If you want pure racing with fantastic driving mechanics which is purely centred around perfection, this is the best racing game EVER. Let's not forget that PGR 3 was released with the Xbox 360 in November 2005. And what a game. It was the first truly 7th generation racing game. It features party modes (as seen in DiRT 3) for a good mess with friends, split-screen local gameplay, a career mode, achievements, medals and a variety of modes & tracks for TrueSkill ranked matchmaking. Everything is pretty much perfectly designed- difficulty, driving physics, graphics, controls, cars, tracks, multiplayer (including tournaments), interior view (which not many games had at the time and even still not all do now) etc. Not only is this game flawless in everything it tries to, it's also a benchmark setter. The sense of speed and the graphics of interior car view still remain unmatched even by Forza 4. Expand
  26. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    PGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none ofPGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none of them are bad. Gameplay is pretty good but time to time annoying. Overall really good and sorry if this review is crap, never reviewed a racing game before. Project Gotham Racing 3 8.1/10 Expand
  27. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    PGR3 is a solid racing game that looks beautiful, plays well, but lacks depth, preventing this game from reaching the heights that PGR2 achieved. With a short campaign, somewhat lower car choice, almost nothing that really stands out, PGR3 does seem like a racing game not worth your money, but its absolutely beautiful graphics, decent music, and… just fascinating level editor makes it aPGR3 is a solid racing game that looks beautiful, plays well, but lacks depth, preventing this game from reaching the heights that PGR2 achieved. With a short campaign, somewhat lower car choice, almost nothing that really stands out, PGR3 does seem like a racing game not worth your money, but its absolutely beautiful graphics, decent music, and… just fascinating level editor makes it a game that you pretty much have to get if you’re a fan of somewhat realistic racing games. I feel that the PGR series is a good mix of arcade racing action and Forza Motorsport-esque realism. One more thing - the level editor is just really cool. It’s the first and last (for some reason) time that a PGR game has gotten a level editor. While the choices aren’t really infinite, the fact that you can make a custom track in any city you want is pretty darn cool.

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: N/A/10
    Music: 8/10
    Presentation: 9/10
    Length: 7/10
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  28. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.0 Gameplay: 8.5 Fun/Story: 8.2

    A nice way to start with Xbox360. Great graphics and good gameplay (i would prefer less arcade and more realistic but after all that´s the world of Forza).
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 92
    For fans of the genre, it is the pinnacle of racing simulation.
  2. Online play is as hectic, though perhaps not as friendly, as the previous Xbox version.
  3. With its unique blend of simulation and arcade physics, Project Gotham Racing 3 is a beautiful game that will be certainly be played for a long time.